Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There are a fair-number of power steering related complaints which is a continuation of problems from the previous model year. Considering the problem tends to happen beyond the standard warranty (73k+) it's best to avoid this vehicle or at least be prepared for the $1,300+ repair.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,645 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Traverse steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Traverse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Traverse Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #96

Dec 312015

Traverse

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering whine diagnosed today with whine present while turning or accelerating after a turn. They are saying we need a new steering gear (rack) and that will only set me back $1700. It is a safety issue as the power steering can go out at any point. I have only had this car less than 2 years and there have been so many things needing attention. There is a whine with the A/C when one of the bolsters are to shut for a change in temp.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #95

Dec 302015

Traverse

  • 68,900 miles
About 2yrs after purchase, steering rack and power steering pump had to be replaced, which was done prior to warranty expiration. Now at this time Dec. 2015 with 68,906 mi on the od, I am experiencing the same problem again. Difficult to steer and turn the steering wheel, clunking sensation/feel in the steering wheel, and a pump whine sound. Hard to turn wheel from a starting point or stop. When accelerating steering wheels is easier to turn. When driving down the road, the steering is loose. There was no precipitating factors to the start of this problem yesterday, I first noticed the problem after attempting a left turn at a ss on my way home. I could hardly make the left turn, then I started to hear the whine noise. Fluids are all good in the power steering pump. How in the world can this be again? there must be an internal flaw. To have this occur twice not once on a vehicle less than 5 years old with less than 70,000 miles on it is very troubling at best.

- Dornsife, PA, USA

problem #94

Sep 222015

Traverse

  • miles
A weird noise started to happen when I turned and progressed to a constant whining noise that worsens while turning. We were told that it is a leak in the steering rack and would be an $1800 repair.

- Newark, NY, USA

problem #93

Dec 122015

Traverse

  • 10 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

December 2015 drove the 2011 Traverse to the grocery store. After parking the cooling fan was on after engine turned off. Very loud fan noise had me concerned. After driving home I notice no fan noise so I felt it was an isolated incident considering it is cool winter weather outside. Next a.M. we went to church approx 7 mile trip and fan was running when we turned off car again and saw puff of steam or smoke coming out from front of hood. Reasoned it was morning fog? or evaporating water! on the way to do errands 2 days later engine was running about 260* on gauge on dash. Fan came on when I parked and ran very loudly. I went straight to dealership which is across the street and met Chevy service rep. He said it was just the car reacting to run the defrost mode on the ac system and sent me on my way. Before I reached our home the temp gauge was at 260* or higher because it was on the highest point on gauge. Returned the next day to dealership as car had now overheated again, no fan coming on at all, and service writer said turn it off before it does damage. Wow! left car and was called the next a.M, with diagnosis as bad water pump covered by recall. Work was done and then I was informed the rack amd pinion assembly was leaking and needs to be replaced and the engine mount is broken. I am sure the leak on the rack and pinion is due to overheating and extra pressure on the gaskets. No leaks ever noticed before this visit during multipoint inspection performed by dealer on 9/10/15. Area of fluid is fresh on rack area. Estimate at $1745. I'm sure this recall will be happening soon. I just received the November 2015 recall on faulty throttle position sensor repair. I can only hope the recall for the steering system leak and failures will come soon.. fyi we have owned 30 Chevrolet cars and we have never had anything like this happen or the amount of recalls occur

- Momroe, NC, USA

problem #92

Dec 162015

Traverse

  • 70,000 miles
Timing belt issues and power steering pump leak and issues needing replaced.

- Roundhill, VA, USA

problem #91

Jul 282015

Traverse

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Traverse. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road where the contact diagnosed and replaced the steering pump. Three months later, the failure recurred and the vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the failure and stated that the vehicle was in a recall for the power steering. The power steering was replaced. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer who diagnosed that the steering rack and pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #90

Nov 252015

Traverse

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering goes out when slowing down to turn, chev.dealer charged $1400 to repair steering system, stating a pion gear and boots was worn and leaking, 105,000 miles, replaced pump as well as gear and new boots, see there is a problem with this make and model, need this issue addressed before someone is killed, came very close to a wreck myself, while turning off a busy highway, consumers being charged to fix faulty GM products, not fair

- Byrnes Mill, MO, USA

problem #89

Nov 252015

Traverse

  • 93,122 miles
Complete loss of power steering at low rpms.

