Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,774 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 8 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Sep 162015

200

  • 8,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbag light was going on and off throughout the day. I brought it to the dealer and they didn't find any codes but the light was off. I went down the road and it turned back on so I went back. They found the same code that's been giving me issues regarding the passenger seat. 7 times for the same issue. I had brought my car back and forth since March 2015 for the tranny issue. It jerks, hesitates, and rattles. On a serious note my neck hurts cause it causes me to jerk forward. All Chrysler keeps doing is reprogramming my computer on the tranny but it doesn't work. I have over 17 work orders, over 30 days of staying in the shop, and all they do is reprogram it per Chrysler star orders. Recently I went to reverse the vehicle and it shot forward then knocked into reverse. The buyback program is a lie. Please do not purchase the Chrysler 200. It's just a headache and a waste of money.

- West Haven, CT, USA

problem #90

Aug 072015

200

  • 28,000 miles
While driving on the expressway at approx 65 mph my vehicle cut off without warning. I lost all power. I was able to manuever to the shoulder and then the check engine light and transmission failure light came on. It took several minutes turning vehicle on and off and trying to shift before the vehicle would come on and shift into drive. This occured on two other occassions. The last time almost resulted in an accident because I couldn't get out of the way of cars coming behind me.

- Zion, IL, USA

problem #89

May 012015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V090000 (power train) and 15V461000 (equipment); however, the parts needed were not available for the recall repairs. The dealer could not provide a timeframe for when the parts would become available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #88

May 132015

200

  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At random times when I take my foot off the gas peddle and start to apply pressure to my brake my car speeds up and the RPM jumps up also. I have taken the car to the repair shop 3 times and they say after a few hours that they can not get them to duplicate the issue. This has alsmost caused multiple wrecks.

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #87

Jun 302015

200

  • 2,100 miles
My car jerks and/or hesitates while driving or accelerating from stop or coasting at 30 - 55mph. From a complete stop position my car has sputtered and rattled like the transmission or engine was having trouble engaging. I have a rattling sound coming from the engine compartment and you can hear it clearly coming from the passenger side with the windows down. A brand new car and it has a lot of transmission issues. Chrysler doesn't do anything unless it throws a code. 15 times in the repair shop. The car is at the shop now, and the tech is having trouble recreating the issue. Please someone do something about this.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #86

Apr 012015

200 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,812 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V0909000 (power train) was received in April of 2015. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/19/15 updated 1/14/2016

- Mount Holly Springs, PA, USA

problem #85

Aug 012015

200

  • 687 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the drive shaft came out causing the entire wheel to disconnect and subsequently causing the frame to collapse onto the tire of the front passenger side of the vehicle. I had this car for 2 weeks and had it towed to the dealership (tate Dodge) where I purchased it and it is still there since the incident on August 1st because I will not drive it as I do not feel safe in it.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #84

Jul 152015

200

  • 4,000 miles
I have requested Chrysler to buy back this vehicle before it kills someone or me. Issue is transmission selector knob. Safety complaint: Just below the radio and at the forward position of the center console is where the ac fan control knob is located, 3 inches below that, is the transmission selector knob. Both are similar in size and shape. The knob has one safety feature that requires the brake pedal to be depressed before the position from park to R N D L is selected. Once in motion (forward) the transmission selector knob can be placed in reverse without any warning that the vehicle is in the reverse position while driving forward, other than a tiny "R" symbol located between tachometer and speedometer within the instrument cluster and a yellow dash mark under the transmission selector knob that indicates which position the transmission is in. My wife and I have had several incidents where we would reach down and turn the ac knob counter clockwise to reduce ac fan output without realizing we put the car in reverse. Once the car comes to a stop it will be in reverse, step on the gas and you are going backwards with little time to react. We have several children, teens and tots. Imagine this scenario while in a school zone picking up your child while others are crossing in front and behind the vehicle. Other vehicles with this design require a push down and turn safety feature that works. I understand as a 45 year driver and owner of many vehicles over the years that ultimate responsibilities are the drivers. But you will soon see that this design will kill or injure someone. It is very easy for the passenger to make the same mistake without the driver being aware. It has happened with our teen. She bumped the knob some how and it was in reverse, came to a stop and took off in reverse. Thankfully no one was behind at the time. 1 recall 6 service visits. Darwin

