Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,692 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Grand Caravan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Jun 182009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Grand Caravan. Consumer writes in regards to rear brake pads issue and seeks reimbursement for repairs. The consumer stated on June 29, 2009, the check engine light illuminated, due to an evaporative emissions leak. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a 23 point inspection was performed. An inspection revealed the rear brakes were worn down to 3mm and were sticking. The dealer informed the consumer the rear brake pads sticking to the caliper brackets was his fault. The consumer believed the problem was due to a manufacturing defect. The consumer stated since Chrysler paid for the replacement of the brackets, he believed they were admitting fault. The brackets caused the pads to stick, wearing them down and making the rotors too thin to be resurfaced. The consumer is seeking reimbursement of $ 507.73

- Greenleaf, WI, USA

problem #33

Mar 052012

Grand Caravan

  • 34,472 miles
During a service visit to have the front brakes repaired under an extended warranty issued by the manufacturer for premature failure, I was notified that the rear pads and rotors also needed replaced, with the addition of an adapter to correct the problem that caused the premature failure of the rear pads and rotors. The manufacturers extended warranty did not cover the rear. The pads were not wearing evenly, the inside pads had worn to the wear indicator and the outside pads were worn to only 50%. additionally, the left rear rotor was worn at a more significant rate than the right rear rotor.

- Centerville, OH, USA

problem #32

Oct 142010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
My van has been to the dealer 2 times with front brakes shaking the vehicle so bad it is hard to drive. It has started again within 8000 miles of the last repair. Now has 36000 miles on it. I have owned 6 Caravan and have never had this problem with the others. Something is causing the rotors to warp.

- Edgewood, WA, USA

problem #31

Feb 252012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 45,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drivers side rear brake stayed engaged. Overheated wheel and brake assembly. This has occurred another time approximately 2,000 miles later. Suspect traction control system was applying braking to that wheel. Brake released when vehicle was restarted.

- La Crescent, MN, USA

problem #30

Dec 172011

Grand Caravan

  • 34,000 miles
The rear brake pads on this vehicle failed completely at only 34,000 miles. No tattle-tale component was on the original brake pads, so there was no warning that the brakes were wearing until the brake shoes starting grinding on the rotors. We have noticed excessive brake dust on the rear wheels starting at around 7500 miles on this vehicle. The front brakes still have 60-70% wear left on them.

- Gillette, WY, USA

problem #29

Dec 122011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated the rear brakes continuously wore prematurely. The contact stated that at 31,000 miles, he was told that the front brakes were at 45 percent and the rear brakes were only at 15 percent. The contact had not experienced a failure. The failure and the current mileages were 31,000. Updated 01/18/12 updated 02/29/12

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #28

Sep 122011

Grand Caravan

  • 41,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the brake pads and rotors were wearing prematurely. The dealer replaced the brake pads and rotors one year prior to the recent failure. The dealer could not explain the cause of the failure. The failure mileage was 41,400.

- South Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #27

Oct 282011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 36,060 miles
We were on a trip and while on the trip the vehicle rolled over the 36K warranty. We were on the interstate going 75 mph when the rear of the vehicle started making a terrible vibration and vibration noises. We were able to get off on an exit within 1/4 mile of the vehicle making this noise. After we were able to stop the left rear tire smelled awful like something burning. After we got it to the Dodge dealer they confirmed that the caliper had failed on the left side of the vehicle. They stated that our VIN did not match those vehicles having the rear brake issues. Obviously we were experiencing the same issue as the other vehicles. Chrysler did agree to cover the failed caliper, but would not pay for the warped rotors or new brakes and would not cover the caliper on the right side as it had not yet failed (even though the rotor was badly warped). The rotors were on back order and would take 3 weeks to get in. We were told not to drive the vehicle as it was a safety hazard yet Chrysler was unwilling to take responsibility and replace the right side caliper as it had not yet failed. We replaced the right side caliper at our cost and both rotors and brakes as both rotors were warped badly....from defective calipers...but since only 1 side was locking up and smoking they would only replace the 1 side. I did not want to put my family in a vehicle that could become a fire hazard and believe that this is totally irresponsible of Chrysler to put peoples lives in danger and not even acknowledge it since our VIN supposedly did not fit with the vehicles that were deemed to have that problem. We contacted Chrysler customer service directly and talked about the issue and the representative was basically unwilling to look up anything never offered to take any information from us (name, vehicle info), but yet was very eager to dismiss that there was an issue.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #26

Nov 162011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 34,918 miles
They had to replace the front brakes at 32,000 miles and now the rear brakes at 34,900. I have had multiple Chrysler vans and never had to replace the brakes even after 60,000 miles or more.

- Heath, OH, USA

problem #25

Aug 112010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 9,886 miles
2009 D gr Caravan purchased new, have had to have front brakes rotors, shaved, then brakes & rotors replaced, then again rear rotors shaved at 22,000 miles. There definitely is an issue with the brakes on this vehicle. And needs to be address by Dodge. Also had electrical problems and van cut off on me once going 45 mph, then approx 25 mph, then again at a stop. This is the 1st new car I have ever purchased, not an easy thing for me as I only make $25,000 a yr and I am so frustrated that I promise I will only buy used from now on, if I am going to pay nearly $30,000 for a vehicle, I don't expect to have to have it in the shop 4 + times and to have to shell out a couple hundred dollars every 6 months on it.

