Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,649 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Charger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Charger Owner Comments

problem #5

Oct 182010

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated the steering wheel was difficult to turn and made an abnormal noise when the vehicle was driven in cold weather conditions. The contact also stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the radio lights and all of the interior lights failed. The vehicle was restarted and resumed to normal. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 4/27/15..updated 05/11/15. The consumer also received recall # 15V313000. However, the parts were not available. Updated 08/19/15.....updated 09/17/15 updated 09/21/15....updated 10/05/15. The consumer experienced a resistance in steering while turning left or right for the past 18 months. There was a smell of wires burning inside the vehicle, due to the left signal light wiring had burned out, the right front window was difficult to roll up, the blinkers stopped working, and the trunk would not open. Updated 10/19/15.....updated 11/10/15. Updated 11/30/15. The consumer also stated the vehicle would not start. The battery and ignition switch were replaced. The vehicle had a coolant leak. The gasket and thermostat were replaced. Updated 12/22/15......updated 12/24/15....updated 02/18/16. Updated 03/17/16..........updated 04/01/16 updated 04/12/16. Updated 04/14/16. Updated 06/02/16. Updated 06/09/16. Updated 06/16/16. Updated 06/29/16.8jb

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #4

May 292011

Charger 6-cyl

  • 75,601 miles
Im submitting this statement for everyone that has had the unfortunate pleasure of owning a Dodge vehicle. About a month and a half ago I was driving on the freeway and my 2008 Dodge Charger just died on me. I had it towed to the dealership and they told me that I needed a new engine as a result of oil sludge buildup. I submitted all my maintenance records showing that I was getting my maintenance done and they came back denying my warranty claim. I feel like Chrysler is just a big rip-off with their warranties cause its funny the service lady told me that it was no oil showing on the dipstick and I had my mechanic to look at my car a day before I had it towed to the dealership and it was 3qts in there so something sounds fishy to me. I've been researching this issue and im not alone and they really need to check into this problem but its very convenient for them to deny having to replace their defective engines. I have 2 Dodge Chargers and will be getting rid of both asap.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #3

Feb 042011

Charger 67-cyl

  • 67,942 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph when he applied the brakes and the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle yet the failure began to recur intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told there was a failure within the computer system. The vehicle was not yet repaired because the necessary parts for repairs were on back order. The failure mileage was 67,942 and the current mileage is 68,600 updated 03/29/11 updated 07/11/11

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #2

Feb 022010


  • 24,000 miles
I have a 2008 Dodge Charger with 24,000 miles on it and have my car serviced as required and yet the engine blew lastnight. Over the last 2 weeks my car was making ticking noises but it was not constant, I let it go. Then 3 days ago I took my car to have an oil change and it wasn't time but I was worried so I did. Lastnight the car engine sounded really bad lots of clunking so I pulled over afraid of not knowing what was going to happen. I have Dodge lifetime drivetrain warranty so I had it towed to the dealer. Today they called and told me the engine was not covered because of sludge buildup. I told them I did all the maintenance and have proof but they still insist it is my fault.I am at a loss now of where to turn. $5-$7000 will get it running again out of my pocket. Please help as I thought I was covered and don't know what to do.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #1

Sep 292008


  • 700 miles
There seems to be a widespread issue with Dodge Chargers (2006 - present). When accelerating and pressing the gas pedal a "whistle" sound can be heard coming from the powertrain / engine section. The sound only occurs during steady acceleration between 40 - 65 mph. If the gas pedal is released or pressed harder the sound goes away. Many Charger owners have reported this issue on their vehicles (SE, SE+, srt, R/T, etc..) but the service centers at the dealerships have yet to determine the cause and there is no fix for this yet. This could be affecting thousands of Charger vehicles and needs to be investigated.

- Pearland, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?