Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,688 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Charger steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Charger Owner Comments

problem #15

Jul 032016

Charger 8-cyl

  • 162,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - while exiting a highway into a shopping center, my car completely shut off. My wife was unable to steer the vehicle. Fortunately we were able to restart the vehicle before an accident occurred. This episode was very frightening. Very unsafe. I don't know what caused this, but this desperately needs recalling. Thank you for your concern in this matter.

- Kinston, NC, USA

problem #14

Feb 182016

Charger

  • 21,600 miles
Driving a 2007 Dodge Charger with about 21K miles. Yesterday, while driving in town, I took a right turn and while navigating the turn with the signal on, I heard a loud plastic-on-plastic popping and creaking noise. When the turn signal went off, there was a loud pop and the left signal turned on!! now, when I turn right I hear clicking from the wheel/column and when the signal cancels it does it so hard that it activates the turn signal of the opposite direction. IżM sure the other drivers on the road believe IżM confused which way IżM going ż IżM so glad it didnżT cause an accident! so the turn signal in the steering wheel makes a plastic 'popping' noise, and is making it difficult to steer on a turn. The dealer said it's the clockspring. Numerous posts on forums mention the same issue. There's been a recall on Chrysler/Dodge minivans in the early 2000's for the same issue (clockspring).... but not one for this vehicle! a problem like this appears to be a 'cheap' plastic part failing - I have 21K miles on this car (but obviously past the 3-yr warranty)... parts should* fail at 21K miles!

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #13

Sep 152015

Charger

  • 80,000 miles
Ive had issues that I am reporting to thus site. Dealership said my VIN didn't match. My esp, ABS, and bas lights have been on for 2 years. I went to dealership to inquire on ECU flash with new software by recall, but the dealership said only police package vehicles were included in that recall. Ive researched countless hours to find very many people who have this same problem. Now I am needing to bring my car in for the airbag recall. From what it states on this website, my recall was ordered back in may, 2015. From the information that I read, there was supposed to be a 60 day time span within which the dealership was supposed to fix my airbag issue, and the fact that my vehicle VIN number falls under this recall order, I believe that I was previously misled by Chrysler Dodge Jeep about the issues pertaining to my ABS, bas, and esp issues which regard a wheel speed sensor, from my understanding, that causes me to lose traction, trouble braking in moist to wet weather, and my cruise control option has not worked since the ABS, bas, and esp lights first came on 2 years ago, when my wheels lost traction while pulling into a gravel driveway at about 5 miles an hour.I drove off road accidentally twice in the passed year: The first time was caused by a lack of ABS and a braking assistance system which caused only minor damage to front bumper. The second time was due to loss of tire traction while pulling away from a stop sign while it was raining, causing me to spin out into a 180 degrees turn to which my tires caught traction and I acceled through a white picket fence on the corner of the street while my foot firmly jammed on the brake pedal to try and prevent personal or external damage. Still damaging passenger fender and front grille. I'm close to request of a depreciated financial reimbursement on vehiclal. My safety, security, and trust has become compromised.

- Addis, LA, USA

problem #12

Jan 202015

Charger 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 07 Dodge Charger R/T stalls randomly causing lost of power and steering wheel lock. Very dangerous on the highway, me and my family could of been killed. I would like this to be a recall as all Dodge dealerships are saying its not a recall. I found on many forums with people dealing with the stall issue on the vehicle the appropriate action is to reflash the power control module, but the dealership refuse and tells me to call Chrysler where they as well refuse. I am getting tired of Dodge this has happen to me about 7 times since my purchase in July 2014. Please help NHTSA.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #11

Oct 252014

Charger

  • 65,000 miles
This incident has happened twice now. One, I was stopped at a stop light and the car just shut off, engine, all power etc. Second time was going 25 miles per hour and the same thing happened..car just shut off...no power steering, no brakes...and was in a neighborhood with lots S of kids out and about. Dealer say no computer codes no issues. This is not a safe vehicle.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #10

Aug 092014

Charger

  • 103,000 miles
This is now the third time the vehicle has stalled while in gear. Galeana in ft myers has serviced the vehicle after every incident. We have been out of a vehicle for an accumulative of over thirty days, had to pay for rentals, taxes, gas to get to and from the dealer and bogus repair costs. The first service charge was that of 500 hundred dollars, which the vehicle stalled a few days later and the techs said the service they had done would not have fixed the stalling!!"??what?". they then replaced the relay fuse worth fifteen dollars the 2nd time it was serviced, the vehicle stalled two days after having it back and we were on our way to the hospital in the vehicle! I need this documented because this time Dodge corporate responded in less than twelve hours to galeana to have the car serviced and a main wire replaced and it hasn't stalled since, but now I want reimburse!!!

