Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.5

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,910 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler 300 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments

problem #15

Apr 052011

300 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact was driving 10 mph when a banging noise was heard from the front suspension. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic who noticed a defect in the tension strut arm, which was detaching at the ball joint. The mechanic stated that if the tension strut arm disconnected from the ball joint, the front tires would become inoperable. The mechanic stated that the tension arm struts would need to be replaced. The contact did not replace the tension strut arms. The failure mileage as was 70,000. Form returned no change updated 04/30/12

- Farmington, IA, USA

problem #14

Jun 112005

300 6-cyl

  • 200 miles
I noticed that when I drive my car it pulls to the right. I took it to the dealer to have it fixed and the serviceman said that the problem was fixed it just needed an alignment. I left the dealership and drove down the hwy and it began to pull to the right again. I went back to the repair shop and they said to me that the alignment machine said that it was aligned just perfect. So I took the repairman on a test drive and again it pull to the right. So back to the repair shop we went and they replace a bolt or something to that effect(tsb) and it still pulls to the right. I notice a lot of the 05 models have that problem, but it seems as though Chrysler has fixed the problem on the 06 and newer models. When you hit divot in the rd. The front end shakes and basically the front tires actually leave the rd. For a brief second. The problem has not been corrected yet and all that the serviceman tells me is that is the way the car was design.(which I doubt seriously) if that was the case then I and a lot of other owners of the Chrysler 300 wouldn't have purchase the vehicle.

- Spring Valley, CA, USA

problem #13

Apr 252009

300

  • miles
I had to have the tires replaced at 30,00 miles. Took car for tires and was told I needed struts and shock. Took care to have struts and shocks replaced and was told I needed tire rods and a ball joints for passenger side. Dealer said the ball joint had been redesigned and I had to replace both or the car could not be aligned. They were unwilling to provide the ball joint for the drivers side. The passenger rear window will not work. And the power seat on the passenger side does not work. I will never purchase a Chrysler again.

- Richton Park, IL, USA

problem #12

Feb 012007

300

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tie rod ends went out at 35,000 miles and again before 60,000 miles. Two sets, one under warranty one not. Having electrical problems with driver window, estimate over $400 - replaced tires before 60,000 - I "baby" this car and it still is not holding up! won't buy another Chrysler - ever.

- Milan, MI, USA

problem #11

Jan 122005

300

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
I purchased a 2005 Chrysler 300C on Dec 9 2004 from warnock of NJ. Noticed right away pulling in front end of the vehicle. Brought the car back into the dealer on 12/12/05. The dealer stated there was no problem brought the car back in on 3/22/05 the dealer states no problem. Brought it back in on 6/24/05 for the steering wheel being crooked they fixed the problem. Had to bring the car back in on 6/30/05 for moaning in the steering the tires were worn down already after 2 rotations. They did an alignment and fixed the moaning. Brought the car to Chrysler of paramus on 9/8/05 for the pulling again in the front end. They fixed that.had the car back into warnock Chrysler 11/10/05 for the rims on my car were rusted. They wouldnt replace them I had to fight with Chrysler. 12/24/05 took car to westwood Chrysler for pulling in the front end and sunroof leaking.they fixed the roof and the fronend.2/22/06 took car back to Chrysler of westwood for replacement of my rims that were rusted. Also had them check the pulling again in the frontend. The sunroof was still leaking they had to fix it again. While it was leaking into my car all along. 5/06 took car to westwood for new tires. Continental wouldnt take responsibility for the wear of the tires. While all along they couldnt fix the pulling in the frontend.9/06 took car back to westwood for the tires wearing out again I purchased another set of tires not the continentals they were offering. Had to pay out of pocket again. 9/06 took car back for steering & rattling in frontend. Couldnt find the problem. 11/06 had a transmission leak in my driveway they fixed that. Jan 07 had to pay for new upper ball joints on the car and struts Chrysler wouldnt take on responsibility go figure when all along I complained of the problem. Tried to trade car in lost the value of car. People we need to work together and go after Chrysler they produced a car not worth driving and were paying for the mistake. Anyone intrested in class action.

- Kearny, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Apr 152006

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
: the contact stated that the vehicle pulls to the right. There were no warnings prior to the failure. The failure occurs under all road conditions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer numerous times for front end alignments but the problem persists. The manufacturer was contacted on 07/19/06 and a complaint was filed. Updated 8/14/ 2006 -

- Horicon, WI, USA

problem #9

Jul 192006

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving at various speeds the vehicle pulls to the right. The dealer could not determine the cause of the problem. Updated 8/14/2006 -

- Horicon, WI, USA

problem #8

Jul 162005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
The car never seems to hold an alignment. It gives the feeling that it wants to drift over the road (beyond the geometry of the road.) and sometimes suspension shudders over transition joints in roads.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #7

Aug 232005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,900 miles
The alignment was off on this vehicle and caused excessive wear to the tires. This occurred on all tires, however, the driver's left dt: Front tire was showing the wear indicators. The vehicle had only 16,000 miles on it, and was driven on highway roads. Called dealer, who said it was not their problem, it was the tires and not covered brand on the car. No repairs or corrections have been made. Consumer took to a tire shop dealer who noted this was not a tire problem but an issue with the alignment. This is still a problem at this time. Consumer felt this was a problem with the alignment as well. No noticeable pulling or steering on the vehicle with the alignment only the wear on the tires. This tires were the original equipment on the vehicle, but consumer believed this was again a problem with alignment.

- Moriches, NY, USA

problem #6

May 192005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14 miles
Car was purchased new Aug. 2004, and has been pulling to the right and riding like a small pickup truck[ rough ] ever since and has been to the dealer on numerous occasions. Has been aligned 3times, once by a non Chrysler shop it has been checked by a mfg. Area distict serv. Mgr and a Chrysler engineer both would not acknowlege the problem fully tthis condition makes the car difficult to control and unsafe to operate in the rain and snow. Chrysler seems unwilling and/or unable to correct the problem. Are we to wait until someone gets hurt or killed in an accident because of these defects?

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #5

Nov 152004

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle pulled to the right while driving at various speeds between 0-75 mph. Vehicle had been to the dealer on five separate occasions, and they made various repairs. But problem recurred. Vehicle had been to a repair shop on one occasion, and they were unable to locate the cause of the problem.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 072004

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles
The vehicle would pull to the right when driving (5-65 mph). The vehicle bounced and lost steering control when driving over bumps. Vehicle has been to the dealer on three separate occasions. Dealer had rotated the front tires and tightened the front suspension. Many consumers of the same vehicle have complained about there vehicles pulling to the right as you drive and brake.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #3

Aug 152004

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Vehicle pulled to the right while driving 30 mph or more. Vehicle had been to dealer on two separate occasions. Dealer informed consumer that was the normal characteristic of that vehicle. Vehicle was repaired.

- Canton, IL, USA

problem #2

Jul 072004

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 260 miles
Car has been out of alinement since day of purchase. Have had it worked on by dealer multiple times, by multiple dealers. Was told that was as good as it was going to get.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #1

Jun 012004

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles
While driving at any speed vehicle had a tendency to pull severely to the right. Dealer examined the vehicle and informed the consumer that a kit was needed for the front suspension. Consumer found a technical service bulletin outlining the problem.

- Hartville, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?