Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
96,651 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestar drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestar Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #170

Nov 212016

Freestar

  • 95,558 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission fails without warning, causing loss of power and control of vehicle. Driving at 70 mph in traffic on interstate, engine revved to 5000 RPM's and we had to coast through traffic to the shoulder and coast to a stop. Transmission would not engage in any gear. Had to be towed. Lucky to get to the shoulder alive.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #169

May 172016

Freestar

  • 105,000 miles
Transmission died while driving on a busy avenue, just before an intersection.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #168

Nov 012016

Freestar

  • 65 miles
Mom was driving on the highway when all of a sudden the transmission slipped, she was on the second lane so their is cars going by at 60 miles plus on the sides, the van came to a slow stop and with cars barely missing us and causing a horrible accident. We finally had a tow truck driver that is a friend of mine come to our rescue. Mom is scared to get on the highway ever since. I got on the internet that same day and found out Ford recalled the torque converter on the 2004 and 2005 Ford Freestar but that same woman torque converter used on the 2006 model was not, the same one me and my mom were not only us but other drivers could have been seriously hurt or worse. And if I may say the van only has 77,000 miles on it. And I've seen many many complains online about this issue with the same 2006 model with different owners, please help make this right.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #167

Oct 032016

Freestar

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission and acceleration fail to respond on a ramp to the highway. Switching manually to 1 or 3 won't make a difference. If I go to neutral when it still rolling the gas pedal works. On the other gears it stays at about 60kph, 2000 RPM. I can't gain any speed to merge to the highway, so I have to go to the shoulder, turn on hazard lights, turn off engine, wait a moment and then everything is ok. It has happened always on the same spot going downhill the ramp. At least 5 times. On the area there is a stop light controlled by radio for the main traffic and about 200 meters there is an hydro transformer station, otherwise just regular buildings. I don't recall it happening on another place. I wonder if it could be radio interference that affects the computer and makes it fail to respond and when the engine is turned off, it resets by itself.

- Hamilton, AL, USA

problem #166

Oct 062016

Freestar

  • 98,000 miles
Torque converter failure without warning. I was driving northbound on interstate 380 on 10/6/2016 at roughly 70 mph in the left lane of traffic. I was not using the cruise control. Suddenly (around mile marker 13-14), the engine revved very high and the van decelerated. I was traveling up a hill and was dangerously decelerating in the left lane of the interstate. I managed to get over to the side of the road (cutting off a semi-truck) with absolutely no propulsion. It felt as though the engine was not connected with the drive wheels. There was no warning this was going to happen, the van just suddenly started decelerating rapidly on the interstate. I noticed quickly because the engine revved up when the transmission let go. I had the van towed to the local Ford dealership, where I left it for them to review the issue. The service person at the dealership called me back the next day and informed me that the torque converter had failed completely. I asked them if there was a recall involved with this component. They informed me that the 2006 Ford Freestar transmission was not included in the Freestar transmission recall. I looked it up on the NHTSA website and confirmed that my vehicle's transmission had not been recalled. The vehicle has roughly 98,000 miles on it, although it is a 2006 model. It appears to have the same problem as the 2005 models. The repair cost is roughly $1,400.

- Iowa City, IA, USA

problem #165

Oct 042016

Freestar

  • 190,000 miles
I was travel home and had just turn a corner. The vehicle was climbing a low hill and suddenly lost monument. I continue to press on the gas pellet and could hear the engine run up with out the car picking up any more speed. I pull to the side of the road as quickly as I could and as close as I could to the curb. This still did not make the stop comfortable. Cars continue to pass me at 40,45 to 50 mph as I sat on the side of the road waiting to be towed to the nearest transmission shop. I sat on the side of the road for an hour, before the tow truck arrived. Their were no sighs of a problem with the transmission up until the transmission stop working.

- Aloha, OR, USA

problem #164

Aug 022016

Freestar

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving my minivan home then it made a noise ans seemed like it shifted in neutral. Did some research and it sounds like the torque converter went out. I heard it had a recall. Let me know thanks

- New London, MO, USA

problem #163

Mar 012016

Freestar

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The contact stated that the vehicle jerked forward without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 58,000....updated 10/11/16

- Clifton Height, PA, USA

problem #162

Mar 092016

Freestar

  • miles
Transmission is slipping into gears, when first took van to dealership 03/09/2016 for this problem and the wheels squealing it had less than 59,000 mile. Dealership could not find the problem with the trans but fixed the squealing in the wheels, back to dealership in 06//2016 they put bg brake quiet on front pads and they tell me the slipping might be internal. Checked date on trans and it is October 2005. Recalls have be for that year on the transmission. Ford should take care of this.

- Clifton Heights, PA, USA

problem #161

Oct 012015

Freestar

  • 97,000 miles
Oct. 2015. Our 2006 Ford Freestar transmission and torque converter failed while in Florida. A new, not rebuilt, transmission was installed by garret gordon Ford in davenport, fl. The new transmission had a hard shift between first and second gear from day one. The reason given by the dealer was "new transmission/computer adjusting." Nov. 2015. Hard shift continued intermittently so we took it to the sarchione Ford garage in randolph Ohio. They could not confirm the problem June 2015. Hard shift has continued intermittently and on occasion has failed to shift from first to second without letting off the accelerator completely. On more than 2 occasions the shift from first to second was so hard that the tires actually peeled on the road service. The sarchione Ford garage in randolph is, at this time, trying to troubleshoot the problem. Sometimes weeks go by with no problem, yet accelerating into traffic on occasion is hampered by the problem. $4000 and 9 months later and the problem persists.

