Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,265 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #86

Jun 012009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer states there have been five recalls for her vehicle and had problems before the recalls were announced. She would like to terminate her lease early. In June 2009, the vehicle needed new front brake pads and rotors at only 15,000 and again in August 2010. In the spring, the vehicle had no air condition. The dealer informed the consumer the part was manufactured too short and froze during the winter, which caused fluid to leak out. The problem was resolved after 3 weeks. In June 2010, the same hose ruptured and again the consumer was left with no A/C. the radiator cap had to be repaired which was why the consumer had to keep adding coolant. The washer fluid sensor was not working and needed to be replaced. In August 2010, the power sliding door stopped functioning for days. When the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, they were unable to find a problem. However, two months later a recall was issued. The consumer stated she also experienced power failures with the vehicle. Each time the problem occurred the engine would run, but nothing else in the vehicle worked, such as the windows, locks, windshield wipers and interior lights etc. The problem was sporadic and each time the consumer went to the dealer, they were unable to find any problems.

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #85

May 012010

Grand Caravan

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan SE. The contact was applying the brakes when the brake pedal began to vibrate abnormally and the brakes were exhibiting an unusual chattering. The dealer was notified who advised that the failure was common in his year, make amd model vehicle but unless the manufacturer was willing to assist, there was not much he could do to assist. The contact did not inform the manufacturer of the failure nor was the vehicle repaired. The current mileage was 32,000 and the failure mileage was 12,000.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #84

Jan 012009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact heard a clunking noise and began to smell a burning odor. The contact pulled over and noticed that the odor was coming from the rear passenger side brake. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the rear passenger side brake had locked up. The brakes were replaced. The failure occurred three additional times. The vehicle had been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 27,000 and the current mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 02/23/11 updated 02/28/11

- Pinckney, MI, USA

problem #83

Dec 162010

Grand Caravan

  • 35,827 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchase our 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan new on 12/22/2008. We have had to get our front pads replaced and front rotors resurfaced at 20,306 miles and Chrysler sent out a front brake limited warranty extension so we received a refund back minus the $50 deductible for this repair. However now we've had problems with our rear calipers & rear brakes which we would like to have our repair refunded or a recall done on this matter. Here is the info: First complaint:--the rear calipers seized which caused the second complaint-- the pads wore out quickly. The rear calipers seized and the rear brakes failed and both had to be replaced. The rear rotors and drums had to be resurfaced at our expense($446.38 parts & labor, not including tax).

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #82

Dec 012007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle was experiencing an increase in stopping distance when braking at any speed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the brakes were replaced. The failure since recurred twice. After each failure, the brakes would either be replaced by an authorized dealer or independent mechanic but to no avail. The failure mileage was 10,000 and the current mileage was 50,000. Updated 02/09/11 updated 05/09/11

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #81

Nov 042010

Grand Caravan

  • 20,000 miles
Approximately 20,000 miles front brake recall letter received, took to local dealer and repairs made. At 23,000 mile rear left locked, total replacement at the cost of $299.29 to repair one brake, rotor and caliper. Very disappointed, was informed by dealer repairman that there should be a recall for the rears soon. Told to keep receipt for reimbursement.

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #80

Aug 182009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,768 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that on August 18, 2009 while driving approximately 45 mph someone advised him that his wheel was smoking. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who confirmed that both rear calipers were locked the dealer replaced calipers, rotors, and rear brake pads at 14,768 miles. On October 25, 2010 while driving he smelled smoke again. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that the right rear caliper was frozen, the left rear caliper was sticking and the brake pads were overheated and cracked. The rear calipers, and brake pads were replaced at 29,979 miles. The manufacturer provided a rental vehicle when the first failure occurred. The failure mileage was 14,768. The current mileage was 29,979. Updated 01/18/11 updated 1/19/2010 updated 03/31/11 according to the invoice, the rear calipers were not releasing properly and the rear rotors were discolored. Updated 06/01/11

- Hopewell Juction , NY, USA

problem #79

Oct 232010

Grand Caravan

  • miles
2008 Dodge Grand Caravan 32K miles front brakes were squeaking so we took it to local Dodge dealer. Said the front rotors and pads needed to be replaced. This car is new and the first brake job needs rotors" we paid for it and later Dodge sent out a reimbursement letter in the summer to pay half of the costs. I wonder if they put the same junk rotors back on" now, 6K miles later the front right brake squeals like the pad is low but the dealer said it is ok and that is "normal". it is not normal to hear a grinding pad on rotor sound when the pad is good! the only thing he said they could do would be to resurface the rotor and put stop squeal on the pad. It would cost around $120 bucks. Poor parts are obviously on this car...I will not buy another Dodge or suggest anyone do so. Other problems with this new car so far are: 1. when first bought, trans fluid leak, warranty fixed that. 2. rotors and pads on front (as described above), reimbursed for half 3. now at 38K miles, the front left wheel bearing is bad, have to replace, $220 dollars, I am talking to Chrysler to see if they will pay for or not. Two dealers and two repair shops cannot get this part for a week to a month, they are on backorder.

