Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,444 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jul 292016

Fusion Hybrid

  • 58,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

July 29, 2016 driving home from work I was driving uphill when I noticed the car losing power, no amount of pushing down on the accelerator made a difference. The car did not stall but it could not gain momentum. The service engine light came on. I had to stop in the right lane because there was no shoulder and the engine had started making a very loud/rough sound. I waited 5 min and started the car again. Everything looked fine, the indicator light had cleared and engine sounded normal. I drove the rest of the way home without incident. Over the weekend the car operated normally. On Monday 8/1/2016 on my way to work the problem started again. The car remained operational but couldn't go more than 20-30 mph. The hybrid battery would drain very quickly and the regeneration motor ran constantly and sometime very rough. I managed to drive it to my mechanic. His diagnostic report showed a P2112 code (throttle body stuck closed). He proposed cleaning the valve as a first step but he didn't think that would fix the problem. We tried that but two days later the problem came back. My mechanic advised that while he could replace the etb, he was not equipped to calibrate it and that only Ford could do this work. He also told me that while researching the problem he'd come across information that my problem might be covered by an extended warranty. I called Ford about the extended warranty and they told me that hybrids are not covered by the warranty. It seems to me that NHTSA dropped the ball on this if the same problem is happening to hybrid owners as is to non-hybrid owners for vehicle models of the same years. My vehicle had about 58,700 miles when trouble started. No one I spoke to at Ford could tell me why hybrids are not covered by the etb extended warranty. Seems to me NHTSA needs to re-open their investigation on this issue!

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #24

Jun 302016

Fusion Hybrid

  • 114,459 miles
Throttle body failed. While in motion on divided 45 mph road, car would not accelerate. Max speed 45 going down hill. Found throttle body failed.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #23

Jun 112016

Fusion Hybrid

  • 70,000 miles
I was driving the car about 60 mph on the highway when I saw a big red triangle on the display saying "pull over and stop safely" and the car slowed down dramatically. I did that and turned off the engine. I restarted the car. This occurred 8 more times before I got home (15 miles later). When I got home, I noticed that the car's fan was running very high for several minutes. It finally stopped.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #22

Jan 112016

Fusion Hybrid

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving in traffic on a city street while traveling about 30 mph the check engine light was on and a warning message to "stop safely now" appeared on the dash. Immediately, the car stopped accelerating. I still had power - lights, radio, heater - but could not accelerate and the car just coasted. I turned the key off and was able to restart the car, the warning was gone and then go about 5 car lengths before getting the warning again. I drove home (about 4 miles) and had to restart, coast and stop about 7 times. I was driving on a road where the speed limit is 35 mph, made it home and continued to drive around in my neighborhood where there was no traffic, to see if it would continue. It happened 2 more times. Put the car in the garage and called webb Ford in highland, in the next day. Was able to drive the car 8 miles to the dealership with no incident. The car is there now. Had I been driving on the interstate, in the left hand lane I could have been killed. I purchased this car used in June of 2015 with 79,900 miles on it and have had no problems until now. It has approx 86,000 miles on it at this time. I love this car but now am afraid to drive it. Have there been any reports of similar incidents? it is a hybrid and I have not seen any recalls.

- Lansing, IL, USA

problem #21

Nov 042015

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • miles
Hi I got an email telling me about my older car (2010 Ford Fusion SE) which has a recall for my current car (2010 Ford Fusion hybrid) doesn't have the same recall but its the same wondering why" Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain model year 2010-2011 Ford Fusion vehicles manufactured July 21, 2008, to March 4, 2011, and 2010-2011 Mercury Milan vehicles manufactured July 23, 2008, to December 10, 2010. The affected vehicles have fuel vapor canisters whose purge valves may not operate properly resulting in abnormal pressure changes in the fuel tank."

- New Carlisle, IN, USA

problem #20

Nov 032015

Fusion Hybrid

  • 55,000 miles
Vehicle looses all throttle randomly while moving (has happened on freeway, street, uphill, downhill and while turning). The wrench indicator dash light comes on. Vehicle must be powered off and then on again to regain throttle. Sometimes multiple restarts are necessary to regain throttle. Obd code 2112 $07E8 throttle actuator control system stuck closed.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 252015

Fusion Hybrid

  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been requesting information from Ford about the recently announced cracking gas canister recall affecting my model vehicle without success. Media reports the recall includes 2010 vehicles made in hermosillo, Mexico. Ford did tell me that mine was manufactured there at the end of February 2010 and did say that mine was not included, but will not tell me what percentage of the vehicles built there during February and March 2010 are included in the recall. I have been corresponding with them via email for several weeks now and they continually evade answering my concern. The company's last message said the information I am requesting is not available. It is surprising to be told by a modern manufacturing facility like Ford that it does not know how many units it manufactured during a given period of time at a specific facility. Why would they refuse to provide such information unless it would reveal that all the vehicles built at hermosillo in February and March 2010 contain the defect? this is especially troubling to me because it involves a fuel issue and puts one in mind of the corvair situation.