- Valley Springs, CA, USA

problem #88

Nov 202015

Traverse

  • miles
My car is overheating, have already changed the thermostat and flushed the radiator, the car still getting overheated

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #87

Nov 162015

Traverse

  • 104,150 miles
Took vehicle in for oil change at harold Chevrolet dealer in angola, Indiana in July 2015. Was told that the "power steering box" was leaking and given a price quote of over $1800 for parts and labor to fix. Was also told that multiple owners are having this issue but GM is doing nothing. Took it to local shop who replaced rack and pinions, plus alignment costing $1025. During research online, hundreds of 2009-2011 Traverse owners are having this issue. As of November 15, 2015 it became hard to turn wheel randomly at low speeds unless applying acceleration. Appears it may be the pump that they issued a "concern" for. I feel the whole power steering system needs replaced, at GM's expense. This is a serious safety hazard for myself, family, and other people on the road. A vehicle only 4-6years old should not be having these issues-- it is obviously faulty parts and/or production.

- Lagrange, IN, USA

problem #86

Nov 042015

Traverse

  • 54,335 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Whining noise. Rack and pinion assembly leak causing steering issues. Dealer replaced but stated not under recall although issue is occurring with this type GM vehicle. I now see that there is a class action lawsuit filed in California about this safety issue. Cost $1,500 to repair.

- Jamison, PA, USA

problem #85

Oct 212015

Traverse

  • 74,000 miles
My wife was driving her car to work and slowed down with the flow of traffic to about 15 miles per hour and the power steering lost power and she almost crashed into another car. This is about the 5th time this has happened to her in traffic but is the first time she was almost in a wreck. This is dangerous and unsafe. This vehicle shoul be recalled as I have seen several complaints on this car with power steering issues since we purchased it.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #84

Oct 062015

Traverse

  • 75,000 miles
The vehicle has been experiencing steering issues for a couple years - loud mechanical noises and popping. I have topped of steering fluid reservoir several times and that quieted the noise, but there was no evidence of a leak on my garage floor until October 2015 (after service explained below). The popping became a nuisance again and I took into the local Chevrolet dealer to inspect. They found several issues in the front end that need replaced: Rack and pinion (leaking), power steering pump, end links, bushings, transmission mount, struts (leaking). Steering component failure is a possibility in these issues and can cause loss of power steering in the vehicle. Loss of power steering would likely end up in an accident due to inability to turn vehicle as intended. GM should issue a special coverage for rack and pinion replacement and strut leaks as these are very well know safety/design flaws. GM has already issued special coverage for the power steering pump.

- Sellersburg, IN, USA

problem #83

Sep 112014

Traverse

  • 72,000 miles
On 9-11-14 the power steering went out while driving. Took the vehicle to the dealership & I was told I needed a power steering solenoid. 10-23-14 power steering goes out again while driving so back to the dealership I go. This time I was told that GM has issued a bulletin on the problem and the power steering pump needed to be replaced. 11-10-14 power steering goes out again. Go back to the dealership and was told that the ecbtm needed to be replaced and it was not part of the bulletin? my issue is that I do not feel GM went deep enough to fix the problem. I know 3 people in my area that have had the same problem. When your driving in heavy traffic and your have no power steering it creates a dangerous situation for the vehicle occupants and opposing drivers. You would think GM would step up and fix the problem the first time. I have spoken to Chevrolet customer asst 2 times with zero response about fixing the problem. The last time being with tiffany. My case # is 71-151168370

- Haslett, MI, USA

problem #82

Aug 162015

Traverse

  • 20,000 miles
The is a rubbing/groaning sound when turning at slow speeds. I was advised by the dealership it is the steering gearbox needs to be replaced for over $1400. I found multiple service bulletins that refer to the power steering system. This should be considered for recall. Tsb: Pi-0029B, pi-0029B, sbc-14329, sb-13-02-32-001, sb-10-02-32-002A

