Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 12
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,376 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Charger electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 11 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #133

May 302015

Charger

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and the contact crashed the vehicle into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a back injury that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a friend's residence. The vehicle was destroyed and not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 129,000...updated 11/02/15 Chrysler did an investigation and claimed nothing was wrong with the vehicle. Updated 11/05/15.

- East Prarie , MO, USA

problem #132

Nov 102014

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- New Market , AL, USA

problem #131

Nov 202013

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated there was a delayed response whenever the ignition was started. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on three separate occasions and the ignition key was replaced each time. There was a recall associated with the failure under NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000. Updated 09/21/15 updated 3/29/2016

- Los Angles, CA, USA

problem #130

Jul 172014

Charger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact experienced the failure listed in the recall notice and the vehicle was unable to be driven. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #129

May 012015

Charger

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 105,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Whistler, AL, USA

problem #128

Jul 092014

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed to perform the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/03/15

- Reidsville, GA, USA

problem #127

Sep 172014

Charger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V567000 (electrical system) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the engine stalled without warning and the vehicle would not restart. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Chipley, FL, USA

problem #126

Sep 142014

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Burkburnett, TX, USA

problem #125

Nov 192014

Charger

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,089 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. When the vehicle was started, an abnormal noise was heard. The contact had to turn off and restart the vehicle in order to remove the noise. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 68,089. Updated 09/02/15 MA 10/16/15 updated 12/10/15.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #124

Nov 242014

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #123

Dec 232014

Charger

  • 83,668 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving 45 mph over a bump, the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power and the ABS malfunctioned. The contact mentioned that the ABS system resumed normal operation after numerous attempts. The warning indicators illuminated only after the malfunction occurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 83,668.

- Latson, SC, USA

problem #122

Dec 072012

Charger

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. After restarting, the vehicle was driven with caution. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where an unknown repair was performed, but the failure persisted. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Miami Gardens , FL, USA

problem #121

May 082015

Charger

  • 73,500 miles
I have ongoing problems with ignition switch failure, resulting in the car completely shutting off - no engine power, no brakes, no power steering. This incident has happened 3 times in the last 6 weeks. My car is on the recall list with Dodge since last November, but they have yet to get the parts in to fix it. I am very upset that they haven't been able to get parts in to fix what could be a catastrophic and deadly problem in the last 7 months. I'm also being told my car has the airbag recall to go along with it. Can someone please put some pressure on Dodge to either get my car fixed or get me a safe car to drive in the meantime? my life, and potentially my family's life could depend on it.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #120

Oct 152014

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #119

Nov 192014

Charger

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving at 50 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Selma, AL, USA

problem #118

Jun 022015

Charger

  • 137,000 miles
There is an ignition recall on my vehicle but there isn't any parts to fix the problem. I've been having the same issues for the past 2 years I've owned the vehicle. It doesn't register the key is in the ignition and the car won't start. I've replaced batteries in the key as well as replaced the key last year. Normally after a few minutes it will register the key is in the ignition and start. Lately it has been taking longer and longer. (use to be 5 minutes, then 10, last week 20 minutes, today 45 minutes.) this car is going to leave me stranded somewhere again. I already got stuck in Alabama due to visiting here when the notorious 2.7 jumped timing due to their faulty design and I had to get the engine completely rebuilt. I lost my job in Michigan, ruined my credit because I got behind in payments due to paying for the expensive repairs. This car is a lemon. Worst mistake of my life. Completely unreliable and Dodge can't/ won't fix their mistakes. What am I supposed to do? I also had a car accident in 2013 where I was struck by a drunk driver and the air bag never went off. Now I am hearing there is an airbag recall as well with no replacement parts.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #117

Aug 152014

Charger

  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the win module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 142,000.

- Spartansburg, SC, USA

problem #116

Mar 052014

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. On occasion, the vehicle failed to start. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 7/29/15

- Sun City, AZ, USA

problem #115

May 032015

Charger

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. It took the contact several attempts to start the vehicle. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #114

Apr 042015

Charger

  • miles
The car would not start so I had it towed to orange park Chrysler and they said it was the win module I waited six weeks to get the part they kept saying it was a recall that's why it was taken so long then on May 22,2015 I got a call saying the part was in but it was not a recall

- Jacksonville , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?