Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,332 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 21 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #169

Dec 252010

Freestyle

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when the vehicle was idled momentarily with the air conditioner activated, the vehicle would lunge forward unexpectedly. The contact stated that the failure only seemed to occur when the A/C was activated or when the wrench warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer and they advised the contact that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Dubuque, IA, USA

problem #168

Sep 212010

Freestyle

  • 52,900 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when placing his vehicle in reverse with his foot on the brake pedal the vehicle started to lunge backwards. After the failure occurred he noticed that the wrench warning light illuminated. If the air conditioner was on the vehicle would malfunction more frequently than if was turned off. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised him that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 52,900.

- South Park, PA, USA

problem #167

May 312010

Freestyle

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle lunged forward and the rpms increased while the brakes were applied with force. The failure was experienced numerous times during warm weather conditions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but a diagnostic test was not performed. The manufacturer filed report 1312391401 and stated the failure was under investigation. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000 and the current mileage is 145,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 07//15/11

- Berea , OH, USA

problem #166

Aug 012008

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while attempting to apply the brakes or come to a complete stop, the vehicle lunged forward. The vehicle also lunged while reverse. The failure occurred each time vehicle is driven. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated the air conditioner compressor might need to be replaced, but the contact advised the dealer that the failure occurred also while the air conditioner was turned off. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 85,000. Updated 07/26/11 the consumer stated the vehicle would lunged forward while the engine was idling or moving very slowly. Updated 08/01/11

- La Mesa , NM, USA

problem #165

Nov 012005

Freestyle

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact was stopped at a traffic light with the brake depressed when the vehicle accelerated abnormally. The contact stated that the failure was also experienced while in reverse or attempting to park the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for failure where the brakes hoses and brake switch was replaced, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was contacted and a complaint was filed but no assistance was offered. The manufacturer advised the contact to take the vehicle back to the dealer until the cause for the failure was determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 60,000.

- Silver Spring , MD, USA

problem #164

Jun 192008

Freestyle

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while the air conditioner was activated, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact restarted the vehicle and as she shifted into drive, the vehicle lunged forward abnormally. The failure sporadically occurred whether in reverse or forward and whether the air conditioner was activated or not. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who updated the transmission codes but the failure recurred. The dealer then replaced the filters but could not determine the cause of failure. The failure persisted and the vehicle was not effectively repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who advised her to contact the dealer. The current mileage was approximately 103,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Plainwell, MI, USA

problem #163

May 222011

Freestyle

  • 81,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I back out of a parking space, the car lunges backwards without me pressing on the gas. This started about 6 months ago. Originally it was intermittent. Now it happens all of the time. Originally, it only happened when the car was in reverse. Now after I have backed out of my parking space and put the car into drive, the car lunges forward. Now that I know what to expect, I'm very careful because especially in a small parking lot, it would be very easy to hit another car. This is an ongoing incident.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #162

Apr 102010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I have a 2005 le Freestyle (front wheel drive) that we purchased new. I have experienced the sudden surging/lurching over the past year or so, but it was so occasional and subtle that I thought I was imagining it. Then this week I almost hit a car in the school car rider line and it was definitely not my imagination. The car suddenly lurched forward (not subtly!) when I was stopped with my foot on the brake. It was a hot day & I'd just turned on the ac so my son would be comfortable (I usually don't use the ac that much). Also last week I almost hit a car when my car surged while I was backing out of a parking space (again, I'd just turned on the ac because I had other people w/ me).because my incidents have increased this summer during the hot weather I feels as though it's a safe hazard and needs to be recalled asap..

