Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,453 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fiesta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Jul 182016

Fiesta

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle is unsafe and should be recalled. Dual transmission cluch is a serious problem disengaging while driving slow or fast and shutters at all speeds. Its electronic throttle body (ecb) is defective just like 1.6 million 2009-2014 Ford escape and Fusion and Mercury mariner and Milan vehicles that Ford started a "customer satisfaction program" in lieu of a recall. Of course the ecb is not under warranty (3,000 over) and Ford did not identify the Fiesta as one of the customer satisfaction program cars. $545 plus labor for a car that is 3 years old. No more Ford products for home or work for this cfo.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #33

Jul 142016

Fiesta

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle lost acceleration and did not respond. The contact had to remove her foot from the accelerator pedal and depress it again in order for the vehicle to respond. The failure occurred daily for approximately the past two years. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and had the clutch replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- Sterling, MA, USA

problem #32

Nov 042014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While driving various speeds, the vehicle accelerated without warning and made a grinding noise. In addition, the vehicle temporarily stalled, accelerated without warning, and then decelerated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired under a recall, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The recall information was not provided.....updated 06/30/16 the consumer stated the dealer replaced the clutch twice. Updated 07/21/16.

- Muscle Shoals, AL, USA

problem #31

Apr 302015

Fiesta

  • 1,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission has a recall on it. It has been in the shop and replaced 3X. It still is not fixed. It passes the test when its hooked up to the machine but when driven it fails and goes back to the shop. The problem apparently has something to do with Ford and how it is made. Now a engine malfunction light always comes on. The manual says that it should not be driven because it may not shift. I have almost been in countless accidents because the transmission will not shift. It does not accelerate. It jerks, shakes, and grinds. I wrote to Ford and they didn't care. Told me to take it up with the dealership. This has been nonstop since I bought it last year till now and its ongoing. I do not feel comfortable driving my child in this car. Someone needs to be held accountable.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #30

Mar 102016

Fiesta

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. When attempting to accelerate the vehicle, it would either lunge forward and accelerate at high speeds and stall without warning, or fail to accelerate at all. When attempting to stop the vehicle, the engine revved, the vehicle accelerated and lunged forward, and stopped suddenly. The dealer stated that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #29

Mar 302016

Fiesta

  • 25,000 miles
Vehicle shudder shakes and fails to accelerate when pedal is depressed, typically in first or second gear (6 speed auto transmission). Transmission control unit has been reprogrammed several times, clutch was replaced, control unit reprogrammed again. Issues continue. Vehicle loses acceleration in intersections and poses a risk for rear-end collisions, cannot smoothly accelerate which could cause issues.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #28

Jul 102013

Fiesta

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. While driving 75 mph, the rear passenger door flew open without warning. The dealer diagnosed that all door latches needed to be replaced. In addition, the contact stated that after the vehicle was repaired under an unknown manufacturer recall for the transmission, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. The vehicle was repaired a total of four times, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Big Spring, TX, USA

problem #27

May 152015

Fiesta

  • 15,000 miles
The rear passenger side door, where my son sits in his booster, stopped closing one afternoon on our way to his soccer game. I used a piece of rope to tie the door across the car to the door opposite until I could get my car into the Ford dealership the next day. I searched the internet and saw an article regarding other 2013 Ford Fiesta's having the same issue. I took my vehicle the next day to the dealership and since I was there I let them know that my car, which only had 15K miles on it, has a problem with acceleration. When I accelerate I hear an airy sound coming from the engine and I lose power so that I accelerate very slowly. This is a huge safety issue when getting onto the highway. I was advised when I picked up the car that the lock was a recall item as was an issue with the cooling system that they fixed. In addition, when they checked for the airy sound they found I have a bad transmission. My service rep said the transmission was on back order for 30 days. That was May 2015. Today is 11/2/2015 and I still do not have the parts to replace my transmission. I have asked several times if I could have a rental car or borrow a car from Ford until my transmission is fixed due to the low acceleration and have been told time and again that they can not "authorize" it.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #26

May 182015

Fiesta

  • 52,820 miles
Incident occurred 3 times. At highway speeds, with the cruise control engaged, the engine malfunction warning came on. The cruise control immediately disengages and the car slows down. This is dangerous when going up hill at highway speeds. There are no codes stored in the computer. The alarm should not flag without storing a code. Searching the internet shows this has been a problem with the Fiesta for many years. Dealers have made the same repairs several times on the same vehicle with the errors reoccurring. The primary concern is the error flagging without a code present. Ford needs to fix this poor design. In my case the cause of the error is likely a poor connection under the hood. That alone is a problem but if the system logged the error at least it would be easy to find. Many people have had their cars repaired thinking they were ok only to have it happen again. It's scary driving on the highway when the car suddenly loses power.

