Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,725 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Avenger seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Avenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Avenger Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Oct 182012

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 69,500 miles


The airbag light came on. It will go off if the seats are moved forward and then back to the original position. I was told that 08 Avengers were recalled for an airbag sensor issue, but that mine had to do with a high level of resistance seen in the circuit and was not the sensor. Dodge has taken some responsibility for the issue as they agreed to pay $500 of the total $1,100 repair cost. I was told that this issue could cause the airbags to deploy without warning and may also cause them to fail to deploy in an incident. My belief is that this is a defect in the circuitry and/or airbags themselves and other owners may not be aware. Dodge is failing to provide a full investigation on this issue and is also failing to take full responsibility for this failure.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #18

Aug 152008

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 24,227 miles
Air bag light would illuminate off and on disabling airbag off and on and then became continuous. This has happened many times beginning in 2009 and continuing to this day. Car has been in shop for this 3-4 times. First time they told me it was because I set my purse on the passenger side seat and that set it off. Other times I get told it is lose contacts, they adjust the contacts and it is fine for about a month then it begins again.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #17

Jul 292012

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the air bag light constantly illuminated. The dealer was notified and stated that the contact should bring the vehicle in for an inspection of the air bags. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that there were no recalls or warranties addressing the failure. The failure mileage was 64,000. Updated 11/13/12

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #16

Jan 122012


  • miles


I was driving my 2008 Dodge Avenger to work on 01/12/12. It was raining that morning. I attempted to merge to my right when suddenly my windshield wipers stopped and my steering wheel began to turn 360 degrees however my tires were not moving. I banged in the median. My airbags did not deploy. I was unconscious and the next thing I remember is someone cutting my drivers door off to get me out. I contacted Dodge and they informed me that this was normal wear and tear of a vehicle. I do not understand how" I have not been able to return to work due to my injuries and Dodge could careless. I could have lost my life that day....thank god I didn't. I need to know what to do next"

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #15

Jan 122012


  • 75,000 miles
On 1/12/12 at about 545am I was driving to work on a rainy day. While traveling on 95 North bound at about 55mph my wiper blades stop working and so did my steering wheel. My steering column was not controling my wheels and I hydroplained while trying to stop my car. My car spun around numerous times before slamming into the median wall. I have had many malfunctions with this vehicle but this one topped them all. I have been out of work since this day with injuries caused by this accident, I could have been killed. I contacted the corporate office of Dodge and was basically told I was S. O. L.. now I'm stuck with no vehicle and I'm out of work because of it. My waranty on my car has expired and my insurance company will only pay for the damage that was caused from the accident not the problem that caused the accident. So what am I to do?

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #14

Dec 012010

Avenger 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the air bag light would constantly illuminate on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the failure was due to a climate change. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the wiring for the air bags was repaired. The failure continued. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 07V240000 (air bags:frontal). The failure mileage was 40,000. Updaated 12/22/11 updated 03/12/12

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #13

Feb 012011


  • 66,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact was driving 55 mph when a semi-truck crashed into the front and driver side of the vehicle. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a wall. The air bags did not deploy upon impact. The contact was injured and a police report was filed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 07V240000 (air bags:frontal) but the vehicle was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. In addition, the contact stated that prior to the crash, there were several failures in which the vehicle continuously stalled without warning. A local mechanic replaced the electronic throttle control. The dealer offered to assist the contact with the stalling defect. The failure mileage was 66,000 and the current mileage was 84,000.

- Park Forrest, IL, USA

problem #12

Jan 102011

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
The air bag warning light has been intermittently turning on in my instrument cluster for over 1 year. This means that my airbag is disabled and will not protect me and my family in a crash due to some air bag controller self diagnosed defect. I have taken the car in to the dealer several times and they incorrectly diagnosed it as a loose connector, charged me for the repair, only to have the air bag warning light come back on, disabling my air bag protection in a crash. The latest dealer visit on October 22, 2011 resulted in the dealer diagnosing the problem as a defective air bag. The dealer contacted Chrysler headquarters to see if they would cover the repair. Chrysler headquarters refused to cover the repair and the dealer wants to charge me $500 for a new air bag. I called Chrysler customer service 1-800-992-1997 on October 24 2011 and spoke with adam (not willing to provide last name) and he recommended that I again contact the dealer. I told adam at Chrysler customer service that the dealer told me to call this number and that each representative of Chrysler (dealer & customer service) asking me to call the other was not very helpful. At this point I don't know what I am going to do. My air bag doesn't work because of an unknown defect, Chrysler refuses to repair its defective air bag system, and I am uncertain that even if I have it repaired at my expense for $500 the air bag may not work due to several incorrect attempts to repair this vehicle in the past. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #11

Jul 202011


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor had it been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The contact stated that when depressing the brakes he heard a loud squeaking noise. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who advised him that he needed new brakes. The vehicle was repaired. In addition to the failures the front passenger side window would freeze in one spot. The vehicle was not inspected nor was it repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #10

Apr 162011


  • 55,000 miles
Purchased my 2008 Dodge Avenger in April 2008 and have had nothing but problem after problem with it first the air bags were recalled then the latches on the doors were recalled. The tire pressure sensor light just never goes off most recently the fuel pump went on the vehicle costing me close to 700 and now the alternator which is going to cost me another 600. What kind of vehicle did Dodge build. This is some bs an all of this is while the vehicle only has about 65000 miles or less N it.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #9

Apr 042011


  • 31,297 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. While driving approximately 55 mph, a chime sounded inside of the vehicle with the illumination of the air bag warning indicator. The intermittent failures would occur briefly for fifteen seconds. The dealer was notified of the safety concerns regarding the defect. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The failure mileage was 31,297.

