Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,540 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 18 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #77

May 132011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Ford Freestyle seems to lurch forward while idling. It has happened on several occasions with the most recent occurrence also including the engine just shutting off by itself. It lurches uncontrollably and I'm afraid it may hit another car in front of me.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #76

Aug 012010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 a Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would surge forward while the heating system was activated. The dealer advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer advised the contact that there were no related recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 78,522 and the failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 6/8/11 the consumer stated when the defroster or air conditioning system was in use, after idling or stopped, the vehicle would surge forward without her foot on being on the accelerator pedal. The consumer stated when she placed the vehicle in reverse, it would surge backward and then stall. Updated 06/21/11

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #75

Mar 052011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated occasionally when the vehicle was idle or it moved slowly, the rpms would increase and it would lunge forward. The vehicle was not inspected. The failure was 81,000 and the current mileage was 84,549. Updated 07/08/11 updated 07/18/11

- Corbin, KY, USA

problem #74

May 022011

Freestyle

  • 68,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Ford Freestyle would accelerate on its own. Maybe 2-5 mph and you would need to brake immediately (scary). I took it to a Ford distributorship (loganville Ford, 3460 highway 78, loganville, ga 30052, 770 554-9994 to get the acceleration fixed. A Mr. Jason correll said that he was unaware of any acceleration in the Ford Freestyle and it was my problem not Ford's I called the regional office of Ford and was told the same--no known problems. They said they would file a report, but would not help me on the repair. On May 26, 2010, I went back to the dealer and paid $1,056.89 to get the problem fixed. They replaced the throttle body assy. The car has worked fine since.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #73

May 012009

Freestyle

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. When attempting to start the vehicle, she noticed that the vehicle would surge forward or in reverse intermittently depending on what gear the vehicle was in. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and she was informed to deactivate the heating system when attempting to idle the vehicle. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current mileage was 67,371. The failure mileage was approximately 37,000.

- Wayland, MA, USA

problem #72

May 012010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when the temperature where he resided was warm and the air conditioner activated, the vehicle would surge forward forcing him to apply extreme pressure to the brake pedal. The dealer was unaware of the failure. The manufacturer referred the contact to NHTSA to file a complaint. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 89,300. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 06/16/11 the consumer also stated as he was about to park the vehicle, it suddenly surged forward. Updated 06/233/11

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #71

May 232009

Freestyle

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when the vehicle was idle it responded as if it were going to lunge forward. He quickly depressed the brake pedal to stop the vehicle from accelerating. The failure occurred seven times. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage was approximately 61,500. The failure mileage was approximately 26,000.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #70

Jan 152011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle is surging forward on its own and stalling in traffic. I have had the car surge forward with pedestrians close by. I have told by a mechanic that it will cost around $600. The mechanic told me that he has changed so many of these and totally agrees that Ford should step up and recall this defect in their car.

- Texas, TX, USA

problem #69

Jun 152010

Freestyle

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while the vehicle was idle or she was driving in reverse it lunged forward. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 80,000.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #68

Dec 182010

Freestyle

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving approximately 50 mph approaching a light to make a turn, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle had to be turned off and back on in order for it to be driven. The failure occurred three times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the technician stated the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 81,000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #67

Nov 032010

Freestyle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electrical throttle box would force the vehicle to jolt forward or backward, when applying the braking system.

- Lemon Grove, CA, USA

problem #66

Sep 102010

Freestyle

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that a check charging system light illuminated on the instrument panel. Also, when she shifted into gear, the vehicle would jolt forward or backward. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the electrical throttle box and motor mount were replaced. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 47,000. The failure mileage was approximately 46,000.

- North Caldwell, NJ, USA

problem #65

Jun 012010

Freestyle

  • miles
I noticed that my car began to have a mind of its own, it wanted to accelerate when I had my foot on the brake. More noticeably at a drive-thru when the vehicle would be at a stop and would lunge forward harshly as if I had hit accelerator, I would have to slam on the brake to make it stop. Have almost hit vehicle in front of me on occasion - thank goodness nobody was walking in front of me. The lunge was as if I had hit the gas pedal. This problem continually got worse and it seemed having the A/C on was a factor. I say that because I noticed the problem a time or two at the end of the summer in 09 and it went away until the summer of 10. Also noticed when backing up sometimes the vehicle would just abruptly cut off. I carried the vehicle to the local Ford dealer and they quickly diagnosed a problem with the throttle body and apparently I wasn't the first! the part was on back order for weeks (says alot in itself). Thank god I purchased the extended warranty, otherwise this would have cost close to $1,000 for repair and car rental. Had it not been for that I guess I would have continued to drive an unsafe vehicle because I didn't have $1,000 for the repair. This makes me wonder how many cases are out there like mine and aren't being repaired because it is not affordable. This is a huge danger and I hope Ford will recall before someone is seriously injured! I did investigate my problem on-line after its diagnosis and found that there are a great deal of people complaining. This is a problem - fortunately it appears to be from a stop and not at a high speed like the Toyota problem. None the less still a danger! I notice that this form asks about fire/damage/crash/death or injuries - please encourage Ford to address this before anyone has to answer yes.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #64

Jun 122010

Freestyle

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while the vehicle was idle with the air conditioner activated, the vehicle would surge forward while the brakes are applied. The failure would only occur with the air conditioner activated. The contact stated he located several complaints similar to the failure. The dealer advised the contact that the throttle body would need to be replaced. The contact believed the manufacturer should take the liability for the failure due to the safety risk involved. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Piney Flats , TN, USA

problem #63

May 102009

Freestyle

  • 76,244 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While stopped at a traffic light, the vehicle accelerated and then stalled. She engaged the brakes with extreme force and the vehicle stopped. The contact stated that the vehicle restarts as normal after stalling. The failure happened at least 10 to 15 times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The dealer replaced the throttle body in June 2009. The contact stated that now she was experiencing the failure again. The vehicle had not been repaired for the current failure. The contact does not feel safe driving the vehicle. The failure mileage was 76,244 and the current mileage was 115,397.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #62

Jun 162010

Freestyle

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when stopping the vehicle with the brake depressed, the vehicle would lunged forward. The vehicle was taken to the mechanic shop and after inspection she was told it was the throttle body that needed to be replaced. The dealer was contacted and she was informed that the throttle body replacement are on back order and she will receive a call back when the parts arrived. The manufacturer was not contacted. VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 73,000.

- Braintree, MA, USA

problem #61

Aug 262010

Freestyle

  • 46,700 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving approximately 2 mph the vehicle momentarily surged forward before the vehicle stopped itself. The failure recurred intermittently but the vehicle was never taken to be examined for the cause of failure and it was not repaired. The failure mileage was 46,700 and the current mileage was 47,600.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #60

Aug 152010

Freestyle

  • 71,358 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact was attempting to park the vehicle with the brakes depressed when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The dealer replaced the throttle at the contact's expense. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was 71,358.

- Harrison, OH, USA

problem #59

Oct 112009

Freestyle

  • 56,000 miles
Our 2007 Ford Freestyle accelerates suddenly; this behavior is worse when the A/C is on and the car is in reverse. The feeling is of flooring the accelerator; if it had not been for me already having my foot on the brake, I would have had a collision with the car behind me.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #58

Jul 282009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle sel. While driving approximately 60 mph the vehicles check engine light illuminated on the dashboard and the vehicle lost power. He pulled over to the side of the road and waited 1 minute and the vehicle restarted as normal. He also stated when he engaged the brakes the vehicle moved forward. The failure occurred daily. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the throttle body assembly needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage is 48,000. Updated 12/22/10 updated 12/30/10

- Rancho Cucamomga, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?