Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,263 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 4 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #127

May 082011


  • miles


Inaug 2010, I had the brake pads changed barely a year after buying the car. The next month I had to have new rotors because they warped. A month later they were warped again, couldn't get them changed until Mar 7, 2011. Exactly 30 days later they were warped again. Just had them and the brake pads replaced on May 8, 2011.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #126

Apr 272011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 25,333 miles
2009 Dodge Journey brakes and rotors are failing way before normal cars should. Based on my experience it was 25000 miles with no warning, I.e. normal sound of brake pads wearing down. I had to pay to get all the rotors and brakes replaced out of pocket with no help from the dealer. I looked online and their are too many complaints of the same type for this to be a fluke. I believe someone could get in a major accident causing a death if this problem is not fixed and it seems Dodge does not want to admit there is a problem yet.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #125

Jul 202010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Excessive front brake pad and rotor wear.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #124

Apr 302011

Journey 4WD 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles


Car starts shaking at 70mph on highway, find out the brake pads are warped and need to replaced. This is second time in less than 12,000 miles. There needs to be a recall on Chrysler brakes and their parts. The cost of having to keep replacing rotors, calipers, brake pads is too much for faulty parts.

- Mechanicville, NY, USA

problem #123

Apr 292010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 46,532 miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey in July 2008. When I took the vehicle in for an oil change at 8000 miles, I was told the brakes pads would need to be changed soo. By 12,000 miles the brake pads were completely worn and had to be replaced. By 46,000 miles the front brake pads had been replaced 4 times and the rotors were serviced as well as the rear brakes being replaced twice and the rear rotors were replaced once. The warranty did not cover any of these repairs. On April 29 at approx 10:30 the brakes gave out completely. They did not engage at all which resulted in rear ending a charter bus on a busy street. There weren't even skid marks indicating that the brakes had been engaged at all. To top it off, when we tried to move the vehicle off the road, the brakes wouldn't even engage enough to allow the gear to be shifted out of park.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #122

Apr 142011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
2009 Dodge Journey front brakes (pads and rotors) completely worn out and needed replacing at 26000 miles. Hundreds if not thousands of complaints exist on the internet of similar owner reports. Brake issues pose an extreme safety concern with this vehicle. Chrysler is aware that there exists a problem with these brake systems as they have extend the brake warranty from 2 years 24000 miles to 3 years 36000 miles with a $100 deductible. After the warranty is up all owners will be faced with the full financial burden of brake replacement but of more concern and importance would be the danger of brake failures while driving causing injuries or death. Chrysler has an obligation to provide a long term solution to this problem prior to any injuries or death instead of just extending the warranty.

- Belvidere, IL, USA

problem #121

Apr 122011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles


Premature brake wear due to inadequate brake system to the weight of car. 12K miles brake calibers locked up; 14,500 miles replaced from brake pads and rotors so bad had to be replaced; 26K miles again front rotors had to be turned. Now 3 months later 28K miles I need front and back brake pads and all 4 rotors turned. Can't handle the car on road for excessive grabbing of brakes and steering unable to hold onto when brakes applied. Dodge has had many complaints and law suits filed in NJ. They just recently extended the brake warranty to 36K without no notification however, since I had already been told unwarranted and had to get brakes repaired on a weekend stranded and didn't use mopar parts they will not warranty and now telling me that the rotors are warped due to excessive heat. Yes excessive heat because their is a law suit due to inadequate brakes for the weight of the vehicle. Please help Dodge Journey owners and anyone on the road near them. Unsafe conditions, it is the new Toyota. How many people need to die before Corp. Are held accountable they know. The service mgr even acknowledge but states "he didn't design it, didn't build it or broke it".

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #120

Nov 112008

Journey 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
04/10/11 NHTSA headquarters 1200 New Jersey avenue, SE West building Washington, DC 20590 to whom it may concern. I am writing you in reference of the purchased of my brand new vehicle, a 2009-Dodge Journey SE on June 08, 2008. This car beginning to have problems after it 6,000 miles having a numerous repairs since them. I submitted the car to the lemon law before the warranty time expired. Chrysler group denied it arguing that my car is running under the company expectation. Currently the car still has suspension problem and noises(such as brake noises, turn wheel noises and other). The car bouncing after 50 mp miles and every time that bumps on the street or on the highway the vehicle makes strongly bounces. The company states the bouncing and the noises are part of the cars manufactured. In addition to all the reported repairs, the seats get easily stain with any type of liquid and the black color of the interior is fading, I mean the black is becoming gray. I will submit any document that could support my claim if is required.