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #25

Jan 022013

Fiesta

  • 900 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. When the contact depressed the accelerator pedal, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate for approximately three seconds before operating as normal. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 900.

- Fairview Park, OH, USA

problem #24

Dec 102014

Fiesta

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While traveling at 55 mph on the highway my Ford Fiesta started to not shift up or down and seemed a bit stuck. After taking it to the dealer they reprogrammed the powertrain control module. Only a couple months later the car started to having trouble with gear shifting at low and high speeds and also seems to slip when trying to shift. Car has repeatedly come close to stalling and has lost almost all power at various times. The car dealer now says it needs a new clutch and it will take 16 weeks for it to arrive. Until then I am not to drive it long distances. Very dangerous car, I am afraid I will be hit trying to turn because the engine will lose power at the wrong time.

- Twain Harte, CA, USA

problem #23

Dec 152014

Fiesta

  • 12,000 miles
After I had this car about 16 months and around 12000 miles, the transmission started to act up. It would jerk the car and then it wouldn't accelerate. They reset the computer and changed the transmission. It ran ok for about a month or two and driving one day it felt like the whole bottom dropped outta the car and I couldn't go. They reset the computer 2 more times in a 5 month span and said there is nothing else to do bc all the tests come back within Ford specs. I feel like I'll get killed on the highway because if I try and change lanes I cant accelerate to keep up with the flow of traffic. In the city it jerks all around. It seems to work best under 25 mph as long as I don't hit the gas or brakes. It takes alot to get it up to 65 mph and as soon as you take your foot off the gas it drops to 45 in seconds and then its hard to get going again. For a brand new car its ridiculous, I'm just happy I can hand the keys in another few months, if it doesn't kill me first.

- Jessup, PA, USA

problem #22

Mar 162015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the transmission failed intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated the engine light would illuminate and then go out. Also, the vehicle accelerated on its own while the cruise control was activated. Updated 08/20/15

- Harrisburg , IL, USA

problem #21

May 012013

Fiesta

  • 5,000 miles
Transmission issues since purchasing the car brand new in 2013. Car jerks and accelerates sporadically. When taking off from a stop the car does not respond to pushing on the gas, but will then suddenly take off. It moves through the gears in a clunky manner. Makes grinding noises upon acceleration. The car rolls back on hills. I do not feel safe driving this car. Ford have no responded in a helpful manner to my enquires and appear not to be able to fix the problem.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 212013

Fiesta

  • 200 miles
We bought a 2013 Ford Fiesta in August of 2013.  not three weeks into owning it, we had some troubles and the car wouldn't start. It turns out there was a bad fuel pump that needed to be replaced. While it was being replaced, I was given a Ford loaner to drive for almost a week, while they had the car to replace the fuel pump."?the transmission has been looked at 3 different times. The first time the service rep said that there was some kind of liquid on some part that makes it not change gears quickly and that they wiped it off and it should be good but that it can come back. The second time they said they reworked the computer and the car needs a chance to ?get to know the way I drive? and they sent me away. The third time they looked at the transmission, they said nothing was wrong and that the loud, crunchy, jumpy things I am experiencing are called "normal for the car" and they send me away.  they refused to do anything else and someone higher up in the service department printed out a notice about Ford Fiesta transmissions to assure me that the sounds and jerking I was experiencing was normal when we receive the survey for our experience, of course we give a negative rating. We did not get a service that we feel we were due and the car does not drive as promised. The next time I brought it in for the same issues, our rep, [xxx] told me that ?we screwed her on that survey and that her job is on the line with things like that ? if she gets anything lower than excellent". well, sorry, our experience was not excellent. We are not happy with the way the car drives, it sputters from idle to first gear and is sometimes unsafe when you need to turn into oncoming traffic. But we were told it was all in our heads and even that we should learn to drive it differently. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

