Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,150 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Mustang engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Mustang Owner Comments

problem #6

Mar 072007

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 7 March 2007, while driving down the highway at speed limit of 55, my 2005 Ford Mustang accelerated to over 100 mph. The gas pedal was all the way to the floor. I had to put the vehicle in neutral and find a place to pull over. I held my foot on the brake to try to slow down, but this only caused the vehicle to fishtail. I finally made it to a gravel driveway and put it in park, but the accelerator stayed on the floor causing my tire to spin throwing gravel and then they began to smoke. I killed the engine and had to call roadside assistance to be towed to the local dealer. Accelerator never lifted back to normal position. Car is currently being checked at the Ford dealership.

- Mcalester, OK, USA

problem #5

Jan 022006

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,050 miles
On December 30, 2005, my daughter (age 17) was preparing to stop for a red light, as she hit the brakes, she stated: "the car accelerated (full throttle), and would not stop. She called us by phone (crying) and reported the incident. We asked if she was ok and whether she could drive the car. She said yes. She drove the car back home (approximately 3 miles) where we (father and mother) questioned her about the incident. She stated: "she was driving about 50 mph and when she applied the brakes the car accelerated. I was unable to stop and went through a red light". at this point, my wife and I believed she somehow hit both the brake and accelerator pedals simultaneously. She stated emphatically, this was not the case and she would never drive the vehicle again. On Monday January 2nd, at approximately 3:00 pm, I was driving the subject vehicle when the accelerator stuck full throttle. I pressed the brakes as hard as I could but the car continued to accelerate until I turned the ignition to the off position. I was in the center lane of the highway. I restarted the car (for fear of being run over by on-coming traffic, raining, decreased visibility), placed my foot on the brake, placed the car in gear to gather momentum, turned off the ignition, and rolled into a parking lot. The throttle remained open. I contacted Ford who picked up the vehicle. Team Ford could not find anything wrong with the vehicle and wanted to return the car. I refused to accept the car for the following reasons: - car failed in full-throttle position (fail-safe position should have been no-throttle) - error codes did not identify this condition - (Ford had not included this in their failure modes analysis) - replacement parts may have the same problem - - needed assurances from Ford in writing that the root cause to this problem had been identified and corrected. Ford corporate is sending an engineer to inspect the vehicle.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #4

Jul 062005

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,600 miles
I purchased a 2005 Mustang on June 17, 2005. On July 6, 2005, while in traffic I noticed in stop and go traffic the car was accelerating when it should have been decelerating. I actually smelled rubber burning from the tires that were still moving although the break was pressed. When I began to accelerate, the car acted as if it was in neutral and would not move for approximately 4 to 5 seconds, but the engine reveled up high then the car jerked and accelerated on its own. On July 8, 2005 while stopping at a stop sign the car accelerated when it should have decelerated causing the tires to continue to turn, once again I smelled the rubber burning from the tire. On June 11, 2005, car accelerated when stopping. I took the car in to automax Ford, explained what was happening, took repair office attendant for a test drive, problem did not happen during the test drive. Attendant said if it happens again bring it in. On July 12, 2005, accelerated at stop sign, when tried to accelerate car would not move, then kicked into gear after 4 to 5 seconds accelerated high and sped off. July 13, 2005, accelerated when stoped, July 14, 2005, when stopped and started car would not move when accelerated. Called automax Ford spoke with same repair attendant, voiced my concern of being afraid to drive the car. I have kids and this car is not safe. Asked attendant for a loaner car becasue I have no other transportation and he said he will call me when a loaner car is available. Pleaded with him not to forget about me and how afraid I was to drive the car. I haven't made the first payment on this car and it is causing problems for me.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #3

Jun 132005

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Starting about a month ago, the car began having a problem with the accelerator. The owner was at a stop sign. Car was completely stopped and car accelerated to 60 mph and owner had to put car in neutral and kicked the gas pedal until the RPM's came down to normal. Then it was taken to dealer who reported no problem. Then about three weeks later on interstate, owner was going about 60 and the car accelerated to 80 mph. The car was taken to dealer again, and the dealer put on a black box to record events. The owners are afraid to drive it because they are unable to determine what is wrong or have it repaired. The vehicle is now sitting. The problem is intermintent.dt: Starting about a month ago, the car has having a problem with the accelerator. The owner was at a stop sign. Car was completely stopped and car accelerated to 60 mph and owner had to put car in neutral and kicked the gas pedal until the RPM's came down to normal. Then it was taken to dealer who reported no problem. Then about three weeks later on interstate, owner was going about 60 and the car accelerated to 80 mph. The car was taken to dealer again, and the dealer put on a black box to record events. There were no warning lights on in vehicle and.the owners are afraid to drive it because they are unable to determine what is wrong or have it repaired. The vehicle is now sitting. The problem is intermintent.

- West Senneca, NY, USA

problem #2

Jan 222005

Mustang 6-cyl

  • 5,470 miles
Problen 1: when slowing to a stop, maybe 5 mph or so, then pressing on the gas pedal to accelerate, the engine RPM's increase as if the transmission is in neutral, then jumps into gear causing a sudden jerk forward. The problem has been reported and confirmed by Ford dealership. Problem 2: started vehicle, with foot on brake put in reverse and heard a strange noise and blue smoke outside passenger window. The right rear tire was "burning rubber" pulled shift leaver back to nuetral and engine RPM normal. Possibly related to the problem above or I could ahave had my foor on brake and gas pedal at the same time but can not that easily.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 122005

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 280 miles
While pulling into a garage, the accelerator pedal became stuck, and the vehicle accelerated through the garage wall into the kitchen. The consumers daughter had to shift the vehicle into park to stop it. The consumers wife sustained injuries, and was transported to a local hospital. Dealer and manufacturer were notified.

- Piney Flats, TN, USA

Not what you are looking for?