- Rockland, ME, USA

problem #18

Jul 302015

Fusion Hybrid

  • 125,000 miles
Driving at highway speeds, normal operation, in sunny conditions when I lost acceleration ability and was only able to coast. The yellow wrench indicator came on (no check engine light). I was fortunate enough to move to the should safely since there was limited traffic on the highway and I was driving in the right lane. I cycled the car off and on and was able to resume normal operation. This same situation happened twice more in city driving before I could get into the dealer for an appointment. Eventually the dealer evaluated the vehicle and replaced the electronic throttle body.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #17

Apr 132015

Fusion Hybrid

  • 39,000 miles
First time, check engine light came on when driving on highway but no apparent impact to car's functioning. Took it to the dealer. They said that the surge valve needed to be replaced at a cost of $500 "to start with", but they didn't seem very sure about it so I chose not to proceed. The check engine light had gone back off and the car was driving fine. About two weeks later on a Saturday I was driving on the highway again, at about 65 mph, when the car seemed to lose acceleration. Standing on gas pedal produced no result. Exited and was able to drive on battery power to pull over. After waiting for about 30 minutes, tried again. Check engine light was back off and car drove normally back home. Took to my regular mechanic first thing that Monday. They found oil in the intake manifold and questioned whether I had taken the car anywhere unusual for servicing, which I had not, unless you count the dealer. Did repairs at a cost of $2000. One week later, exact same thing. Car is back in shop, awaiting results.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #16

Oct 042014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 45,000 miles
After approx. 25 miles of driving at 70 mph, vehicle had sudden loss of power and dash displayed a red triangle warning to safely pull over now. After doing so and re-starting the car, the warning disappeared and vehicle was able to return to freeway speeds for a few miles before problem returned. While red triangle warning is displayed, vehicle is unable to maintain speeds greater than 35 mph (aka "limp-home mode"). this appears to be a problem with the electronic throttle body and a consumer satisfaction program exists for the 2010 Ford Fusion but not the hybrid model. Repairs seem to run about $400-$600 and may be difficult to diagnose unless the red triangle or yellow wrench icon is displayed during diagnosis. Problem re-appears intermittently but seems less likely to occur at city speeds.

- Roy, UT, USA

problem #15

Aug 172014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 62,850 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The wrench light came on and after taking it in to the dealer I was advised that it was the throttle body and motor assembly. The dealer advised that if I didn't replace the part the engine could stop at some unknown time in the future. He also advised that Ford had a lot of problems with this part and that a recall had been done for this part for other Ford vehicles but not yet for the Ford Fusion. He advised to keep the bill just in case there was a future recall. When the dealer is telling you that multiple problems are coming from this specific part I think there should probably be an investigation of this matter.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #14

Sep 062014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
My hybrid experienced loss of power on 2 occasions.1st was at approximately 33,000 mi on Sep 6, 2014. Driving 35mph on a parkway wrenches appeared on the dashboard display & then sudden & immediate loss of power followed.no response to full accelerator push. Motor power shut down & only electric power allowed us to limp off the road, headed uphill at max speed of 10 mph. Vehicle taken to dealer who could not replicate the conditions or "get it to act up" in the week+ a half the car was there.odometer reading shows 700 mi put on presumably in effort to make diagnosis.their suggestion was to pick up the vehicle since no diagnosis could be made, despite our protest that the car was unsafe to drive.called Ford cust.relationship ctr 800# on sep15 to seek assistance.case was opened but no action taken.they concurred with dealer that no repairs were to be made without diagnosis.again, we voiced concern that the car was unsafe.dealer suspected throttle body issue but without diagnosis insist that repairs would be at our cost $400-$500. 2nd occurrence was Oct 2 2014.while driving in traffic experienced immed & sudden loss of power, no response to acceleration attempts, electric powered limp off uphill road at max speed of 10 mph.was advised by dealer not to attempt starting the car once it died in effort to maintain error report in system. We adhered to this advice and had vehicle towed to dealer a 2nd time without starting it. Dealer was at the ready with the phrase "throttle body" and asked if we had received any letters in regards to such.vehicle was diagnosed as having carbon buildup that caused throttle body to short out. Repairs made at our expense $709.numerous complaints are documented on the NHTSA website of throttle body issues! hybrid owners have reported as well. Owners who have had to pay for repairs of defective parts out of their own pocket deserve compensation by Ford.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #13

Oct 182014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Car lost power while traveling down the highway. Car was towed to the dealer, who has told me the throttle body needs to be replaced. This will cost me roughly $500. The throttle body issue is well documented. It has been investigated by the NHTSA (action number PE13003). Ford doesn't want to call it a recall and the NHTSA does not call it a recall. Ford has agreed to fix about 1.6 million cars under "consumer satisfaction program" 13N03. Unfortunately for me, the consumer satisfaction program is VIN specific. While many 2010 Ford Fusion are covered, my vehicle is not.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #12

