Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,884 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Charger drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #92

Apr 242014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 137,674 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Started my 2007 Dodge Charger, went to put car into reverse and was unable to. Car remains in park and unable to move it. Apparently there is a recall on 2006-2007 Dodge Charger, but only selected VIN's, mine was built August 24, 2006 so even though I'm having the same issue as the cars built later my car is not covered under the recall. I am upset, and after research apparently I am not the only one that this has happened to. All 2006-2007 Dodge Chargers should be covered!!!! I am upset!!! I want the recall to be re-opened to cover all the cars regardless of when they were built during 2006-2007. It's apparently the "brake shift interlock".

- Alvin, TX, USA

problem #91

Mar 132014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
Started my 2007 Dodge Charger, went to put car into reverse and was unable to do so. Car remains in park and unable to move it. Apparently there is a recall on 2006-2007 Dodge Charger, but only selected VIN's on the cares built between June-September 2007, mine was built May 2007 so even though I'm having the same issue as the cars built 1 month later my car is not covered under the recall. I am upset, and after research apparently I am not the only one that this has happened to. All 2006-2007 Dodge Chargers should be covered!!!! I am upset!!! I want the recall to he re-opened to cover all the cars regardless of when they were built during 2006-2007. It's apparently the "brake shift interlock".

- Fountain Valkey , CA, USA

problem #90

Feb 102014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
The transmission shifter interlock lever was recalled on 2005 - 2007 Dodge and Chrysler vehicles, however after contacting Dodge directly I was told my vehicle was not covered because it was not built during the years of the recall. Once the lever is broken, you're unable to put your car into gear. The same issue that was recalled for the other years of these vehicles has happened to my car. And from the research I've done online there are hundreds if not thousands of other complains with the same issue. I contacted 3 different dealerships and it's going to cost approximately $390 to have the plastic lever replaced with the metal lever that's being used now. I feel as though this is a known issue with Dodge and Chrysler and therefore should be covered by the manufacture. This could be very dangerous as the car will not go into gear if the lever breaks, and can cause a person to be stranded. If I needed to get away from someone in a life or death situation I would not have been able to leave in my car because of this defect. I believe Dodge and Chrysler should revisit this recall and extend to all cars it affect. My car is a 2007 Dodge Charger, however it was built in 2006 therefore it does not "qualify" for the recall.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #89

Dec 252013

Charger

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact attempted to shift the vehicle into drive but the gear shift would not move. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #88

Oct 082013

Charger

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger with a police package. The contact stated while driving 60 mph the vehicle would shift into neutral gear. When the speed increased to 40 mph the vehicle shift into gear. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic who stated the code identified the failure as a defective accelerator code. The contact took the vehicle to another mechanic who stated the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified and confirmed that the VIN was not included in NHTSA recall campaign number 08V583000 (power train). The failure mileage was 71,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #87

Jul 302013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 124,865 miles
The vehicle will not come out of park. Vehicle towed to dealership. Tech diagnosed problem as needing to replace the transmission shifter interlock lever. Labor, parts, taxes, and misc. Charges totaled $498.18 were paid by customer. Dealer stated there was no recall for part from Chrysler. On Charger forums found posts that Chrysler had issued a K39 notification letter which could be filled out and sent to Chrysler group recall center. Customer submitted form. Chrysler responded that vehicle was built one month before recall range so it would not be covered. Customer does not agree with Chrysler's recall range in that it is too limited and needs to be expanded. Same part is failing, whether vehicle was built in recall range or a month earlier. It is still a dangerous problem in that the vehicle is inoperable and can leave the driver and family stranded in unfamiliar surroundings and late at night. Chrysler should include vehicle in recall and pay for all parts and labor.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #86

Aug 222013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car is stuck in park and after calling Dodge they tell me that my car doesn't fall under the recall due to my VIN #. the thing is they know this problem is happening to a lot of their vehicles why not have all the cars that experience this problem be in the recall. I don't understand.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #85

Sep 102013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 146,721 miles
Vehicle would not shift out of park. The key interlock and brake engagement system had to be disabled in order to drive the car. This is a well known problem that Chrysler is well aware of. Consumers are disabling the safety features so that they do not have to spend $150 to $600 in repairs.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #84

Jul 042013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while after starting the vehicle, the gear shift failed to shift out of park. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated the shifter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.... updated 11/30/13 updated 12/03/13 updated 12/06/2013

- Stockton , CA, USA

problem #83

Feb 212013

Charger

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle became stuck in park. The contact was able to engage a release valve to take the vehicle out of park but could no longer secure the vehicle in park when parking the vehicle. The contact would have to secure the vehicle in neutral in order to park the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that a plastic part in the gear shifter would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 115,000.

