Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,332 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 20 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #189

Dec 102010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when starting the vehicle with the brakes depressed, the vehicle would lunge when in drive or in reverse. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 07/20/11 the dealer stated the problem was fuel related and the vehicle had to be reprogrammed. The consumer stated the vehicle seems to perform much better. Updated 09/01/11

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #188

Jun 092011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,370 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while trying to park the vehicle with the brakes depressed, the vehicle continued to surge forward. The vehicle was then inspected by an independent mechanic and they advised her that the throttle body failed. The manufacturer was then contacted and they offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 85,370. Updated 08/31/11 the vehicle was repiaed by an independent mechanic.updated 09/12/11

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #187

Jun 072011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle-drove into parking lot to pickup friends waiting. Put car in drive and car lunged forward with my foot on brake jumping several feet forward then engine stalled. Restarted while in middle of parking lot to oncoming traffic, and repeated above stalled and lunged, again and again after 5th time wrench light showed on dash display -started car and was able to do a tight U and repark vehicle. Wrench light remained on. Left car in lot after returned from dinner 2 hours later the wrench light was out and vehicle was taken home and appointment made at local mechanicl. Mechanic called with info that we needed to take to Ford repair with code #'s P061B & P2106. Ford presently is looking at vehicle and was told they reset the computer and we needed a tune up and as of this moment, they are having difficulty getting things back to us. Vehicle is a 2005 Ford Freestyle with 65,000 miles on it. This is a very scary dangerous thing that happen. Fortunately no cars in the lot were hit as the car lunged approximently 8-10 feet and I wasnt driving down the road. After looking on line last night I see the NHTSA is investigating after approximate 500 reports of varying years of this vehicle reported these same details. After reading them, I see my situation fits this to a tee! some have replaced the throttle body for a cost of $1000 only to have it happen again after this repair. Several months ago we thought we may have gotten bad gasoline as the car was acting as though it was surging back and forth and would stall after starting and running rough for a few minutes. Put additive in the gas tank.I think Ford needs to investigate this is very dangerous, I no longer trust that I will be safe driving my car and I would not want any of my loved ones driving this vehicle and having this happen as they were in traffic, surely would be an accident and hopefully no ones lives will be taken because of this issue. I love my Ford Freestyle and never had complaint til now.

- Niles, MI, USA

problem #186

Jun 032011

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Freestyle sel lunges/surges when parked or at low speeds in forward and reverse. It will rev up to 3-4,000 RPM and vehicle will almost jump even when brakes applied. When ac is running, it happens more often. If brakes are applied 100% it will move and it's worse in reverse. Has almost caused a few fender benders in parking lots due to the lunging. This has been occurring since we got it in 2009 and has been getting worse.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #185

Jun 052011

Freestyle

  • 62,600 miles
Two incidents occurred on he same day. First time, I was in the driveway at my home waiting for my wife to come out of the house. The car was in reverse with my foot on the brake pedal. I was idling with the air conditioner on. The car suddenly lurched backwards about 12-24 inches. My foot was not on the accelerator. My concern is that there were children riding their bicycles at the top of my driveway. No vehicle malfunction or warning errors were displayed at this time. The second occurrence happened about an hour later. We had just walked out of our local costco store and were parked. The car was idling, in reverse, with the air conditioner running. The vehicle lunged back again (12-24 inches). Again, there were people walking in the parking lot. With this occurrence, an engine warning indicator was displayed. My foot was not on the accelerator. The "failsafe engine mode" warning was displayed on the dashboard along with the orange wrench symbol. The car stalled out this time. I removed the keys from the ignition and let the car sit for a few minutes. I then restarted the car and no warning lights were displayed. At this time, we drove the car home. The following week, we took the car to the dealership and they diagnosed the problem as a throttle body issue.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #184

Jun 032011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would suddenly accelerate without warning while driving at various speeds. The failure would also occur while stopped with the brakes engaged. The dealer advised the contact to file a complaint with NHTSA. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 141,964. Updated 07/20/11 the consumers wife was driving the vehicle, when it accelerated out of control, which resulted in an accident. There was no damage to the other vehicle, but minor damage to the consumers vehicle. No police report was filed. Updated 08/05/11

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #183

Jun 012010

Freestyle

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle would intermittently surge backwards when shifted into reverse. The vehicle would continue to surge until pressure was applied to the brake pedal. An authorized dealer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 90,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #182

Jun 082011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 94,900 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while waiting at a stop light with her foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle suddenly lunged forward. She had the air conditioner on when the failure occurred. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure and current mileages were approximately 94,900. Updated 09/27/11 updated 10/05/511

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #181

Jun 092010

Freestyle

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when the vehicle was in reverse, the vehicle would exhibit an unusual increase in engine rpms when the brakes were applied. In addition, the vehicle would lunge forward abnormally as if it were going to accelerate. The contact would abruptly depress the brakes and sporadically, the vehicle would stall. The contact had not taken the vehicle to the dealer but did file a complaint with the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Bethel, OH, USA

problem #180

Jun 072011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
Car lurching forward while foot on brake and going dead while driving stated in Feb but is now worse with the heat.

