Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,127 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 36 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

May 112012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 54,200 miles


Wipers/dash cluster/warning bells operate on their own randomly. I found that I could turn off the A/C blower and wipers/dash lights/ and warning bells would go off. Started out once or twice, then every went up to 13 times back to back. Has happened multiple times was waiting on recall part for A/C and was told it should fix it.(went one week without anything and then went to my van on 5/11/12 and had no gags). Sometimes occurs when vehicle is at a stop sign, making a right turn, or driving down the road. Lasts from two minutes to ten minutes. Research shows many other owners with same issues requiring total integrated power module (tipm) (currently on factory back order with no release date available according to local dealer) I was told 5/11/2012 that 390 customers are waiting on the tipm, and be prepared to wait several months as it is on back order. So I called Chrysler, I was then told the machine that makes this is broken, they assigned me to a case manager who would help with rental car assistance. Later told by case manager "because I do not have service history with Dodge dealer, locally that I was not eligible for rental car assistance." I am sorry we are military and have recently moved across country. So now it is the waiting game for the tipm to come back in stock so that I can have my van back, so that I can Transport my two children with special needs to doctor appointments.

- Fort Bragg, NC, USA

problem #51

Apr 102012

Grand Caravan

  • 67,200 miles
Wipers/washer/horns operate on their own. Transmission shifts erratically. Lights blink. Front A/C blower inoperable. Has happened multiple times (most recently 4-10, 4-13, 4-17-12). Sometimes occurs when vehicle is parked with no key in it. Lasts from two minutes to ten minutes. Research shows many other owners with same issues requiring total integrated power module (currently on factory back order with no release date available according to local dealer) to be replaced.

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

problem #50

Apr 012009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
Just after parking van the electrical system went crazy. The front wipers started wiping, the wiper fluid deployed, the horn sounded. I turned off car and removed the key. Everything continued to run. At a loss I got back in, turned it on and drove it out of the garage where the noise wouldn't be so loud. Again I removed the key. I popped the hood, thinking if all else fails, I could pull the battery. I saw the fuse box by the battery (I have since looked up that it is the tipm) and I smacked it hard with my palm. The car shut up. Several months later it did a similar behavior, again while not moving. Still several months after that it did it again, this time while I was driving. Wipers, horn, washer fluid whole deal. I managed to pull over and safely stop the car. Before I could get out the car stopped its behavior. Since then I have also had other electrical problems, horn attempting to sound on its own, but no wipers, transmission in "limp mode" where it won't get out of second gear, and front blower motor intermittently running/not running. Often stopping car and opening door, and restarting car fixes it, but more recently not so much. I reported first incident to dealer, but they found nothing. I have reported further incidents and now that I am out of warranty they are advising me it is the tipm (fuse box) and replacement cost is $800 and it may not fix my problem. Because it is intermittent they claim not to be able to diagnose themselves. I would hate to have the wiper horn fluid combo happen on the highway. Can be dangerous.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #49

Apr 132012

Grand Caravan

  • 40,000 miles


Instrument cluster flashes on and off lasts for up to ten minutes also comes up no bus on odometer when this occurs.

- West St Paul, MN, USA

problem #48

Nov 252011

Grand Caravan

  • 129,060 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V235000 (electrical system:wiring). After the repairs were completed, the contact noticed that the wires were left exposed and deteriorated. As a result, the windows would no longer open and the doors would not unlock. The vehicle was not taken back to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 129,060.

- Clinton, SC, USA

problem #47

Feb 122011

Grand Caravan

  • 30,000 miles
The van has shut off while driving approximately 7 times in the last year. The engine shuts off and there is no power to the brakes or steering. There are no error lights that display on the dash. Once the car is stopped and placed in park the engine is able to be restarted. There is a big safety concern when this happens. It appears that there is a recall on a similiar issue on the 2010 Caravan with the vehicle shutting off while driving. I have also researched the problem and found that there have been alot of the same complaints from consumers owning a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. Is there going to be a recall on my van for this problem? thank you

- Peru, NY, USA

problem #46

Feb 012012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the headlights stopped illuminating while driving at various speeds. The failure occurred on an intermittent basis. The contact also stated that the headlights would not always immediately turn back on. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and was informed that the headlight module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 06/29/12 updated 07/09/12

- Seymour, IN, USA

problem #45

Mar 012012

Grand Caravan

  • 48,000 miles
All power in the driver door went dead. I don't have mirrors, windows, anything. My mechanic said the part I need is on national backorder, with a new part number from Chrysler. This means that all of the parts I currently have/need are obsolete due to a known issue. To have a new part number would mean that the part would need to be redesigned from the ground up due to a known issue. This issue may have the chance to grow into a bigger electrical problem if I didn't know better; which would lean to fires, crashes, etc as all of the cars built rely on electrical signals for power steering, brakes, dash message area, air bags, etc. I'm surprised this hasn't been recalled yet to the known issues and issues it could potentially cause.

- Plover, WI, USA

problem #44

Feb 242012

Grand Caravan

  • 37,104 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, all of the warning lights illuminated, the brakes engaged, the horn began to sound, and the windshield wipers activated. The contact was able to successfully maneuver to the shoulder and shut off the vehicle. The horn continued to sound and the windshield wipers remained activated for a few minutes. Upon restart, the vehicle operated as normal. The vehicle was in the process of being towed to an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 37,104.

