Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,471 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler 300 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 9 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Mar 282012

300 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles


I was stop waiting on the car in front of me to go when a lager company truck hit me in back, the truck never stop, he had to be doing 50 mile or more, but my airbag did not deployed cause head trauma and neck, back, problems, the truck smashed in the back of my car and the gas tank hang out if I would have had more gas in it, it would have blown up. I have picture to prove this fact and was told that by the car dealer collision department.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #18

Feb 082012

300 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I was parked by my mailbox and was hit by an oncoming vehicle. The impact of the hit damaged the front & left side of driver's vehicle; 2005 Chrysler 300 ltd. My complaint and concern is that, "none of the airbags deployed to cushion the impact".

- Lisman, AL, USA

problem #17

May 122005


  • 1,200 miles
The contact has had air bag problems since purchasing the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired 10 times; however, the failure continued to occur. The first failure occurred on May 12, 2005 and the vehicle was purchased May 10, 2004. The vehicle was involved in a crash 1 year ago and the air bags did not deploy. The air bag has never deployed on it's own; yet, the air big light is illuminating intermittently. The failure mileage was 2100 and the current mileage was 17700.

- Upper Darby, PA, USA

problem #16

Aug 302009


  • 47,289 miles


My passenger air bag is not working in my 2005 Chrysler 300C.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #15

Mar 192009


  • 35,000 miles
I have 2005 Chrysler 300C, the air bag connection goes bad due to an automatic telescoping steering wheel, its a very expensive fix and an engineering flaw not to mention a safety issue, this problem appear to be to be popping up on many 2005 Chrysler 300C.

- Niskayuna, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Jan 152008

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Second time airbag light has come one; with barely 40,000 miles on the car, clock spring ad airbag computer had to be replaced; every time I go in the dealer for service, there is another Chrysler 300 getting a new clock spring; how can we tolerate airbag systems that last less than 2 years and the dealer wants to charge us$800 every time.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #13

Feb 112008

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


The vehicle was hit in a head-on collision and the airbag(s) failed to come out. The consequences extensive damage to the vehicle and I sustained an injury. So far the vehicle is still being evaluated for repairs, but no recalls have been received on the vehicle involved in the crash.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #12

Nov 112007

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. While driving 35 mph, the contact crashed into another vehicle on the front passenger side of the vehicle. The entire front end of the vehicle was damaged. None of the air bags deployed and the seat belts failed to properly secure the contact. As a result, he struck the instrument panel. He did not notice any warning lights prior to the crash. The contact filed a formal complaint with the manufacturer. The current and failure mileages were 32,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #11

Sep 282007

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Warning light for air bags came on and would not go off. On June 1st 2007 I took the car to the dealer. They told me it was an electrical component and would be covered under my supplemental warranty. The repair order lists the following work as being performed: "41706 clockspring 2.00 the tech read dtc present in the orc for driver's squibb 1 open. The tech performed diag as per services information and verified the failure. The tech removed and replaced the clockspring, recalibrated the steering angle sensor, cleared the dtc and test drove the vehicle". only 3 months later in September of 2007 the air bag warning light again stayed on. I took the car back to the same dealer and I was told that this time it wasn't an "electrical" problem but the air bag itself, since my supplemental policy did not cover air bags I would have to pay the entire $650 myself. The diagnosis on the work order read: "46765 found code B1B02 in orc module 1.00 diagnosed and found internal short in drivers airbag. Need to replace airbag assembly". this car has 46,000 miles on it and is only 2 years old. I am worried about the integrity of the air bags and I understand there have been many other complaints other than my own about airbag problems with this type vehicle.

- Ks, KS, USA

problem #10

Apr 032007

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
I have a Chrysler 300 2005. I have had the air bag system repaired 5 times. Contacts, connectors and at least two cables have been replaced. Is there a recall on this. How can I be sure it is working?

- Mt Airy, MD, USA

problem #9

Nov 272006

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles


: the contact stated intermittently, the air bag light illuminated indicating the air bags were inoperable. The vehicle had been to the dealer on four occasions where the ground wire was checked, the clock spring and wiring harness were replaced, the wires were inspected, and the ignition switch was replaced however, the problem persisted.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #8

Dec 222005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at 50 mph the accelerator pedal became stuck in the depressed position which resulted in an accident with another vehicle. There was severe damage to the chassis of both vehicles. However, the air bags of the contact's vehicle did not deploy. It was taken to a service dealer but the mechanic was unable to duplicate the problem with the accelerator pedal. Also, the vehicle continuously pulled to the right and required excessive force to keep the vehicle moving straight. The vehicle was taken to service dealer where the tires were rotated. Shortly after the tire rotation, the tread became completely worn. The mechanic determined the suspension was the cause of the problem.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #7

