Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 33
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,882 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Charger electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 12 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

Jun 242014

Charger

  • 15,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

If don't enter information how will you contact me to help? my radio went out first I didn't think nothing of it, but when I got closer to home my car started making weird noises and then my ABS light came on my stability light came on as well the ac went off and came on started blowing hot burning air, lucky I made it close to the dealership cause the car completely died on me I couldn't steer it. I had no power to turn, I'm happy I didn't get hurt or have my kids in the car at the time.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #81

Jun 212014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I was driving home at hwy speed (70mph) when all of a sudden my ac start blowing hot then the ABS light came on then the antislide light came on. I slowed down to sixty then my speeddometer started jumping from 0 to 80 then it stopped working totally. As I tried to get in the slow lane, smoke started coming out of somewhere. By this time the engine was making a loud noise an all my electrical items were blank. The car was pretty much costing at this point. I called a two Dodge dealerships as I waited on a tow an they immdiately said it was the alternator an the issue is common with the 2011 Dodge Chargers.. my issue is, since the dealership knows this an they are constantly repairing the alternator, then why havent Dodge recalled the part..I know the dealershop has to order the parts through them (Dodge).if I wasnt able to coast to the right before my steering colum lock, things would have been bad. I am a single mom who now has to pay 500 plus for the part on top of labor.. plus being without transportation for almost a week due to a bad alternator on a 2 1/2 year old car.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #80

Jun 132014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 98,765 miles
This is the second alternator in two years both burned up. Charger 2011 model sucks big time. So many problems with this car. Chrysler should recall the alternator. I know others are having the same problem...updated 07/23/14 the consumer stated the day the alternator burned up, the vehicle was loosing power while driving. There was a burning smell. The radio and dashboard grew dim and then went blank. The rear tire had to be replaced every 2-3 months. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where they agreed something was wrong, for the tires to be wearing prematurely. She was told, it was the tow-bar, and the repair cost was $640. However, the dealer paid half of the repair. After the repair, the rear tires still needed to be replaced, every 2-3 months. The cruise control worked for about two months. The driver side head lights burned out every two weeks. Updated 1/14/2015

- Donaldsonville, LA, USA

problem #79

Dec 012012

Charger 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Dodge Charger. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle electrical issues and consumer states unsatisfactory customer service at dealership. The consumer stated 10 hours after picking the vehicle up from the dealer, he noticed the same headlight was out. The consumer stated he experienced a problem, with the headlight before. The headlight issue, was a recalled component.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #78

Nov 192012

Charger

  • 43,000 miles
I bought my 2011 Charger in July 2012 with 32000miles on it. Four months after buying my Charger I had to replace both back tires. The tires were so worn out the wire was showing. Bought 2 new tires, by January 2013. These were used tires. In May 2012, I bought 4 new tires and had an alignment done. August 2013 the back tires had wire showing again. Dealer said it was the tow bar.I bought it in for repairs $350. I am currently buying back tires every 3-4 months. Recall comes out about ABS light and electrical system which can affect ESC functions. I was thinking "ok well maybe I driving so much I'm wearing down my tires" because between oil changes I had a 10,000 mile jump. Couldn't figure how I did 10,000 miles in 3 months. Now after careful study I found out ESC function affects how the speedometer reads, tire travel, and mileage reading. This car has been trouble since I bought it. In 2 years it says I've traveled 70,000 miles. What a rip off! the back end of the car just wobbles freely. Junk car.

- Donaldsonville, LA, USA

problem #77

May 022014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 73,195 miles
I recently had to replace the alternator on my 2011 Dodge Charger at a total personal cost of more than $800. Considering that most people these days don't have this type of money just sitting around, it was a very troubling situation. As I was driving down the street I noticed that my vehicle began slowing down without me breaking and the dashboard displays started flickering. Battery save mode was displayed and the car starting making a loud whining sound. That was immediately followed by the smell of something burning and smoke coming from the hood and through the front vents. Of course I was extremely alarmed and at the same time other vehicles were honking at me because my car was going so slow and I was in everyone's way. The burning smell and smoke were so bad that I just knew something had to be on fire. I stopped my vehicle in the street and signaled for drivers to go around me. I called a towing company to have the car taken to the shop since I obviously would not be continuing my commute home. The shop informed my that my alternator was bad and needed to be replaced. That was news that no car owner wants to hear. The cost to me would be over $800 because an aftermarket alternator did not exist for this make and model. This entire matter has had me scared at the time of the incident and pissed at the time of the bill. I have seen tons and tons of complaints on both this website and online in general regarding the bad alternators on the 2011 Dodge Chargers. It's ridiculous that Dodge/Chrysler has not issued a recall for alternators that were installed on these models so that consumers can either avoid this situation or be compensated for the crazy amount of money that we have had to pay to have this problem fixed. I am hoping that everyone who encounters this problem will put in enough complaints to make Dodge/Chrysler take action....updated 07/15/14

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #76

Jun 042014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving to work when the battery mode icon flashed. Then the lights, radio, air conditioner went off, in that order. I turned on my signal light so that I could pull over to the right shoulder, when the car began to start making a whirling sound. I took it to the shop the next day and they said the bearings in the alternator were going bad. Very disappointed in the service of Dodge and the fact that many other people are experiencing the same problem should be a red flag for them. My car is 3 years old. Dodge should be held responsible. Fix this.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #75

May 132014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 63,652 miles
Dodge dealer is refusing to repair a recall issued: PO8 / NHTSA / 14V-101. The dealers excuse is that Chrysler Corp. Is only allowing 2 shipments of recall repair parts per week. Chrysler Corp. Also did not notify me of recalls: 12V042000, 12V197000, 13V118000.

