Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,332 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 19 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #209

Jun 012006

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would intermittently lunge forward or backward while in drive or reverse. During the failures, the engine would rev until the tacometer displayed a reading of 5,000 rotations per minute. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the throttle body needed to be replaced and the software needed to be upgraded. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 89,000. Updated 07/26/11 updated 07/28/11

- Minnetonka, MN, USA

problem #208

May 302011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 79,545 miles
My wife and I just bought a 2005 Ford Freestyle, 2005 model. The vehicle jerks and lunges when our foot is not on the gas pedal. We took it back to the dealership where we bought it and they sent it out to a Ford dealership. The claim they couldn't find anything wrong and gave it back to us. The car still jerks and lunges and is very dangerous to drive.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #207

Jun 222011

Freestyle

  • 65,800 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would lunge forward abnormally with the brakes depressed. The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure but provided no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,800 and the current mileage was 66,000.

- Blanchard, OK, USA

problem #206

Jun 012008

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while in a drive through line with her foot on the brake pedal, she noticed the vehicle would surge forward. The engine failed warning light would illuminate occasionally. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor had it been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000...updated 09/15/11 updated 09/26/11

- Noble, OK, USA

problem #205

May 282011

Freestyle

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while stopped at a traffic light with the brakes depressed, the vehicle lunged forward abnormally. The contact stated that the failure would also occur while in reverse or sporadically when the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The failure was experienced numerous times. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 99,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #204

Jun 282011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 155,635 miles
Car lunges unexpectedly at slow speeds especially when pulling into a parking spaces with foot on brake. Car stalls after idling restarts in failsafe mode car then accelerates very slow with unexpected lunges car also stalls after reversing. This may be associated with A/C I have not had as many fail safe occurrences during the winter. This seems to occur everytime I drive the car in warm weather. We have taken to a mechanic before they were unable to identify the problem. Replaced coils on one visit but did not fix the problem. Purchased vehicle used and had this problem immediately dealer was unable to fix. Purchased car in June 2010.

- 18914, PA, USA

problem #203

Dec 012010

Freestyle

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am experiencing a sudden acceleration when idling, parking, and placing the car in reverse that results in the car lunging forward unexpectedly. The problem seems to be more noticeable when the air conditioning is on. Today for the first time when the car was put into reverse, the car accelerated, lunged, stalled and the engine fail-safe warning light appeared on the instrument panel. In each case, the movement of the car is significant and has been stopped by quickly stepping on the brake pedal.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #202

Jun 212011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2005 Ford Freestyle. With normal driving, this vehicle will surge in speed when placed in reverse and drive. I will be in a parking lot or my home garage and start the engine, place car in reverse, and the car will immediately surge in speed if my foot is not firmly placed on the brake. This has almost resulted in several accidents in public lots. This has happened for the last few months and several times a week. It has recently happened when I place the car in "drive". during the most recent incident, my engine fail safe light came on to indicate a problem. I have recently had the throttle body assembly replaced to the amount of $665.35. I was also informed that this part was redesigned for later models. I hope this resolves this issue. I also hope that no one has a serious accident resulting in injury to innocent parties due to this defective part.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #201

Jun 082011

Freestyle

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle lunged forward until the brakes were applied. While the brakes were applied, the engine continued to rev until it was shifted into park and shut off. During the failure, the engine fail safe mode light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. Approximately two weeks later, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Trenton, MI, USA

problem #200

Jun 062011

Freestyle

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact was reversing with the brakes applied. As pressure wa removed from the brakes, there was an abnormal increase in engine rpms as the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact experienced the failure at least five times. The dealer was contacted and advised that there were no recalls for the vehicle. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #199

Jun 212011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased car used from Ford dealer and bought extended warranty. Experienced car accelerating or lunging as car was shifted to reverse with foot still on the brake. Took it to dealer under warranty and repairs were made. It did not resolve the problem. Now we are out of the warranty and it is getting worse. Now it lunges and tries to accelerate while sitting at a stop and will also stall requiring an engine restart. Seems very very dangerous. I see many people complaining about the exact same thing on the internet and an investigation on the way. Add my issue as another example of this problem for 2005 Ford Freestyle VIN [xxx]. investigation NHTSA: PE11018. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Montgomery, TX, USA

problem #198

May 212010

Freestyle

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,824 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when shifting into reverse, the vehicle would lunge backward with the illumination of the fail safe mode error message. The vehicle would then stall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the throttle body was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 43,824 and the current mileage was 60,100. This would also happen when stopped at a stop sign or light. Although lunging forward. Updated 09/29/2011

- Brick , NJ, USA

problem #197

May 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Vehicle lunges when coming to a stop or attempting to park while the air conditioning is on.

- Boardman, OH, USA

problem #196

Nov 022010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact was driving approximately 2 mph and when pressure was applied to the brake pedal the vehicle suddenly lunged forward without warning. The failure occurred sporadically. The failure had not been diagnosed nor was the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000. Updated 07/20/11 the consumer stated it felt as though the vehicle wanted to go forward when the brake was applied. The vehicle then went into fail safe mode. The consumer drove slowly to safe spot. After shutting off the engine and resstarting it, the vehicle perfomred as normal. Updated 08/01/11

- Tinley Park, IL, USA

problem #195

Jun 012010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while slowing down or changing gears the vehicle lunged forward. She also stated that the engine fail safe mode message illuminated and in order for the warning light to shut off the contact had to turn the vehicle completely off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the throttle body was defective, as a result the engine mount and throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 72,000 and the current mileage was 85,000.updated 08/01/11 the consumer stated the problem is worse during hot weather, and after idling. The vehice lost power due to the engine going into fail safe mode. The ac compressor had to be replaced a month pror. Updated 08/02/11

- Dothan , AL, USA

problem #194

Jun 162011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Car lunges up to ten feet when my foot in not on the accelerator. My mechanic says it's the throttle body causing the problem.this has happened numerous times and has caused me to almost have accidents. There are currently no recalls, however, according to your website over 238 complaints have been filed. When can this be listed as a recall and have the car fixed by Ford! this is a very dangerous situation. Why wait til someone gets killed or hurt? please do something and do it today! we need your help!

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #193

Apr 072010

Freestyle

  • miles
The contact owns 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle stalled and surged forward while driving at a lower speed. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer or local mechanic. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 117,000.

- Middleberry Center, PA, USA

problem #192

Mar 012008

Freestyle

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would lunge forward from stand still or when applying the brakes. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 95,000.

- Albany , OR, USA

problem #191

Jan 092011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle would surge unexpectedly when placed into gear. The contact had the vehicle inspected by a mechanic who was unable to determine the cause of failure. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 90,000. Updated 07/20/11 updated 08/01/11

- Gamevrille, MD, USA

problem #190

Jun 152009

Freestyle

  • 35,000 miles
When shifting from park to drive or reverse the engine will rev and the car lunges forward or backward. It is much worse with the ac on, but does it at any time. It has recently starting doing this after coming to a stop while driving. The car will then shut off and go into engine fail safe mode and has has limited power. Luckily no one was directly behind us when the incident occurred.

- Red Lion, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?