Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,926 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 20 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #185

Jun 052011


  • 62,600 miles


Two incidents occurred on he same day. First time, I was in the driveway at my home waiting for my wife to come out of the house. The car was in reverse with my foot on the brake pedal. I was idling with the air conditioner on. The car suddenly lurched backwards about 12-24 inches. My foot was not on the accelerator. My concern is that there were children riding their bicycles at the top of my driveway. No vehicle malfunction or warning errors were displayed at this time. The second occurrence happened about an hour later. We had just walked out of our local costco store and were parked. The car was idling, in reverse, with the air conditioner running. The vehicle lunged back again (12-24 inches). Again, there were people walking in the parking lot. With this occurrence, an engine warning indicator was displayed. My foot was not on the accelerator. The "failsafe engine mode" warning was displayed on the dashboard along with the orange wrench symbol. The car stalled out this time. I removed the keys from the ignition and let the car sit for a few minutes. I then restarted the car and no warning lights were displayed. At this time, we drove the car home. The following week, we took the car to the dealership and they diagnosed the problem as a throttle body issue.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #184

Jun 032011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would suddenly accelerate without warning while driving at various speeds. The failure would also occur while stopped with the brakes engaged. The dealer advised the contact to file a complaint with NHTSA. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 141,964. Updated 07/20/11 the consumers wife was driving the vehicle, when it accelerated out of control, which resulted in an accident. There was no damage to the other vehicle, but minor damage to the consumers vehicle. No police report was filed. Updated 08/05/11

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #183

Jun 012010


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle would intermittently surge backwards when shifted into reverse. The vehicle would continue to surge until pressure was applied to the brake pedal. An authorized dealer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 90,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #182

Jun 082011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 94,900 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while waiting at a stop light with her foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle suddenly lunged forward. She had the air conditioner on when the failure occurred. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure and current mileages were approximately 94,900. Updated 09/27/11 updated 10/05/511

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #181

Jun 092010


  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when the vehicle was in reverse, the vehicle would exhibit an unusual increase in engine rpms when the brakes were applied. In addition, the vehicle would lunge forward abnormally as if it were going to accelerate. The contact would abruptly depress the brakes and sporadically, the vehicle would stall. The contact had not taken the vehicle to the dealer but did file a complaint with the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Bethel, OH, USA

problem #180

Jun 072011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
Car lurching forward while foot on brake and going dead while driving stated in Feb but is now worse with the heat.

- Trussville, AL, USA

problem #179

Jun 062011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 22,043 miles


2005 Ford Freestyle lunges forward when A/C is on in hot weather at idle speed. Problem has occurred on a regular basis(20-30 times) each summer for the last 4-5 years. We have had it in the dealer several times and made many, many phone calls. One repair in the beginning was the thottle body. It had got to the point where the dealer notified us they could not diagnose the problem unless the message system stayed on which it never did. After each incident the message center would display "failsafe mode" but would not return after thr engine was restarted. Very unsafe-my wife almost ran over children in the pick up line at school. I am concerned the car may lunge into fast moving traffic. I notified the dealer 5-3-11 to ask them about your investigation and whether something can now be done. The service advisor told me there was no record of a possible recall or investigation.

- Il, IL, USA

problem #178

Apr 202011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when sitting idle with the brakes depressed, the vehicle would surge forward. When releasing the brake, the vehicle would then accelerate abnormally without the accelerator pedal being depressed. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000. Updated 07/08/11

- St. Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #177

May 282011


  • miles
On several occasions, the most recent being May 28, 2011, my 2005 Ford Freestyle has had sudden acceleration issues. On Saturday, May 28, 2011, this occurred when I was backing out of a parking space. I have found that only by turning the car off and restarting it will this correct the issue. I have had this happen in both drive and reverse. Luckily it has always been immediately after I have started the vehicle and I am moving at a low rate of speed either in my driveway or in a parking lot. I have not had the misfortune to be involved in an accident but hearing on the news that this is a reported issue with my vehicle encouraged me to do more research as there has not been a common denominator that would allow me to have a dealer replicate the issue.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #176

