Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,013 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 22 of 32)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #201

Jan 042015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 83,195 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In Oct., 2014 I received a recall notice L25/NHTSA 14V-373. I have called my dealer and Chrysler's vehicle safety hotline twice, and again today. Both report that "the problem is in the ignition switch, but that "the repair parts are not available, nor do they have an eta for their arrival". last evening my car's engine shut off while I was driving at about 40 mph. I restarted and it stopped again. I had plenty of gas and the car has run normally since. However, the car behind me almost didn't stop in time. How can this vehicle be safe to drive" what if I had been going 65 mph on the interstate? I was employed for many years in the manufacturing industry and never heard of placing, or receiving an order without obtaining a delivery commitment. What is going on here"

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #200

Nov 012013

Journey 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The vehicle will not start intermittently. After several costly repairs the issue persists and the dealer and manufacturer deny knowledge of the problem or report that they cannot duplicate it. This seems disingenuous since all car sites I evaluated prior to this complaint list this same issue in abundance. I also have had to repair or replace the brake systems and am currently receiving warning lights for the esp and bas. The model year is poorly manufactured and the manufacturer is not taking responsibility. It has also been extremely dangerous (multiple incidence of stranding in the middle of winter without heat up to 2 hours with small children after which the car will miraculously start.)

- Little Falls , NJ, USA

problem #199

Jan 042015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
This is the 3rd time the car has left me stranded. The ignition will not turn over. The battery is fine, the tank is full. I received a recall for the ignition fob but was told by the dealer that the part is not in. Its been more than 6 months. I'd like to know what my right are. Isn't the manufacturer obligated to fix the known/admitted problem?

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #198

Oct 032014

Journey

  • 86,220 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle will stall without warning for no apparent reason at any speed. On Oct 3, 2014 I was taking my child to school when the car stalled in an intersection. After the light turned green I proceeded to the intersection and stalled upon entering the intersection. I was able to put the car in neutral and restart within ~10 seconds. This issue repeated itself at least twice while en route from my home to a nearby service shop (foltz auto) which determined there was no issue the battery or ignition. On 10/5/14 I took the vehicle to heritage Chrysler (21234) and had the car serviced for two reasons: The main reason was the above issue and a secondary issue was the main odometer (not the trip odometer) at some point had reset itself leaving a display of an incorrect mileage much lower than the actual mileage. The dealer could not recreate the stalling issue or offer any solution, but noted that another electrical issue was causing the odometer to display an incorrect mileage; the fix was to replace the instrument cluster assembly. After having the instrument cluster replaced, the issue did not reoccur until 12/26/2014, when the car stalled three times without warning at ~40 mph, leaving the car completely "dead" each time, and once causing the car to veer quickly towards another car as I was in the process of turning the wheel around a slight curve when the car locked up. The car restarted in neutral and continued on in each incident until I was able to safely reach my home - I did not further drive the car. My concern is that the manufacturer knows, or show know, of multiple issues where this model and model year vehicle has randomly stalled without warning and can not offer a solution to the problem. Consumers are left to guess which repairs to undertake at significant expense, while driving a car that could continue to have the same issues.

- Perry Hall, MD, USA

problem #197

Mar 102012

Journey

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the key was difficult to be removed from the ignition. In addition, the engine stalled. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic, who replaced the battery and the main key but the failure recurred. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) but the part was not available for several months to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 97,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #196

Dec 202014

Journey

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the vehicle stalled and the key warning light illuminated. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 103,000.

- Portland, OH, USA

problem #195

Jun 022014

Journey

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle was able to start after numerous attempts. The failure occurred on several occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Hayes, VA, USA

problem #194

Jul 082014

Journey

  • 88,000 miles
I'm writing to complain that my 2009 Dodge Journey has been issued a recall for the ignition switch.the vehicle will shut down completely. Despite the fact this represents a significant safety hazard and this recall was initiated almost 7 months ago, Chrysler still does not have the necessary parts to make the repair. I have contacted them on a number of occasions and they have no solution or can offer an alternative to driving this dangerous vehicle. We don't have the option to stop using the Journey. What responsibility does Chrysler have to make these ignition parts available in expeditious manner? I would assume there must be a time limit to make these recall repairs. Every day I drive the Journey is like driving a bomb-you never know when it will go off.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #193

Dec 172014

Journey 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The consumer stated that on multiple occasions the ignition switch turns off. This failure occurs while driving. The consumer would pull to restart the vehicle. Updated 10/8/2015

- Lake City , MI, USA

problem #192

Dec 152014

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/09/15 updated 06/9/2015

- Beverly Hills, MI, USA

problem #191

Oct 062014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed were not available for several months. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date for when the parts would become available and the contact was unable to be added to a waiting list. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 2/24/15 updated 03/03/15

