Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 35
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,558 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 8 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Jun 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,801 miles


#1-the fuel gauge stopped working on this vehicle while going down the highway. I went online to see if I could get an answer for why it would just suddenly quit working. It was there that I found hundreds of people who experienced the same problem. When I called Chevrolet about it, they said they could fix it for $500. I ended up having just the fuel sending unit replaced about 5 months ago and am now experiencing the same problem again. Chevrolet is fully aware of the problem, as they sent me a paper saying that if I got it repaired at a Chevy garage they would reimburse 50% of the costs. To me having been an issue for many years Chevy should pay to have the problem fixed not me! #2- during routine driving we attempted to roll down the driver side window and it failed to operate properly. I tried it a couple of times and had no luck. When I reached my destination I looked to see if maybe a wire was cut in the door hinge area, which it wasn't, and put my finger on the switch and noticed it was extremely warm. I shut the car off, left the door opened and allowed it to cool down. It works intermittently and still gets very warm when it doesn't work properly.

- Hartville, OH, USA

problem #28

May 032010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
First occurrence, driver window would not go down early summer 2010. I brought it into the Chevy I bought my car from and the window part was replaced. From time to time I would smell burning but I didn't think it was my car, it didn't happen every time I was driving so I couldn't explain it to Chevy. I got into an accident January 2012 and had to bring it to a body repair shop and thy noticed the driver door electrical system has melted. Since it's a 2007 my warranty is expired and I paid the body shop to replace the part $425. I called Chevy because I saw in the news that these parts are being investigated for catching on fire and they said that the next time I smell burning or melting I need to bring it to them right away.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #27

Jan 272012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
Lowered drivers window after a minute or two smelled plastic burning saw smoke coming from control panel I ripped the panel out to see melted plastic and stronger smell of plastic burning control box is melted completely thru I pulled all but two connector plugs as the remaining two connectors are fused to the control box and can not disconnect them.

- Manchester, MD, USA

problem #26

Aug 242010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles


Gas gauge does not work. Reads empty even after vehicle is filled with fuel. Check engine is always on because of gauge problem.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #25

Mar 182010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
I have experienced problems with my 2007 Chevy Trailblazer since I purchased this car. The transmission messed up originally and now I am having problems with my gas gauge indicator. This recent problem started last year 2010. The levels were reading inaccurately at that time and seemed to have repaired itself. The beginning of this year, the indicators stopped working again. I never know how much gas is in my truck and I am paranoid and constantly going to the store to add more gas. I am understanding that this appears to be a problem with the majority of Chevy vehicles and GM actually knows that the problem exist and has done absolutely nothing to help the millions of loyal customers that purchased these cars. There is no reason that this all should be happening to my vehicle that I purchased brand new; so I am the original and only owner. Is there any help for the consumers that have purchased GM vehicles. I could see if this was a problem with one line of vehicles manufactured by GM but this problem appears to be all across the board. I have run out of gas numerous of times because I never know how much gas is in this vehicle. This is absolutely insane that GM can scam millions of customers and not fix a known problem.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #24

Nov 202011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
While driving the low beam head lights will go out the only way to restore the lights is to turn car off and wait 10 min then the lights will come back on but go back off shortly after.

- Jacksonville Beach, FL, USA

problem #23

Nov 232009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles


Chevy vehicles have had multiple problems with their TPMS (tire pressure monitoring system) on all vehicle types. The failure occurs at the wheel itself. Although this is a safety device, it has turned into a useless piece of equipment which no owner can afford to keep up with. What happens is that the pressure monitor system at the wheel is very sensitive and fails quickly. The amount of repair for one unit costs approximately $200, and that is for one wheel. Chevy should be doing a recall on all vehicles, that have the TPMS system. This problem is not unique to one vehicle, if you do a google search on TPMS and Chevy or GM you'll find that this is a common problem. After I had the first one replaced the dealer told me that I shouldn't bother because it will only fail again. The dealer also said that he wishes that Chevy would install a better system, because it will advise you that your TPMS is not working properly, and after it fails, drivers will ignore the message, which is a larger safety issue. I don't know how the dot would allow GM to continue to use faulty parts which is a safety related item. The consumer shouldn't have to pay for their mistakes, and hopefully a person doesn't lose their life before action by the dot. I hope to see a recall issued soon.

- St Augustine, FL, USA

problem #22

Nov 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact was driving 35 mph when the front driver side door / insulation caught on fire. My husband poured a cup of water to put out the fire. The entire interior door panel, power master window switch and harness had to be replaced. The contact was not injured. The contact also stated prior to the failure the door failed to open and the power windows failed to operate. The vehicle was not destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 77,000. The driver's side door switch and module assembly caused the fire. There was damage to the wiring harness, door trim panel and insulation. The inner door handle and power mirror switch needed to be replaced. Pictures received 05/07/12

- Perkiomenville, PA, USA

problem #21

Dec 212010


  • 36,000 miles
Fuel gauge stated I had enough fuel and I ran out of gas. It happened again just 2 months ago and I received a letter from GM telling me this might happen and that they will cover 50% of the cost. That's not good enough, I see complaints all over the internet. This needs to be a recall!!!!

