Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.3

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,670 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Jan 122015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/24/15 updated V03/31/15

- Wellston, OK, USA

problem #30

Jun 152014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part needed was not available. The manufacturer stated that the part needed was in the process of being manufactured. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Highland , MI, USA

problem #29

Jul 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The dealer disconnected the vent switch, but did not confirm when the part would become available to complete the recall repair. The contact called for months, but the part was not available. The manufacturer was notified and could not confirm when the part would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbia, NJ, USA

problem #28

Jan 102015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 44,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received second recall notice by Chrysler regarding the rear quarter vent window switch. This recall states a fire may occur if the window switch comes in contact with any liquid. The first recall notice was sent over six months ago. Chrysler has yet to call me with any information as to when the part or parts will come in for the repair. Waiting for six months for a response and repair of recall.

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #27

Sep 032014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable time for the recall repair. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who disconnected the switch but the new design part was not available. The manufacturer informed that the part was on back order. The contact did not experience a failure. Updated 3/13/15 updated 03/17/15

- Niew Orleans , LA, USA

problem #26

Jul 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #25

Jul 082014

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Youngs Town, OH, USA

problem #24

Sep 152014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 3/24/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 6/22/2015

- Roanoke, TX, USA

problem #23

Aug 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
My vehicle was subject to a recall last summer. I have yet to have my vehicle repaired by the dealer.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #22

Jul 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The contact mentioned that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/6/15 updated 05/26/15

- Nobleville , IN, USA

problem #21

Jan 082015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,164 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 2/25/15 updated 03/02/15

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #20

May 152014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/3/15

- Clinton, IN, USA

problem #19

Sep 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Djr

- Deerborne, MI, USA

problem #18

Jan 072015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Djr

- Ramsey, MN, USA

problem #17

Oct 012014

Grand Caravan

  • 51,341 miles
On 10/1/2014 I took my Grand Caravan into my Dodge deal for repair related to a recall notice (P25 / NHTSA 14V-234). The recall was about a fire hazard if a switch got wet. I was informed that due to a parts shortage they could only disconnect a switch at that time and that they could not replace the switch because of a parts shortage. That was over 2 months ago (67 days). Upon calling the deal this morning, I was informed that they still do not have the part (switch) and have no idea when they will get the part to make the repair. When I first was notified of this recall back in June or July of 2014, I was informed that there was a parts shortage, so I intentionally waited what I believed to be a reasonable period of time before I attempted to get this recall repaired. I have now received a second notice from Chrysler telling me to get it repaired. I can see no reason for the delay of parts for this repair. Respectfully, dale crisp

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #16

Oct 012014

Grand Caravan

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 55 mph, the contact noticed burning fumes coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Norwalk, OH, USA

problem #15

Oct 142014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,700 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the rear sliding doors closed independently and struck a passenger. The contact was concerned that a passenger might sustain injuries due to the failure. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000. Updated 3/13/15 the consumer stated the lift gate came down while she was standing under it. Updated 03/26/15

- Eddington, ME, USA

problem #14

Dec 112014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were not available to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbia , SC, USA

problem #13

Nov 202014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 87,051 miles
With no warning, I went out to start my 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan, and it turned over for about a second, then it was like someone turned off the power to the starter... it just quit! I tried and tried to start it, but all I get is one small click when I turn the key. I got online and did a search, only to find that this problem has been rampant for years now; and Chrysler apparently won't do anything about it. I am currently unemployed and need my van to look for work, and to get to work if I find a job. We are living on my wife's income right now, so I can't afford to put it in the shop, and the warranty has run out. It's only 2 years old... there's no way I should be having major problems this soon! I don't know what I'm going to do at this point, but I am furious after reading the horror stories people have posted, where some have spent $2000 - $3000 to get this fixed, and then the problem comes back!!!

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #12

May 102013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 11,720 miles
Documented several times since 2013, this van has had problems with the following: Speedometer does not read, gauges do not read, windshield wipers turn on, all warning lights read, headlights do not work, A/C does not work; then all turn off randomly and intermittently turn back on and off again. In May 2014, the van had transmission issues where it would not shift out of low gear and driver had to twice shift into neutral and back into drive to shift properly. 6 repair attempts were made on the van beginning in May 2013 and ending in July 2013 with no success on repairs. The van was still under warranty so repair was free of charge. Replacement of the tipm was twice attempted but failed because of the faulty 2012 tipms. This van is used by rsvp, a federally funded nationwide non-profit, to Transport senior volunteers to their work sites. This van has the potential to put people into a dangerous crash and needs Chrysler to repair the tipms immediately.

- Springfield, MO, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?