Jun 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Own a 2005 Ford Freestyle that lunges when the air conditioner is turned on. I've had this problem for several years now with no resolution. It lunges after I've been sitting in idle at a traffic light or if I am backing up. So far I've not had an accident, but just wonder when my luck will run out. Sometimes the car will stall out and go in to engine fail safe mode. Also I will have my foot firmly on the brake and the car seems to over ride this action and lunges/accelarate on its own.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #175

Jun 022011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles


When stopping, parking, or backing up, the vehicle occasionally accelerates unexpectedly. In the last 6 months, it has happened a minimum of 10 times. I have not taken the vehicle to the dealership to have the problem diagnosed, as I cannot afford the repair costs.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #174

Aug 302010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 99,268 miles
When air temperature is hot the car tends to jump a foot in moving forward from a stopped position or idle position or back a foot if moving backward from a stopped or idle position.

- Selkirk, NY, USA

problem #173

May 262011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
For the past month or so, my 2005 Ford Freestyle will surge in speed, when shifted into either drive or reverse, during low idle. In all situations when the speed surge has occurred, I did not have my foot on the accelerator pedal, only on the brake. This condition is most pronounced after a cold start. The amount of time to start the engine has also increased since this problem has been first noticed. Also, at highway speeds, the RPM's can fluctuate 200 to 300 rpms even while the cruise control is active, the car is being operated on a relatively flat and straight surface. This issue of RPM fluctuation has been going on for approximately 6 months or greater. This issue has been subltly getting worse over time. When I first noticed the fluxuation, it was barely noticable. Now, you can feel yourself rocking back and forth slightly with the acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle during a fluctuation occurrance. The occurrances can last anywhere from 10 seconds to 30 seconds. And sometimes can be replicated again while driving along using similar road conditions. I post two issues within this complaint only because I believe they are related. Should information arise to indicate a seperate issue, I shall resubmit the 2nd paragraph.

- Gahanna, OH, USA

problem #172

Apr 282011


  • 63,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle. Stalling out in traffic jams and also surging when A/C is on at lower speeds.

- Hodgenville, KY, USA

problem #171

May 202010


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while attempting to park the vehicle, there was an abnormal increase in engine rpms and the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact had to apply extreme pressure to the brakes to get the vehicle to stop. The contact stated that the failure would happen whenever the steering wheel was turning and the air conditioner was simultaneously in operation. The vehicle was not taken vehicle to the dealer. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Springfileld, VA, USA

problem #170

Apr 012011


  • miles
My Ford Freestyle accelerates without having foot on the accelerator.

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #169

Dec 252010


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when the vehicle was idled momentarily with the air conditioner activated, the vehicle would lunge forward unexpectedly. The contact stated that the failure only seemed to occur when the A/C was activated or when the wrench warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer and they advised the contact that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Dubuque, IA, USA

problem #168

Sep 212010


  • 52,900 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when placing his vehicle in reverse with his foot on the brake pedal the vehicle started to lunge backwards. After the failure occurred he noticed that the wrench warning light illuminated. If the air conditioner was on the vehicle would malfunction more frequently than if was turned off. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised him that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 52,900.

- South Park, PA, USA

problem #167

May 312010


  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle lunged forward and the rpms increased while the brakes were applied with force. The failure was experienced numerous times during warm weather conditions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but a diagnostic test was not performed. The manufacturer filed report 1312391401 and stated the failure was under investigation. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000 and the current mileage is 145,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 07//15/11

- Berea , OH, USA

problem #166

Aug 012008

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while attempting to apply the brakes or come to a complete stop, the vehicle lunged forward. The vehicle also lunged while reverse. The failure occurred each time vehicle is driven. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated the air conditioner compressor might need to be replaced, but the contact advised the dealer that the failure occurred also while the air conditioner was turned off. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 85,000. Updated 07/26/11 the consumer stated the vehicle would lunged forward while the engine was idling or moving very slowly. Updated 08/01/11

- La Mesa , NM, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?