Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,335 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #84

Jul 132016

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,358 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving at a low speed, the vehicle shook while making a turn and stalled. The failure usually occurred when the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle was able to restart and was taken to a mechanic who diagnosed that the electronic throttle body failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN and failure mileage were not available.... updated 08/23/16

- Harpwell, GA, USA

problem #83

Jul 202016

Freestyle

  • 181,087 miles
Vehicle accelerates (surges) when stopped, especially when parking or reversing.

- Marietta, MS, USA

problem #82

May 272016

Freestyle

  • 110,000 miles
Engine lost acceleration power while driving due to a clogged throttle body while on a highway. Google search indicates this is a common complaint with 2006 and 2007 Freestyles.

- Glen Mills, PA, USA

problem #81

Apr 282016

Freestyle

  • 3 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Ford Freestyle cuts off repeatedly after almost every red light stop. I saw a lot of complaints about this matter with different Ford Freestyles and no one seems to know the cause. Mainly anytime I apply the brakes the cut shuts off and puts myself and family in life- threatening situations. Also, the vehicle idles high while my feet on on the breaks.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #80

Mar 152016

Freestyle

  • 156,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle was accelerating independently without warning. In addition, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The failures recurred various times. The vehicle was taken to independent mechanic where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 156,000.

- Gibsonton, FL, USA

problem #79

Jan 302016

Freestyle

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving approximately 30 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate past 2 mph. The check engine warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was previously repaired under a manufacturer's recall; however, the remedy failed to prevent the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 102,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #78

Apr 152015

Freestyle

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

April 2015, my vehicle started making knocking/grinding/ticking noises once it was started. Sometimes the transmission would fail to shift into gear(s). I prodeeded to physically move my shifter into gear(s) a few times. The transmission then shifted into gear(s), making a hard "clunk" sound. Sounding like the transmission had 'dropped' into gear; as if it had a low trasmission fluid level. Mind you, recently, a local shop changed my oil and all fluids were checked and refilled if needed. The shop informed me about code P0942, because they had never seen this code before in their life! engine-codes.com states: "P0942 - hydraulic pressure unit" with a rating of 3/3 (3=high). I called a local Ford dealership, and was informed about this code; which doesn't identify the actual problem/issue; resulting in no specifics. On Thursday, August 20, 2015, while driving on the highway, my vehicle started to surge, and the RPM's continuously fluctuated (while the cruise was on). My vehicle then started to shake, and made a thumping/crunching noise, followed with the forward propulsion ceasing to exist. I frantically turned my fore ways on, and drifted until at a complete stop on the sholder of the highway. Again, while I physically shifted gear(s), the transmission sounded low on fluid, as if no (valid) shifting of gear(s)S and also maintained a humming noise. From the passenger seat, my 12 year old son, grabbed my hand and asked me to pray with him; pray that we'd make it home without getting hurt (our safety). Numerous times our vehicle shook tremendously when other vehicles passed by. Once home, I was still calming my son down, we both needed to sleep. That night, my son and I experienced a tramatic (nightmare like) situation. Now, Ford customers are forced upon (a) safety hazzard(s). Yes, preventable safety hazzard(s), if dealt with asap.

- Mountain Grove, MO, USA

problem #77

Aug 022015

Freestyle

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. When starting the vehicle and shifting into reverse or drive at 2 mph, the vehicle would lunge forward or backwards as the brake pedal was depressed. In addition, the check engine and the wrench warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 190,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #76

Feb 112015

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving at low speeds, the brake pedal was depressed and the engine revved. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 09/03/15 updated 3/29/2016

- Lindsay, CA, USA

problem #75

May 242014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle VIN # [xxx]. have had car for less than 2 years. Replaced brakes twice. The throttle seems to be sticking and transmission. Wrench on dash. Have two small children. Car will accelerate on own when foot is on brake. It has also jumped backwards. Concerned about this dangerous vehicle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #74

Apr 182015

Freestyle

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car accelerates...lunges...as I am about to park. I bought this car for my 16 year old to learn how to drive and so unhappy with it! last summer, only weeks after buying it, the car suddenly won't accelerate and the rpms go way up without acceleration. Wont go over 25 mph. Turn it off at grocery store, turn it on again and problem gone. Now this spring same thing but continual now. Busy downtown and car wont go over 25 mph. Wrench light on again! so unhappy. Googled the problem and multiple complaints of same thing. Why is Ford not held accountable?

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #73

Feb 042014

Freestyle

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the check engine warning lamp flashed several times and then went off. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was not able to replicate and diagnose the failure. When the vehicle was in reverse, it independently surged backwards and the contact had to quickly apply the brake pedal each time the failure occurred. The contact also stated that the vehicle hesitated numerous times upon starting and then stalled. The contact had to apply the brake pedal while at a stop due to the vehicle independently moving forward. The vehicle was not inspected and diagnosed. The contact was not able to drive the vehicle for several months due to the intermittent failures. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #72

Jan 022015

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I have not had a catastrophic incident, yet, but certain to after researching the issue I am experiencing from the cvt transmission in this vehicle. Since about January 2015, while in park or neutral, there is a loud whirring sound, similar to a helicopter. After extensive online research, it seems that most, if not all others who experienced this same issue eventually led to catastrophic failure of the transmission. I have also experienced the cold weather related issue where once drive is engaged, the check engine light and wrench light illuminate and the car just stumbles when the accelerator is depressed. Letting it run for about 10 to 15 minutes temporarily resolves the issue.

- Ringwood, NJ, USA

problem #71

Mar 022015

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 237,000 miles
When I am driving my car it will start to take off without me pushing down on the gas pedal. I am having issues when trying to put the car in reverse, the car will hesitate while driving in reverse. When putting the car in drive or reverse the car will jump.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #70

Nov 102014

Freestyle

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle independently accelerated several times without warning. The contact also stated that there was a loud noise coming from the engine each time the brake pedal was applied. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the motor mounts needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 79,000.

- Lithia Springs, GA, USA

problem #69

Oct 012014

Freestyle

  • 156,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle decreased in speed. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed but failed to respond. The vehicle was restarted and resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of failure. The approximate failure mileage was 156,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #68

Dec 052014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
With the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle will lurch forward when putting in forward gear. Vehicle stalled while driving and also when making turns in residential area. Almost hit another vehicle because the power steering went out.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #67

Jul 032013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Started making noise like a helicopter. Then it wouldn't change out of gear. It is showing the wrench and the engine light on. Will not shift to different gears at all. I have 4 grandchildren that live with me and that rely on me to get them to dr appts, school, and other places. I also have a pregnant daughter that has had to rely on other people to get to her drs appts. I am very disappointed in the quality of this car. I would not recommend this care to anyone else.

- Johnsonville, SC, USA

problem #66

Jun 152013

Freestyle

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while shifting into drive, there was a sudden increase of engine RPM's, the check engine warning light illuminated, and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was restarted and functioned normally. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #65

Jun 132014

Freestyle

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, the vehicle decelerated to 30 mph and stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle however, the speed never increased. The failure recurred intermittently only while driving on the highway. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who could not duplicate the failure. The mechanic informed the contact to continue driving the vehicle until the warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- St Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?