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #160

May 272016

Freestar

  • 134,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving home from work on a busy interstate at 70 mph in the far left hand lane when the vehicle began slowing down. There was now warning. I applied pressure to the gas pedal attempting to keep going with the flow of traffic around me. The rpms rose but no response from the transmission. It was as though the van suddenly shifted into neutral and would not go. Thankfully traffic allowed me to coast over 4 lanes to get to the shoulder. This was Friday evening before memorial day and very very busy. It's amazing I made it to the shoulder without being hit. I turned the engine off and it restarted with no problem. I tried shifting into reverse and got no response from the transmission either. This appears to be an issue with the drivetrain. Ford has known about this problem from other complaints I have seen. How many deaths will make Ford wake up and do something" I was one of the lucky ones. I made it to the side of the road but only because I am an experienced driver. Had it been a teenager he or she may not have made it before momentum was lost. Is it only deaths that will make Ford realize that they have a responsibility to provide a safe product" I have no choice but to try to get this fixed. This is our family vehicle.

- Hartsville, TN, USA

problem #159

Sep 052012

Freestar

  • 108,000 miles
Van was driving on a city street as it should when with no warning or indication of any problem at all driving power was lost while on a public roadway. The car would not move at all in any gear and was stuck on the roadway as far over as was possible, but could not get completely off of the roadway once momentum was lost. Had I known there would be no way to drive the vehicle I might have been able to get farther off of the road into a ditch. This is the van with the 3.9 liter engine. I hope no one has had this happen when crossing a highway or trying to merge on to the interstate.

- Byron, MN, USA

problem #158

Mar 292016

Freestar

  • 160,000 miles
Transmission completely stopped while driving no warning lost all forwards and reverse. Been told it is the same problem Ford has had on many of the same models of torque converter going out.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #157

Mar 042016

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 164,421 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 164,421. Updated 07/12/16 the torque converter was replaced at a cost of $ $1083.32. Updated 08/02/16.

- Griffin, GA, USA

problem #156

Mar 182016

Freestar

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate without warning. The contact pulled over and restarted the vehicle; however, it was unable to be driven. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V006000 (power train). The failure mileage was not available.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #155

Mar 192016

Freestar

  • 141,000 miles
While driving at approximately 20 miles an hour we made a turn then the vehicle just revved up and would not go in any gear. Vehicle stalled in the middle of the street and was unable to get it out of traffic. After investigating realize that this is the torque converter that has went bad and there was a recall on 2004 and 2005 for the exact same problem. 2006 use the same transmission and same tour converter so I'm not sure why it wasn't recalled also

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #154

Mar 012016

Freestar

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the vehicle shifted into neutral independently. The contact mentioned that there was an increase of engine rpms and the vehicle failed to drive. The vehicle was towed but was not taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Monticello, MN, USA

problem #153

Jul 102015

Freestar

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle stalled and had to be pushed into a parking lot. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed replacement. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Alutus, OK, USA

problem #152

Oct 252015

Freestar

  • 70,335 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle would not accelerate, but the engine revved. The vehicle was able to be pulled over, shut off, and restarted. When the vehicle was shifted out of park and into gear, there was no response. The transmission failed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission and torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 70,335....updated 09/14/16

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #151

Dec 122014

Freestar

  • 97,000 miles
Replacement torque converters continued to fail after replacing original transmission and failed torque converter at 97K miles. Replaced torque converter four times in 37K miles under warranty for "shudder". Ford dealership refused to diagnose or determine the continued failures. Independent diagnosis stated failures were due to the introduction of debris from the original failure, during the installation of the replacement transmission, or the replacement was defective when installed. Ford dealer and company would not replace the transmission. Ford warranty ended on 12/12/15 and the situation remains unresolved. Fortunately shudder failures occurred on the road, but vehicle could be driven to dealership for repair. The first original failure occurred on a off ramp and other motorist's assisted in pushing it to the side, avoiding a possible rear end collision! the newest torque converter can fail at any time and could result in a serious accident. Vehicle is used only in local driving as safety considerations have to be considered first. Ford customer service in detroit refused any consideration of the situation. You cannot contact anyone with authority at Ford as they are shielded by customer service. The consumer has to consider legal options at what cost to them? there is also a problem with hard shifts from into a drive gear(R, od, D, 1) from "N" or "P". this is an indication of failure of the internal neutral to drive accumulator. Resulting from a stuck piston or seals, or springs damaged or missing. When demonstrated to the dealership service manager and mechanic they ignored it and refused to accept it and properly diagnosis the situation. The independent diagnosis said the transmission had to be replaced and the installation done under proper clean conditions and flushing of the cooler and lines. If not done properly the the situation would reoccur.

- Westbrook, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?