Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 11
Average Mileage:
53,890 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 16 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #135

Jun 012010

Trailblazer

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The gas gauge on my 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer is no longer working. This problem has also caused my check engine light to stay on and the low fuel warning signal to go off repeatedly even when there is plenty of gas.

- Dawsonville, GA, USA

problem #134

May 012010

Trailblazer

  • 30,000 miles
Gas gauge issue fuel sending unit issue with 2006 Trailblazer.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #133

Jan 022010

Trailblazer

  • 35,000 miles
The gas gauge on my 06 Trailblazer stays at empty even after filling up. Started at about 35K miles. Seems to be a very common problem with Trailblazers.

- Cedar Falls, IA, USA

problem #132

Aug 062006

Trailblazer

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel system: Gasoline delivery, fuel pump the fuel tank level sensor is defective in my 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Every time if fill the tank, the gauge would slowly approach the full line, then drop to empty, activating the low fuel indicator light and warning tone. I must estimate my fuel consumption using the trip meter. I have not replaced any oem fuel system components in the vehicle yet.

- Newburgh, IN, USA

problem #131

Dec 192009

Trailblazer

  • 100,000 miles
I have an 06 Chevy Trailblazer and after some research on the internet I have found that the problem I am having with the sending units on my fuel pump is a rather common problem. GM is well aware of this issue but seems to not care and only wants to collect the money for these replacement fuel pumps. I would like to see GM recall this and fix the problem for this, it is not just the Trailblazer but the Envoy and rainers. Seems to be a bigger issue with the Trailblazers. Makes one wonder how many of these trucks have had this problem and not posted it on line and paid the 800 plus to fix it.

- High Point , NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #130

Jun 012010

Trailblazer

  • miles
2006 Chevy Trailblazer - bought at 11,000 miles in March 2007. Now, at 46,000 miles, just after warranty expired, I have fuel gauge failure; automatic transmission problems; 4WD problems.

- Grantsville, MD, USA

problem #129

Jun 192010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet trail Blazer. The contact refueled the vehicle and the fuel sensor and check engine warning lights illuminated. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance stating they had not seen the type of failure before. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 53,000 and the current mileage was 54,300. Updated 11/19/10. The consumer stated the problem was fixed, but at her expense. Updated 12/02/10

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #128

Apr 252010

Trailblazer

  • 32,900 miles
I own a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer and the gas gauge has stopped working. Apparently Chevy is aware of this and it seems to be happening to a lot of vehicles in 2005-2006 years. At the dealership they told me they have repaired many and it would cost about $800. If they know the sensor goes bad and have repaired it several times - is it not a valid recall problem? if you google the problem you can see how many people are having the same problem. I am going to watch the mileage for now and do fill ups as needed by mileage. I am not in a position to put out that kind of money for a well recognized problem. I travel the country by vehicle and need to have a dependable vehicle. I purchased this vehicle 5 months ago and of course it started right after my warranty was through. Of course, I called the dealership and that is when they informed that it happens quite frequently and that the gas tank has to be dropped and the sensor replaced - timely and costly.

- Boothwyn, PA, USA

problem #127

Jun 012010

Trailblazer

  • 44,000 miles
Bad fuel level sensor makes the gas gauge show empty upon filling the tank until the fuel level in the tank falls to a sufficient level to cause the gauge to display erratic and false readings. Nothing has been done to correct the failure which continues to be a constant problem. Fuel level now must be estimated through the use of the trip odometer.

- Dexter, MI, USA

problem #126

Jul 162010

Trailblazer

  • 77,539 miles
Fuel gauge reading empty after fill up then as driving on highway starts reading fuel level in city goes back to empty. While researching the problem on the internet found there is a problem with the fuel leveling sensor in the tank. This could be a safety problem since it is a combination of mechanical and electrical components that make this work. I will be repairing myself but GM needs to remedy this for so many others.

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #125

Jun 122010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer that has a fuel gauge issue. While on the highway a couple of weeks ago my engine stalled with the fuel gauge reading one quarter of a tank. Come to find out I was out of fuel. Currently the fuel gauge constantly reads empty with the fuel light on even after filling the tank. I believe the inability to correctly know how much fuel I have is quite a safety issue. After much research I have found this is a problem with many of the 2006 Trailblazers.