- Trussville, AL, USA

problem #179

Jun 062011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 22,043 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Freestyle lunges forward when A/C is on in hot weather at idle speed. Problem has occurred on a regular basis(20-30 times) each summer for the last 4-5 years. We have had it in the dealer several times and made many, many phone calls. One repair in the beginning was the thottle body. It had got to the point where the dealer notified us they could not diagnose the problem unless the message system stayed on which it never did. After each incident the message center would display "failsafe mode" but would not return after thr engine was restarted. Very unsafe-my wife almost ran over children in the pick up line at school. I am concerned the car may lunge into fast moving traffic. I notified the dealer 5-3-11 to ask them about your investigation and whether something can now be done. The service advisor told me there was no record of a possible recall or investigation.

- Il, IL, USA

problem #178

Apr 202011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when sitting idle with the brakes depressed, the vehicle would surge forward. When releasing the brake, the vehicle would then accelerate abnormally without the accelerator pedal being depressed. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000. Updated 07/08/11

- St. Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #177

May 282011

Freestyle

  • miles
On several occasions, the most recent being May 28, 2011, my 2005 Ford Freestyle has had sudden acceleration issues. On Saturday, May 28, 2011, this occurred when I was backing out of a parking space. I have found that only by turning the car off and restarting it will this correct the issue. I have had this happen in both drive and reverse. Luckily it has always been immediately after I have started the vehicle and I am moving at a low rate of speed either in my driveway or in a parking lot. I have not had the misfortune to be involved in an accident but hearing on the news that this is a reported issue with my vehicle encouraged me to do more research as there has not been a common denominator that would allow me to have a dealer replicate the issue.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #176

Jun 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Own a 2005 Ford Freestyle that lunges when the air conditioner is turned on. I've had this problem for several years now with no resolution. It lunges after I've been sitting in idle at a traffic light or if I am backing up. So far I've not had an accident, but just wonder when my luck will run out. Sometimes the car will stall out and go in to engine fail safe mode. Also I will have my foot firmly on the brake and the car seems to over ride this action and lunges/accelarate on its own.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #175

Jun 022011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
When stopping, parking, or backing up, the vehicle occasionally accelerates unexpectedly. In the last 6 months, it has happened a minimum of 10 times. I have not taken the vehicle to the dealership to have the problem diagnosed, as I cannot afford the repair costs.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #174

Aug 302010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 99,268 miles
When air temperature is hot the car tends to jump a foot in moving forward from a stopped position or idle position or back a foot if moving backward from a stopped or idle position.

- Selkirk, NY, USA

problem #173

May 262011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
For the past month or so, my 2005 Ford Freestyle will surge in speed, when shifted into either drive or reverse, during low idle. In all situations when the speed surge has occurred, I did not have my foot on the accelerator pedal, only on the brake. This condition is most pronounced after a cold start. The amount of time to start the engine has also increased since this problem has been first noticed. Also, at highway speeds, the RPM's can fluctuate 200 to 300 rpms even while the cruise control is active, the car is being operated on a relatively flat and straight surface. This issue of RPM fluctuation has been going on for approximately 6 months or greater. This issue has been subltly getting worse over time. When I first noticed the fluxuation, it was barely noticable. Now, you can feel yourself rocking back and forth slightly with the acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle during a fluctuation occurrance. The occurrances can last anywhere from 10 seconds to 30 seconds. And sometimes can be replicated again while driving along using similar road conditions. I post two issues within this complaint only because I believe they are related. Should information arise to indicate a seperate issue, I shall resubmit the 2nd paragraph.

- Gahanna, OH, USA

problem #172

Apr 282011

Freestyle

  • 63,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle. Stalling out in traffic jams and also surging when A/C is on at lower speeds.

- Hodgenville, KY, USA

problem #171

May 202010

Freestyle

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while attempting to park the vehicle, there was an abnormal increase in engine rpms and the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact had to apply extreme pressure to the brakes to get the vehicle to stop. The contact stated that the failure would happen whenever the steering wheel was turning and the air conditioner was simultaneously in operation. The vehicle was not taken vehicle to the dealer. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Springfileld, VA, USA

problem #170

Apr 012011

Freestyle

  • miles
My Ford Freestyle accelerates without having foot on the accelerator.

- Middleburg, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?