If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,633 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Sep 272014

PT Cruiser

  • 86,256 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving at 45 mph when the car shut down and will not re start the key ignition in the colum went out I feel I should not have to pay to replace this so early in the cars life at low miles?

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #29

May 052014

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 39,400 miles
The problem I have been having with the air bag light of my 2005 pt convertible cruiser has been going on for 7 years and 6 attempts to fix it. Chrysler customer care service has authorized the napleton dealership in lake park, Florida, to fix the problem with the air bag light twice: Once in September 2012, and most recently in May 2014. The service department performs the same replacement of the harness buckle apparatus each time, but that is clearly not the underlying reason that the air bag light comes on after every attempt to fix it. After the fourth attempt to fix it failed by a different dealership in tallahassee, Florida, it was suggested that the underlying problem was probably with the entire wiring system of the car, but during the 5th and 6th attempts to repair the air bag light, the dealership did not seem willing to look into this and ended doing the exact same repair that has been attempted for 7 years. Meanwhile I have been told that the car is not safe to drive when the air bag light is on.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #28

Feb 112014

PT Cruiser

  • miles
I have a concern about all the issues with this car. On March 29th my fog lights would not turn off even when ignition switch was turned off. I went on line and saw several "blogs" about this issue - I am an older women with minimal knowledge of these things so I went to a parts store that was open and the clerk pulled the #8 fuse out - for the fog lights so my battery would not run down before service/repair was open on Monday- the mechanic stated he could fix it and also that the dealership just took in a used cruiser and the fog lights did not work - they found that someone had took the fuses out for that cruiser also - is this a defective issue- appears now according to the internet the replacement part has been improved. I also had to replace the entire computer and again seems other cruiser owners have had this issue also - this is a lot of expense and with the loan on the car is difficult to now get a different car as this does seem to be a lemon - but I have to keep it till I can afford to get a different car - with all these issues - no one will want this one either.

- Mankato , MN, USA

problem #27

Apr 202012

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine lite came on. Replaced recommended parts. Lite came off and on over a year or so with same diagnostic. Replaced same part in late 2013 and lite still stays on. I am told now it is the computer itself. Have been told this is a common problem for PT CRUISER owners and that many replace the same parts I did and it is to no avail. To my best of recall it is the upper/in lower/out oxygen 2 sensor. With the computer (engine lite) causing this problem Chrysler should have a recall on it.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #26

Oct 082012

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Approximately 3 -4 months ago I took my car to the mechanic because the airbag light was intermittently coming on. A complete diagnostic was completed and the mechanic determined that "nothing is wrong with it." A week later the problem continued and the battery light became coming on. About a week after that, I was traveling about 40 mph when all of the lights (battery, traction off, ABS, brake, airbag, oil, etc) came on and began flashing at different intervals. My headlights and dashlights also began to flicker before the car died and would not restart. I had purchased a new battery just weeks prior, so this was not the problem. I again towed the car to the shop where I was again told that there were no problems. I've been driving the car for two weeks and trying to ignore the battery and airbag lights flashing. Last night while traveling on a major road at 50 mph, the car's lights again began flashing, the automatic transmission would not shift, and the car eventually died and would not restart. The car was towed home and after sitting for an hour, it restarted, but the lights were still flickering.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #25

May 192007

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I have been having trouble with my P.T. cruiser with problem starting. It has gone on for many years. I was looking for information on any recalls. It was said it was the starter, but the problem continued sporadically. I still do not know what the problem is. The car wont start but there is connection with the battery. I have been told its the manufactures alarm having a kill switch, that it may be electrical, the fog lights do not turn off unless the fuse is pulled and it drains my battery. The dealer I bought it from went out of business. I want to know if Chrysler has had any issues with this type of car.since they are not making them anymore.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #24

Feb 042012

PT Cruiser

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated that while at a complete stop, an abnormal smelled a plastic odor in the vehicle. The contacted then noticed that there was smoke coming from the turning signal arm connected to the steering wheel column. The vehicle was turned off once the smoke decreased and was towed to an authorized dealer. The contact was awaiting repairs to the vehicle. The failure and current mileage was unknown.