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #20

Aug 132011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 77,791 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked in a residential driveway when the driver's door caught on fire. The vehicle was not destroyed and was towed to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 77,791. Updated 09/27/11 updated 10/14/11 updated 01.23.12 updated 2/28/12

- Tarpon Springs, FL, USA

problem #19

Aug 082011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 30,124 miles


Fuel gauge no longer reads correctly. Problems began several weeks ago with a gasoline fill up. The gauge did not read correctly (empty) but righted itself after several miles. The gauge no longer corrects itself and reads empty practically all of the time, even when there is sufficient fuel in the tank.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #18

Jul 142010


  • miles
Vehicle lights always on. Check engine! gas gauge paid 600 dollars to fix and still check engine light on due to emission problem. Car has 50000 miles and is a lemon..

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #17

Aug 062011

Trailblazer 8-cyl

  • 73,589 miles
Electrical driverside door switch on my 2007 Chevy Trailblazer, went to roll window down and smelled melted plastic then door panel began to smoke alot.

- Freeport, FL, USA

problem #16

May 252011


  • 85,025 miles
Fuel gauge failure, inaccurate reading. Fuel guage stays on empty. Driver has to rely on tripometer to guess range to determine when to fill gas tank.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #15

Jun 112011

Trailblazer 4WD 8-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
I was driving my 2007 Chevy Trailblazer XL when I smelled the odor of burning plastic. I pulled over to the side and began to examine the interior of the vehicle, I observed smoke coming out of the drivers side door electrical control panel. I then turned off the vehicle and exited leaving the drivers side door open to observe. The smoke than subsided, but the control panel which is used to open the windows, doors and unlock the door was no longer functioning. I drove home at which time I opened up or removed the drivers side control panel. The plastic casing was melted and burned. I than referred to the owners manual and located the fuse box and the fuse, which was burned out, this may have stopped the fire or short. There is no explained reason way this panel shorted out and started a potential fire. I have not consulted the Chevy dealer or GM yet. I have been given information by a independent mechanic that this is a common problem with this model year.

- Romeoville, IL, USA

problem #14

Sep 102010


  • 72,010 miles
Fuel gauge incorrect readings resulting in several 'out of gas' situations. This has happened on busy express ways, remote rural areas, etc. Safety issues. Vehicle also has random warning lights that seem to come and go at will.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #13

Mar 242011


  • 30,459 miles
Gas gauge has been very inaccurate. Gauge will read full after fill up for approx. 20 minutes of driving, after that it will read empty with the low fuel light on. For my safety I am filling up every few days because I have no idea how much fuel is in there. I have been using my trip odometer to use a some base line. My fear is I will be pulling into traffic and it will run out of gas. I believe there should be a recall on this as it is a major safety issue.

- Paoli, OK, USA

problem #12

Dec 142008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact submitted an email and requested that the official IVOQ be written verbatim to the email: I have a 2007 trailer Blazer and had these problems for 2 years. Gas gauge would show 1/4 to 1/2 tank but ran out of fuel twice. Gauge shows empty all the time now. Service department said it's a bad sensor in tank and will cost $ $800 to fix. This has been a problem with GM for 3 or 4 years. 1,000's of complaints on different forums. The failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 09/27/11 updated 10/11/11

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #11

Jan 032010


  • 59,000 miles
After moving halfway across the country, I noticed that my fuel gauge would say it was full for way too long, then at about 3/4 tank, drop basically to empty. After about 3 months, the gauge began to never report that it had anything in it. To this day, it never reads anything other than empty, with the warning light on and the initial warning on the dash stating that the fuel is low. No changes to the car's normal usage were made. The failure has never corrected. I have not had the fuel gauge repaired or replaced because it is a costly fix, and I can do the math to know when I need to fill up based on mileage.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #10

Oct 152010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
My 2007 GM trail Blazer's fuel gauge began to show an empty tank when I would fill it up, and then when I would drive for a while, it would register full. Eventually the engine light started coming on and going off at random. I took the vehicle to a garage and was told it would cost approx. $800. I could not afford that, so I started inquiring about the fuel pump and fuel sending unit. Eventually I found a web site where I could purchase the sending unit for approx. Half the retail price. I ordered the sending unit, took the vehicle to a garage to have it repaired and have not had any other problems with either the gauge not registering properly or the engine light coming on. If this investigation becomes a recall, since I have already made the repairs, can I be reimbursed? I would appreciate your response when your decision is made. Thank you.

- Walton, WV, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?