Dec 092004

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,709 miles
Bought a Chrysler 300 touring on March 3,2004 I've had the following problems: 12-09-04 recall D50 radiator isolator brackets, recall D51 antifreeze concentration level, noise coming from dash around the defroster advised nothing could be done for rattling. Engine light comes for a few days then goes off. Unknown reasons. 12-18-04 passenger air bag light stays on - system recalibrated. 12-21-04 passenger air bag light on a second time - system recalibrated a second time. 10-12-05 VIN number covered by dashboard - cut a rearranged pad problem corrected. 12-22-05 driver side airbag light stays on - circuit 1 code clock spring defect - replaced clock spring. 12-23-05 driver side air bag light on a second time. Had to wait until after christmas for service. Told by dealership (Dodge country, tx) they would not provide a rental car which is a part of the warranty because the vehicle is operative and would not be responsible if the air bags accidentally deploys while operating the vehicle. Vehicle parked until 12-30-05 clock spring replaced a second time. 1-18-06 rear drivers side window would not roll down 50% of the time. Loud squeaking and rattling sound coming from rear of vehicle. ABS and electronic stability light on. Vehicle can't be seen for service until 1-23-05 by dealership. Vehicle parked until dealership can pick it up.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #6

Aug 052005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact stated heard clanking sound from the rear end. Contacted the dealership, and they said the transmission was going out. After they fixed the transmission 2000 miles later it went out again. He asked the dealership for a new transmission. After the initial time of fixing the transmission they didn't clean the transmission with a lint free cloth so it caused the transmission to clog up, causing the vehicle to stall. The second time to repair the transmission the parts will not be available until November 2005. The brake light comes on intermittently.. a technical service bulletin was issued concerning steering. The vehicle pulls to the right, after being fixed it pulled to the left. T he talked to the dealership about the air bag light coming on. They put it on a machine. He was told that there was a sensor that had to be replaced. They had to get the parts off the assembly line because they didn't have the parts to fix this vehicle.

- Almeda , CA, USA

problem #5

Jan 152005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The vehiclewas brought to freehold Chrysler for service for the engine light coming on, not shifting properly, hesitation, left and right side molding coming off, trunk latch broken and car pulling to the right. Freehold Chrysler stated they could not duplicate the problems and found no codes and the wheel alignment was done at a cost to me of $95, molding and trunk latch was replaced. We then brought the car back again for pulling to the right about 1 week later and again the told us it was fixed.the vehicle was not pulling as much but still was. About 2 weeks later the car was red lining, not shifting and stalling on her. We brought the car to eatontown Chrysler in which they found a transmission solenoid to be bad and replaced it. We then started to experience electrical problems such as rear window not working all the time and air bag light sometimes flashing on and off while driving and again hesitation when stating from stop. Also the moon roof interior shade opens to about an inch after driving to vehicle for about a week. We contacted freehold Chrysler about these problem and the previous wheel alignment and made an appointment for May 3, 2005. Now its May 8th and we have approx. 20,000 on the vehicle and we are being told the wheel alignment was completed based on a service bulletin and at no cost to us, even though we paid $95 originally, and the rest of the problems cannot be duplicated and there's nothing else they could do. I contacted the Chrysler Corp. Service center at 18009921997 and spoke to numerous people in reference to these problems and was told to take the car to another dealership and there's nothing else that they could do.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #4

Nov 122004

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,703 miles
Steering wheel vibrates speedometer goes from 65 to 40 engine light comes and stays on dates 2/24/05 4/1/25 4/11/05 4/25/05 the dealer wanted the consumer to continue driving the vehicle without determining what the problem was. The only the thing that they were willing to do was change the sparks plugs. There was also a whistling noise while on the freeway. The windshield was removed an re-installed. The air bag light illuminated on several occasions

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #3

Mar 282005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Air bag light comes on and stays on occassioally.

- Highland, NY, USA

problem #2

Dec 102004

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Since the vehicle was delivered we have had electrical problems plus a recurrent air bag light problem. The vehicle which is leased and used by our mayor has been back for the same air bag light a minimum of 8 times. The vehicle is presently at the dealer again for the same problem. We have even taken it to a different dealer with the same results.this vehicle is a 2005 Chrysler 300C.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #1

Nov 072004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
Consumer stated vehicle was in a collision while driving 30-35 mph. It was hit on the driver's side, and the air bags failed to deploy. Consumer contacted the manufacturer, who said if the vehicle was not hit in the grill air bags will not deploy.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?