Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,719 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #77

Oct 022012

Grand Caravan

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent electrical issues - fails to start; interior dash panel lights, driver side passenger door not closing, drivers door not locking - all intermittent

- Gilbertsville, PA, USA

problem #76

Sep 292015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
For a few days my van has been having issues starting.(not battery) every light on the dash bored has been popping on. Then all the dash lights go out and so do the head lights. We were driving at night. Parked the car for a minute and let it run. It shifted out of park into drive and drove up a little knoll and into a parked car.no one was in or around the van. My bumper was damaged. Luckily no one was hurt. I am a mother of 4 young children. This is a very dangerous situation. Today it rain a bit but prior to today it was not raining. When in parked, lights and wipers were in the off position but they continued to stay on. At a very fast rate it would idle up and down quickly. We refuse to even turn on the van for I am scared of what may happen.

- Keeseville, NY, USA

problem #75

Aug 162015

Grand Caravan

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated when the ignition key was turned to the on position, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the engine module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 118,000. The VIN was not available.

- Marrietta, GA, USA

problem #74

Sep 212015

Grand Caravan

  • 20,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. Upon starting the vehicle, it stalled. The vehicle was able to restart; however, the vehicle drove roughly. Additionally, there was an abnormal noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,600.

- Penbooke Pines, FL, USA

problem #73

Jul 012014

Grand Caravan

  • 25,000 miles
I received a wireless ignition node module defect safety recall from Chrysler in July 2014. Your data base suggests May 2015 as the date, but it's wrong. This is much older. The original recall was L25 NHTSA 14V-373. The Fiat Chrysler hotline for recalls has the number as R03. They have failed to correct this defect within a reasonable time, because this is 14 months. A reasonable time might be a few weeks, I think. I call dealers here in the St louis area, they promise to call me when parts are in. I called the recall hotline for Fiat Chrysler, I complain to my state's attorney general for consumers, and get nowhere. All I hear is "we can't get the parts." Well, I know many, many model cars are in this recall; not only GM, but Jeep, Dodge, etc. But I can't help it -- I am the one who is in trouble for the faulty ignition and fobik, and this package has Fiat Chrysler's name on it. It's time to twist their arms really hard. This is safety. The safety recall hotline at Chrysler says this is their part, and they're not doing it, and I quote, "I don't know what to tell you." Well, tell them....... I think I should be given a car to drive that is safe until they can do this required recall. Or they can refund my car price and the price of my lift equipment installed for a scooter lift in the rear of the car. I've had it. Waiting and hoping are not getting us drivers anywhere. They've got to do something and now before someone else dies.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #72

Aug 302013

Grand Caravan

  • miles
While driving car win module moves from on position to accessory position causing car to shut off car does not always start even with new battery and starter

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #71

Jul 302015

Grand Caravan

  • 143,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We had taken the vehicle to the Chrysler dealership in bloomfield hills, mi 3 days prior to our trip. We had it all checked out, they charged us around 400 for flushes and such, the rest was great and ready according to the dealer. 2 days into our trip, we got a check engine light. We went to the dealership in atlanta, left it for 2 days, and rented a vehicle. They said no issues found. We started for Florida only to find the check engine light would always be on after then. When driving back, in Kentucky going about 70 miles an hour in the mountains, the gauges all went to 0 and the entire dash went black. This was very scary and I assume unsafe. I maintained my lane and speed, as I was assuming there was no power steering or power brakes for the ten seconds it took for the power to somehow come back. We have lost power on this vehicle multiple times, and Chrysler/Dodge dealerships have attributed it to the key fob. We have had several replacements. This is unacceptable to loose power on a vehicle when driving and multiple dealerships to misdiagnose the problem. Please help.!! :(

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #70

Jul 152015

Grand Caravan

  • 67,000 miles
The Y pipe is defective and leaks coolant.

- Helena, MT, USA

problem #69

Jul 182015

Grand Caravan

  • 152,325 miles
Overheating when driving. Coolant leaking at heater hoses, shift over heat. Problems after recall repair service performed.

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #68

Mar 172015

Grand Caravan

  • 140,083 miles
The first thing that happened was; we were driving down the road and the van just stopped running. Luckily we were only going 20 miles per hour and there wasn't a lot of traffic. The power steering wasn't working but my husband was able to steer the van off the road to safety. We called aaa and my husband went to the store to get dry gas because we thought that there may have been moisture in the tank from condensation. When he got back to the van he put in the dry gas and he decided to try to turn the van on and it turned over. We went home after that. After that the van seems to work for a while, then one day my husband came home from work and tried to shut the van off, but it would not shut off. The horn started blowing and the wipes, wiper fluid, lights and door locks were all working all by themselves. We unattached the wires to the battery but that did not work and finally started pulling fuses until it all stopped. He drove to work without the fuses until we could get it fixed. I called Chrysler and they said that there was a recall around May 2015. We brought the van into the dealer and they replaced the ignition module and gave us new key fobs. The van stalled again on the way home from work and we called aaa to get the van and take it back to the dealership. They said that they checked all the electric and ran a purge monitor test and others. The dealership said that they could not find anything the matter with the van and charged us $200. Just recently we were driving in traffic at around 20 miles per hour and the van stalled again. This time we did not have time to move it and a truck driver helped to push us out of traffic. My husband took the wires off the battery and put it back on and the van started. We went to the Toyota dealership and bought a car that day. We still own the van, but I am afraid to drive it.

