Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,540 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 19 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

Jun 192010

Freestyle

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that whenever she would remove her foot from the brake pedal, the vehicle would independently move forward and backward. The dealer was contacted and advised that there were no complaints related to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #56

May 132010

Freestyle

  • 76,955 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving with the air conditioner activated, the vehicle abnormally accelerated while attempting to brake. The contact stated that the failure had also occurred when in reverse. The contact attempted to stop the unintended acceleration by abruptly depressing the brakes. The vehicle then stalled. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnosis or repairs. In addition, the contact stated that he located numerous complaints via the internet pertaining to the failure of the throttle in his year, make and model. The contact stated that the manufacturer should be held liable for the repairs. The failure mileage was 76,955.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #55

Aug 272010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,397 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving at 55 mph, the vehicle started to surge forward and began to stall. A light illuminated on the instrumental panel that looked like a wrench and when she made a left turn the vehicle stalled. The contact then turned the vehicle back on and drove to her residence. This is the second time this has occurred and when it occurred the first time the dealer could not duplicate the problem. The dealer had not been contacted. The failure and the current mileage was 89397. Updated 09/28/11 the dealer replaced the air filter. Updated 10/07/11

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #54

Aug 202010

Freestyle

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Ford Freestyle surges even when pushing brake. Mainly does it when backing up but has done it on other occasions. Took to Ford dealer told throttle body is bad. After searching online I find that this is a common problem. This is dangerous because the car accelerates and surges forward or backward without warning when this happens. Was told it would cost over $600 to replace part. I have two young children and feel unsafe driving this car and feel others who own the car should be made aware of this problem.

- Flatwoods, KY, USA

problem #53

Aug 202010

Freestyle

  • 56,700 miles
I have a 2007 Ford Freestyle. My car surged forward twice almost striking kids (I was in a school parking lot), then died. A warning light popped up on the dash. Apparently it is the throttle body. I can see from websites this is a very common problem and an extreme safety issue. Ford is not standing behind this product even though my car is still under its extended warranty. Please consider a recall as this is a prevalent problem with an extreme safety risk. I am simply thankful I didn't hit any kids...

- Beverly Hills, MI, USA

problem #52

Aug 222010

Freestyle

  • 97,200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact was sitting at a complete stop with the brakes depressed when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact was able to immediately stop the acceleration by applying abrupt pressure to the brake pedal and shifting into park. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 97,200 and the current mileage was 97,251.

- Dalvell, SC, USA

problem #51

Aug 192010

Freestyle

  • 85,037 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Ford Freestyle that has been accelerating on its own. When the car is put in drive and or reverse, the car lunges out without the accelerator being pushed. At times the wrench light comes on and the car feels as though it has no power. I took the car to the mechanic on 8/20/10 and he advised me that it was the throttle body that needed replaced. I have three children and this is our family car, and at this point it feels like I am putting them in harms way when the car does this on its own. Please help!!! I know that I am not alone on this matter.

- Lemoore, CA, USA

problem #50

Jan 152009

Freestyle

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when driving at speeds as low as 10 mph or when applying the brakes at low speeds, the vehicle would abnormally accelerate. The contact would abruptly depress the brakes to stop the unintended acceleration and when doing so, the vehicle would stall. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The failure became progressively worse over time and was taken back to the dealer where he was advised that the throttle body would need replacing. The throttle body was replaced at the owners expense. The failure mileage was 33,000 and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #49

Aug 062010

Freestyle

  • 60,000 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle has had several problems this summer that appear to be occurring frequently all over the United States. Our Freestyle has just over 60,000 miles on it. A month ago, we had to replace the air compressor. Then the car began lurching and one day kept dying as the check engine light came on. Right now, it has been at the dealership for 2 weeks awaiting a throttle body sensor which is on backorder since so many of these models have this problem. Clearly Ford needs to recall this model and quickly find replacement parts for these vehicles.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #48

Aug 152010

Freestyle

  • 54,000 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle surges forward or rearward in reverse while the gas pedal is not pressed. The problems seems to be worse after the car has been idling for a few minutes. It appears to be worse if the weather is hot. While I have not had an accident I can easily envision an accident if I am not careful or someone unfamiliar with the vehicle drives it..can easily happen in a cramped parking lot....

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #47

Aug 132010

Freestyle

  • 79,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We own a 2007 Ford Freestyle with a 3L engine. We are experiencing a surging of the engine when the air conditioner is on and we are turning into tight spots such as parking spots. Today (13aug2010) I left the vehicle idling while I went inside a pizza store to buy a pizza (less than three minutes). When I returned to the vehicle and placed it in reverse to back out of our parking spot the vehicle surged in reverse and died. After restarting the engine it would not idle correctly and a wrench light on the dash board came on. The vehicle cut out as I put it in drive to move out of the driving lane and on the ride home the engine would cut out occasionally but never completely died. At home I checked the engine and noticed the top motor mount bushing was broken.