- West Bland, MI, USA

problem #23

Oct 112010

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 67,510 miles
Date: January 9, 2012 current case file #[xxx]; previous case file #[xxx]. to date, Chrysler dealerships have not been able to diagnose and consequently fix a recurring stalling problem with the above referenced vehicle; a problem that first occurred in October of 2010. The mckinney dealership in easley, SC first attempted a fix, then the big O dealership in greenville, SC (twice), and most recently the benson dealership in greer, SC. Overall, the vehicle has been out of service 3 weeks and 2 days while at these dealerships. Mckinney's attempt occurred while the vehicle was under the Chrysler extended warranty. Big O and benson's attempts have been made after the expiration of the warranty (from time, not mileage), as a follow up to a pre-existing condition. Meanwhile, between attempted fixes the vehicle poses a safety hazard, actually putting Chrysler at a liability risk. A stalling vehicle in heavy, fast moving traffic has a high potential of creating an accident, an injury, or even a death. In reality a very serious accident almost occurred recently on interstate 26 in hendersonville, nc as a tractor trailer was following the vehicle when it went into a stall. Fortunately, the shoulder of the highway gave an escape route from being run down. Wide shoulders are not always available for escape. Additionally, within the time frame beginning in 2010, we have not been offered an opportunity to speak with a Chrysler area representative and have not had the best co-operation from the Chrysler case managers in auburn hill, mi. Without Chrysler offering the options of fixing, trading or buying back the vehicle, we must exercise other options available to us. Note: This vehicle was purchased new and I have been the only owner. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #22

Jan 032011

PT Cruiser

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated that the flood warning light would illuminate sporadically. The contact would have to turn the vehicle off and back on for the warning light to disappear. The manufacturer denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 32,000 and the current mileage was 36,000.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #21

Nov 082008

PT Cruiser

  • 50,000 miles
Left work to find the battery was dead. Got it jumped and went home. When I turned the car off and removed the key, I noticed that the fog light indicator light remained on. I checked the lights and found that they were still on. I turned the lights on, signaled left and right, jiggled it around and the indicator light finally went off. After a couple more occasions of battery dying (at this point the fog light randomly stayed on) eventually I figured out that if I left the light controlled in the left turn signal position when I turned off the car the fogs would turn off. This was the only way they would turn off. At some point we replaced the fuse, but the problem continued to occur off and on. Other electrical issues have occurred as well. The passenger side windows no longer go up or down. This is especially problematic because it is a convertible and the windows move up and down an inch or so whenever the door is opened and closed in order to seal shut. Rain comes into the gap between the window and roof because the window no longer seals shut. I haven't even tried to put the top down in a couple years for fear that I will not go back up, so I don't even know if that works. Living in the city of atlanta, I am required to get an emissions test done each year in order to renew my registration. Due to the battery dying, I failed the emissions test because the computer system did not have enough mileage to show necessary data. I truly regret the purchase of this car!

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #20

Mar 012011

PT Cruiser

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We own a 2005 PT CRUISER convertible and have had problems for the past year with the multifunction switch located on the steering column. The fog lights come on by themselves and will drain the battery dead. There must be a short in the steering column which is causing this problem. We turn our left blinker on before we shut off the ignition and this seems to keep the fog lights off. With this being a short, it could result in a fire which may cause an accident while driving - resulting in possible death. My expectations are high for the service that the NHTSA performs and I anticipate their action on this well known issue to be coming soon.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #19

Aug 252010

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 64,846 miles
My 05 Chrysler PT CRUISER (that I bought 3 months ago!) has started to not start on me. I will come out from work, and it is completely dead. Battery completely drained. I get a jump, and it will run, but is then sluggish at first. This has happened now at least 3 X a week for a month. I have replaced the battery, and was told by Chrysler that it is the alternator, but I went to two other mechanics for confirmation and both told me it is not the alternator. This means the dealership I was at pretty much had no clue, or didn't want to admit the issue. I have since looked around, and I see on blogs that this is a recurring issue for many other PT CRUISER owners. I just want mine fixed.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #18

Jun 262010

PT Cruiser

  • 134,335 miles
I own a 2005 PT CRUISER; I have 134,000 miles on the car, and keep it serviced regularly. I have had numerous issues with safety factors concerning this vehicle since October 2009. December 2009 my timing belt went out on interstate. I lost control of the vehicle as the vehicle was traveling 70 mph. I had it repaired by a certified mechanic, which included a new water pump. I continued to have overheating issues, and continued to have diagnostics and nothing could be identified as the problem. February 2010: I had to have valves seals repaired due to them leaking oil onto the engine which was a potential fire hazard. This was done by a certified mechanic. April 2010: I continued to have overheating issues. I was also now having electrical issues where my taillights were continuously blowing the bulbs completely out, to where the bulbs would be broken and I would have no lights at all on the back of my vehicle, there were times this would occur at night which was a serious safety issue. May 2010: I brought my vehicle back to Chrysler dealer; again nothing could be resolved. June 2010: Brought the car back for diagnostics. The dealer kept the vehicle all day. The dealer concluded that the cooler sensor and sensor plug needed replaced, and tail light receptors were changed out. June 2010: Alternator went out and it was replaced, and also installed a new battery. When traveling I set my cruise control on 55. The cruise control took over my acceleration and in no my vehicle accelerated to 115+ mph, I could not turn off the cruise control, the brakes failed to work, the key would not turn off. I finally pulled the E-brake to slow the car, and had to put the car into neutral, then into park. It was not until I managed to get the car into park that the vehicle stopped accelerating by itself. I turned off the vehicle. I feel these issues need to be addressed. These safety issues are of a serious nature. Your time in looking into this.