- Broward, FL, USA

problem #119

Feb 152011


  • 27,000 miles
After 27,000 miles my 2009 Dodge Journey needs a set of new brakes for the front tires. I have had several SUV's to far surpass this mileage with no new brakes needed. After taking my Journey to a local mechanic, I was told that 15 minutes before he had an identical 2009 Dodge Journey with the exact same problem. When I came home, I researched Dodge Journey brake problems online and was shocked at what a problem this was for Journey owners. I think a recall should be demanded. My husband and I bought this car to buy american..... and this is what we get.

- Pilot Mountain, NC, USA

problem #118

Mar 192011


  • 29,400 miles
My wife and I were about an hour from home when the brakes on our 2009 Dodge Journey started squealing very, very loud. I pulled over as soon as possible, got under the car to check. I could not see anything specific and let the car sit idle for about 30 minutes. As soon as I started to drive again, at less than 5mph, the brakes started squealing again, just as loud. I drove to a nearby Firestone facility, described the problem and the put it on the rack to check the brakes. The Journey had 29,400 miles on it.......and the brakes were completely, totally worn out!! they brought the brakes and rotor for me to see and the rotors were badly grooved. They said they thought the brakes were too small for the size, weight of the vehicle and I tend to agree, especially after reading other complaints online. I was told it would have been close to an act of suicide to continue driving the Journey and I agree. This is outrageous!! and from what I read, Dodge is well aware of the problem but nothing has been done. I am now 08T $300, and could have been involved in a bad accident from failure of the brakes.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #117

Mar 162011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


Heard rear brakes squealing and took Journey to mechanic. Mechanics said the brakes were more worn on the inner pads than the outer pads. Mechanic said brake pads are suppose to wear evenly and this was a brake failure problem. He also stated the calipers need to be replaced and that was also unheard of with a vehicle that only has 40000 miles on it. He recommended taking the vehicle back to the dealer to have them fix since this was a brake failure problem and not just normal wear and tear.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #116

Mar 152011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 18,329 miles
I purchased my 2009 Dodge Journey new, in 2009. The vehicle now has 18,329 miles -- it's basically still brand new -- its still under warranty!!!!. unfortunately, I have just had to replace all four (4) brake pads, and had all four(4) rotors resurfaced. This cost over $500 -- and the warranty does not cover this! it is my understanding that this is a known issue that the manufacturer is fully aware of. Still, there has been no recall issued, and no warning has been given to the owners (that there's a potential of an under-designed braking system on these vehicles. Apparently (my understanding -- you probably know better), Dodge knows that the brakes on this vehicle are too small (?). if that is the case, then there is a problem that could lead to an accident. I have had other cars in my life, and have never had both front & rear brake pads and rotors completely wear-out in less than 20K miles. Even if the manufacturer installed pads that were too soft, or to thin, there should be a warning given to the consumer -- if for no other reason that the consumer not install the same pads as a repair. Moreover, after-market dealers, like midas, should be alerted -- because they continue to follow the manufacturer's recommendations for replacement pads. It is ridiculous to think that a company the size of Dodge would put at risk, the safety of the very consumers that keep their company solvent -- if they're willing to sacrifice our lives (and the lives of our families) simply to "save face, " then who will be left to purchase their future products? from reports I've read, other people have literally spent thousands attempting to fix their Journeys. While I haven't spent as much as others, I should not have had to spend this type of money on a vehicle that's still under warranty.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #115

Oct 232010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 30,342 miles
Our Dodge Journey began having braking issues. A trip to the dealer revealed that at only 30,000 miles, the front brakes were basically non-functional. We needed to replace pads and rotors, which were far beyond machining, on the front and pads on the rear as well as having the rear rotors turned. This is unacceptable for a vehicle driven under normal circumstances with only 30, 000 miles.

- Hurlock, MD, USA

problem #114

Jun 062009

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Since purchasing my new Dodge Journey I have repeatedly been going back to the dealer's with the same issue. My vehicle keeps on vibrating and pulsating when braking. It is occurring between 3 to 4,000+miles and everytime I take it in it's just spin/cut rotors and replace pads. I even wrote an angry letter to Chrysler and they made arrangements for a cust service rep to meet with the dealers to resolve issue. Which does help, but for only a short period of time they are not looking into the reason the brakes and rotors are being used up so quickly. Replacing the parts is great but for how long is Chrysler going to ignore the overall problem. There is a problem with the braking system of this vehicle. I have numerous job records to show how many times I've been to the dealers and all that is happening is more of the same cut rotors replace pads. Only on my last visit was I made aware of a warrant extension for the same problem only now I have to pay a deductible. I called Chrysler customer service and they made me aware of the fact that they extended the warrant based on complaints, but issued no recalls because the brakes are still deemed safe. I have been to the dealer's at least 6 or seven times for this issue and I have a hard time believing that all that's being done is an extension of warranty. What's going to happen after the three years. I have lost my personal time sitting in a dealership's and now it looks like my wallet will be taking a hit from deductibles everytime this issue arises. This is so aggravating.