Oct 012014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 595,000 miles
Ford hybrid would not accelerate. It did not go above 30 mph in heavy traffic. I was lucky a Ford dealer was nearby. It was dangerous crossing a major intersection. Service department said it was the electronic throttle body. NHTSA is aware of this problem but allowed Ford to limit their recall to a limited customer satisfaction program. The problem may not present itself for many miles. My car is beyond warranty and I called Ford. They said I was not covered in their limited program because my car was made at a plant where they claim no problems exist. I asked if the part was made at the plant. Ford cs declined to assist me. I was responsible for the cost of repair. The money is not important. My wife was driving and she was put in a precarious position on the highway. This seems to be the response of automakers. I suffered through the 2007 Toyota Camry lies and bought this Ford. In the minds of automakers, I suppose they would say it is just my bad luck. Toyota lied, Ford evaded their responsibility.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #11

Sep 172014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 51,274 miles
Vehicle wrench indicator lit while driving three times during this week. Dealer said they were unable to find any fault. I drove the car an additional 30 miles and the wrench light came on again, at which time I had to limp to the dealer with a maximum speed of 40 mph. This is a safety hazard and should be a recall by Ford. This is a common problem for Ford Fusion and Ford has issued a recall for most Fusion models except hybrid electric vehicles. A motor is still a motor and this problem is a safety hazard and needs to be addressed. This was covered under our vehicles esp extended warranty program at a deductible cost of $100. Most people would not react well to having their vehicles stall out when driving at interstate speeds and be limited (while accelerator floored) to 40 mph. Dealer stated that they replace a lot of the throttle body component very often. The cost of this is usually, $500-$600.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #10

Sep 062014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 64,819 miles
Engine cut off and the car entered in to safe mode (battery only drive system). Took it to dealership and they said the throttle body needs replacing. It seems to be a common defect. So much so that Ford issued a selective recall, but mine isn't included for some reason. Dealer claims they have replaced a lot of them.

- Ashland, VA, USA

problem #9

Jun 302014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 84,500 miles
I was driving at about 65 mph and the wrench light came on and the car would not accelerate at all if I slowed down. When I slowed down to take a turn the car would still not accelerate. I took it to a Ford dealership which I have an extended warranty on and they indicate it is not included since the part is considered an emissions control part.

- Bastrop, TX, USA

problem #8

Feb 072014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 36,001 miles
My car warranty expired in late December 2013. In January I had an instance involving engine lights (wrenches on dash) illuminated as I was driving in the 54-60 mph range. Power was reduced and the vehicle slowed down but could still move at about 30-35 mph. After turning off the car it later resumed normal operation with the exception that I noticed lower mpg. When I first got the car 41 mpg was the best I could get while driving to maximize mpg. Through the years mpg went down to 37, stabilized, and then in recent months 35, then 30, etc. I had to pay $460 to my local Ford dealer to replace the throttle body and to reprogram the computer. In light of all the problems experienced by Ford vehicles with these throttle bodies, I believe Ford should pay for this repair, especially since the bumper to bumper warranty coverage "timed out" (I.e. before the 36,000 mileage was exceeded) in late December 2013. I had a similar experience with VW around 2002 when a heater core in a passat (note I live in Florida) went bad a few thousand miles after the bumper to bumper warranty expired. VW showed goodwill and paid the cost of the repair. Ford should do the same.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #7

Jan 312014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 19,300 miles
Monday, Jan. 27 - power suddenly gave out when accelerating on freeway. Service wrench had been on earlier that day but had gone off. Dixon Ford told us it was ok to drive. I was in left lane and had to cross 5 lanes to get to median. Took it in to walnut creek Ford and they "re-flashed it", saying no concern was present at the time. They gave the dangerous car back to us fri, Jan 31st 130 miles driven in 2nd lane (one from carpool lane) at 65 mph accel lightly suddenly, car¿'s gas gave out, like before the road curved to right. Try to steer car right to follow lane as car decel noticed that steering not responding, even to strongest inputs (almost like locked, like car was off) tried to hit brakes, but pedal sank to floor no response regardless of pressure. Kept pressure but car did not slow began to drift passenger grabbed wheel also and tried to pull right. Gradually started to go right, but with extreme force applied. After force, wheel at most 5 degrees turn emergency brake to slow (not stop) steering corrections could not sufficiently turn car so car slammed into concrete median at 50 mph tightened emergency brake and continued to pull on the wheel slid along median as car screeched car finally stopped on the left side of freeway gear selector locked in drive turned off the engine while the selector was still in park. Responding chp officer K. alleman asked us to drive car to the other side of the freeway could not start car. Turned key 3 times but car refused to respond. Getting very hot in the car, just like mon, prob 95º -100º ambient temp again when ext. Temp. 58º finally able to select neutral and release parking brake. Car did not start pax&I had to pull hard to get wheel to turn at all incident report #[xxx] officer confirmed brakes, steering, and power were all gone. Details in rept. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #6

Sep 202013

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 107,543 miles
Vehicle suddenly lost power and was unresponsive. Dashboard indicated "double wrench" warning. Upon coasting to the side of the road, vehicle was able to be reactivated and drove normally from this point.

- Ludington, MI, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?