Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,540 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 21)

problem #417

Jul 132016

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,358 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving at a low speed, the vehicle shook while making a turn and stalled. The failure usually occurred when the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle was able to restart and was taken to a mechanic who diagnosed that the electronic throttle body failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN and failure mileage were not available.... updated 08/23/16

- Harpwell, GA, USA

problem #416

Jul 202016

Freestyle

  • 181,087 miles
Vehicle accelerates (surges) when stopped, especially when parking or reversing.

- Marietta, MS, USA

problem #415

Jul 072016

Freestyle

  • miles
Having vehicle surging and stalling when decrease speed - found your action number PE11018 that describes my issue. Never received a letter from Ford sent in 2012 that issues a free fix for this. We have been at current address 20+ years. Fix is to 150K miles and we are at 156K - Ford is refusing to fix. Please help as it is a danger to my family to be driving this vehicle and I would have never known about the "recall" if not for a Ford forum when I was researching the issue.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #414

May 302016

Freestyle

  • 138,836 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced unintended acceleration when the brake pedal was depressed. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 138,836.

- Hermiston, OR, USA

problem #413

May 272016

Freestyle

  • 141,404 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. When the contact released the brake pedal while at a stop, the vehicle accelerated uncontrollably. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 141,404.

- 7700 Hidden Hollow Drive, FL, USA

problem #412

Apr 282016

Freestyle

  • 3 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle cuts off repeatedly after almost every red light stop. I saw a lot of complaints about this matter with different Ford Freestyles and no one seems to know the cause. Mainly anytime I apply the brakes the cut shuts off and puts myself and family in life- threatening situations. Also, the vehicle idles high while my feet on on the breaks.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #411

Mar 152016

Freestyle

  • 156,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle was accelerating independently without warning. In addition, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The failures recurred various times. The vehicle was taken to independent mechanic where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 156,000.

- Gibsonton, FL, USA

problem #410

Jan 302016

Freestyle

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving approximately 30 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate past 2 mph. The check engine warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was previously repaired under a manufacturer's recall; however, the remedy failed to prevent the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 102,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #409

Jun 042010

Freestyle

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle began to accelerate without the accelerator pedal being depressed. While the air conditioner was activated, the vehicle accelerated without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body and the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure was persistent. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #408

May 152015

Freestyle

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle violently jerked forward. In addition, when the vehicle was placed into park, it independently lunged forward. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA action number: PE11018 (vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #407

Apr 152015

Freestyle

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

April 2015, my vehicle started making knocking/grinding/ticking noises once it was started. Sometimes the transmission would fail to shift into gear(s). I prodeeded to physically move my shifter into gear(s) a few times. The transmission then shifted into gear(s), making a hard "clunk" sound. Sounding like the transmission had 'dropped' into gear; as if it had a low trasmission fluid level. Mind you, recently, a local shop changed my oil and all fluids were checked and refilled if needed. The shop informed me about code P0942, because they had never seen this code before in their life! engine-codes.com states: "P0942 - hydraulic pressure unit" with a rating of 3/3 (3=high). I called a local Ford dealership, and was informed about this code; which doesn't identify the actual problem/issue; resulting in no specifics. On Thursday, August 20, 2015, while driving on the highway, my vehicle started to surge, and the RPM's continuously fluctuated (while the cruise was on). My vehicle then started to shake, and made a thumping/crunching noise, followed with the forward propulsion ceasing to exist. I frantically turned my fore ways on, and drifted until at a complete stop on the sholder of the highway. Again, while I physically shifted gear(s), the transmission sounded low on fluid, as if no (valid) shifting of gear(s)S and also maintained a humming noise. From the passenger seat, my 12 year old son, grabbed my hand and asked me to pray with him; pray that we'd make it home without getting hurt (our safety). Numerous times our vehicle shook tremendously when other vehicles passed by. Once home, I was still calming my son down, we both needed to sleep. That night, my son and I experienced a tramatic (nightmare like) situation. Now, Ford customers are forced upon (a) safety hazzard(s). Yes, preventable safety hazzard(s), if dealt with asap.

- Mountain Grove, MO, USA

problem #406

Apr 172015

Freestyle

  • 145,265 miles
I have 2007 Ford Freestyle, on multiple occasions when you have the brake pressed waiting to back up or start forward the car surges and lunges forward like it's trying to go on it's own. We have had the throttle system cleaned and it helped for a little bit now it's getting worse. And recently it does the lunging surge then the wrench light comes on and the car loses all power and cuts off, you have to put it in gear, restart the car and try again. I'm scared with the surging that I'm going to get in a accident. Ford says it's not a recall and they investigated and don't know the cause.