- Newmarket, NH, USA

problem #67

Feb 132014

Grand Caravan

  • 134,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle lost all power while driving. No power steering, no power brakes. It has done this four times! Feb 2013, June 2013, July 2014, and Feb 2015. I recived recall R03/NHTSA 14V-373 and L25 / NHTSA 14V-373 and contacted kings Chrysler Jeep Dodge (dealer from whom I purchased the vehicle) in February 2015 and they are reporting they still do not have a replacement part as of July 16, 2015. They told me I am one of 200 and offered no timeframe for the repair. I will not drive this vehicle because I am afraid it will fail and result in a catastrophic wreck where others, my passengers or I may be killed!

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #66

Jun 212015

Grand Caravan

  • 111,000 miles
Beginning in February of 2015 the vehicle has had intermittent problems where it will shut off unexpectedly. This occurred all all speeds and resulted in the loss of power, power steering and power brakes. The Dodge dealer replaced the wireless control module under an open recall that was intended to fix this stalling. After recall work was performed vehicle continues to stall unexpectedly.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #65

Jun 032015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
I was driving about 25 miles down the street, when the car suddenly shut off and jerked to a stop. The windshield wipers in the front and the back of the vehicle started moving without my turning them on. The horn started honking by itself. I was in the middle of the street and cars were driving past my vehicle extremely fast and I feared for the safety of my two children. I continued to try to start the car to get out of the way of the fast moving cars, but the vehicle would not restart for another 20 minutes. Once I was able to get the car out of the intersection, the horn would not stop honking and the windshield wipers kept going even though I did not have the key in the ignition. The doors kept locking and unlocking on its own and I was unable to get out of the car with my two children without assistance from my family members who arrived to assist me. The car has not been driven since this incident and remains parked.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #64

Jan 152015

Grand Caravan

  • 89,000 miles
Vehicle stalled on short trip through neighborhood driving at local speed. We took the vehicle to a repair shop for inspection/repair and nothing was found. We have since experienced multiple stalls during low-speed driving scenarios and had the vehicle looked at again with no findings (throttle-body was cleaned). We have most recently experienced a complete non start of the vehicle (no turnover, no dash lights, etc.), tried to start multiple times and nothing, waited a half-hour and it started. Similar non starts have happened (estimate 1 to 3 times a year) since we purchased the vehicle in 2008 but it has always started within a short period of time, we've shrugged it off due to infrequency and lack of gravity of the situations (e.g. sitting in garage).

- Eldersburg, MD, USA

problem #63

Apr 222014

Grand Caravan

  • 68,200 miles
This vehicle has an outstanding recall issue L25 wireless ignition code. We purchased the vehicle in April 2014 at which time we have experience a handful of complete shut down of the vehicle while traveling up to 35 mph. Daily the ignition must be turned 4-5 times before starting or will start and immediately shut down. We have removed all extra keys and key chains as stated by Chrysler. Calling Chrysler has been unsuccessful as they have a recording claiming the recall parts are not available at this time and wait times for over 15 mins will not still allow you to talk to someone in person. Therefore the local dealership is unable to repair. Is GM offering a free loaner until this vehicle is declared safe? I have a payment and do no longer wish to drive this vehicle. I have also tried to sell it for over a month with no luck. We are honest people and would inform buyer of outstanding recall unlike the dealer in which we purchased from. We have contacted our auto lender do start paper work on a voluntary repossession, however this will impact our credit greatly and we will also be responsible for the defaulted difference between the auction price and our loan.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #62

Mar 022013

Grand Caravan

  • miles
A need a recall on tipm part which controls the engine which turns it on and off. Now a recall is due>becauase it is the issue with vehicle because now the ealerships are saying it is the issue or what is causing it to turn off.as a Dodge owner of a Grand Caravan, from the time I brought the vehicle there were issues. First it started with the vehicle turning itself off and did start back. So the dealership fix it. Then it was the brakes and rotors on the front end. Fix, repair, issues again, then issues again. So many other issues with this van later on. But I decided not to complain to Dodge company.. boy do I regret it now..it's been almost 4 years now, I still have issues with the engine cutting off while driving. This has gone on for awhile, then recall come out saying it's the engine switch, so now we are waiting on the it, still... when I have did some research and ask some people with computer knowledge on vehicles and they say by the engine cutting off while driving can cause issues with the tipm part (computer). I have taken it so many times to the dealership for this reason for the engine shutting it self off, they would brush it off it's the battery, got new battery then it happen again. Then took it back again, no engine light on, then they can't diagnose any issues. Now warranty is out.. still no part for the recall engine switch.... 2015. Now that the engine is still shutting it self off, dealership is now saying its the tipm part which is 1200. Or more... I believe it has been the issue the whole time, so Dodge needs to have a recall on this part before someone is kill... I worry about it happening to my family.I have three children. It's our only vehicle.. as of today still no part available.call Dodge - no help from them. They need to have a recall on the tipm part before its to late.

- Elizabethton, TN, USA

problem #61

Mar 202014

Grand Caravan

  • 133,000 miles
Driving down normal road when car shut down, engine died. Was able to pull over and restart the car. This same event has happened three times.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #60

Jun 162011

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact stated that the engine stalled without warning three times. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Arlington , TN, USA

problem #59

Dec 022014

Grand Caravan

  • 140,600 miles
The vehicle's engine suddenly stop functioning, causing the vehicle stops and turned off itself. Also the electrics malfunction made dash lights and signs turned on. This vehicle being inspected by authorized in la ca and advised me that this recall can not be completed due to the Chrysler unable to supply the relevant parts. This vehicle being used for terminal ill patients and requires urgent repairs of this vehicle. Please advise urgently your decision. Kind regards

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #58

Apr 022015

Grand Caravan

  • 92,000 miles
Engine shuts off while driving!!! dangerous situation if I was going faster I could have crashed with my 7 year old daughter in the car. Isn't this the same thing that happened to GM and they had lawsuits? respond please: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?