Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,846 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler 300 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Dec 272004


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


My car pulls to the right while driving. I have taken this in to the dealer three or four times and have been told that all of the 2005 300S do that. If I want to see if an alignment will correct it, I will have to pay for it myself.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #12

Jan 152005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The vehiclewas brought to freehold Chrysler for service for the engine light coming on, not shifting properly, hesitation, left and right side molding coming off, trunk latch broken and car pulling to the right. Freehold Chrysler stated they could not duplicate the problems and found no codes and the wheel alignment was done at a cost to me of $95, molding and trunk latch was replaced. We then brought the car back again for pulling to the right about 1 week later and again the told us it was fixed.the vehicle was not pulling as much but still was. About 2 weeks later the car was red lining, not shifting and stalling on her. We brought the car to eatontown Chrysler in which they found a transmission solenoid to be bad and replaced it. We then started to experience electrical problems such as rear window not working all the time and air bag light sometimes flashing on and off while driving and again hesitation when stating from stop. Also the moon roof interior shade opens to about an inch after driving to vehicle for about a week. We contacted freehold Chrysler about these problem and the previous wheel alignment and made an appointment for May 3, 2005. Now its May 8th and we have approx. 20,000 on the vehicle and we are being told the wheel alignment was completed based on a service bulletin and at no cost to us, even though we paid $95 originally, and the rest of the problems cannot be duplicated and there's nothing else they could do. I contacted the Chrysler Corp. Service center at 18009921997 and spoke to numerous people in reference to these problems and was told to take the car to another dealership and there's nothing else that they could do.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #11

Mar 192005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
While driving my 2005 Chrysler 300 with the hemi motor thru my subdivision at 25mi per hour the rack-N-pinion broke and the stabilizer bar broke, causing a badly bent rim, that caused the bolts under the car to become sheared off, causing a accident. Just and fyi I purchased the car 12/04 and the parts broke off on 3/19/2005

- Florrisant, MO, USA

problem #10

Nov 122004

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,703 miles


Steering wheel vibrates speedometer goes from 65 to 40 engine light comes and stays on dates 2/24/05 4/1/25 4/11/05 4/25/05 the dealer wanted the consumer to continue driving the vehicle without determining what the problem was. The only the thing that they were willing to do was change the sparks plugs. There was also a whistling noise while on the freeway. The windshield was removed an re-installed. The air bag light illuminated on several occasions

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #9

Apr 122005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,255 miles
This vehicle (as I understand, this and may others) is experiencing a pull to right. It has been in the shop numerous times and has had the tsb (camb. Bolt) performed 2 times. Purchased this car in August and have had this problem right from the we are at the end of April and it is not fixed. We have had all tires replaced for wear (and have been told that this has nothing to do with alignment) this vehicle's production date is very early. Apparently Chrysler has since fixed the problem on newer 300's being produced....but can seem to fix the older ones. At this point I am questioning whether this can be repaired.

- Schenevus, NY, USA

problem #8

Mar 012005

300 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Chrysler 300 experiencing serious problems with steering. During the sub zero temperatures this winter, the consumer stated the steering would freeze. The lower the temperature would drop the harder the vehicle became to steer. The dealer showed the consumer a service bulletin outlining the problem, but was not provided a solution.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #7

Mar 252005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


I have a 2005 Chrysler 300 made in August of 2004. It has an issue, as many of these and Dodge magnums do, with pulling to the right while driving. This is a very dangerous issue and should be looked into! my car has been in the shop 3 times and I have only had it for 2 weeks! my car keep swirving right and I keep having to pull it back. The dealer keeps giving my excuses and Chrysler is denying that there is a problem. This is a very real problem! it almost caused an accident on April 2nd, 2005!

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #6

Mar 162005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
My Chrysler 300 has 7000 miles on it and has been to the shop 3 times for a front end alignment problem, car pulls to the right shop says it is supposed to follow the crown in the road ( I was born at night but not last night ) come on Chrysler you can come up with a better excuse than that. This is a recall problem they should be forced to fix this. All dealers are being told to use this excuse, about the car is supposed to follow the crown or it is a heck of a coincedence that this complaint keeps coming up.

- Destin, FL, USA

problem #5

Oct 082004

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 308 miles
Purchased 2005 Chrysler 300 limited October 8, 2004, car deliver with 308 miles. Car pulls to right returned for service 22 Oct, dealer performs tsb for alignment only, tires ruined and need replacement which will be done on Oct 27th. Take car, with in 10 miles cars starts to pull again, call dealer and arrange to have car picked up from home on Oct 25th. Research problem on internet and provide tsb 02-003-04 which calls for installment of camber bolts and new alignment specs. Dealer was not aware of this tsb. Pick up car on Nov 1, car drives great, but for only about 300 miles and starts to pull right again. Returned to dealer Nov 9th, and on Nov 12th dealer tells me car is in spec and offers me a similar car to test drive and compare. Test drive 300C made in September- car drives perfect. Drive my car and stills pulls to right. Had technician james drive my car and he agreed it pulls and said this to the salesman. Car is now at dealer and still not repaired. I have driven this car about 1200 miles and it only drove well for about 300 of these. Secondly 210 miles were put on driving this car back and forth to dealer.

- Middlebury, CT, USA

problem #4

Apr 302004

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
Car veers to the right. Been to the dealer(s) 5 times. Still pulls even after cam bolts installed.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #3

May 192004

300 6-cyl

  • 4,000 miles


While driving, the steering wheel pulled to the right. The dealership tried to repair the problem three times, but did not resolve the problem.

- Sikeston, MO, USA

problem #2

Apr 292004

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 350 miles
Veh pulls right, steering wheel off center to the left. Been to dealership 5 times. Was told eccentric bolt kit would fix projectoral angle problem. Veh still pulls right but not as bad. Steering wheel off center to the left. Dealer cannot correct. They say veh is in spec. Was told by dealer that veh's built before April all have this condition.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #1

Jun 012004


  • miles
Chrysler 300C pull, drift and rear end bang issue. The vehicle pulled to the right and when it was placed in reverse, at times, a bang noise and or grind was heard before it would lock and begin to roll. These problems were noticed when the vehicle was first purchased.

- Orlando, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?