- Little Elm, TX, USA

problem #161

May 152011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 42,090 miles
First, let me start by saying that I like my Ford Freestyle. It is a comfortable car with a smooth ride. The event occurred one week ago on Sunday May 15th. It was a sunny day, good driving conditions at about 1pm. I was exiting the church parking lot with the radio and air conditioner on. I was in a line of cars waiting to turn onto the main street. The vehicle was in gear in the "D"(drive) position. The car was not moving, and my foot was in mid-air (neither on the accelerator nor on the brake) as I was anticipating the car in front of me to move in a few seconds. Suddenly, the engine revved slightly and the car lunged forward about one foot before I could apply the brake. I was very surprised, as this was the first time it had happened. Fortunately, I had left about 10 feet room between my car and the car in front of me. ( I am absolutely positive that I did not touch the accelerator pedal, nor did the floor mat) ironically, a few days later, I read an article in our newspaper about a current investigation of about 200 Ford Freestyles with similar problems. I am very concerned about this potentially serious safety problem that seems to be affecting the Ford Freestyle. Thank you for investigating this matter.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #160

May 212011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle that lunges unexpectedly and kills the engine. This has happened two times in which both times the ac was on.

- Taylorsville, KY, USA

problem #159

Dec 202010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 70 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Parking vehicle in lot and vehicle accelerates on its own. Front of car hits concrete stop and cracks skirt.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #158

Jul 012006

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
The contact 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving in reverse with the brakes depressed the vehicle suddenly accelerated and the power train light illuminated when the failure occurred. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test. The vehicle was repaired; however, it did not correct the failure. The vehicle continued to suddenly accelerate and the power train light illuminated when the failure occurred. The vehicle was not repaired a second time. The failure mileage was 9,000 and the current mileage was 99,000. Updated 08/01/11 updated 08/15/11

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #157

May 202011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2005 Ford Freestyle lunges forward while sitting idle often. It is difficult to stop it once it lunges. Ford wanted to replace parts on my Freestyle which they said might correct the problem.

- Rockwood, TN, USA

problem #156

Jan 012010

Freestyle

  • 60,000 miles
Car is accelerating on its own hard on shifting into drive or reverse. Mostly on low pulling out speed when you turn the steering out of a parking spot at every time. Hope the recall comes into effect on these hard time or before someone gets killed. Thank you for your time to look into our safety.

- Bristol, RI, USA

problem #155

Apr 162008

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford freestle. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph and attempting to park. As the brake was applied, the vehicle began to accelerate forward with a sudden increase in engine rpms. The brake was engaged firmly and the vehicle came to a stop. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 06/16/11 the consumer stated after the throttle was replaced, there were no more problems. Updated 06/24/11

- Kansas City , MO, USA

problem #154

May 182008

Freestyle

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when the brakes were depressed, the vehicle would abnormally lunge forward of backward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer multiple times who stated that they repaired the problem. The dealer also cleaned the throttle body area and another unknown component. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 98,000.

- Wheat Ridge, CO, USA

problem #153

Aug 072008

Freestyle

  • 79,409 miles
Vehicle would lunge forward when stopped or when starting to move forward. Took vehicle to a Ford dealership and they determined the throttle body was failing, it took six weeks for the part to arrive. Ford would not provide a loaner vehicle and caused considerable personal issues since the vehicle was to dangerous to drive. It is now starting to happen again!!!

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #152

May 102011

Freestyle

  • 94,000 miles
Sudden acceleration- vehicle will lunge forward or backwards when vehicle is stopped or when first put into gear. This happens more frequently when the weather is warm. The vehicle can be stopped with extra brake application. This happens all the time in warm temperatures. I have not had this problem looked at, the vehicle is out of factory warranty and after researching this online it seems like people who have had this repaired continue to have issues.

- Saint Charles, MO, USA

problem #151

May 012010

Freestyle

  • 64,372 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while starting the vehicle or while in an intersection with the brake depressed the vehicle lunged forward. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test that located the failure within the power steering. The contact advised the dealer that the failure was not the power steering. The dealer replaced the throttle sensor assembly. The repair corrected the failure for approximately six months and recurred when the vehicle lunged forward while the brakes were depressed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 64,372 and the current mileage was 79,145.

- Stamford , TX, USA

problem #150

Jun 082009

Freestyle

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While driving approximately 10 mph into a parking space, pressure was applied to the brake pedal and the vehicle lunged forward unexpectedly. The contact engaged the brakes firmly in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer twice for the identical failure and they were unable to diagnose the failure. The failure continued to occur. The manufacturer was not made aware of the defect. There was a current open investigation pertaining to the defect associated with NHTSA action number PE11018 (vehicle speed control). The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Centennial, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?