Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,533 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestyle fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

May 132011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Ford lunges. It also loses power and cuts off while trying to drive. This happens everywhere and anywhere. Even if my foot is on the brake it will lunge forward or backward it does no discriminate. This happens all the time. It's also worse when the air conditioning is on. This could potentially be a serious situation on the highways and local streets, if the car is just cutting off while driving down the road. Lunging forward/backward could become potentially serious as well. I really hope that Ford takes responsibility for these issues. Especially since they stopped making the Freestyle what 3 yrs later. It seems to me that they realized there was some kind of an issue why else would they quit making it? I have to say other than that major problem of lunging and going through rear brakes the car itself is wonderful and not my first Ford. I love Ford vehicles, unfortunately I am a little disappointed with this one. If Ford would take responsibility and fix it that would be great! I can't afford to fix it nor get another vehicle. I feel like I have a lemon on my hands.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #24

Aug 302012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 73,176 miles
2006 Ford Freestyle at low speeds all of a sudden lunges both in reverse or in drive.

- Faribault, MN, USA

problem #23

Sep 032012

Freestyle

  • 80,000 miles
At a very low speed the throttle body stuck open, and the car lunged backwards. I had to slam on the breaks hard to not zoom out into the parking lot into a passing car. The check engine, "wrench" light came on and the lunging kept continuing both in forward and reverse for several seconds. Finally, it appeared to stop once I put the car in neutral, and I was able to back out of the parking space. After that, there was something definitely wrong with the throttle itself. I was unable to accelerate into traffic at the necessary rate. This is a reoccurring problem as there are hundreds if not thousands of reports and complaints about 2005-2006 Freestyles and 500S. I would hope that Ford would do the right thing and recall this part for the safety of their customers and everyone on the roadway.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #22

Sep 012011

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Ford Freestyle limited has major electrical problems. I have had the car lunge on me, at 0mph it would lunge forward, and in reverse. Fortunately I had my foot on the brake every time. I don't think it is the transmission. I have a feeling that it is all electrical. I have had the lunging problem since last year. (2011) and the car has been deteriorating since. Yesterday I got "check charging system" and now it kills all of the lights and gauges... yet it still kind of ran.(not very good up hill, and no indicator lights, no speedometer nothing.)another recent problem I have is the center engine (shock?)mount is busted.

- Waynesville, OH, USA

problem #21

Apr 092012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
My complaint mirrors verbatim others related to the May 2011 investigation opened into the "lunging" at slow speeds for the 05-07 Ford Freestyle. The ac, hot temps, & lunging. One occurrence traveling 60mph & began to "stall out" & slow on major highway with three children in car. Any pressure on fuel pedal no result. Busy traffic, could only travel max 35-40mph. Put flashers on & struggled to make it to repair shop. Turned off ac in 100 degree heat to get any kind of response from engine. I was worried & feared for mine & my children's safety. Vehicle would barely accelerate thru intersection after stopping for red light. Finally made it to shop. Vehicle was placed on machine. Codes appeared: P061B alter fuel control module error, P2106 throttle actuator forced limited. Took vehicle to Ford house & explained issues as well as codes from previous shop. Was told would be $100 for Ford to hook up for a dx. If the codes I had were same, would cost est $800 to repair. As mom of 3 & who drives great distances for work, this repair asap. Have had many occasions if not had foot firmly on brake the vehicle would've caused a wreck at stop light, pulling into, out of parking lots, etc. Car literally drives itself in D/R at 10mph with no acceleration at all after placing in D/R. on 8-12-12 was in drive thru line & car lunged at high rate of speed forward after barely lifting foot off brake. Came mm from slamming into vehicle in front. Put car in P & the vehicle died. Wrench/engine light came on. Turned engine off, turned ac off & restarted the car. I can only imagine what would've happened if this had occurred at a stop light in a busy intersection? this issue is a fatality waiting to happen. This cannot be a fluke random issue if you have rec'd 238 prior complaints regarding the exact same issue. I urge NHTSA to place a recall, if for the only reason to save lives. Updated 08-03-12 updated 09/07/2012

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #20

Aug 112012

Freestyle

  • 69,000 miles
Backing from driveway into the street, car surged but was able to stop it when brake applied. At that point the vehicle stalled. Able to restart and continue without incident but warning "wrench" light was on indicating throttle / transmission fault was detected and service required. After restarting later that day no problems noticed and no warning light. This was the most severe case so far but had noticed some small surging in prior weeks both in reverse and drive when starting out both from cold start and from restart conditions. Further research suggests this is a well know throttle body problem for Ford Freestyle / 500 / montego models from 2005 / 2006 timeframe. Safety risk is significant, cannot let other family members or any less experienced operators drive this vehicle until the problem is addressed. Replacement or at least maintenance for this known faulty system should be provided at no charge by the manufacturer.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 132010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was stopped and in a line of vehicles in a parking lot with my foot on the brake and the engine surged. Fortunately, I had my foot on the brake with sufficient pressure to keep the car from lunging forward. This occurred several times while in the parking lot with the engine going into (limp mode) forced limited power mode. I drove the car directly to the Ford dealer where the car was purchased. The mechanics did not detect any diagnostic trouble codes and sent me on my way. Since then there have been probably six (6) more events without the engine going into forced limited power mode. In all events the engines surges to approximately between 1500rpm and 1800rpm with the car in drive and the foot securely on the brake. The event generally lasts less than 5 seconds. All events occurred during summer months. Last event was this past Wednesday when my son was driving the car. I witnessed the event as a passenger. The two codes that came up are P2106 and P061B. I purchased a tester to read the codes. Current mileage is 77995. Researching the potential cause of this problem led me to your site and prompted me to file a complaint.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #18

