CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,306 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 18 of 32)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #285

Dec 202014

Journey

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted after being parked for ten hours; however, the failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 5/18/15

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #284

Jan 032014

Journey

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times without warning. The key failed to turn over in order to restart the vehicle. The contact had the vehicle towed to a dealer more than three times due to the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the part would become available. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Madison, OH, USA

problem #283

Aug 072014

Journey

  • 73,223 miles
Random electrical issues when either the (1) drivers side door is opened when the car is running, or (2) when the car is first started. Windshield wipers start going, all the panel lights start blinking, interior sounds beeping, and gas indicates on empty. This continues until the car just decides to stop. I am afraid I am going to have a total electrical failure while driving. I hope and pray this becomes a recall soon. It's very scary.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #282

Nov 122014

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Braunsels, TX, USA

problem #281

Oct 242014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While in park, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Oakpark, MI, USA

problem #280

Apr 102015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/29/15 updated 9/17/2015

- Danvers , MA, USA

problem #279

Apr 012015

Journey 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Dodge Journey. Consumer writes in regards to wireless ignition recall notice issues. The consumer has been unsuccessful at getting the recall work done. The dealer will not return his call. Recall # 14V373000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #278

Apr 072015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pratt, KS, USA

problem #277

Sep 052014

Journey

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the key was difficult to turn over to start the vehicle and the vehicle stalled several times. The contact was not able to restart the vehicle and it was towed more than once to the contact's residence. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for several months. The contact continued to experience the failure without warning while waiting for the part. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Sinton , TX, USA

problem #276

Jun 022014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Recall number L25. Have talked with local dealers and with Dodge to get recall taken care of. Have been put on priority list and not received any communications in over 4 months. My son uses the car at college and has had the car shut off while driving, negating the power steering and brakes. I checked the Dodge website and they said parts are now available, but I received no notification.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #275

Feb 262015

Journey

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While defrosting the windshield, the interior lights illuminated independently and the rear passenger side window rolled down independently. The driver side door panel caught fire. The contact extinguished the fire and the door panel would no longer shut or latch. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the entire door panel needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #274

Mar 312014

Journey

  • 39,000 miles
I bought this vehicle in 2014, 3 days after purchase went to start my car, it wouldn't start. When I turned it over it said "bad key". this has done this off and on for the last year. As of 3/26/15 my car was totally locked down. I knew of the recall and have asked lithia of eugene Oregon 97401 in regards to it, and they have said there is no parts in for the recall. I spoke with parts, today and they stated they had keys in. So then sent me to the service department. The service department states this does not fall under the recall or my warranty. That I need to replace the whole ignition, which will give me 2 new keys for the sum of $702 out of my pocket expense. If they are having so many problems with these ignitions for this year, I would assume it would fall under the recall. I have been stranded with this situation "bad key" and my vehicle not starting numerous times, each time that I made reference to it with lithia Dodge of eugene, Oregon. They just said they will send me information when the part comes in. The company never had a written report of the complaint on there part for unknown reasons, even though I had complained about it. I am very frustrated in the way service department has handled this situation non professional and making it now my problem to have to deal with. I have no other car so I have to pay to get it fixed at this point, and rent a car until they can order the new ignition in, and repair it. Which they stated can take up to a week. At $20 dollars a day rental fee for a car, and then the other $702 for the repair. I am not a happy camper with my vehicle at this point, or with litha Dodge of eugene Oregon..

- Junction City, OR, USA

problem #273

Aug 102012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Vehicle fails to start or "shuts" down while running. Dealer charged me approximately $1000 to repair and the repair was ineffective (prior to receiving recall notice) dealer is now informing me that the repair parts detailed in the recall are in "short supply" or "backordered" and they are expecting them not to be available for one year.

- Northborough, MA, USA

problem #272

Jul 222010

Journey

  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. After restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10.

- Madison, FL, USA

problem #271

Mar 272015

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05-26-15 the consumer stated it had been nearly 8 months and the part necessary to perform the recall had not been made available. Updated 6/30/2015

- Capecoral, FL, USA

problem #270

Jan 292015

Journey

  • 55,000 miles
The owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, the engine failed to start. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 7/9/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on 6-11-2015 under the recall. Updated 9/18/15

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #269

Mar 012009

Journey

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving various speeds, the contact heard an abnormal noise when the brake pedal was depressed. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The contact also stated that the brakes failed to stop the vehicle immediately when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the brakes and the rotors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, after a short period of time the failure recurred multiple times. Additionally, the tires were replaced multiple times due to the continuous failures. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the parts were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #268

Mar 012014

Journey

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start until after several attempts without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be determined. On separate occasions, the dealer replaced the starter, the key, the win module, shifter and battery but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #267

Mar 202015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #266

Mar 132015

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice for my vehicle back in 2013 or 2014 regarding the wireless ignition node (win) module. Chrysler recall number is: L25 NHTSA recall number is: 11V-139. Recall date is: March 1, 2011. I have had my vehicle completely shut off on several different occasions which has almost gotten me in a wreck. I have been fortunate to be able to get out of the way of traffic but the last two times this has happened I was barely able to avoid an accident. One time I was driving on a toll road in austin, Texas and going over a bridge and had to pull as close to the center cement wall as possible and restart my vehicle and hurry to get out of traffic before I was hit. This last time that it happened I was driving on my way to work on again a busy 4 lane road and was able to pull into an entrance of an apartment complex and restart my vehicle. Both times it has been a close call. My local Dodge dealership keeps telling me that there is currently no replacement part available. This is becoming very frustrating and also very scary at the same time. Can you please advise me as to when this replacement part might be available. Like it said I have.

- Temple, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?