Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,880 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 2 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #566

Apr 152010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles


I would be sitting in line at school to pick up grand daughter with air on, let off brake to move forward and car would surge this continued, but fortunately I wasn't picking her up as often. I could not turn air on. My Freestyle now only has 58,947miles(approx.). sometime in 2012 I received a letter from Ford offering to clean the throttle body. I had it cleaned then it sounded like a truck and smelled like gas. The last few months it dies on the highway. I'm afraid to drive on busy roads. I had my car diagnosed, they say it is the throttle body which is messing up the computer. I have contacted Ford distributor to no avail. I am trying to get funds together to take care of this problem. I understand this is not an isolated case. The problem might be that Ford only sold Freestyles for a few years.

- St. Cloud, FL, USA

problem #565

Sep 142013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Was going home after visiting with a friend and on way back was driving normal speed limit on I75 North (65mph) when all of a sudden the car would not accelerate and ac started blowing warm, the wrench light came on. The car was still running but very poorly. I had to carefully get over into the right lane and drove on the side of the interstate to get off at the visible off ramp just a few yards away. I was able to get the car up to a mcdonalds at the top of the ramp. I shut it off and decided to go inside and eat. About 25~30 minutes later, I decided to try and start the car and see what would happen, the car started right up, everything worked as normal, no warning lights at all. We drove it the last 2 hours home without any concerns. We ran a code tester on the car the next day and nothing came up. That was in September 2013. Almost a year later, this September 2014, I had the same thing happen again, but I do not remember the light coming on this time and it happened after only driving the car 6 miles to my local home depot. Again once I got back into the car after about 45 minutes, everything seemed to be operating normal again. This is normally my wife's grandson mobile, she now says that there is opportunities with surging while stopping and taking off and the ac is blowing warm when she is at stops or not driving with engine running. I read a couple forums about why the ac may be acting up but this doesn't explain the limp mode thing and the new surging going on. We have no engine or warning lights at all. I will tell you I test drove it after her concerns and they are real, the surging thing is a concern and I don't like her driving it. At a local garage guys said it sounds like its that "Ford's" problem, but don't see recall for this this a Ford problem that is known? I can't spend a lot of money trying to find the root cause.

- Rudolph, OH, USA

problem #564

Aug 212014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 109,624 miles
The vehicle lunged twice while I went from park to drive. I immediately put my foot on the brake to avoid hitting the car in front of me as I was in carline picking up my children from private school. On 8-23-14 as I was in reverse pulling out from a parking space, the vehicle lunged backwards and lost power. I turned off the engine. I started the engine and began to drive the vehicle which felt as if it was losing power. I continued to drive 2 miles home and prayed the entire time that I would make it safely. After doing research, we discovered the NHTSA action number PE11018. We were never notified of this recall and feel that Ford should reimburse owners of all monies spent on the defective throttle body system. So far we have spent $600.

- Daphne, AL, USA

problem #563

Aug 172010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 52,780 miles


The vehicle lunged after going from park to drive. I quickly put my foot on the brake. This occurred three times that week. It always occurred when the ac was running. I then had the Ford dealership in daphne, al look at the car. They advised that it was the throttle body. I had the repair completed at [xxx] in pensacola. We spent $500 on the repair. I feel that this malfunction was extremely premature. Ford should reimburse customers who have receipts to prove that they completed work that was later a NHTSA action. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Daphne, AL, USA

problem #562

Aug 142014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 107,500 miles
As I was driving to take my children to school I was pulling forward on a parking spot and all of a sudden it started accelerating like if I was pushing the gas but I was not I was pushing on the brake. On a separate occasion I was going to the store with my children and the same thing happen I was about to pull into a parking spot and it started plunging forward I was pressing on the brake and it wouldn't do a thing. This issue has been happening for about a month. The wrench light comes on and when I turn of the car it disappears so when I take it to a mechanic they don't find anything wrong with it I did research with the Ford Freestyle and their is a lot of people with this same issue, they all say about the throttle. I'm very concern that one of this day something worst may happen and I'm with my children please do something about this before something worst happens to people.

- San Bernardino , CA, USA

problem #561

Jul 312014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 124,910 miles
I had just started the engine, A/C on, and was attempting to back out of a parking stall.the vehicle seemed to be working normal.engine temp-normal, fuel-3/4 full, no indicator lights were on, engine rpms about 750. With my foot firmly on the service brake pedal, I put the transmission into reverse.the vehicle powered backwards about 5 feet and I began to turn the vehicle towards the right.the engine speed immediately raised, but my foot was hovering above the brake pedal & not touching the accelerator pedal.I stomped hard on the brake pedal to avoid hitting the vehicles parked beside & directly behind me.the vehicle stopped after powering backwards another 5 feet after applying the service collision occured.I immediately looked at the dashboard and saw the rpms were at 2250+ while trans still in reverse & service brakes fully applied.I shutoff the engine while trans in reverse and then moved trans into park. A loud click was heard coming from the hood area and the vehicle lunged forward.

- Cameron Park, CA, USA

problem #560

Feb 062014


  • 118,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle abruptly accelerated without the contact depressing the accelerator pedal. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle operated normally once the brake pedal was depressed. The failure occurred on several occasions. The dealer could not duplicate the failure, but stated that the throttle body needed to be cleaned and the computer needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 118,000.