Jun 042009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
First time it happened car lunged forward at shut down, died completely. 30 minutes later was able to turn it over. Mechanic said it needed throttle body but it was on national backorder until August 2009. So had to drive it home. Happened quite a bit throughout that time until I realized that it had a lot to do with having the A/C on. It happens even without the A/C on sometimes at lights, stop signs, and in parking lots, and also when in reverse it lunges in that direction as well; sometimes at very high rate which is scary. Have 3 children and cannot fathom why this car has not been recalled. I still owe money on it and now it is sitting in my mechanics garage because the cvt transmission went out.. 5 weeks now and I do not have transportation because I cannot afford to fix the cvt transmission that alot of other people are having the same problem with.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #17

Jun 062012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 98,213 miles
My 2006 Ford Freestyle surges mainly in reverse, but also does it in drive at times. The first time it surged I thought maybe my foot had hit the accelerator and dismissed it. I started driving this car in October of 2010 and had not experienced the problem until then, but now it happens frequently. I have no idea about previous owners or the car's history so I only know how it has been maintained since I have owned it. Also there are 2 technical service bulletins that are also wrong with my car. Tsb 07-1-8 and 06-11-4 I think that since Ford knows there are problems with this cvt transmission that they ought to recall the vehicles and repair them.

- Brookhaven, MS, USA

problem #16

May 272012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
While traveling home from holiday, my wrench light came on in the car and we could smell the engine beginning to overheat. My engine was trying to lunge forward even though I had the cruise control on. My vehicle then started to decelerate and I barely made it off from the highway via an exit ramp. Pulled over, turned off the car and opened the hood to let the engine cool off. I thought the problem may be gear or transmission related or perhaps bad gas. I tried a trick told to me by mechanic friend to back up the car and go forward approximately 40-50 feet, stop the vehicle and repeat the movement again to reset the transmission controls. I also added fuel injection cleaner and filled the tank again. After fuel injection and letting the car sit, it was okay for the rest of the trip. Had another incident just recently (July 2012). The same wrench light came on and my car once again lunged and decelerated and I had to pull off. Luckily, there was a gas station at exit again. And, luckily, I was able to maneuver through traffic when decelerating without harm to my family. I bought more fuel injection cleaner and filled the tank. I then let the car sit again. That seemed to help. We made it home after another rest stop for the car. Shortly after, my husband used throttle body cleaner to clean out my fuel injection pathway. He removed air connection and found the throttle body to be clogged with gunky material and sprayed a good dose of the cleaner into it while I gunned the engine to clear it out. I am now using fuel injection cleaner with every gas fillup to mitigate the problem. I know I probably need to replace the whole throttle body, but I am leary from what I've read on internet with others having same problem, replacing throttle body and then it having to do it again a year later. I am going to fix car and then probably sell it. Not safe anymore.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #15

May 042012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The throttle will race up especially while coming up to a stop. I belong to a couple of forums that people have tried many of times to get this serious repair recalled. One person even pinned their child against the garage wall. I have not fixed mine yet as Ford garage says it is about $750 repair. My wife almost took a guys door off. As she pulled into a parking spot a guy was getting out of the car and as she pressed the brake harder it made the throttle increase. The guy then though she was deliberately trying to run him over. We had to demonstrate the issue of this and then he understood. I just cant believe that Ford can get away with this throttle issue.

- Indian River, MI, USA

problem #14

Jul 192012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Car lunges forward and backward even with foot on the brake. Used to only do it with the air conditioning on but now will do it at any time. When speaking with Ford they claim they know nothing about this despite me reading them the 23 page letter between Ford and [xxx] (office of defect investigation). Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Southampton, PA, USA

problem #13

Jun 022012

Freestyle

  • 70,000 miles
Our '06 Freestyle lurched forward while attempting to allow a pedestrian to pass in a parking lot. The engine speed increased and more brake pressure had to be applied to stop the car. Slight engine revving was first noticed at a mileage of ~60,000 miles and grew over the next 10,000 to the point of the car actually lurching forward unless heavy pressure was applied on the breaks. Eventually, I learned that if I had the A/C on max, vehicle stopped and idling, light pressure on the brakes, a turn of the steering wheel would make the car lurch every time. The lurching made parking, especially parallel parking, which requires the steering wheel to be turned right and left, a risk to nearby pedestrians. On-line posts and forums led me to clean the throttle body and the problem has been fixed for the past few hundred miles.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #12

Jul 172012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Throttle surge upon backing up. Foot on brake, thank god, while backing when vehicle surged backwards.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #11

Jul 162012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 81,138 miles
98 degrees (103 with heat index), sat in parking lot with ac on high for 3 - 5 minutes. Backed out of parking stall, and approached stop sign. When hit brakes the car lunged forward. Pulled out of lot and 'wrench' light came on and car wouldn't run right. Tonight tested the car again and it runs fine. After reading online it sounds like this may be a common occurrence related to a throttle body failure/malfunction.

