Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,519 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Aug 092015

Grand Caravan

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle did not restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was corrosion of unspecified wiring that burned out the fuel pump. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 57,000.

- Lauderhill, FL, USA

problem #47

Jan 052015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Grandville, MI, USA

problem #46

Jul 232015

Grand Caravan

  • 19,542 miles
Approx. 3 weeks ago my 2014 Dodge Caravan began to have acceleration issues. When getting on the freeway it lost the ability to accelrate and I drove 15-25 mph on the interstae for about 3 miles before it finally reached 30 mph and then began to function normally. The accelration problem occured several times prompting me to schediule a maintinance appt. Then on 7/23/15 my 2014 doge Grand Caravan started having issues starting; when I would turn the key it would sputter before catching and cranking. That evening I turned it off and upon returning it would not crank at all. When I would turn the key it just clicked and I could smell what seemed to be burning wires. It was towed to the Dodge dealership and I am awaiting a update on the actual diagnostic's.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #45

Jun 192015

Grand Caravan

  • 34,520 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During traffic at roughly 10pm, the charge indicator light came on. Our vehicle all of a sudden started losing power on the freeway. By the time we got to the next exit, we were losing power with steering, causing us to crash into a fire hydrant. We were able to guide it into a parking spot before losing the rest of the electrical capabilities (windows, lights, etc.). my family was stuck in that desolate are with no way to charge our phone and two sleeping young children. After getting it towed, the vehicle ended up in the shop for a little under 3 weeks for repair to the collision that had occurred. The electrical checked good. The next day, the charging indicator light again went on after being on the road for roughly 18 miles. Thank goodness this time it all happened in the day and we were stuck in a better area. After checking good again at the collision center, the vehicle was transferred to the Dodge dealer for further diagnosis. This is when they finally pinpointed it was an alternator issue. Thankfully the vehicle is still under warranty.

- Lemoore, CA, USA

problem #44

May 142014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated the dealer disconnected the window switch. Updated 08/25/15

- Plymouth, NC, USA

problem #43

Sep 052014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available to schedule a recall repair within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Big Lake , MN, USA

problem #42

Dec 102013

Grand Caravan

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. When the horn was depressed, there was a two second delay before an audible noise was present. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle did not immediately respond. The contact indicated that it took approximately two seconds for the vehicle to accelerate after depressing the pedal. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100.

- Tigard, OR, USA

problem #41

Oct 032014

Grand Caravan

  • 100 miles
We purchased the vehicle on 9/27/15. On 10/3/14 while driving 70 mph on the interstate the vehicle died and shook violently. All system indicator lights flashed randomly. 10/4/14 the vehicle died while at a stop sign. 5/6/15 the vehicle died while at a stop sign. 5/10/15 the battery light appeared for 2 hours.

- Sikeston, MO, USA

problem #40

Jan 202015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable time frame. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/25/15

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #39

Jun 112014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Shippenville , PA, USA

problem #38

Apr 152015

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Johnston, PA, USA

problem #37

Apr 132015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
Dealership in semi valley failed to provide service regarding safety recall (P25/NHTSA 14V-234). Rear quarter vent window switch. Stopped at the dealership many times and left my information to be called when the parts arrived. I was never called, and on 04/13/15, I again stopped at the dealership with the second recall notice, and asked to have the part ordered. When the service person would not do it, I asked him if he was refusing to ordered the part. Then he began yelling at me, and said he had a list. I advised him that I been on a list for over a month. That just made him madder. I left a business card and left the location. I tried calling the 800 number for Dodge, but after 42 minutes on hold I just gave up.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #36

Oct 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician disconnected the quarter vent window switch as a temporary remedy due to the part not being available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #35

Apr 062015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Richmond , KY, USA

problem #34

Mar 312015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05/20/15 updated 7/6/2015

- Pacific , MO, USA

problem #33

Jan 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Eatontown , NJ, USA

problem #32

Jan 052015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000(electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lackawanna, NY, USA

problem #31

Mar 022015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Consumer writes in regards to a defective rear quarter vent switch recall, lack of parts.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #30

Mar 122015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brighton, TN, USA

problem #29

Aug 152014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 12,500 miles
I received a recall notice from Chrysler stating my rear vent windows electric motor was defective and needed to be replaced. The dealer disconnected the motor on or about 8/15/14. I received the notice 1/7/15. Followed the directions to get repair performed at the dealer where vehicle was purchased. I've now made four calls to dealer and they keep stating parts are not available. Why would a recall notice be sent and then not have the parts available two moths after sending me the notice"??? is the dealer at fault or is Chrysler corporation" very poor customer service by someone but who.......

- Fleming Island , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?