Feb 032015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 19,137 miles
I am bringing this car in for the fifth time now for different reasons. Main problem is shuddering, jolting, and hesitating. I almost got in an accident on February 3rd from the car hesitating when placing foot on gas pedal. I have to replace clutch for second time, and I only have had the car for 6 months.....updated 04/08/15

- Arroyo Grande , CA, USA

problem #18

Dec 122014

Fiesta

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle was shuddering and failed to accelerate over 10 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that an unknown computer system needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, who diagnosed that the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the acceleration failure continued. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Barstow, CA, USA

problem #17

Jun 202013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 12 miles
Sluggish acceleration, sputtering, hard shifting upon accelerating from stop (lower gears). Day after purchase of vehicle returned to dealership and/or service dept. Service not available - spoke to sales who advised this is normal due to type of clutch system. Was advised no service could/would be attempted. Dealer suggested altering style of driving... problem has persisted and I have taken vehicle in several times, each time being told the same thing (with no diag or write up being done). On 11/24/14 while traveling over 350 miles in open desert, problem escalated to all gears and vehicle would not accelerate or decelerate properly without lurching, jerking, shuddering, etc. Took to service at dealership out of home state and was advised, prior to inspection, clutch would need to be replaced as same year, make, and model coming in daily. Confirmed with inspection clutch was faulty. Parts on backorder at least 3 weeks and would not order on my behalf as would not be in that location to have work done there. Contacted purchase dealership and confirmed backorder. Requested parts be ordered but was advised they would not order until veh inspected by them (2 weeks out as out of state) and then 3 weeks at least for parts. I consider this a safety issue as lurching, jerking, etc causes veh to become unmanageable as well as effecting acceleration and stopping times.

- El Cajon , CA, USA

problem #16

Nov 092014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 17,300 miles
I've had the car for two years. I've been complaining about the car "shuttering" issue for a year and a half. Within the first year I complained about it they said that they were getting similar complaints and handed me a flyer from a stack that they had readily available at their desk which mentions what I'm experiencing is normal and will go away with time. Earlier this year I brought the car in with this issue and they had to remove the transmission and replace parts in the gears. The issue seems to be getting worse. Yesterday, I was at a traffic light waiting to turn left. I started to accelerate then the car started to majorly shutter. It caused a significant delay in time that it would normally take to make the turn while I was in mid turn at a very busy intersection with approaching traffic. A few weeks ago I made an appointment to bring my car in today. When I explained what happened to me yesterday they said they were aware of this "shuttering" issue and had multiple complaints. I asked them many questions....some of the questions were: When I brought this to your attention in the first year why did you ignore my complaint and hand me a flyer telling me this is normal" when my husband brought the car in for scheduled maintenance a few weeks ago why didn't you inform him that there was a recall notice on the transmission that extends the service warranty and that there could be a safety issue" she explained that Ford was to blame and not the dealership. She said that Ford was giving them misinformation and told them all along that this was normal of the transmission and so that's what they were telling their customers. I urge you to please look into this because this is a severe safety hazard.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #15

Aug 072014

Fiesta

  • 35,567 miles
The car makes a terrible grinding sound. I noticed it stutter at take off and took it to the dealership. The service manager said the clutch had to be replaced, a common issue with the Ford Fiesta. After the clutch was replaced, the grinding sound remained. Even with a new clutch, the car makes me nervous. Needless to say, dissatisfied with this service department, I described the grinding sound to a service manager at another dealership. He told me the grinding is normal and that there's nothing that can be done. So I started reading around and literally thousands of Fiesta owners are experiencing the same thing. And we are being told the same thing: It's normal, fixing the clutch won't solve the problem, replacing the transmission won't solve the problem. It's as if Ford is trying to run out the clock on the 60,000 mile full warranty. At this time, I want to take my Fiesta to someone but don't have any recourse since Ford dealerships are being told to tell Fiesta owners that "it's normal, there's nothing that can be done."

- Chicago, IL, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?