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #9

Jul 032014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When in gear and vehicle is moving, reverse and drive, the vehicle will seize, causing loss of steering and speed. While this vehicles VIN number is not recognized on the recall list, we have had several recall problems with the vehicle which Dodge did except responsibility for by paying the repair cost. I want to document that 3 body shops including a certified Dodge dealer cannot diagnose this vehicles seizing problem. This is the fourth time it is going into the shop for seizing while in gear. If someone is injured in this vehicle when it malfunctions I hold Dodge Jeep and Chrysler fully labial for negligence and possible conspiracy of current knowledge of vehicles with faulty equipment and failure to document all such vehicles by leaving their VIN numbers off the recall forms.

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #8

Jul 032014

Charger 5-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
The 2007 Dodge Charger seized while in gear; loss of control and speed; locked steering wheel, no acceleration, while moving at 3mph in reverse once and while merging onto I-75 @ ~8mph two other times all within 5 weeks of each other but with no indicator warning dash lights illuminating.neither of the auto mechanics could find a problem.the vehicle hasn't seized up, but the vehicle's check engine light and electronic throttle control indicator warning lights came on last week.the Dodge Charger manual says if the electronic throttle control light comes on, to discontinue use of the vehicle until an authorized dealer can evaluate the problem.July 7th 2014 the vehicle went to a certified dealer to be diagnosed. They said they couldn't find a reason for the lights being on.sure enough they ran me up a 900 dollar bill consisting of the following repairs:filter TR 21170001/sealer no 01081003/fluid atf 01081018/antifreeze 01081004/connector 09004009. I was told by the service manager these were the repairs needed: Water outlet housing/transmission hydraulic service w/ programming/air filter/ fuel system cleaning we picked the vehicle up July 10th 2014 from dealership, drove it directly home.my girlfriend drove the vehicle 30 miles to work July 12th 2014, after an 8 hour shift she started the Dodge Charger letting it run idle for 5 minutes before exiting the parking lot.the vehicle was brought to a stop before entering the interstate. When she tried to accelerate the vehicle did not move or make a revving sound, the steering wheel was locked tight but hot air was continuing to blow from vents.no indicator lights were present before during or after the event. The vehicle hadn't physically acted up since the first 3 times 7 months ago, so we immediately called the dealer and she drove it directly there.

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #7

Jul 092013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 51,770 miles
Was driving down road and car started to slow down and became extremely difficult to operate. Car slowed pretty much to a stop and I had to use all my strength to get it to turn so I could pull over to a safe place. The car completely shut off and locked up on me. I put the car in park and took the key out, put the key back in to restart the car and it started right back up. I have been researching since this has happened and there are tons of complaints about this exact thing. I have two small children and now I am afraid to drive my car and it is my only vehicle. I just purchased this Charger about 3 months ago. This is the first time it's happened. This problem needs to be addressed and it needs to be fixed before people start to die from horrific crashes from no fault of their own! I'm so disappointed about this and would have never bought this car if I would have known I was putting mine, my kids or others life at danger! absolutely ridiculous!

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #6

Nov 012011

Charger 6-cyl

  • 89,500 miles
Premature busing and control arms failure, leading to loss of steering control and premature tire wear, harsh noise and poor absorption of road hazards ( uneven roads, or pots holes lead to abrupt steering movement).

- Parsippany, NJ, USA

problem #5

Oct 192011

Charger

  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the front tires were being replaced by an independent mechanic when he was informed that the front driver side tie rod needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure and current mileages were 9,000.

- Drexel Hill, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jul 162010

Charger

  • 30,000 miles
Front outer tie rod ends of 2007 Dodge Charger 3.5 liter are of a non greasable type. The grease which is utilized at time of installation breaks down prematurely (at around 30,000 miles) and turns to a gritty clay in the ball joint. This premature breakdown of lubrication results in the wearing out and failure of the tie rod end which will result in the loss of control of said vehicle. These are my findings as I did a failure mode evaluation and upgraded the oem component to a greaseable high performance tie rod end.

- Il, IL, USA

problem #3

Apr 122011

Charger

  • 4,200 miles
The vehicle has binding in the rack and pinion called Dodge said that they would help me fix it but then in the end the decided that I was negligent and its was my fault. The steering wheel can possibly get stuck in place and cause death or even injury.

- Corona, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 152010

Charger

  • 38,254 miles
I have a 2007 Dodge Charger. On three different occasions within the past eight months, my steering column has locked up while making a left turn. This occurred twice while attempting to turn onto a very busy highway. In the very first incident the column not only locked up, but the car went off also.I had to place my foot on the brake hurriedly, shift to park, and restart the car to unlock the column. On the second occasion the steering column locked up causing me to do the same routine again. The third time it happen was in a parking lot so it wasn't as scary. Please look into this matter.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #1

Jul 192010

Charger

  • miles
Steering / tie rods.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?