- Minneola, FL, USA

problem #113

Nov 202010


  • 28,000 miles
I have had the Dodge Journey for less than 2 years and it only had 28000 miles took it in for a noise coming from front of car. The dealer told me it needed front brakes and rotors and it was not covered by warranty. I took it to a local mechanic and he did the front brakes and rotors and said the back brakes and rotors needed to be replaced also and that he has never seen the back brakes with only 28000 miles that needed to be replaced. $700 on a car that isn't even 2 years old and still under warranty"???" not very happy with the car or Chrysler the company. They need to put out a better product.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #112

Sep 282010

Journey 4-cyl

  • 43,201 miles
Purchase a Dodge Journey 2009. I inform the dealer that the windows were not coming down as they should. Didn't get fixed. The keyless remote was suppose to be with the car it wasn't, they installed a after market keyless remote, don't work correct. The brakes were squeaking and could hear air within the car when applying brakes. I was told that there's nothing wrong and it was normal. It has been 4 to 5 months later now its not starting. Contact chrsyler llc, told me I had to have it towed to a dealer, get diagnose, get it fixed and I have to pay for it all and they will reimburse half for the part, labor is all on me. The vehicle has done this no start problem 3 times in 2 and half days. Also notice that the steering column gets hot for some unforeseen reason. Inform the dealer I purchase my Journey from, I was told that is normal. Still have the Journey can't trade in back because I have no money, so I am stuck with it. Having it towed to dealer to get problem looked at and all expense is on me. What do I do. I think chrsyler will not repay me. I have to borrow money to get this done because this is my only transportation. I am scared that I might have a electrical fire while driving and will not notice it until it too late. What do I do. Please help in richmond va.

- Henrico Or Richmond, VA, USA

problem #111

Jan 312011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 16,500 miles
Passenger rear tire kept losing air. The Goodyear service garage broke the tire down and cleaned up seal area and I noticed it still leaked air a week later. The sensor came back on.. I put air in tire and it lasted another week took it back to service garage. They discovered the stem with the sensor had a crack in it. If it wasn't under warranty it would cost $40-$60 to replace. That's a lot of money for a valve stem. This sensor is a waste of money. Look at your tires save money. While the service center fixed that they saw my front brake pads worn down to almost nothing and the rotors almost completely shot. Having only 16,500 miles on my Journey I feel a sensor would have helped for this $360 repair job. I get a new but barley legal rotor you sell for new. Can;T even turn them down any more. Having to replace them with only 16,500 miles it a bunch of --ap!! where's my warranty on this. Just send me my $360 and we'll call it even. The say driving a safe automobile is top priority. Let's fix these rotors.

- Madison Heights, MI, USA

problem #110

Jan 292011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 19,100 miles
At 19,100 miles I took the 2009 Dodge Journey to a Missouri required safety inspection station. The inspector called me and reported that the front disc brakes where near failure. In particular the rotor on the front drivers side is worn very thin. The estimated repairs are approx $800. The mechanic's optinion is that the rotors were defective or insufficient, and that the uneven wear could be caused by defective calipers.

- Fenton, MO, USA

problem #109

Feb 042011


  • 73,000 miles
Friday, February 4, 2011 at approximately 4:00 call was placed at 3:58 I was driving down the interstate in my 2009 Dodge Journey. I noticed that my car was bouncing and vibrating everything in the car. I pulled over and I rolled down my window. It smelled like my car was on fire. I immediately called the automotive department where I bought the car. I explained to them the situation and they said that they would see my vehicle immediately. I pulled the vehicle in and they said that my back brakes on one side had become very hot and the other brake was warm. They stated that my caliper broke and they were looking into it, but I would not be able to drive my vehicle home because the brakes locked down and the car failed. A man in the automotive department stated, ¿you are very lucky that you pulled over and brought it in. This type of thing is very dangerous.¿ the car should not have failed and they are unsure why it did and they have no explanation as to why it failed. When I went to pick the car up, the mechanic said it was the front left caliper that broke and this caused the car to fail and my brakes locked down.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #108

Jan 242011

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,600 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While having the vehicle examined by an authorized dealer for routine maintenance, the contact was informed the brake pads needed to be replaced. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was told the rear brake calipers were not functioning. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 41,600. Updated 03/03/11 the consumer stated the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they discovered transmission fluid was leaking. Updated 03/08/11

- Rehoboth, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?