10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,949 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Jun 232015

Charger 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/03/15 the consumer stated the dealer advised it would take at least 6 months before the vehicle could be repaired due to a lack of parts. Updated 12/16/2015

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #13

May 292015

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rio Linda , CA, USA

problem #12

Mar 132015

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bayamon, PR, USA

problem #11

Jan 282015

Charger 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I hit a deer at 75 mph. This caused major damage to my vehicle and engine. There was no airbag deployment. I ended up with neck/back injuries and bruising where I struck the steering wheel.

- Lipscomb, TX, USA

problem #10

Dec 272014

Charger

  • 94,000 miles
Received safety recall for airbag- called dealership and was told Chrysler did not send parts. Dealership explained that they would contact me when parts arrived. One month has passed and no contact received from Chrysler or dealership. Should I be riding around in Florida humidity without repairing these airbags" what good is a recall if it is never repaired"

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #9

Dec 012014

Charger 6-cyl

  • miles
Although the recall has been issued, Chrysler has not released the replacement parts to any dealer in my area (central Florida). Further, the dealerships have no date by which they expect to receive the parts.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #8

Jul 122014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light stays on even though there has never been an accident. I don't think it will deploy correctly. It is truly a safety concern.

- Ft Worth, TX, USA

problem #7

Mar 142014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
We were driving on the freeway and we slowed down for traffic. We were going about 25 miles an hour when we got hit from behind. The car was going 40 to 50 miles an hour. The whole dash - stereo and etc came apart but neither the driver or passenger airbag deployed?? I just bought the car from a dealership in September 2013 so everything should have been in working order.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #6

Sep 302013

Charger

  • 12,000 miles
This issue started approx 3 weeks ago. The head lights will not stay on they flicker off and on as if I was flashing my lights to alert another driver, when they are actually doing this on its on. This is not only a safety issue, but I'm afraid I will get pulled over by law officials. And my job requires me to have to be at work at night. This is very disturbing when this happens and they stay off at times for 30 to 40 seconds at a time and I'm having to hold the bright light arm to have lights. The passenger airbag light comes on from time to time saying it is not on, and there are brake issues as well.

- Antioch , TN, USA

problem #5

May 072013

Charger

  • 73,762 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that sitting idle in traffic, a bus crashed into the rear of the contact's vehicle, causing him to crash into a preceding vehicle. The contact's vehicle was destroyed. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was knocked unconscious and sustained back injuries. A police report was not filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not inspected to determine the cause of the air bag failure. The failure and current mileage was 73,762.

- Camp Pendelton, CA, USA

problem #4

Feb 082008

Charger

  • 20,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the airbag warning light had been illuminated for approximately five years. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised him that the airbag clock spring needed to be replaced. After having the repairs done, the failure recurred approximately three months later. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the contact was advised that the airbag clock spring would need replacing again, as well as the ABS module. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 20,300.

- Glenn Wood Landing, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 302006

Charger 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I recently purchased a 06 Dodge Charger R/T. VIN: [xxx]. manufactured 3/06. It is equipped with advanced air bags, and an occupant classification system that will disable the air bags if it detects a small child in the front seat. However, on my car, and on the other (20+) cars on the dealers lot, the indicator that tells you when the passenger air bag is disabled is not present. There is simply a plastic place-holder where the indicator light should be. I have been in contact with several other Charger and 300C owners, and virtually all models produced after Jan 06 do not have this light. Here is a memo that my dealer found from Chrysler concerning this: Note for all markets; as of 12/23/2005, for cars without side airbags, and as of 01/05/2006 for cars with side airbags, the passenger airbag disable[pad] lamp is no longer functional. It is still present, but will not illuminate at any time. According to NHTSA law: www.NHTSA.dot.gov/NCAP/airbag...frontabs.htm#5 vehicles with advanced frontal air bags that are designed to suppress the air bags (not allow them to deploy) are also required to have an indicator light with the phrase "passenger air bag off" or "pass air bag off". when illuminated, the purpose of this indicator light is to inform you that the passenger frontal air bag has been automatically turned off (suppressed) by the advanced frontal air bag system and therefore will not deploy. This can happen if sensors detect a small-statured passenger such as an infant or toddler in the right front passenger seating position. This seems like a major safety issue to me. I have contacted Chrysler numerous times regarding this, and each time they take my contact info and say they will get back to me, but I have yet to get a call. Updated 07/12/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #2

Mar 022006

Charger 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,287 miles
: the contact stated while in a left hand curve at 23 mph, the passenger side tire separated from the wheel. The tire pressure sensor light did not illuminate to warn the contact of low tire pressure. This caused the vehicle to go off of the road into a trench, bouncing between either sides of the trench. The vehicle hit six trees and ended up pinned against the mountain on the passenger side. Most of the damage occurred on the passenger side. The airbags did not deploy and the seat belts were worn. The indicator light that states the passenger side airbag was deactivated was illuminated. The occupants sustained injuries. There was a police report taken at the scene. The vehicle was towed to a dealership, where repairs were started. That dealership was unable to perform all necessary repairs; therefore, the vehicle was towed to another dealership. The vehicle has not been returned to the contact.

- Mount Olive, NC, USA

problem #1

Nov 122005

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,433 miles
The consumer states while driving at 40 mph the ABS failed to activate. The vehicle skidded off the road and into several trees. Upon impact, the frontal and side/curtain airbags failed to deploy. The contact felt it was a traction control problem. The ABS failed once before. There have been no repairs made at this time. Updated 12/07/05.

- Eugine, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?