- Forest Park, GA, USA

problem #82

Aug 052013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have not had my car for a year. My gears are locked on my car. Which is a defeat and a safety issue. I have spoken with 3 people that have an Dodge Charger as well and all 3 people have had the same problem. This is obvious a defeat which should be a recall. I currently still make payments on my vehicle its not fair to me for this to happen and its not my fault. I have googled this issue/ I have seen the complaints on your website about the same issue I am having.. so many people are complaining about the same problem. This is in deed a defeat in the car. Just for this reason alone I am considering letting chysler come pick the car up and keep it. I pay to much money out monthly to going through defeats on a car when I call about it then am told its no recall on it. Its not fair. I am a paying customer and have not ever been late paying monthly payments. Please consider this problem as a recall.

- Dallas , TX, USA

problem #81

Jul 292013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 118,324 miles
I was at an open mall and I parked my Charger, I noticed I was to close to the car next to me so I decided to move it to another parking spot. When I turned on my car, I was unable to move the shifter, it became stuck. I was unable to move my vehicle. I tried everything thinking, moving the steer wheel, tapped on the brakes etc and the car would not shift. I was in a very bad area of town and was alone. I had to call a tow truck and that was going to take a couple. So I was stuck alone waiting. After reading in many websites. It looks like I have not been the only one with the problem. Seems like thousands of other Chrysler owners had issues. When the tow truck finally arrived, he had already helped 4 other people owning a Dodge Charger with the same problem. And once I was at Dodge picking up my vehicle. They too told me that many people had gone in to get the same problem fixed in just a few weeks. I believe with so many people having the same problem, there should be some sort of recall. Luckily no one has gotten hurt that I know of because of this. As a single mom, I really cant afford an expense that should be covered by Chrysler. I have always serviced my vehicle and is in pristine condition.. and honestly I love it.. but I don't love paying for something that should be breaking to begin with. Thank you..

- Sahuarita, AZ, USA

problem #80

Jul 252013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 67,200 miles
I've recently had a problem with my shifter not wanting to move out of park. I contacted the dealership and was told that there was no recall listed for my VIN number. I did research online and found that this is a common problem with the 2007 Chargers like mine, and many people have been told that their VIN doesn't fall under the limited recall. I was told by Dodge's customer service that it was a VIN-specific recall, and there was nothing they could do for me. I filed a formal complaint with Dodge's customer service today.. I'm stuck with a vehicle that now requires me to press a hot pink lever in the console when the gear shift sticks, and no one at Dodge seems to be bothered that this is happening to thousands of customers who didn't fall under the limited recall. There has been at least 261 complaints on the 2007 Charger filed with National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Out of those 261 complaints, 143 were about power train issues. And of those 143 power train complaints, 121 were about the transmission gear shifter interlock lever. This is only on the NHTSA website. There are many, many more on various sites on the web. Thank you.

- Dayton, TX, USA

problem #79

Jul 292013

Charger

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that she attempted to shift into drive but the gear shifter was locked and could not be moved. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #78

Jul 202013

Charger

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, the vehicle failed to shift into park and became stuck. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #77

Jul 152013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 143,380 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the gear shifter became stuck in park. The contact spoke to a dealer and was advised on how to get the gear shifter out of park manually. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the shift interlock was replaced. The contact also asked the manufacturer about NHTSA recall campaign id number:08V583000(power train), but was told that the vehicle was not included. The failure and current mileages were 143,380.

- Southhaven, MO, USA

problem #76

Jul 142013

Charger

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to shift out of park. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the gear shifter had failed. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #75

Jul 122013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
My 2007 Dodge Charger suddenly would not shift out of park today 7/12/2013. After researching online I discovered there is a recall for this issue however my VIN is not covered. This is a known issue and is well documented online, however Chrysler refuses to expand the recall to all Chargers affected by their faulty shift column.

- Mount Morris, MI, USA

problem #74

Jun 212013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 101,563 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the gear shift would not come out of park. The contact had to have the vehicle towed to her home. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnosis nor was it repaired. The failure and current mileage was 101,563.

- Newbrunswick, NJ, USA

problem #73

Jun 182013

Charger

  • 90,380 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle could not be shifted out of park because the gear shifter had become stuck. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,380.

- Louisville, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?