Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,013 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 17 of 32)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #301

Feb 052015

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Bloomfield , MI, USA

problem #300

May 022013

Journey

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the engine failed to restart. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the battery and the starter, but the failure continued to occur. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) was received in 2012. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 42,000.

- Bedford Heights, OH, USA

problem #299

Feb 052014

Journey

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the key was difficult to turn over and start the vehicle on numerous occasions. The contact heard a loud clicking noise. The contact had to make several attempts to get the vehicle to start. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that there was an internal electrical failure. The contact referred the contact to an authorized dealer. The contact indicated that the front driver and front passenger side windows were not able to wind up and down due to the electronic control failure on the driver side door. The contact also was not able to use the key fob and manually press the lock and unlock function. The contact had to use the key to lock and unlock the doors as the failure progressed. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: (electrical system). The contact was to call an authorized dealer to schedule the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #298

Oct 092014

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacture was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saginaw , MI, USA

problem #297

May 012015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 89,500 miles
The front window won't roll down and the side mirrors won't operate.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #296

May 012014

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of nhsta campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 6/18/15

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #295

May 012014

Journey

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pre-existing recall # 14V-373 is getting old, I have initial notice of recall from Dodge but never received notice to get fixed, saying parts not available. This needs attention, I don't need to be another statistic for lack of recall repairs.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #294

Apr 292015

Journey 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the win module and ignition switch needed to be replaced and the key fobs need to be reprogrammed. The dealer informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 64,000. Updated 09/03/15 the consumer stated the manufacturer would not reimburse the cost of repairs because the symptoms did not line up with other recalls. The manufacturer advised that if the vehicle had no failure at all then they would have paid for the repair. Updated 12/8/2015

- Joplin, MO, USA

problem #293

May 042015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Columbia , SC, USA

problem #292

Aug 022010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
All the vehicle dash lights started flashing, gauges bounced to 0 and back, wipers would activate, and vehicle made chime noise - repeatedly. The problem will sometimes last only for a few seconds and other times for the duration of the drive, and even continuing upon startup of the next drive. This problem was very intermittent to begin with and now is becoming more common. I have not been able to find a solution and the dealer originally told me that they could not help me because they could not duplicate the problem. This problem is well known on many online forums and is a huge safety concern for my wife and children. I believe that it may be an issue related to the tipm and related to NHTSA action number :DP14004. Dodge really needs to recall this issue, immediately. The problem is happening very frequently now.

- Danielsville, GA, USA

problem #291

Sep 132014

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kaplan, LA, USA

problem #290

Jun 162011

Journey 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for a recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/1/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was scheduled to be repaired on September 15th after receiving the second notice. Updated 9/15/015

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #289

Apr 232015

Journey 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/1/15 updated 9/15/15

- Audubon, NJ, USA

problem #288

Jun 142014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. That contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part needed for repair was not available. The contact made several attempts to speak to the manufacturer; however, due to long hold times, had yet to speak to a live representative. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cape May Court House , NJ, USA

problem #287

Sep 162014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #286

Jul 022014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
For almost a year the doesn't start when it doesn't want to I get in the car and everything lights up and the engine just clicks I've had the starter replaced the battery the some module with new keys the shifter and nothing has helped im at a loss the car has been towed more times than I can count I've been stuck with my children in dark parking lots far from home it happens way to much and the fact that they cant fix this problem is ridiculous no one should have to deal with this I have now been in a rental for 3 weeks im sick over this I lost my car in sandy and bought this stupid one to replace that and now im trying to fix my home and a car I pay cash for.

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #285

Dec 202014

Journey

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted after being parked for ten hours; however, the failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 5/18/15

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #284

Jan 032014

Journey

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times without warning. The key failed to turn over in order to restart the vehicle. The contact had the vehicle towed to a dealer more than three times due to the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the part would become available. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Madison, OH, USA

problem #283

Aug 072014

Journey

  • 73,223 miles
Random electrical issues when either the (1) drivers side door is opened when the car is running, or (2) when the car is first started. Windshield wipers start going, all the panel lights start blinking, interior sounds beeping, and gas indicates on empty. This continues until the car just decides to stop. I am afraid I am going to have a total electrical failure while driving. I hope and pray this becomes a recall soon. It's very scary.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #282

Nov 122014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Braunsels, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?