Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,594 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler 300 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 23 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Jul 042013

300

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. While driving 40 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn, the engine stalled, and the warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and believed the failure was related to the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Fremont, NC, USA

problem #27

Sep 292014

300

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the engine stalled causing the steering wheel to seize. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact believed that the failure was directly related to NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system).the vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Corpus Christi , TX, USA

problem #26

Mar 082014

300 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Vehicle key does not turn back; accessories, does not come on.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #25

Sep 052014

300

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the key failed to turn into the on position to start the vehicle. Also, the contact mentioned that the vehicle stalled on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not able to be driven. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Onalaska, TX, USA

problem #24

Jul 102010

300 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I bought a new Chrysler 300 in 2008. The 300 is having very major issues in July 10, 2010 / September 09, 2011 / September 04 2012 / August 12, 2013/, June 2014 / September 2014 the 300 had to be towed many times because the car will not start; this car was shutting down while driving what is very dangerous and scary ; when we put the car in neutral the car might restart, we had some very unsafe driving concerns at this time when the vehicle was stalling repetitively anywhere (freeway, regular street, when driving slow, fast), we were told it was due to a faulty ignition module and 6 times we came to Chrysler it was something related to a faulty ignition we kept driving the 300 not feeling safe, the car stalls anytime, anywhere, the dealership seems unable to fix the issue. My wife who mainly drove the car decided to let me drive the 300 because she was not feeling safe driving with the kids scared to get into a car accident because the engine never stopped shutting down anywhere she drives ( freeway, street) the ignition issue is consistent 1 year apart, July 2010, September 2011, September 2012, August 2013 June 014, September 2014, I am certain if nothing seriously is done I will contact you again next year for the same issue. This faulty ignition issue must be fix permanently at Chrysler dealership cost; my family is not safe driving this car; ; the dealership is well aware of the issue for many years now but they ignore us. I have enough that is why I contact you to see if anything you can do to help me resolving this issue. I will ask first for a refund associated to all ignition issues and a total fix of the problem I sent a certified complaint letter to Chrysler in June 2014 but still waiting for a response.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #23

Jun 012014

300

  • 88,504 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. While merging into the right lane at 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure occurred several times. The dealer stated that the computer module and the wireless key needed to be replaced and reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for further inspection and the contact was informed that the fuel pump may be leaking. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 88,504.

- Suitland , MD, USA

problem #22

Jan 022014

300

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled after the drivers knee inadvertently made contact with the ignition key. In a second incident the contact experienced the same defect while making a left turn. The contact indicated that the defect had recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #21

Feb 272013

300

  • 125,000 miles
On 2/27/2014 I was driving on the free way and my windshield wipers stopped working. It was very dangerous due to the fact that it was pouring rain out, and I had zero visibility on the highway. I had to pull over on to the shoulder, where I waited approximately 30 minutes before I was able to get my wipers to work again. On my way home from work later that day, as I was driving on the freeway once again, my car completely turned off leaving me stranded in the middle of the free way. I was able to get my car started and get home safely, although I was terrified. Took my car to the dealer on 3/1/2014. Tech stated it was a bad wiper motor, part replaced and still wipers will not work. Replaced fuses and relays as recommended per dealer tech, still wipers will not work I have spent over 500$ in these repairs and still my wipers are not working. Now the dealer is saying that I have a bad tipm (totally integrated power module). However, I am unable to get my car fixed since the part is on back order. Apparently chrsyler has known about this problem for a while now since the part is on a national back order. I believe Chrysler should recall all vehicles with a defective tipm. The dealer has given me an estimate of 1200$ for replacing the tipm. It's very aggravating since now I must pay for a rental car for who knows how long since not even dealers know when the part will be available. I will never buy another Chrysler, Dodge or Jeep product again. After doing some extensive research, I have found that several models have this same issue.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #20

Jan 172011

300

  • 95,000 miles
The key comes out of the ignition while I am driving. Now my car doesn't start at all. I was told I needed a win module and it is now on national back order bc so many people are having the same problem. This is a big safety issue. I would appreciate it if you could look into this problem.

- Miami Beach , FL, USA

problem #19

Jul 102013

300 6-cyl

  • 100,500 miles
So I was having starting issues with my car, it would start when it wanted to.. so I took my car to Chrysler on August 23rd, 2013 to have them diagnosis the issue, well they took a day to do that and called me and told me that it was the wireless module device and that it would take a week to come in and they would call me. A week passed and I had to call them, and that's when they told me that the wireless module device was on back order and that they weren't sure when the part would be in... 8 weeks later the part finally came and they added the part and it still wouldn't work, so they said they where going to have to another diagnosis test on it.. after that they called me and said that they would have to put a new starter and new wires on it because they wires were melted and they would have to change them out. Ok so they fixed that issue and then said if I have the same problem again I would need a new tipm module device.. a few weeks later I started having the same starting issues and now it getting worse... Chrysler wants me to pay another $1000 to fix the tipm module device..... I just read online about the law suite against Chrysler for that part for my year and model..