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #43

Feb 202012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
On 4 occasions our 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan has gone into a mode where the lights flash, the horn honks, the windshield wipers come on, washer fluid squirts out, and the doors lock. When moving, it also appears to downshift to lower gear. Once it starts, it appears the only way to stop it is to let it run its course which can take up to 10 minutes (disconnecting the battery did not make it stop). During the time it is happening the key fob does not work. Of the 4 times it has happened, it has happened twice while driving and twice while sitting still (once with key in ignition and once without). I have it at the dealer and so far in 2 days they have not found anything wrong. There are literally hundreds of other people with 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan who have this exact same or similar issue. This is a potentially dangerous issue if you happen to be moving when it happens.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #42

Nov 102011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles


When unlocking the van, the horn starting blowing and the windshield wipers started going. After driving a few blocks, the van went into 2nd gear at 4000 RPM. A mile later, the engine cut off while driving down the road and I barely got off the road in traffic. A few weeks before this the heater did not work one evening. Following that incident there was an episode of the horn blowing, windshield wipers going, and the washer fluid emptied. There have been about 10 incidents similar to these. The first incident was in a parking lot. When I returned to the car from shopping, it was obvious that the windshield wipers had turned themself on. It took 15 minutes for the incident of horn blowing and windshield wipers and washer fluid going to clear itself. Disconnecting the battery did not make the horn and windshield wipers stop concerned about van stopping while driving. This is a serious safety issue.

- Edenton, NC, USA

problem #41

Sep 192011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Driving about 60mph with three kids in car when key switched to off position. Steering hard until I switched the car into neutral and restarted it. The key had done this once before in park and once while driving aprox 20mph on a dirt rd.

- Washington Township, MI, USA

problem #40

Nov 032010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
Driving at random times, speeds, etc, the lights would suddenly flash, wipers turn on high, wiper fluid come out and the horn would honk. Sometimes this would last only 2-3 seconds, sometimes up to 10 miuntes. Turning the key off and then back on would not clear the problem. Taken to dealer in November 2010. They re-flashed the PCM and the issue disappeared for 12 months. Problems resumed in November 2011. Taken to dealer. Could not diagnose and decided to change an accessory control module. Situation causes very unsafe operating condition by distracting driver, obscuring drivers view, distracting other drivers, causing sight problems for oncoming drivers with uncontrolled illumination of lighting.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #39

Nov 152009

Grand Caravan

  • 62,700 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the gps navigation system, dvd player, and radio failed to operate. The malfunctions occurred intermittently at any given speed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on two separate occasions for the same failure. The dvd player was replaced and the failure continued to occur. The contact planned to take the vehicle back to the dealer for the third time. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 62,700. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #38

Sep 142011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated the horn, and the windshield wiper fluids activated on their own intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test that located several failure codes. The dealer cleared the failure codes, but the failure was not corrected. The horn and windshield wiper fluid continued to activate intermittently on its own. The manufacturer stated that they were not aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 80,000. Updated 10/11/11 updated 10/21/11

- Trevor , WI, USA

problem #37

Sep 012011

Grand Caravan

  • 51,200 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 10V611000 (equipment:electrical:air conditioner) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs. One week after repairs, the air conditioning system began to blow hot air. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they advised him that the failure was not related to the recall. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 51,200. The VIN was unavailable.

- Imperial, MO, USA

problem #36

Sep 022011

Grand Caravan

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT. The contact stated while the vehicle was parked in the driveway, the horn began to blow and all of the lights were flashing on and off. The windshield washer fluid suddenly activated. When she attempted to unlock the vehicle, the doors failed to open. The vehicle reset itself within a few minutes. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who advised her that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer advised her that it was the first of they heard about that type of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 58,000.

- Hummelstown, PA, USA

problem #35

Sep 022011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 58,125 miles
Washed van, parked it in driveway. Suddenly horn is beeping, lights flashing, wipers going and wiper fluid spewing out. Could not turn off with panic button. Could not open doors with fob. Put key in lock and button came up but car kept pushing it into lock position. Finally was able to hold door handle and when lock came up opened door. Could not turn van off. Disconnected battery cables and let vehicle reset itself. Seemed fine. Took out later in the day and wipers and fluid came on again and lights began to flash. Power steering and brakes engaged and could barely get safely off road. After engine turned off by itself could not restart it. Had it towed. Dealer now trying to figure out what is wrong. No computer codes so will probably get vehicle back stating no errors are found. I do not feel safe in this vehicle any more. Dodge should be made to diagnose and fix this problem before someone gets killed. If you view and you will find that many people are complaining about this same problem. Consumers should probably file legal actions before many people get killed because their vehicles seem to have a mind of their own and stop whenever and wherever they so desire. Who can we get to help us resolve this very serious problem with Dodge Grand Caravan"??"

- Hummelstown, PA, USA

problem #34

Aug 082011

Grand Caravan

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated while driving 35 mph the vehicle stalled. The check engine light illuminated; however, the contact was able to restart the vehicle immediately. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test that displayed an error code but the dealer could not duplicate the failure. The dealer contacted the manufacturer and was told to replace the wireless control module. The vehicle was repaired by the dealer per the warranty. The failure mileage was 21,000.

- Carolstream, IL, USA

problem #33

Jun 152008

Grand Caravan

  • 25 miles
The contact 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contac stated that the rear liftgate opened independently while the vehicle was shut off. The contact believed the electronic key fob caused the doors to open due to friction but without depressing any buttons. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 10V235000 (electrical system:wiring) and was repaired. After the recall repairs were performed the electronic sliding door continued to experience failures. The contact stated that the driver side automatic sliding door would not close when depressing the key fob or while attempting to close it manually. The vehicle was taken to the dealer yet the technicians were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 25.

- Madison, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?