Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.3

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,670 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Apr 082014

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed for the recall repair was not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cedar Lake, IN, USA

problem #90

Jan 012015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer writes in regards to rear quarter window switch recall notice 14V-234 issues. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Advance, NC, USA

problem #89

Jun 112014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The VIN was included in the recall as of June 11, 2014. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/11/15

- Murray, KY, USA

problem #88

Jun 252015

Grand Caravan

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 60 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle's RPM reading level increased and the vehicle began to slow down while the battery warning light illuminated. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- West Salem, OH, USA

problem #87

Oct 252014

Grand Caravan

  • 14,834 miles
I was entering on a busy interstate when my 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan R/T got to about 50+ mph the gas pedal kept accelerating and would not stop the RPM gage hit 6 the only way I got it to stop was to put the vehicle in neutral and pull of the road the rmp's kept going as did the engine I turned the van off in neutral and put it in park. When I started the van back up it instantly started doing the same thing in park. I turned the van back off and waited about 5 minutes and when I restarted the van it seemed normal. Took it to the dealership that day on a Saturday they called me Monday and said it happened with their technicians driving and he removed the floor mat that had been in there for 2 and a half years and it was fine they told me the floor mat got stuck under the pedal! common sense says it would stop the pedal from being pushed down not pull the pedal to the floor. But what do I know right!"!?!"! I am just a female and mother to 2 small children who were with me when it happened. It did this again with my husband driving on a 6 lane road when he pulled out from a stop. This time the floor mat had not been there. Chrysler needs to do something about this matter before a run away vehicle kills someone! they keep telling me they have no idea what the problem is caused from because no codes come up on diagnostics. However if you search the issue online it points to the tipm and the fuel pump not shutting off. The safety issue of this is pretty severe if you ask me. A vehicle that accelerates on its own is pretty serious and dangerous not only for my family but to the general public as well! I do not want to just get rid of the vehicle it is the first brand new vehicle my family has owned and even purchased the extended warranty with the hopes of keeping the vehicle for at least 6 years and now this is not a safe family vehicle! please help with this issue!

- Hudson, IL, USA

problem #86

Jun 262015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/6/15 updated 8/10/2015

- Ocean Isle, NC, USA

problem #85

Aug 052014

Grand Caravan

  • 35,826 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dealer performed recall "P25", rear vent window switch disconnected. Dealer still does not have stock to replace switch. Was told on 06/22/2015 I was number 41 of 60 on a waiting list for the switch. Was also told the switches have been on back order for the last 3 weeks so they are not even getting the 3-5 switches a week they had been receiving. More than 10 months and still no fix per recall 14V-234, recall incomplete!

- Trempealeau, WI, USA

problem #84

Jun 112014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 8/21/15

- Millsboro, DE, USA

problem #83

Nov 142012

Grand Caravan

  • 500 miles
Each time I have had the car serviced (about every 6 months), I ask that the door locking mechanism be fixed, but the problem continues and worsens. About 25% of the time, the doors all lock while the engine is off, sometimes as I'm getting out of the car and while the driver-side door is still open. I'm now paranoid about forgetting to have my keys in hand when I leave the car. It could be dangerous.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #82

Dec 052013

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available and disconnected the rear quarter panel vent switch as a temporary remedy. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lauderhill, FL, USA

problem #81

May 272015

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) in January of 2015; however, the part needed to do the repair was still not available. As a temporary remedy, the contact had the vent window disconnected. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbiana, OH, USA

problem #80

Jun 272014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Received recall notice P25/NHTSA 14V-234 in June 2014. The immediate fix was to disconnect the electrical supply to the rear quarter vent windows until new parts were available. It has been almost one year now, and new parts are still not available. Have not had the use of the rear quarter vent windows since June 2014. ( the windows were working fine prior to this, but the recall states that the window switch may overheat if exposed to liquid moisture, and drivers side door fire.) we have called the Dodge dealership in hammond, la several times in the last year to find out if parts were now available, and they inform us that they still have not received the required parts. It is our opinion that this has gone on way too long, so we would like to file a formal complaint against the makers of this vehicle. Thank you.

- Hammond, LA, USA

problem #79

Jul 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Santa Rosa , CA, USA

problem #78

May 142015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbiana, OH, USA

problem #77

May 122015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lady Lake, FL, USA

problem #76

Aug 072014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sault Ste. Marie, MI, USA

problem #75

Jun 092014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/11/15

- New Orleans , LA, USA

problem #74

Apr 282015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Flossmoor, IL, USA

problem #73

Apr 242015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/11/15 updated 06/16/15

- Colbert, GA, USA

problem #72

May 142014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 42,365 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/8/15

- Murphy, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?