Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 12
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,376 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Charger electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 12 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #113

Jul 132011

Charger

  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. After several attempts, the vehicle was able to be started. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing where the vehicle's computer was reprogrammed. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to a dealer. The technician replaced the ignition keys, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were not available to perform the repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 16,000.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #112

Jun 012014

Charger

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. While in park, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Herriman, UT, USA

problem #111

Jan 072015

Charger 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/21/15 the consumer stated the vehicle would not start and it had to be towed to the dealer. Updated 03/30/16.

- Litchfield Park, AZ, USA

problem #110

Sep 052014

Charger

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled numerous times without warning. The dealer was notified of the failure months before the recall notification was mailed and indicated that they did not have a remedy yet to repair the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #109

Oct 102014

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and was not able to be restarted. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who diagnosed that the fuse box relay needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and months later, the vehicle stalled again. The contact was able to get the vehicle restarted, but the failure recurred. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) but the part was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000. Updated 6/26/15 the consumer stated as of June 1, 2015, the vehicle still has not been fixed. Updated 07/02/15

- Woodhull, NY, USA

problem #108

May 012015

Charger

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Greenbay, WI, USA

problem #107

May 012015

Charger 6-cyl

  • 143,160 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car would not crank at times and sometimes would not crank at all. It would also turn off when driving and sitting still. I am not safe driving this vehicle. I had the codes checked on the computer and got a P57 code. It the ignition in the switch. There is a recall on this part. I called the recall hot line and they told me that the part is not available and could not give me an exact arrival date. I hope that I don't lose my job over this recall. Can we get some help with this recall?

- Robinsonville, MS, USA

problem #106

Mar 292015

Charger

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact mentioned that the failure persisted and prevented the vehicle from starting. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician determined that the win module would need to be repaired. The contact was made aware that the VIN was not associated to NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 116,000.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #105

Jun 012011

Charger

  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while starting the vehicle, the key remained in the on position and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 129,000.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #104

Oct 012013

Charger

  • 116,000 miles
Breaking of wires upon the opening and closing of the trunk that causes the trunk release (in-cabin), third brake light, and trunk release (key fob) to stop working.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #103

Feb 112010

Charger

  • 98,570 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that there were numerous attempts before the vehicle started. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who replaced the win module. After the repair was performed the vehicle would not start until numerous attempts. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,570.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #102

Apr 232015

Charger 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
I was driving my 2008 Dodge Charger about 45 mph, when suddenly the power went out on my vehicle causing me to stop in traffic. When I tried to restart my car, it wouldn't start. After several attempts to try to start the vehicle, it finally started.. a few miles into my journey, the problem happened again.. the problem is with the ignition switch that is recalled on my vehicle. I drive everyday with small children in the car and this is very unsafe. The Dodge dealer said the part is unavailable. I need my car to go to work everyday and this is very disturbing.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #101

Apr 132015

Charger

  • 103,000 miles
For many months the vehicle has had issues with speedometer dropping to zero while driving, headlights dimming, and a delay when starting. Until recently it wouldn't start at all. I had it towed to the dealership who then replaced the battery which had shown failure when tested. After getting my vehicle back the problems immediately continued. I have been informed I may need to replace the tipm. Also informed that issues with the tipm and many other vehicle models have had the same issue and a class action lawsuit is in effect regarding faulty tipm.

- Manteca , CA, USA

problem #100

Apr 202015

Charger

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while in park, the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- St Claire Shores, MI, USA

problem #99

Oct 082014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 72,870 miles
I was accelerating up an entrance ramp to the freeway when the vehicle died, causing loss of power. I coasted to side of road and restarted car. This has happened more than once, but is intermittent. I have noticed no common similarities, it is as if the ignition shuts off.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #98

Aug 192014

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pasco, WA, USA

problem #97

Nov 112014

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Asbury, NJ, USA

problem #96

Apr 122015

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clay City, KY, USA

problem #95

Apr 122015

Charger 6-cyl

  • 163,000 miles
On April 12, 2015 while driving at 65mph on hwy 195 my car died and I was forced to pull over on median. The car has done this at least a couple of times since 2013 and usually starts back up except for 1 time in Dec 2014. Today April 12,2015 the car would not start back up and I had to have it towed to my home. I will call Chrysler llc in the am. However in Dec 2014 my Dodge did the something similar it died at a slower speed 55 mph on hwy 190 and I had to have it towed to home and later had to have my engine replace due to cracked head gaskets costing me $1800 I went to Dodge country in killeen multiple times in 2014 and 2015 trying to get this problem fixed after the recall was announced on the ignition and there are no parts each time im fed up and im voicing it!!! I have 2 kids that ride with me and its not safe any more!!!!

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #94

Feb 022015

Charger 6-cyl

  • miles
I started having issues starting my car a few years ago (approximately 2), the key would turn but it wouldn't start unless I moved the key either up, down, or to the sides. Dodge finally replaced the part ( I can't think of the name but it was on back order). I started having the same problem less than 6 months later and the part was replaced again. Earlier this year, approximately late January, I received the recall notice for the ignition switch and called Dodge. They said the part was on back order and they weren't sure when they would receive the part. Since then, I have lost the lighting on my dash for the headlights and air-conditioning/heating dials. This occurred when I started my car and it suddenly turned off. I called in regards to finally having the lighting fixed today and that part was on national back order. The biggest problem, is the ignition switch, I have trouble starting the car, some days worse than others. I also have to check the key by tapping it when it's started to make sure it's in the "run" position. A handful of times I've tapped it and the key has turned back to the left, killing the car. Thankfully I've been parked every time. I've called Dodge about this recall and they still have yet to receive the part and have not been told a definite date as to when they will receive the part. This issue is not only frustrating it's dangerous for me and anyone else on the road. I'm tired of calling Dodge only to hear every part I need is on backorder. I truly don't believe the car I'm driving is safe anymore regardless of what the recall letter states. I think Dodge is an awful company who has horrible customer service and leaves the local dealerships with their hands tied. I truly believe they are only days away from a lawsuit.

- Concord, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?