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #83

Feb 132015

200

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 55 mph, the headlights were activated, but the headlights and tail lights failed. As a result, another vehicle crashed into the rear of the contact's vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained unknown injuries that did not require medical attention. In addition, while parked with the vehicle started, the vehicle jerked forward without warning and crashed into a curb. There were no injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #82

Sep 062015

200

  • 27,000 miles
While driving at 30mph the 200C jerked forward and completely stopped. All lights on the gear control were lit and the car completely stalled. The system said to pull over safely and to put the car into park and shut the car off. We were unable to do any of this because the care was stuck in drive so we were unable to even push the car to a safe area. We waited 20 minutes in hope that the car would reset itself. Unfortunately it did not and we were advised by road side assistance to disconnect the battery in order to reset the car. Unfortunately we did not have a wrench in the car in order to disconnect the battery and we had to flag someone down for a wrench. Very surprised that roadside assistance did not come out to help with the situation. After disconnecting the battery and waiting about 1 minute the car reset and we were able to restart the car. Since this happened the other day we now drive with a wrench in order to disconnect the battery. When I called for service Chrysler said that they are unaware of any recalls for this safety issue!!! this was a very dangerous situation since cars were flying off of the expressway and could have rear ended us. Unfortunately when this happens you are stuck in drive and you can't even push the car. Service department at the dealership was not very helpful until today when I heard from their manager. They told me that there were no recalls for this issue but to bring the car in and they would see what they could do.

- Elmsford, NY, USA

problem #81

Jul 242015

200

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the gears shifted from drive to park several times without warning. The failure was getting progressively worse. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 3,000.

- Trappe, MD, USA

problem #80

Aug 312015

200

  • 7,700 miles
My car jerks and/or hesitates while driving. From a complete stop position my car has sputtered without going any place. I would have to turn off my vehicle in the middle of the road and turn it back on so I can get it to go. I have a rattling sound coming from the engine compartment and you can hear it clearly coming from the passenger side with the windows down. A brand new car and it has a lot of tranny issues. The 9 speed automatic is the worst design with major flaws. Chrysler doesn't do anything unless it throws a code. 15 times in the repair shop and it is still there with the same issue that no tech can figure out. Please someone do something about this. The buyback program they offer is a sham don't believe them.

- West Haven , CT, USA

problem #79

Aug 282015

200

  • 5,000 miles
I was stopped at stop sign when I took foot off brake pedal to accelerate it couldn't get traction with back tiers it felt like the back right tire locked up and it jerked back and forth until I took foot off accelerator. I stopped but couldn't see anything wrong. This happened on 8-28-15. On 8-29-15 was in a drive thru and when car is in park and I put in drive it makes a clicking sound from engine and car jerks somewhat with my foot on the brake. I have noticed that when I accelerate it hesitates to go. I am very concerned about this problem because I am almost scared to drive it because of the hesitation to go, and could cause a wreck if the tire thing happens again.

- Cordele, GA, USA

problem #78

Aug 232015

200

  • 10,711 miles
Engine light had came on again as I was driving to the store when it hesitated slightly, several times its been in for "fuel issues" which started back in Oct 14', but this time it needed and tcm update. After this was done it came back with a code reading it needed a new transmission. I'm glad mine was just starting the jerking over the last few weeks, even though now that I think about it, it may have been far longer then that but only occasionally, in reverse and when getting up to speed.this car has too many issues and is a safety issue to drive because at any moment your transmission can drop on it. For a new car this is too much and someone is going to lose their life driving this car if it cuts out at the wrong time.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #77

Jun 052015

200

  • 250 miles
This vehicle has a horrible transmission. It changes gears when it wants to! several times we have had a issue with the accelerator going like someone put their foot on the gas pedal...by itself!! I have almost rear ended someone 3times because of it. There needs to be a recall on these vehicles.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #76