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #18

Nov 202013

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300C. The contact stated that immediately after refueling, the vehicle stalled as the check engine warning lamp illuminated. The contact mentioned that he was able to restart the vehicle immediately after the failure. The contact inspected the vehicle and diagnosed that there was a defective sensor in the engine. The contact made repairs to the vehicle but to no avail. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 69,206....updated 03/07/14 the consumer stated the PCM was replaced three times, but to no avail. The consumer stated the problem was a bad ignition coil. Found through more testing. Possibly when the temperature of the engine varied it created an open in the coil causing the coil to have electrical discharge into the wiring harness, which was causing the PCM to shut down, reset and then stall. Updated 03/18/14

- West Chicago, IL, USA

problem #17

Jul 172013

300 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
1) car stopped suddenly as I was about to enter freeway. Had to quickly head to median. Tried starting car several times, no response. Finally started - stalled during operation 2) inability to start car consistently. Car finally stopped working. Had to take it into dealership - new tipm needed 3) alarm system has had uncontrolled activity. 4) door locks have randomly turned on and off. 5) car horn has randomly gone off while driving approximately 3 times in the last 6 months.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 012013

300 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact was driving 25 mph when the windows became inoperable. The contact also stated that the engine would sporadically fail to start. The failures were recurring. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacture was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000...updated 01/13/14 updated 01/16/14

- Miami, OK, USA

problem #15

Sep 052013

300

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the ignition switch had to be turned at least five times before the vehicle would start. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The dealer stated that the wcm box was defective and needed to be replaced however, the part was not available to remedy the vehicle. The dealer stated that the part would become available until December 2013. The failure mileage was 87,000.

- Wyandanch, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 062012

300

  • 104,000 miles
This car is a lemon! I see other people's issues and I cannot believe this car hasn't been totally recalled and overhauled! every month since I got it ( my first used car!).. it was at rental company for 1 1/2 years then I was the sucker that bought it! the tie rods go once a year and mechanics 'all talk who Chrysler made them bad I guess" then the Goodyear intregrity's hydroplane....the suspension sounds like beverly hillbillies...I was told that the noises I hear are not the shocks I had replaced but are now the actual front arm controls of my car that are rotting away...another thing is the engine "kicks in hard" when going into 2nd shift (automatic)..the horn is hard to press..the front tires rub, you can hear then when turning even though I am up to date on rotors and pads...let's see what else oh yes just paid $400 because the car started to overheat so when I was there getting that fixed I told them how my car has always had condensation on it in the winter..I can chisel off the ice particles on the inside! they said I needed a whole new housing of some sorts fixed so they did that..hum what else? oh now the engine light is on and the car is chugging and jerking like I'm in a farmer's tractor! it's 10/2013 and I have 2 more years to go to pay...I have no more $$$ thanks Chrysler..god bless America...2 more to pay on this..I should have stuck with Honda or go Toyota!

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #13

Jun 012010

300 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
About a month before the major incident my car windows wouldn't go down and the car did not start right away...then the day it just died I went to start it and the warning light said it was electrical.. I got the book out and the code showed you how to override the computer in the car by rebooting it..it didn't work so off my car went in a flatbed.. $500 later I was told that the computer in the car was broken. I also had to buy a new fob key because it now had a new computer to 'recognize" the car's electronics basically. And since then there has been something wrong with this lemon all the time.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #12

Sep 052013

300 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The cooling fan broke off a blade which put a hole in the radiator and blew the alternator. I had to replace the radiator = $450 battery - $100 cooling fan = $150 alternator = $185 $885 later on the cooling fan should not have broke.

- Odessa, FL, USA

problem #11

May 062013

300 6-cyl

  • 92 miles
My car has been cutting off while driving. It happened about 5 times this year. The most recent incident was a wake up call that I could not ignore. I was going about 15mph making a left turn on to a busy street from another busy street and before I could complete the turn it cut off with cars behind me and to my left and right. I had no control over the car and started to veer into the occupied right lane. I had my too young daughters with me and it was very scary. I was able to cut the car back on immediately but this was unsafe. The other times I was driving straight and did not have to use the wheel to steer. I had no idea that if the car cuts off the steering goes with it. We took the car to Chrysler who could not diagnose it, I then took it to my mechanic who could not diagnose it. He kept the car for about 3 days to see if he could replicate the issue - he couldn't. there was another Chrysler 300 my mechanic said just got dropped off with the very same issue. I called Chrysler who said to take it back in and they will work with us to see what the issue is. I wanted to let you know because I am not confident it will get fixed and I believe this poses a serious safety issue for the public. Please look into this because others may ignore it at first like I did. But when my young girls where in the car and I had no control, I had to take action.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 062013

300

  • 65,000 miles
My vehicle would not start on 8/6/13. It was taken to the Chrysler dealership on northlake blvd in lake park, fl. On 8/9/13 I was told the car needed a win module and it would take appprox. Two weeks to come in, that it was on back order. I asked if it was because they were replacing so many and was told no, it was because "too many people are replacing them unnecessarily", I asked if they had a loaner car since it was not our fault that it would take so long to get the part and we could not afford a rental, that we were a three car family down to only one car. I was told no they do not supply loaner cars or reimbursement on a rental car. It seems to me that if a part is taking that long to get it must be because they are having to replace so many. I see another complaint on here for the exact same thing!!! I also googled it and there are many people having the same problem. I would not have known to file a complaint if a friend hadn't told me about this so chances are the others that are having this problem don't know to file a complaint.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #9

Aug 292012

300

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and a loud squealing and grinding noise was heard. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the passenger and driver side front brake pads were replaced but the failure persisted. In addition, the contact stated that the ignition module had failed and was informed that the part was on backorder. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the part. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?