- Jemison, AL, USA

problem #559

Apr 302008

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Shortly after we purchased the car on Jan 01, 2008 we began to have issues with lunging and high idling. Car was taken to dealership several times before they cleaned the throttle body sensor. It was ok for a few months and started back. We took it back and they replaced the tbs and another part. Car worked great for a while, but had to have the tbs cleaned again in 2011 and 2012 and is now doing the same thing again and more. Now it is extreme. I work about 6 miles from home and have to stop several times to turn the car off and back on to reset the wrench that comes on in order to reset the high idle. If I don't, when I hit the gas, the RPM's go up to 4 and 5K only doing 30 mph. The check engine light is also on. I have had it checked and the error code is P0701 indicating transmission and TB issues. The car also lunges forward a great deal and I have to stay back a safe distance in order to be sure if it lunges I don't hit anyone. The issue is far beyond the throttle body sensor. It has to also do with the cvt transmission which Ford knows is a lemon. Please push this issue so that they will have to recall the faulty parts and protect the safety of the families in their vehicles. If I had another means of transportation I would certainly not be in this car.

- Opelika , AL, USA

problem #558

Mar 042014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Vehicle purchased used 10/2013 from national used car retail chain. *records, via Ford dealership (as of 07/2014), indicate TB issue (ref. NHTSA PE11018) addressed under Ford csp 12N03; 08/13 [TB cleaned & programming edited by 2nd local Ford dealer.] initial incident occurred 10/2013, less than 72 hours after purchase, codes indicated; as per retail chain repair shop*, a misfire on cylinder 6. repair made via dealer warranty, replacing plug & associated parts.drove car from date of repair, including highway, long distances & locally w/O notable incident. Later, service light began to flash on & off; no codes present. Assumed indicator short. Eng. Light & svc. Lights came on & went off periodically but never readable for codes. Car then began to make noises occasionally upon start up similar to solenoid failure & exhibit "dieseling" upon ignition. Weather related? then; 03/2014, entered highway, accelerating to 60/mph - at half mile up, car "shut down"; RPM flat, speedometer flat, pedal non-reactive, steering impaired, no electricity. Coasted to divide in highway; cranked vehicle, turned & crossed to shoulder; stopping & starting several times. Moving 10/mph to safety. Still no codes. Thought clog in fuel system/ trash in gas. Next attempt to drive, filled tank, new gas; no indicator lights, no problems. Then: Incident:05/2014: Cranked & backed out of driveway, placed G.shift in D.. movement, RPM flat, speedometer flat. Service & engine light came on. Rolled back in drive, car sat for several days. Cranked it, eng, & svc. Lights still on; drove to parts store. Codes present indicate TB malfunction. Problem not covered via purchase agreement. Ford says; "problem solved". part/ $500 plus labor.payment:$475/mo. Afraid to drive it. Don't want to be the stalled car hit from behind @ 65/mph by a big rig statistic to fix it. It is still broken.

- Mulberry , FL, USA

problem #557

Apr 072012


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle suddendly accelerated without any warnings. The contact mentioned that the vehicle would fail to start if the A/C was on. The contact had to power the vehicle off and restarted it multiple times but the failure recurred. The vehicle was to be inspected, diagnosed and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Buena Vista, VA, USA

problem #556

May 272014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,326 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the service and check engine warning lights illuminated before and the vehicle became resistant to acceleration. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the throttle body assembly was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the defect was remedied. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The failure mileage was 98,326. Updated 10/24/14

- Brighton, MN, USA

problem #555

May 252014


  • 185,000 miles
Car gives codes for safemode and there is no solution.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #554

Nov 062013


  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the engine rpms increased as the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was advised that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 121,000 and the current mileage was 141,000.

- Saint Petersburg , FL, USA

problem #553

May 082014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 229,000 miles
Vehicle surges forward unexpectedly.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #552

Oct 012013


  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle was shut down and restarted and resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the throttle body was faulty. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Lee's Summit, MO, USA

problem #551

Apr 052014


  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not able to be restarted. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who stated that the throttle body sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 147,000.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #550

Sep 152013


  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving at any speed, the vehicle would randomly lunge forward in drive and in reverse without warning. The vehicle also stalled multiple times as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who was not able to replicate the failure. The vehicle continued to jerk violently and stall without warning. The contact had to put the vehicle in neutral to restart the vehicle multiple times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was to be inspected and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 125000.

- Hull, MA, USA

problem #549

Oct 182013


  • 95,429 miles
I filed a complaint about 2 years ago regarding my vehicle lunging forward. I received a notice to bring my car the Ford dealership for throttle body repair. Since taking my vehicle into the dealership for repairs I have noticed that my vehicle is hesitating. When you press on the accelerator the vehicle does not increase speed more than 8 to 10 miles when you push the accelerator to the floor. I have taken this vehicle to 2 different dealership that specialize in Ford product but not the Ford dealership. I have been told that my transmission needs to be rebuilt and I was told at another dealership that it was in desperate need of replacing or rebuilding. I feel as though Ford knows the problems that the owners are facing and need to step their game up. I have another year and a half before this vehicle will be paid in full. I feel at this point that Ford assembled all of these vehicles and should be held accountable for selling these lemons. When you start looking at complaint after complaint from different customers all over the world then you know there is a bigger problem. I feel all the money that I have invested and still investing to save my credit has turned me away from Ford vehicles of any kind at this point.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #548

Dec 312012


  • miles
I have been having problems with the throttle body of the vehicle for the past 2 years. It seems to want to lunge forward and back on its own. The idol is screwed up as well. Ford issued a customer service 12N03 in December 2012. Since it was serviced at this time, it still has been occurring frequently. It is a dangerous situation when you do not know if you will hit someone if the car lunges forward or back on its own. I now have it in the shop for the third time to replace the throttle body completely, which will now cost me over $800. Ford needs to take responsibility and fix this problem on the car!!!!!!!!

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #547

Dec 202011


  • 140,000 miles
Throttle accelerating while brakes are applied lunging forward shutting off trouble getting up hills trying to accelerate but won't go past 30 mph transmission light is on wrench light is on traction control light is on.

- Williamston, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?