- Valley Falls, NY, USA

problem #8

Feb 172011

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
My 08 Dodge Avenger airbag light comes on when ever passenger seat is moved. I took the car to the dealership several times and they are saying since it didn't happen in there lot that its my fault. I think that's just ignorance, I talked to the general manager and assistant manager about the problem. That I've heard about Dodge Chrysler vehicles recalls in 2000 that the airbags light can come on and may cause a electrical problem which can set airbags on. I told them what if that happens to me and I go crash or hit someone cause they don't want to figure out the problem. They said you will be responsible since your the new owner. I barely bought my car Feb 5 2011 now its March 30 11. And I've taken the car 3 times due to airbag light, my car was in service for 3days I pick up today and I was ready to go airbag light came on again. Again they said they cant fix the problem they don't know what is wrong with it. I am concern about my safety in this vehicle. Worst buy ever.

- Inglewood, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 192010

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
My airbag light will come on and go off. I brought it into the dealership and they ran a scan on the Avenger. They discovered that the code on the scan was the drivers seat sensor. They have recommended that I replace the airbag which is no longer under warranty. When I brought to there attention that there was a recall on the seat sensor they told me that my car was not included in the recall. So even if I pay to replace the airbag $1000 + and the issue is the sensor my airbag will still not work properly. I have found that I am not the only person who has this issue and is not covered by the recall. My Avenger also stall without reason. The dealership scanned it and no codes came up. They reset the computer. This has been going on for a year now. It has happened 6 or 7 times, even in the middle of the intersection.

- Surrey, 00, USA

problem #6

Aug 082010


  • 70,000 miles
Air bag light comes on, especially after adjusting drivers seat. Stopped car and wiggles wire connection under seat, fixed the issue, but has reoccur several times, . I also received a shock from the wire.

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #5

Aug 272010


  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. While driving 20 mph and making a left turn another vehicle crashed into the front right side of her vehicle and her air bag did not deploy. The damage to the engine was severe and it shifted backwards towards the rear causing the frame to bend. The repair cost was over $11,000. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a collision shop. A police report was filed. There were no other passengers in the vehicle and the driver was wearing a seat belt during the impact. There was no maintenance performed on the air bags. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 42,000.

- Schertz, TX, USA

problem #4

Jun 142010


  • 48,886 miles
Own 2008 Dodge Avenger R/T. the air bag light came on. Took car to the dealer and they say there is a short in the airbag. It will need to be replaced. It will not go off in the event of a crash. They say it is not covered under any warranty.

- Denver, NC, USA

problem #3

Oct 282009


  • 30,000 miles
I purchased a 2008 Dodge Avenger Dec. 31, 2008. It was a used vehicle, the first problem may have been 5-6 months of having the car, it would stall when cranking and had cut off a couple of times when driving in traffic. I took it to the dealer and they claim they couldn't find what was wrong with it. About a month later the airbag light stays on while driving. They fix that. Now 10 months after having the car I'm in the car and trying to reverse and can't. the dealer tells me that my warranty just ran out. The part costs $200. I can't afford that and I don't think I should because I hadn't even had the car for a year. They told me I couldn't do anything unless I had a warranty. My boyfriend's brother had to take the cover off and now everytime I want to go in reverse I have to push in this red spring in order for it to reverse. Please let me know who I can talk to about this problem. It is unsafe for me to drive like this, the console is not there but I can't afford the part right now.

- Danville, VA, USA

problem #2

Dec 082007


  • 12,000 miles
2008 Dodge Avenger. My engine has stalled several times at speeds under 15 mph while coming to a stop. My cars brake light and air bag light come on intermittently they cleared the code and released the car to me. They are telling me the same they cannot reproduce the problem. There is a knocking under front end which I am taking it in for tomorrow. They have fixed 2 leaks in the trunk, 1 in the door soaking the floor and the stereo that was loosing time.

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #1

Sep 192007


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was in a 2008 Dodge Avenger that was a rental car. I was driving through a construction area when the truck in front of me slammed on its brakes. I was going below the 55 mph speed limit, and had a safe distance between me and the truck in front of me. When I slammed on my brakes, the car did not stop. I pressed harder and the car slowed down but did not stop until it hit the truck in front of me. There was definitely a brake failure. Then the air bag exploded instead of deploying leaving me with burns on both arms and hands. Since then the rental car company has told me there have been 4 recalls on this vehicle.

- Houston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?