- Clanton, AL, USA

problem #405

Mar 202015

Freestyle

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. While at a stop, the vehicle independently lunged forward while the brake pedal was engaged. Upon depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle was slow to respond and then suddenly the rpms raced to pick up speed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #404

May 242014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle VIN # [xxx]. have had car for less than 2 years. Replaced brakes twice. The throttle seems to be sticking and transmission. Wrench on dash. Have two small children. Car will accelerate on own when foot is on brake. It has also jumped backwards. Concerned about this dangerous vehicle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #403

Feb 042014

Freestyle

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the check engine warning lamp flashed several times and then went off. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was not able to replicate and diagnose the failure. When the vehicle was in reverse, it independently surged backwards and the contact had to quickly apply the brake pedal each time the failure occurred. The contact also stated that the vehicle hesitated numerous times upon starting and then stalled. The contact had to apply the brake pedal while at a stop due to the vehicle independently moving forward. The vehicle was not inspected and diagnosed. The contact was not able to drive the vehicle for several months due to the intermittent failures. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #402

Apr 022015

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle 01/20/15 from a used lot in raleigh nc, 'something you should never do in the first place''. I had just got off maternity leave and I needed a car so I could be able to get to work. On the 4th of April 2015. I was driving the car on the highway when it started to jerk back and make a very loud roaring sound. The car started to slow down and jerk back and forth if you went over 20 miles per hour. I pulled over to check the car and I could not figure out what was wrong with it so I called my husband and he came. The car could still drive but very slowly while making the same sound so he drove very slowly behind me. Keep in mind I had my two month old in the back seat when all of this craziness was happening. Next day I couldn't even drive the car because of the poor condition it was in. When we took it to a specialized mechanic for this cvt transmission it has, they notified us after waiting four to five hours to replace this unique engine it would cost $4-$6,000 dollars. That is insane to have to replace the entire transmission after only having it for two months and to replace it because ''Ford'' is too cheap and inconsiderate to not recall this piece of crap of a car. How can Ford ignore this issue that it is causing world wide. It is not just one or two minor issues it is the entire transmission that needs to be replaced. Wake up Ford!! this is a terrible vehicle to sell to the american people!! I wouldn't even sale this vehicle in foreign countries!! my advice to anyone is to never ever buy any Ford vehicles!! this was a nightmare!!

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #401

Mar 242015

Freestyle

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle surged forward and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The contact mentioned that the passenger seated in the rear seat sustained injuries to the shoulders, but did not require medical attention. A police report was filed. The contact stated that the failure occurred twice before. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- South Pittsburgh, TN, USA

problem #400

Nov 102014

Freestyle

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle independently accelerated several times without warning. The contact also stated that there was a loud noise coming from the engine each time the brake pedal was applied. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the motor mounts needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 79,000.

- Lithia Springs, GA, USA

problem #399

Jun 092014

Freestyle

  • 155,000 miles
I was driving out of the driveway and onto a somewhat busy street. As I attempted to accelerate, I noticed I could not go any faster than about 10 mph despite being in a zone of approximately 35 mph. After traveling less than a mile at this speed, I turned around and return the car to the driveway. I then proceeded to have it towed to a repair shop, who reported this was a transmission issue. This repair shop asked for our permission to tow the vehicle to another shop who specializes in transmission issues. We agreed then later received word that the transmission was "shot" and the cost to repair would be in the area of approximately $4,500. When I looked up the value of the car on line, it was showing it's running value of approximately the same amount. The transmission repair shop stated that they were told by a local Ford dealer that the models of 2005 through 2007 Ford Freestyle's cvt type of transmission was the cause of the problem. They were also told that Ford didn't have sufficient inventory of parts to repair the transmission, and by the way there was no recall notice out on them since parts weren't available. I am now stuck with a car that will not run, nor can I sell or trade in as it has little to no value at this time. Ford needs to step up and take responsibility for this faulty designed cvt transmission's.

- Brandon, MS, USA

problem #398

Jul 272014

Freestyle

  • 127,000 miles
So I used to have problems with the RPM surge in my car then a customer satisfaction program (csp) came out and I had the throttle body deposits cleaned as per the csp12N03 in April of 2013. I have not had any issues until July 2014. Major issue- I was on the interstate on July 27th and my car began decelerating really quickly. The wrench light came on during this deceleration and I had to come to a stop in the V where cars are merging onto the interstate. I had to stop because my car slowed so drastically that I would have not made it to the shoulder of the road and would have gotten hit by another motorist. When I came to a stop my car was actually still running, I manually turned the car off. After I sat for a moment, I decided I would see if my car would crank. The car cranked and died and finally stayed cranked, I decided to try to move the car. The wrench light was no longer on and the car did exactly what a normal car would do. I was able to get up to speed and exit and drive the rest of the way home. I took it for diagnostics, the Ford dealership where I live say that it is the throttle body (the part that had a csp on it). I do not feel that I should have to pay 1000 dollars or more to have a faulty part replaced. Obviously something is wrong with this otherwise Ford would not have had the part cleaned. I would like for Ford to replace the part on my car and anyone else's vehicles that is having the throttle issues. Even though after some of the parts have been replaced, the issue starts again. I noticed that some of the investigations into Ford throttle issues include years 2009 and newer for that limp mode thing, however, my car is a 2007 and totally did the decelerating on the interstate. It was very frightening and I would like this issue to become a recall for a replacement. I called Ford and filed a complaint today, 9/15/2014.

- Crane Hill, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?