10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,258 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 8 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #105

Nov 052014

Fiesta

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought the 2013 Ford Fiesta brand new. The transmission/clutch causes the car to lurch excessively. Nearly rearended another car. Ford replaced the clutch, but it continues to have the exact same issues. Ford should be required to replace these junk dangerous transmissions/clutches with the old style used on most cars which actually work. Please give the public satisfaction by requiring Ford to come up with a real solution to this problem.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #104

Jun 052014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Hello, my wife and I purchased a 2013 Ford Fiesta in may of 2013. We noticed a hesitation and stalling problem almost immediately. We thought it might be bad gas so we waited and put higher grade gas in it and the problem still continued. At this time, we thought that the problem would be a recall by Ford since it was happening all of the time so we waited for a recall notice. Approximately in September of 2014 the car was still having this problem and Ford sent us a notice that they were aware of the problem. My wife took the car in to have it looked at and they said they have a fix for it which should make it better but would not stop the problem but it would take a while to get it scheduled for service. We scheduled the vehicle and a few weeks later it was done and the problem continued so I took it back in and told them it was still doing it. The employee at the dealership, that I purchased it at, told me that they could not do anything about it until Ford comes up with a fix for the problem. I posted on Ford service on facebook and then they contacted me and looked into the problem. A customer service representative called me today and verified the same story saying that the problem could not be fixed right now. I asked about the warranty and they seemed uninterested stating again that they can't fix it. Another problem is that this car has had this problem over a few year period, so they are aware of it yet they continue to sell it. This car is dangerous, it has even shut off on us a couple of times. The biggest problem driving it is that it will start to take off then will almost shut down leaving you at risk to oncoming traffic before it takes off, there have been some close calls. It is shameful such a large company as Ford would not fix this problem or take care of its customers. Worst car I have ever owned.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #103

Nov 012013

Fiesta

  • miles
First noticed a leak stain on my drive so took it in Ford dealership they didnt put it on hoist just laid under it said oh no its fine so I drove it longer took it in to local speed lube to get oil change and they wouldnt touch it saying that I was leaking transmission fluid so I drove it straight to Ford dealership finally they put it on hoist and said oh yeah it is leaking I have a list of everything they did to it ( but its in the car and the car is currently back in shop so I dont have it with me) picked it up several days later on the way back to work the engine light comes on again so I take it back they say it was the computer stuff needs reset so by the end of my workday I picked it up about a mile it seemed fine next day engine light comes on again the car was jerking would not eccellerate almost got into a wreck took it right back to shop 4th time now...at one point while driving it my son was with me and asks what are you doing mom I tell him its not me its the car and I know its suppose to shift and it has since I've bought it but never like this....

- Clinton, IL, USA

problem #102

Feb 012014

Fiesta

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought two brand new 2013 Fiestas in September of 2012. My kids picked the colors and we're excited to have new cars. My older sons car started first, it had more miles on it. The car was making awful sounds, not going into reverse, popping out of first. After 15 months of owning the car, it wouldn't shift at all. He took the car to Ford and they traded it for a Fusion. My daughters car only has 12,000 miles on it and is taken to Ford every couple of months with the same complaints. It won't go into reverse and now it is making weird noises and popping out of gear while she's driving. I want something done. I'm spent over $33,000 on these two cars that don't work and now have become hazardous to even be driving. My baby is driving this car and they will not fix it.

- Mount Dora, FL, USA

problem #101

May 012013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 5 miles
When I take off from a stop, using light or hard acceleration, the automatic transmission exhibits an intermittent transmission violent shudder, which shakes the car and causes hesitation on acceleration, creating a safety hazard. This has caused me several near misses trying to cross traffic because the transmission hesitation and shutter, causes delay in acceleration across on coming traffic. Because of this, I do not let my teenagers drive the car. The car has now developed leaking transmission fluid. 2013 Fiesta. I have taken the car to the dealer several times, they say its normal, simply reprogram the transmission, and hand me a paper from Ford which says the phenomena is normal. Ive never herd of an automatic transmission that shifted so poorly and violently as normal. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #100

Aug 162013

Fiesta

  • 1,000 miles
Was accelerating after a stoplight, and suddenly after much hesitation, the vehicle lurched forward violently and shuddered. It continued doing this at every stop-and-go for well over a year, as well as making horrific grinding noises, and started dragging horribly recently. I took it in for clutch/seal replacement as indicated by a letter from Ford, and got the vehicle back yesterday. It isn't lurching as much, but never shifts into sixth gear (it never did before either) and now vibrates at high speeds, as well as making a noise only describable as "a barrel rolling down a road". I am in the midst of a complaint case with Ford, and am also researching a class-action lawsuit/have submitted my story for a lawyer working on a suit. I have almost had multiple wrecks in the last year due to these issues, and as I am a photographer, I carry expensive company equipment in my car daily. This vehicle puts my equipment and myself at risk. My own demand is for Ford to buy the car back, or at least pay it off so I can sell it, and recall the car or at least the transmission. This car was a horrible mistake to build. Who puts two three-speed manual transmissions together with electrical wiring and calls it a six-speed automatic? someone who's trying to be cheap, that's who. With no regard for the safety of customers.

