Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,011 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #10

Aug 162016

Trailblazer

  • 159,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While the vehicle was parked in the driveway without the keys in the ignition, a fire originated from the driver's door near the window switch. The contact extinguished the fire. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 159,000.

- Dolton, IL, USA

problem #9

Jul 092012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 25 mph, the brakes failed. The failure occurred intermittently for three years. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000. The window regulator, battery cable, tank level sensor, clutch fan, serpentine belt, tight outer tie rod, hood latch, water pump, were all replaced. Also, the rotors were warped, due to rust by climate, the rear brakes pads were worn and had to be replaced. The front rotors were machined. There was an intermittent surge after accelerating from a stop. There was a squealing noise coming from the brakes. The passenger side brake lights were blowing out. The tail light circuit board was replaced. The check engine light illuminated, due to a faulty emission vent valve and hose assembly. The ABS was engaging, when coming to a stop. Updated 10/01/14

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #8

Dec 212011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 128,000 miles
On December 21, 2011 my fuel had a half tank of gas. I went into the store and came out my fuel registered empty light came on. I rushed to the gas station to put more gas in and thought some one stole my gas out of my tank. This happened with the amount of fuel in my tank not registering four times since the first incident. Than on January 01, 2012 my front wind shield wipers will not stop. When I turn off the vehicle they stop, when I turn on the vehicle they continue to wipe my windows until I turn my vehicle off.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #7

Mar 262011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 131,112 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The front blower stopped working while my wife was coming home from a trip with my kids.the temperature outside was 28 degrees the windows fogged up and she hit a deer that she would have seen if the windows weren't fogged.I have replced the blower resistor switch which had a burnt connector it lasted 3 weeks and has gone out again. This is a very bad problem because even when you have this problem repaired it still malfunctions without warning. This is putting myfamily at great risk. Onthe other hand had I known that there was problems with Chevy trailbrazers and defective parts I would have brought a Toyota.

- Madison, IN, USA

problem #6

Dec 202010

Trailblazer

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls (na). The contact stated that after having her vehicle serviced at a local repair, the driver side window was left down. After the vehicle was returned to her, the window would no longer move up. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 98,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Valpairaiso, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Feb 152010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph at an intersection, his view was obstructed by a wavy windshield which resulted in a crash. The contact stated that there were waves in the windshield. There were no injuries. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that they would report the failure to quality control and respond to the contact within a week. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000. Updated 05/19/10 updated 09/07/10

- Fairborn, OH, USA

problem #4

Jul 102009

Trailblazer

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No real events, the hinge became unglued from the rear window, causing the window to become unhooked from the body of the Trailblazer. Because this then raises the window above the roof of the vehicle the wind can catch it and pull it completely off the vehicle when traveling at high speeds.

- Clive, IA, USA

problem #3

Jan 202009

Trailblazer

  • 65,000 miles
2005 Trailblazer: 1) speedometer would read wrong speed while driving, needle would max or zero out while driving, and now is completely not working; can not determine correct speed which could lead to ticket or accident. 2) wipers stay on with switch in the off position, must pull fuse to stop them; wipers are distraction going across dry window or must stop to put fuse in if weather requires. Currently vehicle is in shop for repair. First replacement part for wipers did not solve problem. Through viewing other internet comments this is not an isolated problem. It needs to be addressed before an unexpected driver is involved in an accident do to these issues.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #2

Nov 182008

Trailblazer

  • miles
Blower motors not working, replacing the part, and finding the wiring is melted and shorting out on the heater control module right side or referred to as the resistor. There has been no recall on this part, but we have found several vehicles with this part have the same electrical malfunctions which are causing other malfunctions in the vehicle. To remedy the problem they need to update the heater control module on the right side or referred to as the resistor. This is the problem.

- Houghton Lake, MI, USA

problem #1

Dec 142005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
Night driving under normal circumstances the vehicle a Chevrolet trailblzer ls 2005 has a problem that randomly shuts off the headlights and dashboard lights. The Trailblazer decides to do this totally on its own at random. This causes a potentially deadly situation when on the interstate and your headlights go out and decide to come back on at random intervals maybe aproximately 15 to 20 seconds apart. Several attemps have been made to the Chevrolet dealership to get the problem repaired. Their comment is that they either cannot duplicate the problem or their is a service bulletin that explains the issue. I have done the procedures that the dealership described in the service bulletins with no success. Currently my Trailblazer is being repaired once again at terry lee Chevrolet as of 12-19-06. The last time that the vehicle was in for repair terry lee Chevrolet replaced what they had though was a faulty body control module. Replacing this module obviously did not rectify the problem and on Thursday 12-14-06 the problem once again returned. Since the vehicle is used to Transport my childeren and wife who have been driving primarily at night. I have become skeptical about whether or not the vehicle is safe to actually drive at night because you never know when the lights will decide to turn off by themselves and potentially cause them to be in an accident.

- Russellville, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?