- Eureka, MO, USA

problem #124

Jun 182010

Trailblazer

  • 60,000 miles
While driving my 2006 Chevy Trailblazer lt the fuel gauge stopped working. I have since learned that it is the fuel level sensor. However, in the midst of this the SUV rain out of gas in the middle of a busy intersection. I was nearly hit by a tractor trailer. This incident could have cost me my life as I had no way of knowing that I was running out of gas because the gas gauge is not working. This is a serious safety issue because thousands of Chevy Trailblazers from 2002 through 2008 are experiencing the same issue. I found this by doing a simple google search. I believe that this should be a recall because it is not covered by any warranties but is a known problem with Trailblazers and Envoy. In addition to the current issue, I will not be able to pass safety inspection in ga without paying the $600 to get this fixed. My inspection is coming up in August.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #123

Aug 142009

Trailblazer

  • 37,000 miles
Fuel pump registers empty all the time, intermittent check engine light (especially just after refueling). Auto will not pass emission inspection due to check engine light. Started just after warranty ran out. Bought the car with 16000 miles on it in 2006. Have recently run out of gas very suddenly, causing a dangerous situation in a high traffic intersection. Gauging gas by mileage is very inaccurate due to heat fluctuation, air conditioning use, etc. No recall? 1000's of complaints on the internet.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #122

Nov 252009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I have a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer ls and I started having problems with the fuel gauge shortly after I bought it (used). Not knowing what kind of mileage I can get I must guess when to get fuel. I have run out of gas a few times since this has started and I worry about running out while on a highway and losing control due to not having power. From the searches I have done this is a very common problem with the Trailblazer.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #121

Jan 012010

Trailblazer

  • miles
2006 Trailblazer's fuel sensor died. Therefore it is no longer possible to tell how much gas is in your tank unless you use your trip meter. I have read that many people have had this same problem yet the manufacturer has not yet issued a recall. I have been told that this repair will cost a minimum of $800 and I would rather not have to pay it if it is the fault of the manufacturer.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #120

Apr 102009

Trailblazer

  • 42,000 miles
The fuel gauge in my 2006 Chevy trail Blazer works intermittently and fluctuates between empty and half full over 12 months ago. This is a permanent condition. My car only had 42K miles on it - the warranty was over at 35K. Other Chevy owners of Trailblazers have the same problem followed by electrical problems. The dealer stated the "fix" would cost 900 dollars. This is a known problem with Chevy Trailblazer and Silverado models for several years. I was told the Silverado was under a recall because the speedometer was affected along with the fuel gauge. But that the Trailblazers were not under recall. This is a safety issue, as one can easily run out of fuel in traffic or be disabled on the side of the road without warning.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #119

Apr 092010

Trailblazer

  • 62,000 miles
Gas gauge does not read gas levels correctly. When full, gauge shows at empty and levels off after approx 20-40 miles after driving. Thereafter, gauge randomly goes up and down.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #118

Jun 042010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 90,574 miles
Gas gauge failure. Manufacturer has no recall for failure. Cost to repair $800 to $1000 dollars.

- Lakeville, MN, USA

problem #117

Sep 062009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Fuel gauge not working. Problem occurred at approximately 59K miles. Ran out of gas in middle of highway and was nearly rear ended by vehicles traveling over 65 mph. Based on complaints listed across the internet, it is a common problem with this vehicle. Dealership says "not much we can do except replace fuel system - still won't fix problem as it will likely occur again." Also told me "good luck with getting recall particularly since us auto struggles = no bad press for us automakers." He then pointed me to this site and told me to notice that nothing has been done on the investigation front since January 2010 despite the problem being reported since basically May 2007. Interesting...but I have faith that this is not the case and that this issue will be addressed. Anyway, there is more than enough info available on this site and across the internet on the problems with the fuel system on these vehicles. It is only a matter of time when someone is going to get seriously injured when they run out of gas and cause an accident. Lets hope that we do not get to that point, but given the history, we likely will.

- Rolesville, NC, USA

problem #116

Jun 182010

Trailblazer

  • 31,525 miles
Fuel gauge system needle bouncing from E to F after tank is filled. Once the gas tank is filled to the max, the E gas light comes on, and does not go off.

- Laguna Hills, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?