- Hixson, TN, USA

problem #46

Aug 092010

Freestyle

  • 72,096 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. When the contact approached at a traffic light, the vehicle accelerated with her foot on the brake pedal. She engaged the brakes with extreme pressure several times and was able to stop the vehicle. The failure occurred approximately five times in one day. The contact stated that she had taken the vehicle to the dealer last week and was advised that the throttle body needed to be replaced. She also stated that the part was on back order and would not be available for a couple of weeks. The dealer was notified of the failure and that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 72,096 and the current mileage was 72,101.

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #45

Aug 042010

Freestyle

  • 56,000 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle - when put in gear the car lurched forward (this happened in a school parking lot - lucky no one was hit). This also happened in reverse. Ford is replacing the throttle body at a cost to me of $780. This seems more of a safety issue similar to that of Toyota.

- St. Peters, MO, USA

problem #44

Aug 032010

Freestyle

  • 61,000 miles
We own a 2007 Ford Freestyle with 61,000 miles. We purchased this vehicle new in 2007. The car has recently developed a problem with unintended rapid acceleration which occurs without warning and can happen in forward gear or reverse. We additionally have experienced several situations where the vehicle will not accelerate normally -even with full throttle press on the accelerator. Took vehicle to local Ford dealer and they have diagnosed the problem as throttle body defect and say that it may take 3 weeks for part to be shipped. So that repair can be made. They further state that this is not going to be covered by warranty. This erratic behavior of the vehicle is a safety hazard to the driver and the public since it appears to occur without any warning.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #43

Aug 052010

Freestyle

  • 47,000 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle.... I was setting at a stop sign with my foot on the brake and just as I was easing my foot off the brake to pull out the gas surged and put me in the middle of the road and the car died. It was not a major road and with quick thinking I geared to park turned the key off and started it back up and pulled over into a parking lot while setting in the parking lot it done the same thing. If this had been my wife or son or daughter driving this could have been a deadly event. Similar events are posted all over the internet and something needs to be done this is a serious situation and needs to be addressed promptly.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #42

Jul 252010

Freestyle

  • 53,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact was driving in reverse approximately 3 mph and the engine stalled without warning. The engine restarted with a warning symbol illumination of a "wrench" displayed on the instrument panel. The warning symbol remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle resumed operation in poor performance. Also, an unintended surge would occur without warning. The failure occurrences were intermittent. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technician informed that the throttle body was defective. The part was unavailable and on a back order. The repair cost was $700. The contact stated that the throttle body was not covered under the "power train" warranty and that he would be responsible for the repair expense. The failure mileage was 53,500. The VIN was unavailable.

- Sweetwater, TN, USA

problem #41

Aug 032010

Freestyle

  • 47,300 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle: Life safety issue - several times the vehicle has lunged when backing up or pulling into a parking space, driveway, garage, etc. My foot was not on the accelerator, but on the brake (fortunately). As soon as this happens the fail safe light (wrench light) comes on the dash. You can turn the engine off and back on and the wrench light goes off and the car seems to run fine. Yesterday, the car lunged while backing up and also when my wife stopped at a stop sign. It ran normal for about 5 miles, she pulled over because the service wrench light was on and when she pulled out again, the car had no power. She limped along for a mile or so and pulled off again. Turned the engine off and back on and the car ran fine. I have looked on the internet and talked to my local Ford dealer. My dealer has said that it is a throttle body problem and the part would have to be replaced and that it is also a software problem. The internet has numerous forums with other people having the same problem. It is my opinion that this is a true life safety issue. The car cannot be controlled and you have to jam on the brake to keep from hitting someone or something. This happens at least once every couple of weeks and seems to be happening more often. My wife is beginning to be afraid to drive the car with our two children with her. Please look into this issue.

- Elk Park , NC, USA

problem #40

Jul 242010

Freestyle

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While the contact was driving into a parking space approximately 5 mph, the brake pedal was applied with an unexpected surged. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. In addition, there was a delay response during acceleration. The occurrence was sporadic. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician informed that the throttle body was defective and would need to be replaced at an estimated cost of $1,000. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #39

Jul 112010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle would abnormally accelerate. The failure would occur more frequently when shifting into reverse. The vehicle would stall whenever the failure would occur. The dealer advised there was a wire in the computer that would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle would have to be diagnosed by the dealer bore they would make a determination if they would assist with repairs. The current and failure mileages were approximately 57,000. Updated 10/13/2010. The throttle body was replaced. Updated 10/19/10

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #38

Dec 172008

Freestyle

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the fuel level indicator would not display the amount of gasoline in the vehicle. The dealer advised the fuel transponder was defective and replaced the part. The contact stated the failure continuously recurred and the dealer replaced the transponder three times but to no avail. In addition, the contact stated when first starting the vehicle, there would be an unusual increase in engine rpms and the vehicle would abnormally accelerate forward or in reverse depending on what gear the contact would have the vehicle in. The dealer did not believe the vehicle was displaying the failure the contact described. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated the unintended acceleration failure would occur more frequently when the air conditioner was active. The air conditioner became inoperable. The vehicle was neither repaired nor diagnosed for the failure. The manufacturer would not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 32,000 and the current mileage was approximately 77,000.

- Mason , TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?