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #81

Apr 012014

Traverse

  • 49,000 miles
2011 Chevrolet Traverse lt was first told around April 2014 following an oil change at my local GM certified dealer that there was a leak around the power steering system (I cannot remember the exact term used). Anyway, the service tech said that it was clearly a slow leak and not causing any urgent problems, but that I should pay attention to it should things change. The next 2 or 3 oil changes, the same issue was noted. During a routine oil cahnge May 2105, I was told there was a seal leak to the engine of some sort but it was 'warrantied'. so, I authorized the repair, of a leak that I never noticed/had issue with. Fast forward to July 2015 (68,000 +/- miles) and my power steering is leaking puddles, the resivoir remains full, and suddenly lose all power steering capabilities. Call same GM dealer I always use, as I notice on the unrelated repair in may, the power steering components were messed with, flushed, etc. To allow for proper repair of other issue. I was told about a 'warranty extenstion' for the power steering pump and to bring it in, it should be a covered repair based on the notes the service tech could read pertaining to my vehicle. Call back today (8/3) and am told that while the pump is covered, nothing else is (despite from my research the pump failure is likely causing the other noted issues) and the repair for the rack/gear box + alignment + flushing + whatever else he rattled off to me, would be at my expense, with a quote of $2100+/- from everything I have read and researched, this is an extremely common issue that GM refuses to address in order to properly repair at their expense vs. The expense of vehicle owner. Clearly this is a massive and widespread GM issue with vehicles in this class.. updated 09/30/15

- Union Grove, WI, USA

problem #80

Jun 292015

Traverse

  • 104,000 miles
The car just completely stopped. No warning no lights no oil light no service engine. Just quit going down the road at 60mph with my children in the car. Now I am being told it is the motor. I have serviced the car I should have and treated it very well. There is not one reason a 2011 should just quit. I also had a issues with traction control in the dead of winter the car would flash traction control off engine will lose speed service stablitrack and the car would drop from 65mph right to 25mph in 5 seconds flat which was extremely dangerous any time of year not just winter. Get those 2011 Chevrolet Traverses off the road.

- Fair Haven , VT, USA

problem #79

Feb 162015

Traverse

  • 30,000 miles
I noticed that there was a low growling noise that seemed to be coming from the steering wheel as I turned corners. In April 2015, I was having the dealership perform the 30,000 mile maintenance and asked them to check to see what was causing the noise. The service department told me that it was the steering gear which needed to be replaced. They said that it could cause the power steering to fail to work in which case I wouldn't be able to steer and it was an expensive repair--about $850 for labor and $700 for the part and they did have the part in stock. The Traverse had 31,110 miles on it. But, was out of warranty because I had bought it in Sept. 2010. I decided to have it fixed. This shouldn't happen at 31,000 miles. It could have been a dangerous situation if I didn't have it repaired. I called the GM customer service number in the owners' manual and a case was filed with them. A senior advisor told me that she would contact the dealership about it. But, that the warranty time had passed and the power train warranty didn't cover it. The dealership had the part in stock implies they see these failures often. The labor was 8.6 hours implies a poor design. She said the dealership would call me. They did finally call to reiterate that it wasn't under warranty and there was nothing they could do. The senior advisor I spoke with at GM said she wished I had called her before I had the repair made. I don't know what that meant. Did she mean they would have covered part of the cost" did she mean that I should wait until I couldn't turn the steering wheel and had or caused an accident" I don't know. My husband and I have purchased many GM vehicles since 1969 as she noted. As I reviewed the complaints about the 2011 Chevrolet Traverse, it seemed to me that about one-third of them were about steering gear failures. It's time GM does something about this....updated08/20/15

- Angola, IN, USA

problem #78

Jun 182015

Traverse

  • miles
There seems to be a widespread issue with the steering rack with the Chevrolet Traverse. The 2 years that I am aware of are the 2010 and 2011 Traverse. Chevy dealers are charging over $1000 to repair but was concerned that there should be an investigation into a potential recall situation.

- Centerville, OH, USA

problem #77

Jun 102015

Traverse

  • 39,391 miles
Having routine maintenance done at dealer. Upon investigation, I was informed the steering gear box was damp but no signs of a leak. At 39391 miles seems that part(s) are defective. Seems to me that such an important part of the steering system should be able to last well above 40000 miles.

- Covina, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?