Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,811 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Oct 042016

Grand Caravan

  • 109,624 miles


Front wheel bearings failed; had them replaced before an accident occurred

- Carnesville, GA, USA

problem #21

Aug 152016

Grand Caravan

  • 65,000 miles
The vehicle continued running after pulled key out of ignition. Problem was with win module which was apparently part of a recall that involved 2006-2010 Grand Caravan models, although somehow my 2010 Grand Caravan isn't included in the recall. The woman at the dealer said it was the third one of the day, but mine was the only one that didn't fall under the recall.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #20

Jun 262016

Grand Caravan

  • miles
While driving my car it just shuts off on me at random times. I never know when it is going to happen. It has happened 5 times in 2 months. I found a recall online for this same thing but my dealer is telling me they are VIN number specific and my VIN says there is no recall so they won't fix it. Please help me get this so ed before I have an accident and injure myself or someone else. Thanks.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #19

Mar 092016

Grand Caravan

  • 83,771 miles


Engine stalls while driving in motion-so far has only occurred while driving on city streets but is becoming more frequent.originally seemed to occur only when not fully warmed up but now is happening at regular operating temperatures has happened both while making turns and while traveling in a straight line. I often don't notice it has occurred until I try to accelerate or turn and discover the loss of power steering and that the tachometer is on "O" rpms. It has become a regularly re-occurring annoyance and has obvious danger potential. I took the car to a dealership for the recall on the win module and was told that the brand of module that this vehicle contained was not the one they were having problems with and would therefore not replace it. They also claimed that the problem we were having was not related to that part. Checking online I find that I am far from the first owner of these vehicles experiencing this problem and that Chrysler Corp. Seems to be in denial of a problem and is at a loss as to correction of the problem. Please add my complaint to the growing list of unresolved complaints relating to this vehicle.

- Delavan, WI, USA

problem #18

Dec 152015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
While driving the van will just shut off therefore losing all power steering and brakes. The only warning light that comes on is the traction control light. This has happened on country roads and in the city. Sometimes it will do it while turning a curve and other times just driving straight down the road. The curves are the most dangerous since we lose all power. It has happened multiple times in one day and sometimes not for days. We have had the ignition switch recall performed with no results to the problem. We have had it at 3 different places trying to find a solution with no results. They say because no warning lights come on there is no way to diagnose the problem. This is a huge safety issue that needs resolved immediately. I know we are not the only ones with this problem.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #17

Aug 292014

Grand Caravan

  • 66,000 miles
I've been waiting for the longest time, for the Dodge dealership to replace the part, or parts that the recall people, was recalling the vehicle for. But instead, they keep telling me that the part, or parts hasn't come in yet. I've been having on going problems since forever, with this vehicle dying out on me, and my family;__too many times. And not only that! but my money is very important to me too. And I don't like paying out my money;__towards anything, that has been a continuos problem for me, and my family. Sent on: Thursday_01/21/2016.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #16

Jun 302015

Grand Caravan

  • miles


Dodge/Chrysler recall R03. I called my dealer several months ago when the first recall notice was received. I was put on a waiting list with the dealer and still have not received the necessary repairs. I called back to check and see how much longer it would take and was told it could be several more months before the repairs can be done. This doesn't seem like a reasonable timeframe for an issue that increases the risk of an accident. Please note: I was forced to enter a date in the form, but I do not remember exactly when I called the first time, so I am only estimating.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #15

Apr 012015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Received safety recall in April 2015. Contacted local dealer in May 2015. It is now November 2015, and am still waiting to get my car in to be repaired.

- Ishpeming, MI, USA

problem #14

Nov 122015

Grand Caravan

  • 100,300 miles
I was driving approximately 50 mph on a city street when my engine shut off. I lost all engine power; tank went to empty and it was incredibly hard to turn the steering wheel as well as brake. The best I could, I pulled over, put the van in park and restarted it. I drove home. I called the Dodge dealership and they said that since no dash lights came on, no codes would be stored, and to keep driving the vehicle until it happened again. I have an appointment scheduled with them for 11/19/15 (the soonest possible appointment.) I am uncertain if this is related; however, sometimes my "key" doesn't lock or unlock the van. In August, two times the van wouldn't start right away (2-3 tries) and on September 6, it didn't start after multiple tries. About an hour later, it started with a grinding sound, which sounded to be coming from the right passenger side of the dashboard. No dash lights. It has started fine since then.