Mar 232015

200

  • 2,000 miles
I was at a stop sign with my spouse and I was taking a right hand turn. The car didn't move at all then all of a sudden it lunged forward causing us to jerk back and forth. I still have lower back pain because of this and my spouse neck was hurting for a couple of weeks. Other than that I have several issues that had yet to be resolved. There is a rattling sound coming from the engine compartment. They told me it was a knock and I have tried different brands of gas and it 's still there. The car still lunges forward from a stop even though it has had an update on its system multiple times. When you put the car in park it rolls forward quite a bit. 2 times it jumped out of park and into reverse. I have had an airbag issue 5 times and today it is at the dealership to be repaired again. It is the right side airbag. Connectors were changed and wiring 4 times. Car hesitates a lot especially from a stand still. I have almost gotten into accidents due to the fact that when I was taking a left on a major road from a complete stop the car rolled a little and didn't go. It hesitated jerked hard and went really slow. A grinding noise came from the tranny. Another issue I have is that my car vibrates. I don't have no ac nor radio on and it just vibrates. The tech told me that Chrysler star will not do anything for my vehicle just updates. I'm paying for a car that spends about a week in the shop once a month since April. No one can figure it but they can hear the rattling and feel the sound. I even had one tech told me that I should deal with it that I am not the only one complaining but star isn't going to do anything about it. Yet again it is at the shop today getting an update and the airbag being repaired.

- West Haven, CT, USA

problem #75

Sep 112014

200

  • 1,500 miles
2015 Chrysler 200 rented from enterprise rac in dallas, tx. 2.4L four-cylinder/9-speed automatic transmission. Vehicle traveling at steady 55-60 mph on a controlled-access toll road. I began accelerating to approx. 65 mph to pass a vehicle ahead, triggering a downshift. I then determined traffic conditions were not favorable to pass, so I reduced pressure on the accelerator pedal to slow down; however, the vehicle continued to accelerate in passing gear for several seconds after I removed my foot from the accelerator pedal before slowing. I was able to duplicate this situation several times at speeds between 55-75 mph, and each time it took the car between 4-7 seconds after removing my foot from the accelerator for the vehicle to stop accelerating and begin to slow.

- Corrales, NM, USA

problem #74

Jul 022015

200

  • 8,700 miles
Vehicle shut off while driving approx. 40 mph. Vehicle started blinking put car in park, service transmission, service park break. Then, it shut off on its own. All gears locked up and car would not restart. I was a sitting duck in the roadway. This has happened X2, July 2nd, 2015 and August 10th, 2015. Had it towed both times. First time Chrysler dealer stated they replaced tcm. This second time they are stating the car is reading multiple codes and they don't know what to fix.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #73

Jun 092015

200

  • 1,600 miles
When I am driving my whole panel turns off and on, I go to take off and it hesiate a few seconds than goes, it does it at stop lights and while on the highway in traffic, brakes make a real loud noise I leave it park most of the time I am at 6320 mile I bought it in April 17, 2015 I should be over 10,000 mile but I am afraid to drive

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #72

Jul 282015

200

  • 840 miles
While on vacation, I was travelling down a highway at 60 mph. Suddenly the accelerator on my recently leased 2015 Chrysler 200 somehow decoupled with the drive train. The D in my dashboard started flashing and the car began coasting. The engine was on, and I had power steering, but no acceleration. Somehow, without any ability to control my car's speed, I got to the shoulder without being hit by one of the many 18 wheelers on the freeway. The car had just over 800 miles on the odometer. Eventually the car was towed to a local dealership. They helped me rent a car and I continued my vacation. They replaced a faulty crank sensor and I returned to pick the car up a week later. But before I'd even driven 30 miles, I experienced the exact same problem again. As the D in the dashboard flashed, the car essentially went into neutral and began coasting down the freeway. I almost caused an accident getting to the side of the road. My heart was racing after this horrific and exasperating experience. Chrysler roadside assistance towed the car to a nearby dealership that couldn't recreate the problem, so the dealership where I bought the car had it returned to them. They kept my car in the shop for a full week, eventually replacing the pmc. I picked up my repaired car, but lo and behold, before I had driven much more than 20 miles, the exact same thing happened for a third time, but this time on a surface road. By this time, I'm out of my mind with fear, indignation and frustration. This is my life. I only have one of them that I know of. I want to extend it as long as possible. The 2015 Chrysler 200 is dangerous and I will never feel comfortable driving it. I'm looking at all the possible ways I can get away from this unsafe and unreliable vehicle.

- Pontiac, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?