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #190

Oct 012014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
In regard to the frequency operated button ignition key (fobik), I have not received a second notice by the Chrysler dealership about repairing my vehicle. I called and was told that the parts are not available. I received that information 2 months ago. I request your immediate attention. I am not comfortable driving the car in this condition.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #189

Jul 172012

Journey

  • 60,000 miles
While in the drive through car turned off and I couldn't stop and scraped the driverside fender on a yellow barrier pole. I thought it was a fluke (a wtf moment) so I never worried about it again. It still cuts off every now and again but I am usually parked or moving slowly. I did get pulled over one time when the car cut off and to stop I had to put it in park so I wouldn't run a stopsighn onto hwy 99. (he let me go) went for the recall on the ignition sat for over an hour only to be told they dont have the replacement part or know when they will have it. On many occasions I am unable to get the car to start. When this happens I have to place the car in neutral and try again. The car will start once placed in neutral. Whenever there is a thunderstorm the driverside rear door will fill up with water from the outside. If I slam the door hard the water will flow out of the bottom. Front brakes grind and squeek no matter if the pads are new or have been on for a while. (I tried new rotors to) wiring recall was fixed only to do the samething as before months later.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #188

Dec 042014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
In 10/14 I received recall #L25/NHTSA 14V-373. On 11/5/14 I called my dealer and was told "no parts available". "no schedule". the same day I called Chrysler recall assist. Center 1-800-853 and was told. "no parts available or schedule available. On 12/4/14 called antioch Chrysler/Dodge. "bring the car in for diagnosis. I wasted 1 hr! "no parts avail. Or scheduled! when you receive notice from Chrysler that parts are available, call dealer for appointment." According to the recall, there is danger in driving this vehicle. "engine shut off and passive restraint systems would also shut off. How can Chrysler not have a schedule for parts availability. Do I assume that they haven't been ordered, or if so, were ordered from an incompetent manufacturer" why recall at all"

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #187

Dec 022014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V737000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Calabash, NC, USA

problem #186

Oct 012014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 135,171 miles
The part that is defected is tipm(total integrated power module) which I guess you can say the brain. I was driving on my way to work and all of a sudden my whole dash board goes dark and then that's when things went crazy. The wipers starting going and would not stop, this was a dry day can you imagine. The gauges went haywire such as my thermostat went to zero, signal lights would not work, radio died, gas light came on and no speed odometer. All this to say that I travel about 65 miles or so one way to work. Did not know what to think of this and as I continue driving thank goodness to that. The dash board start again to go dark and things came back on and this happen again before I got to work. Need less to say what a way to start out the morning, I thought there may have been a gremlin in my vehicle or some ghost from pass. Trying to brush this off and said this was a fluke or something. I did finally take it to a dealer and this was what was told to me and the cost is almost $900 just for this part, that is crazy. I did not fix this that day because I said this is ridiculous. Then in reading up on this issue there have been numerous complaints about this situation with auto/dealer and they refuse to recall and take care of this real safety issue. This was one of there first cross over vehicle made so there was room for error and errors should be fix by them. Shame on them not to. I need this to be taken care of by them not me the consumer who still has to pay for this vehicle. I need your help! thanks

- Warrenton, NC, USA

problem #185

Nov 242014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #184

Nov 132014

Journey 4WD 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
On four separate occasions, I attempted to start my vehicle (all lights, radio work) and only hear clicks of the starter and the vehicle did not start. On the second occasion, the vehicle finally started after approximately thirty minutes. I took the Journey to an auto center and they tested the battery, which was registering at 490 cca and they suggested I get a battery soon. On the third occasion, I went to pick my wife up from a doctors appointment and stopped the Journey for less than five minutes. I attempted to start the Journey and it did not start for over 30 minutes. I attempted to have the vehicle jump started; however, after three separate vehicles attempted to jump my Journey, it did not start and had to call a tow truck. After the tow truck driver charged the battery for approximately 5 minutes, the vehicle started. I immediately had the battery replaced and thought the issues was solved. On the fourth occasion, all four of which took place in a three week period, after stopping at a store for approximately 10 minutes, the Journey did not start. After waiting for approximately 30 minutes, the vehicle finally started. I have reviewed the recalls and this is not listed, yet there are multiple complaints of this issue. I will be attempting to have all current recalls repaired and hope this issue is take care of before myself or someone in my family is seriously injured due to this happening while driving on the highway.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #183

Sep 012014

Journey

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were on back order and were unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also experienced an intermittent failure where the key would either fail to turn or become stuck in the ignition switch. After several failed attempts, the key would eventually release from the ignition switch. Additionally, the cruise control would fail to engage when activated at various speeds. The manufacturer was not made aware the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Columbus Grove, OH, USA

problem #182

Nov 132014

Journey

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that when attempting to start the vehicle, several attempts had to be made before the vehicle would start. The vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 57,000.

- Solon, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?