- Queen Creek, AZ, USA

problem #13

Oct 272015

Grand Caravan

  • 6 miles
When driving on the freeway or city road the dash start to flicker then just shuts down have to wait about a min then starts up again my concern is when driving I lose all control of the vehicle. It seems to happen in the morning and at night I had my starter, relays, alternator battery check all seem fine please assist

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 052015

Grand Caravan

  • 72,000 miles


Car stalls while I am driving it. Took it to car dealer and it doesn't pop up with codes, so they say they can't figure out what is wrong. Head over mechanics drove it and he was driving it at 30 miles an hour and it turned off and he said he almost wrecked my car. Mechanic also duplicated it, but no codes, so they are saying they don't know what to fix. It is the only transportation I have, but is very dangerous to drive as when it stalls I have no power steering or brakes. I am at my wits end, because I have tried to reach Chrysler itself and all I get is customer service and they have a case open, but getting no results. I also have clunking in my transmission, but again no codes. I am at my wits end and don't know where to go from here. I can't afford to keep putting money in this car and it not get fixed. I still owe 5 years on this car also. I have had people riding in the car with me when it has happened. I am going to put a date at this end here, but not sure of when it first started happening, but know that the transmission started happening last year and told them about it and they said that was natural for that type of engine, but they hadn't even drove it.

- Drain, OR, USA

problem #11

Oct 032015

Grand Caravan

  • 73,000 miles
Received car back from dealer and car stalled on them, but no codes showed up so they are saying they can't fix it. I brought it home and it stalled on me again the next day while I was in the middle of a turn. Head person over the mechanics said that car could kill me, but it keeps stalling and they put me back in it anyway. Very unsafe. I have great grand children that ride with me sometimes. Recall previously on this same vehicle, but was VIN specific. Was going off an off ramp and it stalled also. No rythm or reason why or when it will stall.

- Drain, OR, USA

problem #10

Jul 142015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
We have been trying to get an appointment for the R03 recall on the wireless ignition node since the middle of July 2015. Our vehicle is a pool vehicle for our company and has not been able to be used now for over 2 months. I contacted our local dealership on the 14th of July to schedule an appointment and then a week later was notified that our appointment was cancelled due to a lack of parts. We have been put back on a waiting list on 8/26/15 but I have not received any calls. My question is how can a recall be issued and Chrysler not be prepared to handle this in a timely manner. Our pool vehicle has not been available for use for over 2 months now, this is not acceptable.

- Northwood, OH, USA

problem #9

Sep 082015

Grand Caravan

  • 59,000 miles
On September 8, 2015, we were travelling to our local beach and I noticed a low tire pressure indicator on the vans dashboard. I was lucky to know this particular part of the bronx, so we immediately got off of the highway and stopped at a local garage. Thinking that it was just a slow leak, we pulled over to the pay-for-air kiosk and I went to fill the front, passenger's side tire, which appeared low. The tire was not flat, just low. To may complete amazement, when I applied the required pressure onto the valve stem with the tire inflator, the valve stem disappeared into the rim! this immediately deflated the tire. The kids immediately started complaining that this was going to ruin the beach trip, but I assured them that since the gas station we were luckily disabled in front of would be of immediate assistance. I entered the garage and found the sole mechanic turned with his back to me, working on a vehicle. He didn't see us come in and didn't know I was there until I excused myself and told him about this crazy thing that had just happened to me. "let me guess, it's a Chrysler, right?" to make a long story short, he told me that the threads on the Chrysler/Dodge valve stems are made of such shoddy materials that they, in his words, "turn to dust." When he finally got the valve stem out of my tire, it was indeed nearly completely oxidized. The next day, I brought the van to our local tire repair shop to have all of the valves replaced with good, old fashioned rubber ones. The remaining were all in similar, terrible condition. With the exception of the aftermarket sensor we had purchased last year. The tire shop said that it was a common occurrence among Dodge and Chrysler vehicles. I feel this same condition caused the blowout we had experienced the year before as well.

