Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,697 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Focus Electric electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Focus Electric:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Focus Electric Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Jul 232016

Focus Electric

  • 4,000 miles


I had yet another "stop safely now" warning in which the car completely lost power to the drivetrain while in motion. I had previously taken in the car for the recall in January and was told that would resolve the issue, but the problem has popped up again. This is a very dangerous thing to happen to have a car suddenly lose all power while driving in the middle of the road. Ford has clearly not fixed this problem yet.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #23

May 262016

Focus Electric

  • 17,000 miles
I was driving along at freeway speed, in commute traffic, and the power shut down and an alert showed on the dash "pull over safely". there was no power left in my electric vehicle, so I coasted over to the shoulder. The car wouldn't drive. Car was towed to Ford, where it has taken over 2 weeks, and they are stating the whole motor needed to be replaced. There are only 17,000 miles on this car. I "googled" the "pull over safely" alert, and have found this seems to be an ongoing problem with this car for many people, and that Ford had recalled over 2,000 Ford Focus ev cars, model years 2011-2013, for this exact reason.

- Moraga, CA, USA

problem #22

Apr 062016

Focus Electric

  • 19,000 miles
Six times my car's engine has stopped working. Either I am driving and it gives me a 10 second warning before the engine shuts off or I am parked and it won't start up properly. Every time it gets towed or I take it to the dealership, they tell me they have updated the computer system and it should be fine. Ford's corporate office has said results are inconclusive and there is nothing they can do to help me. After doing research online, it seems like this is a common issue with this vehicle.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #21

Oct 052015

Focus Electric

  • 14,000 miles


The contact leased a 2014 Ford Focus electric. After the vehicle was charged, it was discovered that the outlet had melted. The manufacturer was contacted and told the contact that there must be faulty wiring at the residence. An electrician was contacted and stated that the wiring was not faulty. The outlet was replaced, however, the failure recurred on two other occasions where the outlet melted and was replaced. The failure also occurred at the contact's office. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the charging plug was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000. Updated 01/12/16 updated 02/03/16

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #20

Oct 162015

Focus Electric

  • 9,500 miles
The vehicle was stationary with no power. The vehicle would not start and displayed a yellow tool wrench that read 'see manual┐ and then would change to a yellow triangle with a red exclamation mark that read 'stop vehicle safely.┐ had the vehicle towed to av Ford and they have been nothing but unhelpful. They state it's water intrusion to the connectors and is not covered under the manufacture warranty and to file a claim with my auto insurance company. They cannot provide any diagnostic testing to conclude their water intrusion to the connector's theory. We had a rainstorm the day before I brought the vehicle in to them. They are using water intrusion damage as a scapegoat to fixing the real issue which is a defect to the powertrain control module. Ford did however provide me a written estimate of repair for $33,160.42. This is absurd and is more than the car is even worth. These cars continue to have this issue despite of the recall they had for this problem. Ford Focus electric vehicles that were not part of the original recall in November 2013 are experiencing the same complete loss of power because the issue has not been fixed.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #19

Sep 222015

Focus Electric

  • 22,600 miles
On Tuesday, September 22, 2015, while my son was driving on the freeway at 65 mph in the carpool lane, the car suddenly stalled on him and loss all power to the car. A message popped up on the dash in an orange triangle stated "stop safely now". since he was in the carpool lane, he did not have enough time to get the car off to the side. He was stranded in a busy carpool lane and almost got rear end from behind when the car suddenly cut off all power and came to a stop. This has put my son in a great danger situation!!! he could have got rear ended and the stalling of the car could have caused a multi-cars accident in the carpool lane on the freeway. Somehow he managed to able to restart the car after turning the car on, off and opening the driver side door and closing it several time. The car continue to have the same problem on and off for the next couple of days. We finally got the car into Ford dealership September 24, 2015. At the time of this report, Ford dealership has not call me with a cause for the issue. I also noted that there was a recall for a similar issue that was issued from Ford for the electric vehicle for model 2012 to 2014. The serviceman at Ford dealership told me that my VIN number was not on that recall list yet my son still encountered the same issue that was described in the NHTSA investigation report a couple of years ago. I don't think Ford has done enough to correct this dangerous problem.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #18

Sep 062015

Focus Electric

  • 18,000 miles


"stop safely now" warning light came on at ~18K miles, 17 months into ownership, while driving on express way at ~35 mph. Car powered off after coming to a complete stop at next stoplight, was stranded before intersection. Car did power up again and was driveable after opening and closing driver door, waiting several minutes, and turned power off and on.