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #78

Sep 152010

Grand Caravan

  • 35,000 miles
In july2010, I had the front brakes replace after only 30000 M iles. Also a front caliper was replaced due to it not releasing after applying the brakes. In Aug, 2010 on a return trip from Florida, the rear brake calipers froze, would not release, causing the rear brakes to overheat, causing rear brake failure. Repair of the rear brakes cost aprox.$ $580. A complaint to Chrysler Corp. Was initiated, and they reimbursed a total of$280. I was told by 2 dealers that there has been an abnormal amount of problems with the brake calipers on the Chrysler/Dodge vans. Since we were transporting oxygen that my wife needs for medical purposes a fire or other failure of the rear brakes, ie fire, seizing of the brakes causing a wreck, or being disabled on the highway, miles from a repair facility could have had serious results. At the present time the only remaining caliper has failed, froze to the rotor, and is in need of repair which has been scheduled at a non dealer shop. The cost has been estimated at $100. Chrysler Corp has not given any acknowledgment as to the cause or why this is occurring, only the $280 reimbursement. The question is: Will this happen if I purchase another Chrysler van and has the brake caliper been acknowledged and fixed? $4280 reimbursement.

- Ypsilanti,, MI, USA

problem #77

Oct 032010

Grand Caravan

  • 12,000 miles
2008 Dodge Grand Caravan with 27,000 miles on it needs to have all four sets of brake pads and front rotors replaced for the second time. The front pads have were replaced 13,000 miles ago and have already worn down so far that they are cutting grooves into the rotors. I am a professional mechanic and have never seen brakes wear out in 12,000 miles. Dodge refuses to replace the brakes citing that they are wear items. They should wear out in 50,000 miles, not 12,000. I feel that this is a serious safety problem as even when new, the brakes are seriously under engineered. I have to press the pedal almost to the floor for normal stops and in the event of panic stops, I have had more than enough near misses where the van just didn't stop in time and I wound up off the road on the shoulder.

- Wolfeboro, NH, USA

problem #76

Jul 222010

Grand Caravan

  • 25,817 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. After attempting to stop, the wheel vibrated causing difficulty when the contact tried to stop. The dealer stated that all four rotors and brake pads had failed; the front brake pads and rotors were replaced under warranty and the rear parts were replaced at a repair shop at the contact's expense. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that the failure was common but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 25,817 and the current mileage was approximately 29,000.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #75

Sep 282010

Grand Caravan

  • 32,000 miles
Going on my 3rd set of brakes at 32K miles. Dodge service center said they knew of this being a problem on all Grand Caravan 2008 and later. Told me I was out of warranty. At this rate I will have over $3000 in brakes in less than 4 yrs. Need to be a recall for a longer lasting brake. This is to dangerous and costly for the owner and mothers who drive their children.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #74

Sep 262010

Grand Caravan

  • 90,000 miles
2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. 90,000 miles on vehicle. Heard a grinding noise coming from rear when brakes are applied. Investigated and found both rear wheels, inside discs pads were completely worn. Outside pads were still good. Replaced pads and rotors. Believe its the design of the calipers, never seen caliper pistons that turned out when brakes are applied. Had to have a special tool to turn the pistons back in to replace pads. I don¿T think that the pistons can retract very well because of the design causing more pressure on the inside pads. The new pads also smoked for a few days afterwards. After talking to a dealer no info or reason could be found for the excessive wear.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #73

Apr 132008

Grand Caravan

  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The front brakes deteriorated sooner than normal causing the front rotors to fail. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the front brake pads and rotors. The contacted received a refund from the manufacturer for the front brake defect regarding the material prepared by the factory. The contact called the manufacturer to advise them that the rear brake pads and rotors also failed. A report was not filed. The rear brake and rotors were replaced. The failure mileage was 29,000 and the current mileage was 32,000.

- Gresham, OR, USA

problem #72

Jul 102010

Grand Caravan

  • 12,000 miles
We bought a 2008 Dodge Caravan brand new and at 12,000 miles it needs brand new brakes. The brakes have been making a grinding noise for months. Chrysler has extended the warrenty on the brakes for that year. We believe this should be a recall! they also don't have the parts to fix the problem so I am driving on bad brakes with 4 children in the vehicle.

- Westfield, MA, USA

problem #71

Aug 272010

Grand Caravan

  • 32,093 miles
Premature brake wear. Rear brake pads replaced (15000 miles). Front brake pads replaced twice in 32000 miles. Rotors replaced at 32000 miles. Now rotors are warped again. Travel around town and minor highway only. No heavy breaking, etc. No accident yet!

- Andover, NJ, USA

problem #70

Nov 152008

Grand Caravan

  • 24,000 miles
2008 Dodge Grand Caravan has a brake design flaw which causes the brakes to fail prematurely. The first set wore out before 25K miles and caused my wife to have an accident when she could not stop the vehicle. Brakes have been replaced again with less than 30K additional miles. This is too often for brakes.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #69

Aug 182010

Grand Caravan

  • 54,002 miles
Brakes pads wear out fast and rotor keep warping. Have had brakes replaced 5 times already. I am only up to 54,000 and I need brakes again. The last brake and rotor job was at 39K.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #68

Aug 012001

Grand Caravan

  • 8,000 miles
New 2008 Dodge Caravan rear brakes burn & squeal since new. Pads replaced several times and calipers twice. Problem continues to repeat usually no charge since car still in warranty (29000 mi). But I need reliable brakes. Dealer says it is a known problem with the 2008 but can't stop the problem from recurring. Recently the ABS & the hydraulic modules went and I had to be towed.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #67

Jul 302010

Grand Caravan

  • 38,600 miles
On a recent trip from Florida, our 2008 Dodge van experienced rear brake failure. While traveling on I-75, at highway speed, 70mph, the rear brakes seized, causing smoke, the rotors heating to the point being red hot, all causing difficultly in stopping. After letting the brakes cool and making our way to a repair facility, we were told that the rear calipers had seized, frozen in place causing the brakes to overheat and burn. The cost of replacing the brakes, calipers and other parts cost over $575 plus the loss of a day traveling and over night stay. We were told that T the brakes were failed and could have easily caused a fire due the amount of heat generated or a crash.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?