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #24

Jul 272011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 38,276 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The van had squealing noise (at times) while driving. Then we noticed the strong smell of the brakes, like you are going down a steep hill, the burning smell.must be the brake caliper sticking...so I took it to the dealer(where I bought it new) and was told that I needed new brake pad, new rotors at a cost of $777. The van only had 38,282 miles on it.

- Waynesburg, KY, USA

problem #23

Nov 302010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 29,877 miles
Vibration when braking. Dealer stated that all 4 brake rotors were warped and would need to be turned. In addition front brake pads would need to be replaced. Had to pay for this myself. At 40,000 miles vibration when braking started to reoccur. Dealer agreed to replace all 4 rotors and pick up all but $250 of the cost as a goodwill gesture. From reading other complaints, there is something definitely wrong with the rotors on the 2009 Dodge Caravan/Grand Caravan.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #22

Feb 152010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 12,244 miles
Vehicle -2009 Dodge Caravan. I have had a problem when the vehicle is on cruise and have been driving for a while. If I hit the brake, the brakes do not work. I have to jam hard on the brakes for the cruise to disengage and the brakes to work. The red brake warning light goes on, and stays on for about two to three minutes. I have taken the vehicle to two different dealers for this problem on: 2-15-10, 2-16-10, 3-18-10, 8-10-10, and 8-16-11. I have another appointment set for 8-23-11. The car is dangerous and the dealers just seem to replace parts without really knowing what the problem is.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #21

Aug 132011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Replaced front rotors and break pads at 23K, vibrating somewhat. Dealer at that point said back brake pads wearing down, will soon need to replace and shave back rotors. At 26K, shaking on drivers wheel, vibrating badly when breaking was dangerous. Needed back brake pads and new rotors, rotors were warped. My 4th new Caravan in 2 decades was a real disappointment! although, the extended warranty for the front brakes were only $50 and now the back brakes $120 deductible is not alot, I shouldn't be paying to replace until 4-5 years or 40K-50K miles like our last 8 cars! I guess it's better then transmission trouble at 50K on my 1st Caravan.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #20

Jul 312011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
Steering wheel shaken at 9000 miles(warped rotors). Dealer replaced free due to mileage and I have 21000 now and steering wheel is shaken like crazy again. This vans braking system is dangerous when braking with no idea brakes are in the early stages of warping. There is so many complaints about this models brakes and something needs to be done before we have deaths.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #19

Jul 082011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 28,500 miles
2009 Dodge Grand Caravan rear brakes failure at 28,500 miles.. went in for oil change at 24K was told brakes were getting low. At 28,5K I was told brakes were close to metal to metal. An extended warranty was issued for front brakes, I was told by Chrysler that 15K to 20K was normal wear and life expectancy for the rear brakes on this vehicle. I refused repair and vehicle is sitting in my yard not being used. I was told also by Chrysler that unless more info was sent to them supporting that the issue was not normal wear Chrysler would be denying my claim and would not be offering any assistance on those issues.

- Biddeford, ME, USA

problem #18

Jul 142011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 44,024 miles
Warped front brake rotors: Received a notice from Chrysler of extended warranty on brakes because pads and rotors might need replacement "earlier than expected". took it to the dealer 1/28/11 at 35,300 miles and they said there was no problem. At 44,000 miles noticed faint squeal. Took it to independent mechanic who found that front brake rotors were severely warped and needed to be replaced. Mechanic said there was was no need to replace pads, which were fine, and that this was unusual because they usually wear at the same time. (note that high mileage comes from cross-country trips in the interstate, without heavey use of brakes).

- Pine Island, NY, USA

problem #17

Jun 022010

Grand Caravan

  • 9,800 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph he applied the brakes and the brake pedal began to pulsate. The steering wheel also began to shake during the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that both front rotors were warped. The rotors were replaced. Approximately eight months later the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to another authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the brakes exhibited an acceptable amount of rust but did not need to be repaired. Approximately four months later the vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the contact was advised to replace the rear rotors. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 9,800 and the current mileage was 23,000.

- Kendall Park, NJ, USA

problem #16

Apr 282010

Grand Caravan

  • 21,291 miles
Very noticeable brake pulsation, all four brake rotors and pads replaced due to their being pitted, rusted and down to metal on metal. Since off warranty asked for goodwill from Dodge dealer and repair done for $100. Once again on 08/02/2010 the front rotors were found to be bad by dealer and replaced by dealer under warranty. Now, as of 07/07/2011 left rear brake appears to be stuck in a locked on position, brake is overheating, squealing and poor gas mileage and causing damage to rotor, pad and caliper per local mechanic. This failure is a real danger to someone who doesn't notice the condition as it may cause a fire due to excessive heat, premature tire wear, loss of braking due to fade and boiling of brake fluid. This condition also causes other brakes to work harder causing their premature wear.

- Tully, NY, USA

problem #15

Jun 152011

Grand Caravan

  • 71,400 miles
2009 Dodge Grand Caravan 70,000 miles having problems with dragging rear brakes and short (under 20,000) miles for top of line brake pads still haven't found a fix for this.

- Aliquippa, PA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?