If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

5.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,109 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Comments

problem #16

Nov 012008

PT Cruiser

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure of multifunction switch: Initially the fog lights would come on when the turn signal was engaged. This first began in approximately 11/2008. Initially this happened only occasionally, but became more frequent. Now the fog lights always remain illuminated, even when the car is turned off/parked. This required that I remove the fuse controlling the fog lights so that the battery would not be drained. After researching on many different message boards, it became apparent that this is a very frequent problem with PT CRUISER. Not only is it annoying, but it is also a potential fire (electrical) hazard. I feel I recall is warranted.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #15

Sep 082003

PT Cruiser

  • miles
Horn and radio stopped working...I replaced the clock spring...and it started all over again after about a month. I have had to replace a radio and speakers because of the intermittent problem. It causes my radio display to "pop" in and out and when it goes out I have no horn. The problem started about a year after I bought the car in 03.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #14

Feb 202009

PT Cruiser

  • 45,000 miles
Multi function switch, lights just quit working, very dangerous. I have never had a car were something as basic as the headlights quit working. All lights failed, interior, headlights, dash lights, tail lights.

- Montgomery, TX, USA

problem #13

Nov 012004

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chrysler PT CRUISER. When the turn signals were activated, the fog lights could have caused a fire in the wiring panel of the vehicle. The contact wrote a letter to the manufacturer, but they stated that nothing could be done. The current mileage was 86,663 and failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 11/24/08 when the turn signals were used, the fog lights automatically activated and would not go out for quite some time. Eventually, the fog lights stopped working. Updated 11/26/08.

- Pittsford, NY, USA

problem #12

Nov 142007

PT Cruiser

  • miles
Dashboard cracked in center from front window to inside edge, running across vent, which has falling into dash in pieces; also frequently "shorts out" and radio, inside lights, dash lights, all go out making night driving dangerous.

- Cartersville, GA, USA

problem #11

Sep 092007

PT Cruiser

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chrysler PT CRUISER. Whenever the vehicle was started, the lights would illuminate, but the engine would not turn over. The dealer stated that the starter needed to be replaced. The starter has been replaced three times within the same month, but the failure persists. The current mileage was 106,000 and failure mileage was 102,000.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #10

Aug 102007

PT Cruiser

  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fog lights won't turn off had to pull the fuse, it's a 2002 PT CRUISER. Same as alot of people are having the same problem. Just got the cruiser used don't thing it's right for me to have it fixed, so many complaints unbelievable, don't get it deal should fix it for free don't need a fire. Thanks

- Puyallup, WA, USA

problem #9

Jun 202007

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • miles
There is a widespread problem with the Chrysler PT CRUISER wherein the multi-function switch on the column malfunctioned, causing the fog lights to come unexpectedly, completely draining the battery. This problem has been going on for sometime and Chrysler refused to correct it, which would appear to have been caused by defective parts. The repair charge wa S upwards of $200.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #8

Jan 012007

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My '02 PT CRUISER has had many incidents over the past 4 years. The instrument panel occassionally flickers or does not light up at all. The radio display/clock feature will turn off while music is still playing. Headlights dim when radio/instrument panel is changed. The ABS failed on the interstate whlie going 65mph. The car slid for a long time, causing a large bald spot on all 4 tires. Then subsequently the car shut off and took a few minutes before the car was able to turn back on. The starter has died 3 times, each time being replaced. The car gets roughly 13mpg at all times. There is no safety under the seat to prevent rolling objects from rolling into the front seat and potentially affecting the use of pedals. The car frequently does not allow me to turn the key. I have had all of these problems, even while taking excellent care of my vechicle.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #7

Oct 102004

PT Cruiser

  • miles
For the past 4 months my car fog lights come on for no reason. Woke up in the morning and they where on and if they turn on while driving it seems to affect the radio now when I shut off the car I put turn signal on and it seems to make it stop.

- Tonopah, AZ, USA

problem #6

Apr 082005

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The instrument cluster, radio, door locks and other items have failed multiple times while driving or idling. We have had the vehicle in 5+ times for repair and the dealer claims they are unable to find anything. We found a recall for this type of problem and the dealer claimed our car was not included. Now, the car does not start even though the dealer has replaced the battery etc.

- Encinitas, CA, USA

problem #5

Nov 292004

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The instrument cluster on my 2002 PT CRUISER stopped working. The dome light and the warning signals for leaving the headlights on or the keys in the ignition are also not working. Although some 2002 cruisers were recalled for an instrument panel failure, the dealer (fitzgerald automall in gaithersburg, md) told me that my car is not covered. The dealer said there was a failure somewhere in the instrument cluster that it would not repair and offered to replace the entire cluster. I believe that this type of defect should be the subject of a recall or repaired by Chrysler at its expense.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #4

Mar 192004

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Two major complaints: 1. I have been stranded on 3 occasions in deserted parking spots - with my car just not starting - the ignition will not work and there was a complete electrical failure / discharge. Road side assistance we called on each occasion and only on charging the battery would the car start. The first instance happened when the car was only 3 months old (its a 2002 Chrysler PT CRUISER, 4 cyl non turbo, automatic - bought in March 2003) - the second similar instance was 3 months later and the last one was a few weeks back. I have taken the car repeatedly to the dealership and they cannot find anything wrong with the battery or electrical system but they keep saying that maybe something is drawing extra power. They refuse to replace the vehicle or take any further action. 2. I read about the recall notice released in June 2004. I took my car to the dealership and they refused to rectify the problem saying that they had not received any confirmation from Chrysler headquarters. I called up Chrysler and I was told that I would receive a letter in the mail authorizing the recall. Its been a month and the letter has not been received - the Chrysler company does not return calls and on listening to my problems says I will receive a letter in the mail. The dealership will not touch my car unless I have a letter - what does Chrysler want us to do -they sell us inferior products and now do they want us to burn !! please help and take action against this company before any more lives are lost.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #3

Jun 222004

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
The consumer stated that since the vehicle was purchased, the brakes were defective and performed poorly when applied. The consumer suspects that the dealership did not work on the brakes at all. There was a screeching noise and the brakes would sometimes go almost to the bottom of the floor. The driver's seat belt did not always lock, the brakes would rub and hesitate to stop, the A/C did not get cold on high settings, the entire dashboard electronic system was off, the fuel, mph and the RPM lights had come on, at the inside top of all four doors, the lining was buldging in and out, the driver's side seat belt needed several attempts before locking, the right signal had to be manually stopped, and the left signal light did not hold. There was also an issue with the odometer reading. (the consumer felt that it did not display the proper mileage)

- Vicksburg, MS, USA

problem #2

Jan 112004

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,690 miles
The safety recall for the instrument cluster failure was completed in November 2002. On 11 January 2004, the instrument cluster failed again. Dealer reprogrammed the controller (again), leaving me to wonder if this is permanent 'fix' or is it one that I will need to constantly be worrying about? Chrysler recall center provides no assurance. Dealer says, 'if it fails, bring it in again.' - not much assurance. *

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #1

Dec 012002

PT Cruiser

  • miles
The rear and hatch back doors locked and unlock without warning. Consumer noticed a burning rubber smell when the locks engaged.

- Petersburg, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?