Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,774 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 7 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #111

May 152015

200

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 65 mph, the contact noticed the brake system and service engine warning lights illuminated. In addition, the vehicle would not accelerate. The contact depressed the brake pedal and the engine revved loudly as if it were in neutral gear. The vehicle was restarted, but failed to shift out of park. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed and repaired. The details were unavailable. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 15V47000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #110

Oct 292015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V090000 (power train), 15V470000 (electrical system) and 15V461000 (equipment) however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Adrian, MI, USA

problem #109

Oct 242015

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 02/23/16 the consumer stated the dealer claimed they fixed the vehicle. However, the vehicle continued to jerk and shift hard. Updated 02/24/16.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #108

Mar 102015

200

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at various speeds, a clanking sound was heard and the vehicle shifted from drive to neutral. The check engine light illuminated. In addition, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The failure recurred intermittently. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000(electrical system); however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact mentioned that the dealer attempted to remedy the failure by updating the transmission control module, but the failure recurred. The dealer replaced the whole transmission and performed wb solenoid relearn. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #107

Oct 052015

200

  • 8,300 miles
Driver received recall notice R24 for Chrysler (nhsta 15V-470)in the mail during the week of 9/28/15 - 10/2/15. On 10/5/15, while driving at 65mph, car jerked and check engine light came on. Approximately 2 miles later at 65mph, car jerked again, shifted to neutral, and "service transmission" message flashed on the screen next to speedometer. The electrical problem (concerning the recalled part) caused power to the vehicle to cease and driver was forced to coast to shoulder of interstate highway (in rush hour traffic and through weigh station entrance ramp). Car was completely off with no battery power after shifting to neutral. While stopped, driver attempted to restart the vehicle (immediately after pulling over) with no success. After 10 minutes and a few phone calls to figure out what to do, driver was able to restart the vehicle. The check engine light was still illuminated, and the car would not accelerate as usual (max 45mph, still on interstate, still rush hour). The driver was able to slowly drive the car to the dealership, almost being rear-ended twice. The service manager stated driver would be eligible for a complimentary rental only if they were able to diagnose it as a recall defect. The manufacturer's "rep" was able to determine that the problem was in fact due to the recalled part, and a rental was obtained. The car has been in the dealership's car repair parking lot for over two weeks, with no replacement part/repair on its way.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #106

Jul 102015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the transmission warning light randomly flashed, the vehicle had a drastic reduction in speed and stalled several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and the contact stated that they replaced two different sensors but the failure recurred. The contact also mentioned that the key fob also failed to work intermittently. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who tightened the motor mounts. The contact was waiting on instructions from the manufacturer to instruct the dealer on repairing the vehicle. The failure mileage was not available.

- Opelousas, LA, USA

problem #105

Aug 122015

200

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While attempting to drive and shift the gear lever into the drive position, the vehicle jerked before moving forward. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who repaired the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 15V090000 (power train); however, the failure persisted. The VIN was also included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- West Minister, SC, USA

problem #104

Oct 062015

200

  • 623 miles
Hello, my transmission in my brand new Chrysler 200S (2 weeks old) failed as I was traveling about 75 mph straight on the highway. I got a message similar to: "transmission failed - pull over to the side of the road" and my car began to brake. I pulled over and stopped my car, but the engine would not turn off - it is a push-to-start. I got it towed to the dealership, where they informed me that transmission gave an "offline" message to my engine and shut down. Luckily, there was nobody behind me on the road or there would have been a high-speed collision. After doing a little online research, it appears other people have been having similar issues and this a serious safety concern. I would not put my family back in this car, and other people should be aware of this issue.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #103

Oct 022015

200

  • 21,625 miles
My engine turned off while driving. I was on a one lane ramp, going about 25 or 30 miles per hour around a bend. The transmission was in drive, not park or neutral. I could not restart my engine. Additional safety features such as forward collision warning, lane sense, and park sense were disabled. I was blocking traffic - the only way to get around me was to go up onto the sidewalk, which is not safe. People behind me tried to help by pushing the car, but could not. I had to call the police to send incident response to push me out of the way. The incident response truck also could not push me out of the way, but after rocking my car several times in an attempt to push the car, the engine would start. The check engine light came on and the screen showed a message saying to service transmisison. I drove to a parking lot and called a tow truck to take me to a dealership. I have found many cases of this happening to other 2015 Chrysler 200 owners, and I think there needs to be an investigation and possibly a recall. The dealership cannot tell me what caused the issue, only that their service manual says reflashing the transmission control module should solve the problem. Chrysler coporate also cannot tell me what caused the issue. Several testimonies online say that their car was not fixed by reflashing the tcm. Having your new car die on the road while driving with absolutely no warning is an unacceptable, possibly fatal risk. I only hope if this happens again, I won't be in an intersection or in front of a semi-truck on the highway.

- Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA

problem #102

May 182015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V090000 (power train) and 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed to perform the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mundelein, IL, USA

problem #101

Nov 032014

200

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that there was a progressing failure in which the vehicle randomly went into a lower gear. There was a drastic reduction in speed. The contact constantly had to pull the vehicle over to restart the vehicle to prevent the failure. As the failure was progressing, the vehicle stalled numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer more than once and they were not able to replicate and diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and they provided no remedy. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) but the part was not available. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 01/12/16

- New Britain, CT, USA

problem #100

Jul 252015

200

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 70 mph, the service transmission warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was driven to the dealer where the failure was unable to be determined; however, they replaced several electrical functions and the transmission. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #99

Apr 142015

200

  • 4,800 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V0900000 (power train). While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle shook while shifting gears without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer but the failure was unable to be determined. The contact stated that the mechanic repaired an unknown component, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 4,800. Updated 07/14/16

- Mt. Pleasant, MI, USA

problem #98

Feb 202015

200

  • 2,100 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact heard an abnormal noise coming from the engine and brakes, the dashboard overheated, and the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was functioning as designed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:15V470000(electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,100.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #97

Jun 302015

200

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that when the accelerator pedal was engaged at low speeds, the vehicle started violently shaking without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician informed that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,000.

- Cleveland , OH, USA

problem #96

Nov 192014

200

  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while attempting to engaged the brakes, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without any warnings. In addition, the contact mentioned that the vehicle stalled several times. After restarting the vehicle, the transmission failed to shift into any gear as the service transmission and the service park brake warning messages illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 500.

- Whitesburg, KY, USA

problem #95

Aug 012015

200

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph, the shift lever came out of the drive position and went into neutral independently as there was an increased of engine rpms. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. In addition, the contact stated that he recently received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 15,000. Updated 12/03/15

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #94

Sep 272015

200

  • 8,310 miles
I have brought my car to the dealership repair shop 18 times about something is wrong with my transmission. I have all paperwork to back it up that these technicians and Chrysler's star keep telling me that either they don't hear anything or no it's normal. Well today my check engine light came on and the screen said service transmission. But there's nothing wrong with it I thought. To make matters more upsetting to me on Wednesday the 23rd of September I got a call from the dealership if the tech can take it home overnight 9 miles away to see if what I feel or hear (hesitation, rattling, and jerking) is true. Normal yet again! by the way the airbag light is still on waiting for them to call because they are waiting to get a new wiring harness to fix the issue. The airbag part has been in the shop 7 times going on 8 and has been repaired that many times. Oh and the airbag a so called safety issue isn't really a safety issue according to the dealership and Chrysler. They sent me home with it. The same tech that said the car tranny is normal. I have children and yet they keep telling me the 2015 Chrysler 200 is suppose to be this way. Someone even had the nerve to guarantee me that if I'm involved in an accident it will deploy. Chrysler and the techs that go through all this training still can not fix a car with issues. Even with my car having stayed over the 30 day mark with the same issues that can not be resolved Chrysler will not buy back my car. Please someone look into it.

- West Haven, CT, USA

problem #93

Aug 182014

200

  • 800 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 40 mph and depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not able to be restarted. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 800.

- Tuscaloosa , AL, USA

problem #92

Sep 232015

200

  • 11,000 miles
Car was running beautifully on September 22nd. It was parked in the garage overnight. When I started it the morning of the 23rd, the check engine light flashed and the car was idling very roughly. I drove slowly to the dealer, doug smith Chrysler in american fork, ut. They diagnosed the problem as being a cart and horse concern: Apparently the coil on the #6 cylinder had failed and also the coil driver in the PCM had also failed. They don't know which occurred first and then likely caused the other problem. My concern is that the car was nearly undriveable as it was; what if the PCM had suffered a cascading damage of some sort" especially, what if this had happened while I was traveling 70mph on the freeway? I just think that a component of such importance as the PCM should not fail after only 11000 miles. I now have concerns about the replacement: Will it be brand new or rebuilt? if rebuilt, how reliable will that end up being" I also feel that a spark plug coil should be more robust than to fail at only 11000 miles. I believe this failure could represent a severe danger to myself and possibly to others if it happened while the car was being driven.

- Highland, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?