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #8

Jun 292015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
I received a recall notice about the wireless ignition node module on or about June 29, 2015. I called grieger motors in valparaiso, Indiana on July 1st to schedule an appointment to have it repaired. I was told the parts would be ordered and they would let me know when they had them. I never heard back, and called them again on August 10, 2015 and was informed that I am number 121 on a list of about 800 recalls that they have, that they are waiting for parts, and they will let me know when my part is in. I do not feel it is grieger motors' fault, but the fault of Dodge that what I'm assuming is thousands of drivers are not able to have their vehicles repaired in a timely fashion. Can you entice Dodge to provide the replacement parts to the dealers much quicker than they are apparently doing? I am concerned for the safety of my family while we must continue to use this vehicle in its defective condition.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #7

Jul 012015

Grand Caravan

  • 90,950 miles
This vehicle was part of recall R03/NHTSA 14V-373, in which the vehicle stalls while driving. We took it to koons tysons Dodge in Virginia to have the recall worked performed. After completion of the work our vehicle still stalls while driving. We took it back to koons and they did nothing to fix it, as well as horrible customer service.

- Centreville , VA, USA

problem #6

Jun 072015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
I was pulling up to an intersection, about to make a left turn when the vehicle shut off and I wasn't able to steer the vehicle. I put it in park, turned the vehicle off and then restarted it and it was fine. It never did that again, then a little over a month later while I was driving it out of state all the warning lights kept coming on and off. When I took it to the dealership they replaced the ignitions switch which was a recalled part that we were waiting to come in. They said they didn't see any of the issues I was experiencing when they test drove the van. As I was leaving the dealership all the warning lights started flashing and the windshield wipers wouldn't work. I returned the van to the dealership and now they stated the problem is the tipm.

- Richlands, NC, USA

problem #5

Nov 092009

Grand Caravan

  • 10 miles
While driving my van the ignition shut off. This has happened multple time November 17, 2009, December 24, 2009, November 19, 2010, they put a data recorder in each time.September 20, 2012 anoather data recorder was installed in my van. April 9, 2012 they installed another data recorder in my van. I have multiple claims with Dodge/Chrysler. Browning Dodge in corona, ca corrected the problem each time stating it was the wind module.they said the problem was caused by the adfter market alarm system that was installed in my vehicle by the dealer. They removed the alarm, and reimbursed my for it as we were unaware that the alarm was and after market alarm. On August 22, 2013 dch Dodge in temecula, ca finally found the problem they removed the alarm system and said that not all of the wires were connected. On April 22, 2014 my transmission started leaking they added dye to find the leak replaced right and left axle seals.oil pan gasket was also replaced. On December 13, 2013 the pressure line was leaking, dch Chrysler repaced the pressure line. I have case numbers from Dodge/Chrysler to back up all of these problems I have had.

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 282014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
The ignition key was displaced from the run to the accessory position while driving, causing the engine to shut off. I called Dodge and they stated this car was already recalled for this problem in 2011 and according to them was fixed at that time. I bought the car in 2012 used and this problem reappeared.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #3

Aug 182010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Shortly after purchasing a brand new 2010 doge Caravan we noticed there was a significant amount of air leakage through the two side sliding door (non-automatic) and they rattled significantly when driving.  we brought it to the dealer who acknowledge the issue and replaced the latches free of charge under our warranty.  cosmetic issues with the repair job aside, the new latches were not any better and we continue to experience the same problems even after 3+ visits back to the dealer.  the loose fitting doors create problems especially in winter.  both doors freeze shut (this happens weekly) and will not budge even after running the van for in excess of an hour with the heat on full.  the final solution of the dealership was to smear what looked to be large amounts of vaseline on rubber gaskets, bushings, and latches of the sliding doors, which made quite a mess when my kids got into the van. I am uncertain as to the root problem with the latches and door seals. I only know that it presents a serious safety issue not being able to get my kids in and out of the van in the winter time. I am also concerned by the rattling and whistling wind through the sliding doors as we drive down the road. I am concerned the latches may wear to the point of malfunction.

- Littleton, NH, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?