Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Freestar was introduced in 2004, but it was essentially just a rebranded Windstar. While there was a redesign of the interior and exterior, the Freestar still inherited some of the design flaws of its predecessor.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,259 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford Freestar transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford Freestar Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Sep 042009

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Ford Freestar. Consumer request reimbursement for vehicle transmission repair consumer sent additional correspondence the consumer stated he received a recall notice regarding a defective transmission in March 2012. Three years after the transmission failed. Recall# 12V006000. Updated 05/24/12 the torque converter was replaced. Updated 06/19/12 updated 07/03/12. Updated 10/04/12.

- Brookfield, WI, USA

problem #27

Apr 022012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2004 Ford Freestar. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall notice 11S25/NHTSA recall 12V-006 related to transmission torque converter the consumer was informed the parts were not available to perform the recall.

- Alanson, MI, USA

problem #26

Apr 022012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Ford Freestar. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall notice 12V-006000 the consumer stated the vehicle is at a salvage yard, as he no longer owns it. The transmission failed. After the PCM was replaced, the transmission failed again.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #25

Apr 022012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Appropriate handling- letter re 11S25- NHTSA recall 12V006000 reimbursement for her 2004 Ford Freestar. The torque converter was replaced twice. Also, the inner and outer tie rod ends were worn and loose, and the cv axle was loose.

- Ferris, TX, USA

problem #24

Jul 102011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Transmission failure. Torque converter failure. Transmission failed 07/10 at approx 110,000 miles while driving at speed of approx. 45-50 mph. Had previously had intermittent hesitation, attempted trouble shooting what was thought to be engine performance issues (replaced spark plugs, fuel injectors, various connections). Vehicle currently at repair facility.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #23

Feb 162011

Freestar

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact was driving 35 mph when the vehicle experienced a loss of power and abnormally decelerated to 10 mph. The vehicle would not accelerate over 10 mph and was towed to a local mechanic where the fuel filter was replaced. Later, the contact was driving 40 mph when the vehicle became resistant to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer who stated that the torque converter was the cause of the failure. The vehicle was being repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The VIN was unavailable. The current mileage was approximately 75,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 74,000.

- Shelbyville, IN, USA

problem #22

Jul 252010

Freestar

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact was driving approximately 58 mph, when applying the accelerator pedal the engine revved with no power response. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the technician informed that the torque converter assembly and shaft pump drive would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the failures. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #21

Jul 222010

Freestar

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that when driving at a low speed, the vehicle suddenly stalled completely. The contact was able to restart the vehicle until stalling a second time. In addition, the contact stated that when shifting into reverse, the vehicle would not respond. She then shifted into drive and the vehicle would not accelerate before stalling a third time. She was able to restart the vehicle and when shifting into neutral, there was an abnormal increase in engine rpms. The vehicle was towed to a repair facility where the mechanic advised that the torque converter would need to be replaced. The mechanic also stated he would inspect the gear shifts for any failure. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 70,000.

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #20

Aug 122009

Freestar

  • 74,836 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact was driving approximately 65 mph on normal road conditions. Suddenly, there was no power response with the rear tires. The driver pulled over to the side of the road with caution. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. The failure was contributed to the torque converter which was replaced. The failure mileage was 74,836.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #19

Feb 132010

Freestar

  • 53,100 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. While the contact was driving 25 mph she noticed that the vehicle had suddenly stopped accelerating while the vehicle remained on. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where the contact was informed that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by a dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 53100.

- Garden City, NY, USA

problem #18

Jan 192010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on a state highway our Ford Freestar van just stopped working. After consulting with a mechanic it is the transmission. We have under 60,000 miles on the vehicle. After searching the web I am running across numerous cases of the same thing happening to other people. We have small children who could have easily been in the car traveling on the highway when this vehicle just stopped working. This is a potentially life threatening, common occurrence with Ford Freestars and I believe they should be recalled. The consumer stated Ford has since issued a recall. Updated 10/10/12

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #17

Oct 052009

Freestar

  • miles
The contact has a 2004 Ford Freestar van. When driving the vehicle will lose power without warning. He speculated that the torque converter was the cause of the failure. The failure has become progressively worse. The failure and current mileages were unavailable.

- Hayesville, NC, USA

problem #16

Nov 202009

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,800 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. While attempting to drive the transmission would not shift into any of the gears. The vehicle was towed to a transmission specialists. The technician replaced the torque converter. The current and failure mileages were 61,800. Updated 01/15/10. Updated 01/19/10

- Winnsboro, SC, USA

problem #15

Sep 202009

Freestar

  • 99,661 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. While driving 40 mph the engine shut off in the middle of the road. The contact stated that the torque converter in the transmission failed. The vehicle had to pushed onto the emergency lane and towed to a local mechanic. The mechanic confirmed that the torque converter failed. The dealer stated that there was no recall or warranty related to the year, make and model of the vehicle. The failure mileage was 99,661.

- Bunker Hill, WV, USA

problem #14

Jul 212009

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. While making a left turn between 30-35 mph, the engine began to rev excessively high followed by an extremely low power response. The driver was able to pull into a parking lot. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they stated that the torque converter failed. The part was ordered for the repair. The vehicle will be repaired once the part arrives. The failure and current mileages were 55,000. Updated 9/23/09 updated 09/28/09.

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #13

Jul 292009

Freestar

  • 60,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. While driving 45 mph, the rpms increased without warning and the transmission failed. The contact managed to place the vehicle into neutral and coasted to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that the torque converter failed. The estimated cost for repair was $1,800. The manufacturer would not assist. The contact will have the vehicle repaired. The current and failure mileages were 60,500.

- Waterford , PA, USA

problem #12

May 292009

Freestar

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact noticed that the gears would not shift forward or backwards. She took the vehicle to a transmission specialist and they replaced the torque converter at the cost of $1,040. The manufacturer did not assist. The failure and current mileages were 70,000.

- Berea, OH, USA

problem #11

Jan 252008

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,836 miles
My 04 Freestar just stopped no warning nothing just stop while I was driving my daughter to the doctor my son in law had to take off work and tow me home I cant afford to have it fixed I live on a disability and barely make my bills then I read on the internet that hundreds of the same vehicles are doing the same thing I can bet that it is my transmission and torque converter when I can get it fixed Ford needs to make this right.

- Keota, OK, USA

problem #10

Feb 112008

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,095 miles
Our 2004 Ford Freestar limited only has 48000 miles on it. This morning while moving slowly through our daughters school parking lot the van lost all power and she coasted into a parking place. The gear shift shifts into all gears but doesn't move. When you crank the vehicle in park it just whines and does the same thing no matter what gear you are in. I had the van towed to an independent garage and the mechanic said the splines on the torque converter were gone and due to the torque converter failing it has also lead to the transmission failure. I am being quoted repair prices between 1800 and 2200 to repair it. This vehicle is too new for this type of a problem on so many vehicles, the company should step up or the NHTSA should require them to.

- Southaven, MS, USA

problem #9

Jan 252008

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,500 miles
Transmission failure after 59,000 miles due to stripped splies on torque converter. A search for torque converter stripped splines returns Ford Freestar as the top result. There are several other people experiencing the same issue. It should be review to see if there is a general defect with the torque converters. It seems early in this model years life for transmission failures.

- O'fallon, MO, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?