Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

4.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,118 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Dec 152012

Trailblazer

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the headlights started to flash intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and to an independent mechanic but it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #31

Oct 062012

Trailblazer

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 50 mph, the head lights failed to illuminate. The contact stated that after turning the vehicle off and restarting it, the lights resumed normal function. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified about problem.the contact stated that the failure had recurred multiple times. The approximate failure mileage was 126,000.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #30

Feb 272014

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the low beams failed to illuminate. The contact mentioned that the high beams were able to function. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage was 122,000. Updated 8/11/14 the consumer stated the headlights went out, for no reason. Updated 08/26/14

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #29

Jun 162010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There have been several occasions where my headlights (only) will not come on at night or they will shut off while I am driving. Again it is only my headlights. It happens randomly. One day it will do that and the next day it won't so of coarse when I take it to the shop to have it looked at everything is fine. However I know I am not alone because of the web searches I have done on the issue I can see that several people are complaining about the same issue.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #28

Jul 192011

Trailblazer

  • 60,000 miles
Lights dim while driving causing others to either think you are flashing them or allowing them to merge in front of you. Neither which is the case.

- Thornton, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Aug 102010

Trailblazer

  • 85,400 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 40 mph, the headlights failed. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where the contact was informed that the headlight connectors had overheated and melted the wires. The connectors were removed and replaced. The failure mileage was 85,400 and the current mileage was 85,684.

- Thiff River Falls, MN, USA

problem #26

Jul 292010

Trailblazer

  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph at night. The headlights were activated and suddenly became inoperable. The vehicle was pulled over to the side of the road with limited visibility. The engine was turned off. When the vehicle restarted, the headlights were operable. The vehicle resumed normally. The failure occurred on two different times. In addition, the instrument panel and gauges would not function correctly. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician informed that the instrument cluster would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 122,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Opelkia, AL, USA

problem #25

May 122008

Trailblazer

  • 23,957 miles
I own a 2005 Trailblazer lt witch I purchased new in July 2005. I too have experienced the problem of flickering headlights and dash lights. I have taken the vehicle to the selling dealer several times with the problem, the last time in May 2008. The dealer has never been able to duplicate the problem, however, the last time I was there they did produce a GM document (#2046572) that did admit there is a problem. The document states "at this time, there are no repairs for this concern. Engineering is revisiting this concern." I also consider this to be a serious safety issue.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #24

Aug 162005

Trailblazer

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving at any speed, the contact depressed the accelerator pedal, but the vehicle did not respond. Simultaneously, the headlights began to dim and flicker. The contact did not notice any differences in the vehicle prior to the failures. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current mileage was 34,000 and failure mileage was 2,000.

- Freeport, FL, USA

problem #23

Jan 012006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
Headlights are constantly flickering causing other drivers to react as if I'm an emergency vehicle.

- Plymouth, OH, USA

problem #22

Jan 192008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Head lamp diming

- Carolina Beach, NC, USA

problem #21

Jan 012008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,300 miles
While driving down the road at night, the lights seem to dim and brighten. If you look at the voltage gauge, it is fluctuating also.

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #20

Dec 072007

Trailblazer

  • miles
Headlights blink, dim and brighten have done this since new.engine light flashes intermittently has never given a code. Dash lights also dim. Has been to dealer several times. No help.

- Coviington, GA, USA

problem #19

Apr 272005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Purchased 2005 Trailblazer 3/8/05 @ bacon Chevrolet in palestine, tx. Problems: While driving headlight & interior dashboard lights flicker & shut off, engine loses power & surges lunging forward, battery gauge drops & pegs out, check engine light comes on, ding alarm, radio, electric locks, etc, w/ no key in ignition go off & on, no power cant start vehicle. Svc mgr/tech comments: Cant duplicate complaint, no codes showing, GM bulletin stating "normal" & working as designed, can not replace or work on anymore due to tech/GM motors stating "normal", or until problem can be duplicated or until they have a way to fix. Repairs:(total of 9 times in shop) 2 headlamp switches, 1 battery, 3 times wiring harness gone through, numerous PCM updates/reprograms, fuel pressure check, ipc reprogram, data recorder installed, replaced BCM body control module, workorders have been altered & work stated done that has not been done. I have all my workorders. Conclusion: Took to BBB of tyler, tx.cs#chv0592738, had arbitration hearing. BBB's decision was that their opinion was that the lights going off while driving was not a safety issue. Thought the BBB was suppose to be a consumer advocate! I found this website while doing a college research paper. How many other consumers have same problem, but do not know about this website. Will anything be done before someone is killed or is that what it will take!

- Crofton, KY, USA

problem #18

Nov 122007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While the vehicle is being driven or idling, the electrical system shuts down. The failure occurred at night when shutting off the headlights and the instrument panel; however, the engine does not shut off, only the electrical system. The failure has occurred on six occasions. Speed was not a factor. The dealer replaced one of the circuit panels, but the electrical system continues to fail. The contact stated that the dealer was giving them the run around after extending the electrical system warranty to 100,000 miles. She also stated that there has been electrical failure since the vehicle was purchased. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 50,000 and failure mileage was 5,000. The consumer stated the problem still exists. Updated 12/04/07

- Imperial, MO, USA

problem #17

Oct 252007

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My headlights flicker and the voltage meter bounces around. The flickering headlights are a danger to myself and others as those ahead of me think I am trying to flag them down.

- Kenmore, WA, USA

problem #16

Jul 052007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
Headlights and interior lights flash and flicker ramdomly while driving. Sometimes it is so bad that other drivers pull over because they think I am flashing the lights at them. Dealership has been unable to fix the problem after four visits.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #15

Jun 212007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,900 miles
The headlights on the vehcle dimme D intermitantly. It occurred at night and often when I remove the foot from the gas pedal. It may happen one night and not happen again until 3 to 4 nights from then. It has been brought back to the multiple dealerships 4 times. Once, they stated it was a bad ground, next time they changed the battery and the next time they said it was normal. Then I went to another dealership and they changed out the alternator. This is a safety issue for other drivers alng with myself because of the blinking headlights. The amp meter of the dashboard fluctuates when this occurs.

- Montclair, NJ, USA

problem #14

Mar 072007

Trailblazer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
In March 2007 the check engine light came on and stayed on. I took vehicle to dealer to have it checked out. It turned out to be the secondary air pump either clogged, not running or something electrical with it. Ever since then all the exterior and interior lights became bright then dimmed for a few minutes when I start the vehicle. After leaving for work and stopping the vehicle to turn, and then again a few miles down the road, the headlamps started to flicker. Sometimes it flickered a few more times before I got to work, only 25 minutes from home. I have noticed the battery gauge fluctuated while this is happened. I was told that this was normal. Also, I am not sure this was related, but ever since the check engine"light problem the air conditioning system did not work properly. It didn't work on 5, but it did blow some on the other levels, and that varied too. I have had the air conditioning recharged, to no avail, it acted like there was a leak somewhere. Hopefully, GM or someone else will find the solution before there was an electrical fire or even a case of road rage due to other drivers thinking I wa S flashing the bright lights at them.

- Woodland, MI, USA

problem #13

May 172007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,888 miles
I purchased an 2005 Trailblazer and my headlights go bright and dim and I contacted GM and they are unwilling to fix the problem and to put me into a safer car I am scared to drive this vehicle considering I have two small children I brought the vehicle into the dealership and they replaced the alternator and it happened again

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?