- Axtell, TX, USA

problem #99

Jul 172014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the second time now that my car has to go back in to the shop the first time the transmission has burnt out the cliche and the told me this happen time to time. This car has made me almost get in to several car crashes so now is the second time my transmission has gone out its just a matter of time till it happen again hopefully it won't be while I driving and try to change lanes it shifts very hard and hesitate when you give it gas lest see what the Ford dealership will try to pull a fast one on me and tell that there is nothing wrong with my car.

- Suffolk , VA, USA

problem #98

Sep 242014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
We have had our Ford Fiesta in on three separate occasions to have the door latch replaced. The door flies open while driving my nephew almost fell out of the car. The just replace it with the same defective parts. The transmission has not shifted properly since we bought it new and the my sync has never worked. This is the worst car we have ever had.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #97

Sep 162013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 13,391 miles
Dual clutch automatic transmission exhibited erratic, shaky and shuddered shifting through all gear ranges...characteristic with Ford's tsb's 11-12-13, 12-04-06, 13-4-5, and 13-9-4. after having to justify the issue to two dealerships (was an actual problem and not me driving incorrect or understanding the transmission) Ford replaced the clutch packs and seals due to leak on 26 Sep 2013. Additionally, Ford gave me (at no cost) an extended powertraincare (5 year/100,000 mile) warranty. Luckily nobody was injured due to this transmission issue, and the vehicle drove fine after repair! I thought all this was resolved until Ford sent me a letter (Aug 2014) stating that customer satisfaction program 14M01 was extending warranty on the Fiesta powershift transmission to 7 years/100,000 miles? and, now we're at 22 Sep 2014 (21,700 miles) and the transmission is starting to exhibit the exact issues as it did just before the first failure. I've contacted Ford and scheduled a service appointment for this new issue. Further did some research and found that Ford has redesigned the clutch system (since my last fix), and issued tsb 14-01-31. That's five tsb's plus two warranty extensions in 5 years...and still no recall?? in my opinion, Ford rushed this transmission into market (not fully tested), and we (the consumer) became the test subjects!! again, luckily nobody has been injured or killed (that I know of yet)!

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #96

Mar 072013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 4,465 miles
Vehicle when starting from a stopped position will hesitate and shutter the front end and when U keep going past the third gear it will come out of the shuttering. Also wants to stutter when applying gas and acts like its going to stop. Have had the plastic clutch pack replaced in October 2013 but car is worse when accelerating from a stop or lower speed and wanting to accelerate or go faster. The car still shutters hard and acts like wants to die in traffic flow and now car is making grinding and rattle every time accelerating from a speed of 0-30 miles per hr. I want this fixed because this car will not last me until it gets paid off. Ford needs to take note that this 6 pack clutch system is not working for this type of vehicle. I will B getting an attorney if it gets to the point of this cost coming out of my pocket. Shuttering really bad, grinding noise, rattling noise, cutting out like it wants to die, I have seen the first burnt part they replaced in my car and wonder why Ford Motor Company would install a plastic piece inside a metal part. Also my headlights and windows are somehow connected together. Headlights are not positioned properly to see more then 1/2 car length in front of vehicle. Also radiator was loose and ready to fall out of car after driving vehicle 2 weeks.

- Lewistown, IL, USA

problem #95

Aug 142013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The automatic transmission causes problems, and Ford has worked on it many times but hasn't fixed it.they replace the 'clutch' in the A/T and reprogram the A/T, but the problem remains. The transmission/clutch slips; causing the car to briefly lose power, then the car lurches forward when the A/T grabs 3-4 seconds later. The danger is two-fold. A) when you are stopped - for example - at a 4-way stop sign. You start to go, the car looses power and slows down; someone else thinks you are yielding to them and they go - meanwhile, the Fiesta's A/T grabs and suddenly lurches forward. This has caused a near crash several times. B) when you are at a stop sign or stop light with a car behind you. When safe, you start to move forward, the car loses power and slows, and the car behind you ends up slamming on its brakes to avoid hitting you. This has led to some near misses. The car is unsafe. Thank you.

- Placerville, CA, USA

problem #94

Aug 052014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Transmission make a grinding sound and car shudders at low speeds. This was repaired in February 2014 for the same issue. Now it is recurring.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #93

Aug 302013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
The 2013 Ford Fiesta dual-clutch transmission is faulty and unsafe. It shifts hard, stalls, slips, skips, jumps and shakes. I have had my car for 14 months and Ford has replaced the clutch 3 times and transmission seals once and it still has all these problems.

- Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA

problem #92

Sep 092014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Hello - I have had multiple issues with this car dating back to months ago when I had it serviced twice for the problem. This car is becoming a safety issue. I had the "clutch" replaced in this automatic car a few months ago when the car kept lunging forward and not accelerating. When I got it back... I was told to give a "grace" period to break in the clutch and that it might continue to "stutter". the past week I have almost gotten into three accidents. The clutch/trans is lunging so bad at this point it almost hit the car in front of me. The other main safety issue with Ford having these "trans issues" on this model is the acceleration. It will not "catch" then lunge when trying to turn left and I almost got into a collision. Ford sent me a letter in the mail after I complained months ago saying the "stuttering" my be a leak in the trans. A few months ago they said the stuttering was because they had to replace the clutch. I am at wits end with a car I can not afford to get rid of but do not feel safe driving.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #91

Jul 312014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
My daughter took her car in for repair end of July 2014, due to very bad shuttering, shaking, acceleration and brake issue. Dealership claims they reset the computer that speaks to the transmission. I had her take car back about 10 days later due to the same issue. They claim there was nothing wrong with vehicle that she needs to drive at least another 1000 miles so that computer can register her driving habits"?" I drove her to work the following Friday and as I was leaving uphill parking structure the car felt as it completely stalled out, I had the pedal floored and nothing and then out of nowhere the car jumped and accelerated forward. Luckily there were no cars in front of me I would of definitely hit them. I drove vehicle straight to dealership and asked salesman to take for a test drive. He stated that there was clearly a problem and he would have gsm call me by the following Monday. Tuesday comes and as my daughter was driving to work she was involved in an accident due to the car not accelerating so she floored it and unfortunate for her hit the vehicle in front of her. I called salesman back and he said he would call me back, 3 weeks later no phone call from salesman or gsm. Accident occured on 8-19-14 then we received a letter postmarked 8-26-14. Customer satisfaction program claiming they have extended her warranty on clutch and transmission input shaft salsas well as the transmission software calibration for a total of 7 years or 100,000 miles whichever occurs first. To date still have not received call back from salesman or general service manager. Vehicle needs to be recalled......

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #90

Mar 052014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 18,304 miles
I purchased the vehicle used in February of 2014. A couple of days after having the vehicle it started to make loud grinding noises, when I tried to accelerate it would sputter and almost stall. I took it in on March 05, 2014 and the dealership had it for a week. When I picked it up, I was told that they could not find anything wrong with it and the grinding was "normal". the grinding noises, the sputtering, the slow acceleration, and other issues are still happening with this vehicle. When I call to see if I can take it in, I am told that this is normal for this vehicle. These 'normal' attributes should be disclosed prior to purchasing the vehicle. When I am at a stop and I start to accelerate, the car does not accelerate and it lunges and it has caused me to almost get rear-ended on more than one occasion. There has been a couple of times where I am driving on the highway at a steady speed and when I try to accelerate, it does not accelerate and the rpms just shoot up. The transmission of this vehicle has too many bugs in it and it is causing a safety concern. If I would have known that these things were 'normal' prior to purchasing the vehicle, I never would have bought it. Something needs to be done about this. I have seen numerous complaints that are very similar to mine and it truly is a safety concern that needs to be addressed.

- Lochbuie, CO, USA

problem #89

Aug 312014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 43,883 miles
I just bought a used 2013 Ford Fiesta with about 43-44,000 miles on it. I drove the car off the authorized dealer's lot on yesterday 8/31/2014. The first thing that I noticed was, as I entered the highway, the car had trouble getting up to speed with the flow of traffic. Later on the same day pulling out of an establishment to enter the main road I pressed the accelerator and the car jerked and acted like it was going to stall out. Then it lunged forward into the street! had there been oncoming traffic, this could have caused an accident with me and my family in the car! the car hesitates to shift gears correctly. The RPM hand revs up real high on a light push on the gas pedal and doesn't come down efficiently so the car jerks when if finally "catches". I've had this car for one day! this is a danger and something needs to be done!

- East Point, GA, USA

problem #88

Jul 182014

Fiesta

  • 8,000 miles
The transmission makes a terrible grinding noise. It shutters upon accelerating from a stop, especially when lightly accelerating. When accelerating from a stop, the car may hesitate causing no response in throttle for a second or two, or it may by surprise spring you forward unexpectedly. This is a safety concern that I believe Ford needs to address for vehicles with this transmission.

- Catawba, VA, USA

problem #87

Jul 172013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
Hesitate shuttering when shifting! makes the car shake! been to the dealer 4 times with this issue and even had the clutch replaced! been reprogrammed 3 times also! I am told this is all they can do! this is a safety concern for myself and family! I want something done under the lemon law! already made a complaint to Ford! no response as of yet!

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #86

Jun 242014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 1,300 miles
Purchased this vehicle as a certified used directly from Ford dealership. Since the second day of owning it, on acceleration there is a buzzing noise under the hood (sounds like a go-cart) and feels like it is clogged. Will accelerate suddenly or will have trouble accelerating especially when getting onto highway which have put me in a few dangerous situations. When coming to a stop or accelerating from a stop you can hear lots of metal clanking and sounds like its chugging. The vehicle vibrates, skips, like it is trying to get in gear on acceleration. Having trouble finding a Ford house that has time or willingness to repair. Any I have called have said it would be 3-4 days before it can get looked at and won't issue a loaner in the meanwhile. I can't go 3-4 days without a car. Monday morning, I am taking in to a dealership and leaving for them to access. This car was purchased for my teenage child who will be getting her license soon, after driving this car for 2 months I do not feel it is safe for her to drive and will be looking at other options for a vehicle.

- Montague, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?