- Rogersville, TN, USA

problem #17

Jun 232010

PT Cruiser

  • 33,000 miles
My 2005 pt crusier bought used with 27000 miles on speedometer in June 2009. Recently the motor stubbles and shakes like it wants to stall. I have even had it just quit in the middle of traffic causing traffic to avoid me by near miss. I see that others have had the same problem isn't this a safety issue warranting a recall.

- Fort Myers , FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 202010

PT Cruiser

  • 112,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The fog lights come on unintentionally and drain the battery when the engine is turned off. I was left stranded in empty parking lots 3 times with my car battery dead. It seems the multi function switch is the culprit and this issue existed since 2001 models, Chrysler has done nothing to fix it for 10 years.

- Bel-Aire, KS, USA

problem #15

Mar 182010

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
2005 PT CRUISER convertible fog lights came on while the vehicle was stopped and parked in parking lot. Came back 1 hour later and the battery was dead. Had no phone and had to walk 4 blocks in a dark vacant, "scary part of town" by myself. Called bcaa and they came out to give me a boost. The tech told me this is a rampant problem with these cars.

- Surrey, 00, USA

problem #14

Dec 072009

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,400 miles
PCM chip in 2005 PT CRUISER convertible identified by Chrysler dealership as being the problem. PCM causes myriad of electrical & transmission problems which Chrysler won't admit to. When any engine light or other alarm indicator goes on in vehicle and I bring it to Chrysler-they simply say there's nothing wrong with vehicle. Then the troubles start. The PCM causes stalling at a red light or at low speeds--got rear ended twice, vehicle not turning over/won't start, drains batteries (replaced it 3 times),(car was towed to Chrysler because it wouldn't start) power steering mechanism leaks (replaced twice) causes electrical problems on dashboard, radio & cd player wont work (cd is stuck in player), causes car lock/alarm system to malfunction (replaced twice) car lock/system has locked me out of my car and fog lights/head lights won't turn off which then drains battery. Chrysler dealership "supposedly" replaced this PCM chip 1.5 yrs ago and the repair took a month and a half while I waited without a loaner car even though my Chrysler extended warranty allowed me to have one! when I got the car back I noticed that the fog light/headlight indicator light was on and went back to dealer to tell him it's happening again and he indicated that I not ever return to his dealership. Now 1.5 years later, I have the same problems with my vehicle and it's the PCM chip causing them. I have lost my job from not being able to drive to work while they 'fixed' my car for a month, lost thousand of $$$ repairing this vehicle, my warranty is now expired, am still financing vehicle, but car won't start and is dangerous to drive because it stalls while driving, etc. The car isn't worth 3K and the repairs are in the thousands to fix all the issues. Consumer wants an update on complaint. 1/27/10 updated 02/01/10

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #13

Jul 152009

PT Cruiser

  • 51,943 miles
2005 PT CRUISER multifunction switch failed. Fog lights would not go off even after I removed the key. Smoke came out of switch.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #12

Jul 162009

PT Cruiser

  • 10,100 miles
My wife's 2005 PT CRUISER with only 10,100 has a continual problem starting. By replacing or reinstalling the fuel pump relay the engine will start. Recently on one occasion the engine stalled; gladly in a parking lot, had this happened on the road or freeway an accident could have been caused. Has Chrysler been notified about the problem and is it just this particular vehicle or are there others with similar problems and will there be a recall by Chrysler to fix this problem before or after an accident?

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #11

Jun 222009

PT Cruiser

  • 51,000 miles
Chrysler 2005 PT CRUISER convertible. Defective multifunction control switch. (turn signal, headlight, fog light lever). Causes fog lights to stay on even when the ignition is off, draining battery on a consistent basis. For now only way to remedy problem is to pull the fuse for the fog lamps. Cannot find a replacement part. Dealer says they ordered 50 replacement parts over 4 months ago, nationwide over 3000 are back-ordered, so Chrysler obviously knows they have a problem.

- Encino, CA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?