- Fremont , CA, USA

problem #17

Nov 202014

Focus Electric

  • 15,000 miles
Stop safely now error message appears when trying to start the car, often. The error disables the car. Sometimes the car will work immediately after restarting and sometimes I just have to try again later in the day after finding alternative modes of transportation for the time being. Most often occurs when conditions or damp like early morning or following rain.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #16

May 132015

Focus Electric

  • 3,000 miles
"stop safely now" warning and motor shut down while driving on city roads. The car was pushed to a nearby parking lot. Has been at the dealership for nearly 2 months due to a backorder of a high voltage power cable. Ford has been unhelpful and is not taking responsibility for the part backorder. They are claiming the backorder is the manufacturer's responsibility and not their own.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #15

Jun 302015

Focus Electric

  • 19,800 miles
The vehicle has reported "stop safely now" and doesn't start. Luckily the car is parked in the garage. This is the second time of happening without any further diagnostic details or warning. Last time this happened in the middle of the road while driving and shut the power to the wheels completely.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #14

May 202015

Focus Electric

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,950 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Ford Focus electric. While driving at approximately 20 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 3,950....updated 07/30/15 updated 09/08/15 the consumer stated the dealer advised the failure was caused by an electric battery failure. Updated 11/9/2015

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #13

Apr 202015

Focus Electric

  • 2,250 miles
While driving down a major local road, the car completely lost driving power (accessories still worked) and a warning light on the dashboard came on saying "stop safely now!". my wife was barely able to pull over and we were unable to get the car moving again, eventually towing it to the dealership. When we picked the car up they stated that a connection to the high voltage battery came loose and they've fixed it. Yesterday, when attempting to start the car, the same warning message came on and the car would not start. We once again have had the car towed to the dealership. The dealer called me this morning saying the car "works fine" which makes me more concerned since clearly this issue is now totally unpredictable.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #12

Apr 252015

Focus Electric

  • 5,972 miles
While driving my 2014 Ford Fusion ev, the stop safely now warning sounded and the stop safely now warning error displayed. The car immediately lost power and stranded me in the middle of the road. This occurred in front on my home. My husband was able to restart it. I drove the car and within seconds, once again experienced the stop safely now warning and immediate power loss. The car was towed to the Ford dealer.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 272015

Focus Electric

  • 3,865 miles
Was taking off from work - barely got out of the parking lot and the car came up with the warning light and said to pull over. Barely pulled over the car shut off. Dealer hasn't really had to work on their electric cars, had to contact their engineering department. Now they say they have to replace the electrical harness of the car. Car also doesn't grip the road when at a stop and trying to do a quick pull out to merge into traffic.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #10

Sep 122014

Focus Electric

  • 9,000 miles
The vehicle shut off while leaving the freeway.

- Fortuna, CA, USA

problem #9

Dec 232014

Focus Electric

  • 2,200 miles
Stop safely now error message displayed along with multiple other error messages (tire fault, engine coolant error, rear parking sensor error, etc). Car is brand new and unable to drive.

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #8

Dec 012014

Focus Electric

  • 185 miles
Brand new 2014 Ford Focus electric - less than 200 miles on odometer. Driving on 35mph road during evening rush hour the car suddenly flashed a "stop safely now" warning on the dash. As I looked for a place to pull over the car shut down completely (dash gauges went dark...estimated less than 10 seconds after warning message). Fortunately I was able to coast into a parking lot because I was at speed but I lost power steering. Headlights flickering, relays clicking, etc. I called Ford roadside assistance for a tow. Had this happened at a faster speed on a highway, I or other drivers could have been killed or severely injured. Ford supposedly corrected this defected in earlier models years. At this point I do not feel safe driving the vehicle until I have positive confirmation the problem has been identified and corrected. Ford is going to kill someone if they don't get this corrected! at there are a string of complaints from Ford Focus electric owners on this dangerous defect. Updated 1/21/2016

- Kennewick, WA, USA

problem #7

Dec 022014

Focus Electric

  • 1,620 miles
During driving in the rain and the car had the "stop safely" light come on and it stalled in the middle of the road. I had my kids with me and traffic behind me when this happened. This happened twice in a matter of couple of hours. It again happened on December 3, as I braked at a red light.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 182014

Focus Electric

  • 2,700 miles
While exiting the freeway the "stop safely now" warning light illuminated and the electric drive motor lost power. After approximately 5 minutes the car power restored and I was able to complete my commute. Ford has not given me a reason for the failure yet.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #5

Nov 132014

Focus Electric

  • 4,918 miles
Ford's recall campaign number 13S09 only addressed certain models produced thru late 2013, however my car was produced in 3/2014 and displayed the same issue. I've experienced two occasions where the car lost power and displayed the "stop safely now" warning message on cluster. The first happened on 11/7/14 while stopped at a stop sign. Took it to Ford dealer who cleared code and stated it's is fine. It happened again on 11/13/14 while driving up on my driveway. Both times, the car worked again after turning it off and waiting about 5 mins.

- Fresno, CA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?