- Bonney Lake, WA, USA

problem #74

May 132014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 63,652 miles
Dodge dealer is refusing to repair a recall issued: PO8 / NHTSA / 14V-101. The dealers excuse is that Chrysler Corp. Is only allowing 2 shipments of recall repair parts per week. Chrysler Corp. Also did not notify me of recalls: 12V042000, 12V197000, 13V118000.

- Bonney Lake, WA, USA

problem #73

May 172014

Charger

  • 42,300 miles
On engine start I heard a whine come from the engine. Popped the hood and it sounded like it was dead center of the engine block. I took it to the shop the next day and they said the bearings in the alternator were going bad. It's a newer low mileage car, hard to find a alternator lower than $500. While waiting for the order to come in I started the car in the garage and the language on the screens are in german ABS and traction lights are on and now the alternator is smoking. Very disappointed in the service of Dodge and the fact that many other people are experiencing the same problem should be a red flag for them.

- Knob Noster, MO, USA

problem #72

May 242014

Charger

  • 84,290 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the above time, I was on the interstate on my way to pick up my children from day care, when the battery mode icon flashed. Then the lights, radio, air conditioner went off, in that order. I turned on my signal light so that I could pull over to the right shoulder, when the car began to start making a whirling sound, started smoking, and then I could see fire. Thank god other people saw what was going on and allowed me to pull over to the shoulder safely without getting injured. I looked it up online and have seen several of incidents like this reported. I am a single mother of 3, my car is less than 3 years old, this is ridiculous, now I am out of 850 plus 100 to tow it. Dodge should be held responsible. Fix this.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #71

May 092014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 42,200 miles
A message icon appeared on my dashboard saying "power saver mode" I didn't do what it was so I was going to look it up after I got of work.I parked my car and went to work. When I came out to go on my lunch break my car was completely dead. I called the dealership and they told me I needed a new alternator and I asks if I was covered and they said no even though I have only 42,200 miles.I looked up to see and saw several people had the same problem. The alternator are to small for Dodge Chargers and causes them to burn out fairly quickly and even some have caused alternator to catch fire.

- Fayetteville , NC, USA

problem #70

May 252013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 46,206 miles
My car constantly died while driving, before stalled displayed battery save mode, this killed my battery my car had only 46 206 miles I had to have my battery and alternator replaced I paid $ $785.41 for the alternator at the dealer and $ $143.19 for the battery, this is absolutely ridiculous for a vehicle that was only two years old at the time, obviously this car has alternator problems which is a danger for the people in the car and other people or vehicles around it, Chrysler has to issue a safety recall because this is a very serious safety issue.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #69

Apr 172014

Charger

  • miles
Cpsc: I1440340A. 2011 Dodge Charger. Consumer stated she took her car in for recall work on the wiring harness for the air bag. The consumer expected to have other recalls performed. However, the dealer informed her, those recalls were restricted to police vehicles. The low beam headlights and ABS were not operational.

- Wimberley, TX, USA

problem #68

Apr 172014

Charger

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the headlights failed. In addition, the ABS and ESC warning lights illuminated. There was a recall related to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number 12V042000 (electrical system, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic) but the VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Winberley, TX, USA

problem #67

Mar 192014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 73,600 miles
Wiring harness of headlight overheated and caused harness to melt. I have no headlights. Took car to bob allen in frankfort and they informed that there is a recall for this issue but my car is not included in the recall and there is nothing that they will do. Yet this is a safety hazard and it should be fixed at no cost since they are having this issue with other cars.

- Versailles, KY, USA

problem #66

Feb 142014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have replaced the driver side headlamp 2 times now found the connector charred and brittle. I purchased the vehicle in January 2014 and saw lamp replacement done by the dealership I bought it from in the carfax so 3 times this bulb has been replaced since January. This is a potential fire hazard and Chrysler needs to address this problem. I happen to work for Chrysler and am an electrician and know the potential of the problem. The problem is a loose connection which cause excessive heat. I put dielectric grease on the connector to help with the condition. Time will only tell if this helps. I also have gotten a battery saver message which leads me to believe the alternator is about to go not to happy!!.

- Davis, IL, USA

problem #65

Mar 192014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The following are issues I'm having with my vehicle: 1. the headlights had to be replaced due the light socket being melted. I researched the matter and it appears that the 2011 Chargers 3.6L have a problem where the wire harness melts for the low beam lights. The mechanic told me that this was a fire hazard. 2. the alternator went bad at 64,000 miles in which it completely killed my battery. Now I have replaced the headlights, battery, and alternator. What is Chrysler waiting on to recall these issues" apparently this year make and model has electrical issues. Do we need to wait until several consumers have accidents or maybe die before someone does something about vehicles and their recalls" other manufacturers like Toyota, GMC have had many accidents and deaths and now after almost a decade they are recalling the vehicles. I have 2 small kids that commute to school in my vehicles daily. These issues need to be recalled.

- Lake Placid , FL, USA

problem #64

Sep 022013

Charger

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the front passenger's side headlight continuously failed. The contact replaced the bulb multiple times but the failure was recurring. Additionally, the contact found that the low beam headlight wiring harness was melted into the bulb fixture. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id numbers: 12V042000 (electrical system, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic) or 12V197000 (electrical system, service brakes, air). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired or inspected for diagnosis of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #63

Jan 022014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Passenger side headlight started flickering was driving in bad fog could not use high beams the more we drove the worse the flickering became. All of a sudden it seemed like we lost all headlights we were able to pull over got out to check lights and the low beam headlight was out. We finally made it home. The next day went to check the lights and found the low beam wiring harness melted. I started looking online and came to find numerous web sites with people having the same issue and Chrysler has only recalled the police issue vehicles. To me Chrysler knows there is an issue but do not want to fix it. I have paid over $200 to get it fixed. I have called Chrysler numerous times and have gotten no where with them.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?