Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
24 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,134 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jan 272012

Trailblazer

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

, I was approaching a line of cars stopped for a red light. The weather was clear and I was decelerating and moving at approximately 20 mph. As I began to apply the brakes, they failed catastrophically. The brake pedal hit the floor, with no resistance, and I ran into the back of a stopped pickup truck?.watching it all unfold before my eyes while my foot frantically pumped the brake pedal, which hit the floor with each attempt. Although it was a front end collision, the airbags did not deploy.

- Taylor Lake Village, TX, USA

problem #16

May 202012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 108,429 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph attempting to avoid impacting a deer on the road, he crashed off a 9 foot embankment and none of the air bags deployed. The contact became unconscious after his head crashed into the steering wheel. Also, the contact suffered severe neck injuries. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer but the results were inconclusive. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The failure and current mileage was 108,429. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 10/31/12 updated 11/9/2012

- Christopher, IL, USA

problem #15

Sep 172012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact was driving in rainy weather at various speeds when he unexpectedly crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed for the incident. The contact sustained severe head trauma and was transported by an ambulance to the hospital. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a savage facility. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 122,000. Updated 10/31/12 updated 11/02/12

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 272012

Trailblazer

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact was traveling 45 mph when he crashed against the street median, a utility pole and then into a building. The contact stated that none of the air bags in the vehicle deployed. The contact sustained lesions to the face, a contusion to the right eye and contusions to the chest and lower abdomen area. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, vehicle was inspected however, the findings were not disclosed to contact. The failure and current mileage was 118,000.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #13

Jul 272012

Trailblazer

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver was traveling between 30 and 40 mph when the vehicle crashed into another vehicle head on and the air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained injuries to the head, mouth, chest, leg, and wrist. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 40,000.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Jun 012012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet trail Blazer. The contact stated that while attempting to park, she accidentally applied the accelerator and the crashed into some concrete steps, leading to a building. The front driver side air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the chest and back. The vehicle was towed to a local body shop but was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 100,000. Updated 07/19/12 the consumer she attempted to use the emergency break, but it didn't stop the vehicle. Updated 07/24/12

- Aberden , MS, USA

problem #11

Apr 282011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag did not deploy in head-on collision.

- Saint Joseph, MN, USA

problem #10

Dec 082010

Trailblazer

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph on a slippery road, the brake pedal extended to the floorboard when depressed. The vehicle went into a ditch as a result and rolled over twice, ending upside down. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was destroyed. The current and failure mileages were unknown.

- Wallyville, WV, USA

problem #9

Jul 092010

Trailblazer

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet trail Blazer. The contact was driving 50 mph on a slick mountain road when the vehicle hydroplaned and crashed into the side of a mountain before falling into a ditch. The air bags did not deploy and the contact and two passengers sustained injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was not inspected for the failure of the air bags. The contact was advised by his insurance adjuster that the air bags should have deployed. A police report was available. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Anderson, IN, USA

problem #8

Jan 022010

Trailblazer

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Air bags did not deploy during an accident. The consumer stated even though the air bags did not deploy, there is an overwhelming odor coming from the vehicle when the doors are opened.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #7

Apr 202009

Trailblazer

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbags did not deploy. A driver pulled out in front of my wife. She was traveling at nearly 40mph. She struck another vehicle broad side. The airbags did not deploy. The front bumper from our Trailblazer was about 30 yards behind our vehicle. My wife experienced severe bruising to abd and chest. Her seatbelt was in use.

- Hessmer, LA, USA

problem #6

May 132008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer is possibly involved with recall # 06V417000. I have called GM, the dealership that I purchased the vehicle from, and the toll free # listed on the recall form and cannot get any information regarding this matter. I did not receive a recall letter from GM. When I became aware of this recall, I called GM and they had no record of my vehicle having leather installed by the dealership and referred me to the dealership. Aftermarket leather seats were installed in my vehicle at the time of purchase at the dealership that I purchased my vehicle from. After reading the recall notice, I am very concerned that the airbags in my vehicle will not function properly if I am in an accident. I am concerned about the safety of my vehicle and would like to have someone help me with this issue.

- Cameron, NC, USA

problem #5

Feb 212008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was driving on a 2 lane road going 45mph. A car was following close behind me so I went to get into right lane and my truck did 5 360 and hit 3 trees head on and air bag never deployed.

- Clay, NY, USA

problem #4

Nov 082006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 40 mph entering the freeway, the vehicle rear ended another vehicle and none of the air bags deployed. The airbag warning light did not illuminate prior to the crash. A police report was filed in the state of California. There were two people injured; the nose of the child was bleeding and the contact suffered a neck injury. The child was 6 years old and the contact was 22 years old. Both of the passengers were wearing seat belt. The weather was cloudy. A police report was process. The service dealer and the manufacturer were not notified.

- Delhi, CA, USA

problem #3

Jul 082006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
7/8/06, while traveling highway 31 in niles, Michigan, speed limit of 70 mph, we hit a deer head on with our 2005 Chevy Trailblazer ls, S/N. we had no time to even brake prior to the impact. The impact took out the front end of the car, pushing the radiator back into the engine compartment. Neither air bag deployed. There were 4 passengers in the vehicle, including an 11-year old boy, and a 14-year old boy.

- Buchanan, MI, USA

problem #2

May 122006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 55 mph, the driver fell asleep and the vehicle veered off the road hitting a tree. The impact was in the center of the front end, when this occurred, the airbags did not deploy. The driver sustained minor injuries, although the seat belt was worn. A police report was taken at the scene. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop and the technician determined the fender cut the wires for the airbag sensor. The manufacturer has been alerted.

- El Dorado, AR, USA

problem #1

Oct 192005

Trailblazer

  • miles
Chevy Trailblazer ('05 or '06) rear ended another vehicle at a speed fast enough to total the Trailblazer. The airbag did not deploy and the driver sustained chest and heart injuries.

- Provo, UT, USA

Not what you are looking for?