- Muscatine, IA, USA

problem #10

Jul 112012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Experiencing engine surging while maneuvering in a parking garage. Most noticeable while in reverse.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 082012

Freestyle

  • 80,880 miles
Air temperature was 100 and my 2006 Freestyle was idling. Then, when stopped in city traffic, car surged unexpectedly requiring me to press hard on the brakes, then stalled. This happened twice. After sitting and cooling for 2+ hours, the car ran fine. However, check engine light remained on. Because I am on vacation, I took the car to a dealer. The service department determined the problem was related to the throttle assembly, which he said was pretty common. Replaced the assembly for $1300 for fear the problem could happen again on the highway.

- Vienna, WV, USA

problem #8

Jul 022012

Freestyle

  • 81,000 miles
While foot on the brake the car lurched forward like the gas went by itself. Then at a stop light the light turned green and applied the gas. The car would not go. The gas peddle was all the way to the floor. Later I put the car in reverse and the car stalled and died. My wife is scared to death and is afraid it is going to crash into another car. I took the car to my trusted auto repair place. They stated this is a know problem with the Freestyles and surprised it was not recalled yet.

- St. Joseph, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 292012

Freestyle

  • 49,500 miles
After filing a complaint on or about 6/28/12 (ODI number 10463545) in regard to another 2006 Ford Freestyle I own and operate, I now have to report the identical defect with my other 2006 Freestyle. After parking my first Freestyle until repairs can be made, this Freestyle (now being reported) has become the major transportation vehicle of the household. Now this vehicle has begun surging in rpms and 'lunging' whenever the brake is released. This occurrence was in 95 degree weather with the air conditioner running. I don't know if the outside temperature plays a role in the defect occurring but both vehicles were at maximum operating temperatures, had been running for a length of time whereas a higher 'cold engine' idle would have no bearing on the occurrences. Since I haven't an extended warranty on the first vehicle I reported on 6/28/12 (a recent purchase), I have ordered an electronic throttle body w/tps (non-heated which is obviously a Ford supercession) and will attempt to replace it myself as a cost savings measure. Since filing my issue I've found via the internet that others with the same problem have paid upward of $1,200 to have this work performed. After ordering my parts I have discovered that this particular throttle body was installed on 2005-2007 Ford Freestyles as well as their Ford five hundred (of which I also own a 2007 model year of with approx 20K miles). Is there any truth to the rumor that bad luck always comes in three's? I certainly hope not!! as of earlier this morning (7/01/12), with a cool temperature of 75 degrees F., this defect did not re-occur, but my other vehicle also began to 'act up' as an intermittent problem that eventually wouldn't go away.

- N. Merrick, NY, USA

problem #6

Apr 232012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 79,875 miles
After purchasing (as a used car) for my daughter, vehicle began rapid acceleration and 'lurching' unexpectedly when shifting into forward or reverse. After several days, this was compounded by occurring when starting and stopping in traffic during brake application. I had the filters replaced (air and gas) and the problem seemed to have gone away. I asked my dealership, during my first inspection after it's purchase, wether there was a tsb in regard to this issue and would they please check it out. They alleged that they had no record of any defect regarding this issue and no tsb had been issued. They did however refuse to complete the inspection until I allowed them to overhaul the rear brakes w/new rotors for quite a kingly sum! (so much for a promotional 'free inspection'.) last night I had to Venture out and retrieve the vehicle from my little girl after the car kept 'lurching' everytime she used the brake. While she was waiting in an intersection attempting to make a left turn, the car 'lurched' and stalled in front of oncoming traffic. After restarting the car an engine light and a 'wrench' was now visible on the dash, and the car had absolutely no accelerator! due to our flat terrain I was able to bring the car home on an idle at a speed no greater than 10 M.P.H. once safely home I tried a trick that used to work on the fleet busses I once worked on. That was rapidly turning the ignition switch on-off, on-off repeatedly about 10 (ten) times, then leave switch on and start it. This seemed to have cleared the 'wrench' and the accelerator was restored. The engine light did not clear. I've put tires, struts, strut mounts etc. Into this car to make it safe for my daughter to drive, yet I can't allow her to use it. 4 of 5 cars I own are Ford, 2 being 2006 Freestyles, and this is the only one that I have had a problem with. What recourse do I have now?

- N. Merrick, NY, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?